Training 2026 Preseason

This had me thinking...maybe I should go suss out a Vic club training in the next week or two. See how it compares to ours. For fun.

Who would people be most interested in? I am thinking Hawks perhaps? Maybe Carlton?
Hawks would be interesting I think

No problem all. Everyone knows we need to improve our turnover scoring so clearly the coaches have instructed the players to kick it to grass and handball to the other team so we can practice.
I would have thought the whipping boys making mistakes was good news for the negative nellies. It's when they dominate preseason under no pressure and earn a spot for 3-4 weeks we need to get worried.

This might of been posted.. not that I've come across, but oh wells. For those who haven't. Some of the highlights from the recent match sim with clear footage

This has me HYPED on Dudley. He is a brilliant user of the footy and seeing him fit and ready is brilliant.

Yes please, shoot this into my veins. I know people are loving the potential of Youngy but Brayshaw is still my #1 pick for our next Brownlow.

I'm hoping Kickett gets rid of that awful ratty before he debuts 😅but hey it isn't the worst hairdos we have seen over the years

My final report

Thanks campaigners for reading i love all of you. Well mostly all of you.... jokes

Today was a glorious day to watch on. Plenty of mistakes during training but they all work bloody hard and you can't fault intent.

Worner; he's a player who is imo fringe but... he holds shape so we'll and his delivery is good. At worst handy depth. I didn't see him.do anything wrong.

Sharp and O'Driscoll need to speed up decisions making and delivery. I really want both to lift as I think it will greatly benefit out wings.

Bolton looks really good however sat out and stretched a bit. Must be load management.

I liked Feddy today. In everything and good composure for most if his opportunities.

Reid looks a mid in the making. Enough said.

Riddle despite a possible ankle injury was really good. He is starting to look like he might make best 22 in the near future. Very agile

I wouldn't put much concern in that 5 minute clip. I've seen 5 to 10 mins of super clean footy and patches of not great footy. Remember when you take the rest out if best 23 and put them together then things really shape up. I have definitely seen cleaner footy sims in the past but that doesn't mean 2 or 3 years ago the squad was better.

I'm looking forward to see Ryan Walker and Sweid in the match sims but the trainers have their reasons. Walker looks I ripping condition though.

Alex Pearce Young Serong and Brayshaw are looking A grade. Those guys you can tell are ready for the season proper.

All the best people. Love and happiness KH.

My final report

Thanks campaigners for reading i love all of you. Well mostly all of you.... jokes

Today was a glorious day to watch on. Plenty of mistakes during training but they all work bloody hard and you can't fault intent.

Worner; he's a player who is imo fringe but... he holds shape so we'll and his delivery is good. At worst handy depth. I didn't see him.do anything wrong.

Sharp and O'Driscoll need to speed up decisions making and delivery. I really want both to lift as I think it will greatly benefit out wings.

Bolton looks really good however sat out and stretched a bit. Must be load management.

I liked Feddy today. In everything and good composure for most if his opportunities.

Riddle despite a possible ankle injury was really good. He is starting to look like he might make best 22 in the near future. Very agile

I wouldn't put much concern in that 5 minute clip. I've seen 5 to 10 mins of super clean footy and patches of not great footy. Remember when you take the rest out if best 23 and put them together then things really shape up. I have definitely seen cleaner footy sims in the past but that doesn't mean 2 or 3 years ago the squad was better.

I'm looking forward to see Ryan Walker and Sweid in the match sims but the trainers have their reasons. Walker looks I ripping condition though.

Alex Pearce Young Serong and Brayshaw are looking A grade. Those guys you can tell are ready for the season proper.

New Years Yes GIF by Hunchback Music

Thanks King Huskii. Really appreciate the effort you go to.

I know everyone on here knows it but the only things you can learn from preseason are:
1) Players putting on size (muscle or girth)
2) Whether a new player looks any good
3) Wholesale changes to gameplan (like playing on every chance)
4) Injuries

Rest is meaningless fluff/dooming until round 1. Excited for Kickett going off that video.

Snuffaluphagus up to your usual tricks I see

The idea is fine. There mightn't have been anything up the line to go to. The issue is that you just absolutely have to make that kick if you're doing it. As others have said, its still early days back from break. The more we do these match sims with the pressure we have our forwards applying, the better they will get at reacting to the pressure.
Are you the Smurf_x of Reddit who puts together video-supported analyses after each game? If so, welcome to the forums, thanks for all that sensational work, and hope to see more of it this year.

If not, well... welcome anyway.

My final report

Thanks KH, for those of us based in the eastern states, these reports are absolutely invaluable to understanding who we should be looking for in the preseason games. Thanks again for all the reports 😀

Are you the Smurf_x of Reddit who puts together video-supported analyses after each game? If so, welcome to the forums, thanks for all that sensational work, and hope to see more of it this year.

If not, well... welcome anyway.
It is I!
Been a bit of lurker on here for a while, figured it was time to chime in here as well.

Thank you for the kind words

My final report

Thanks mate.

You say Riddle a chance for best 22 in the near future. I am intrigued. Who would he replace from the current team?

Not a report as such, just my observations on a few.Spent far too much time talking than watching. Like most males, or as I am told, I can't do two things at once.:rolleyes::rolleyes:.
In the first few minutes when I was fully focused, Chapman in the first play of the day was brilliant taking the ball out of defence .
An unknown player, took an absolute clunker up forward and goaled.
Reid was looking every bit as good and that much better than last year.
Darcy I though worked hard.Looks in very good trim.
Spoke for a short time to Sam Sturt. He seems pretty bouyant in his recovery.Said his team mates have been a great assistance in rehab.Paid tribute to the medical staff.He suggested that he would be on track next week, but would be back full time on the track maybe end of June early July.
Just my take on a couple of hours mostly chatting.
Cheers.

Thanks mate.

You say Riddle a chance for best 22 in the near future. I am intrigued. Who would he replace from the current team?

At the moment I can't see him take anyone's spot. However I can see him develop his craft and be a great hybrid ruck that can push forward and kick goals.

He needs either injury or drop in form from some key talls. He's still raw but so is Kickett and Kickett has really added some firepower up forward during the sims.

Wags was a huge loss in the final last year, would've played on Rowell and at least been able to keep up with him
Rowell utterly killed us. His spread from stoppage was IMO the difference in the game. I reckon he was that good.
So yeah, if Wags could have stopped that I reckon we win.
Thanks everyone for the training reports!

Exactly! About time the club did something about that eyesore, makes all of us look like fools.
Lleyton Hewitt run up and down sand hills in his preparation to win the 2001 US Open. Except he had to travel to get to them. They're literally right there next to the oval. By not using them, Freo are just throwing away a premiership.

All we need now are those rubber bands for the pool and we're going to be unstoppable.