Sinclair* Silvagni* Clark
Hill* McRae* Wilson *
Owens* Sharman* Hall*
Ryan* Marshal* Higgins*
TDK* Naz* Flanders *

Windy* Pou* Garcia King LOC/Henry

Next in Box Camaniti Butler Carrol

Howard Wood Clark injured

I think the forward line is pretty much locked in. The issue then becomes the second HB spot and the small defender spot that Jimmy filled.

I think stocker gets first rights and either Carrol or Clark or even Windy.

Then the last few bench spots. Once again I’ve got Henry vs LOC. both are more utility types but I think we’re too light a defensive small so LOC or Trav. I think ultimately our small forward pressure will take a hit this year which is a concern of mine.

It’s super competitive and have not included Cama, Keeler, Lance etc

I genuinely forgot we have Jack Macrae on our list. Is he a lock? He came to us for midfield playing time but our midfield should have a very different look to last year. He also slowed down heaps in the back half of 2025. I imagine he starts in OR and it's his spot to lose, but I would expect that spot to be up for grabs with Nas, Pou, Garcia, Boxshall and Flanders in the mix. It's a good problem to have!

Looked great at training. Absolute lock imo

With Steele gone, Jones gone he has too start imo. He’s just got too much experience to not be on the ball.

Whilst Windy , Pou , Naz and Ned to be the main guys. We need someone who can come in get 30 every week.

"Can St Kilda start games better in 2026 having trailed at quarter-time in 10 of their last 11 games? Will their midfield be able to stop momentum when it turns against them? Can they become miserly in defence after sitting 13th for points against in 2025? Can the energy remain high when the demands required to improve are unrelenting?"

This is the most important thing that will determine if we are going to play finals and change the mindset of the playing list. For far too long we have been a team that gets overwhelmed on physicality and talent, and it's because we've had a weak midfield and lack of talls (especially last year). These are the two areas we can hopefully turn around this season, with the help of some injury luck.

The one game that sticks out in my mind is the Easter Sunday game against the Dogs. We looked like a petrified and overmatched VFL level team. I know they are flat track bullies, but when they smell blood they are able to genuinely destroy sides. I want to see us genuinely overwhelm other teams on talent and skill and just dominate. Even in our best wins we rarely look unstoppable and we're usually hanging on for dear life. We need a mindset shift and we need to believe we are the better team and play the game on our terms. And it needs to start from the first bounce, we can't keep going into quarter time down 3-4 goals.
Funny thing is, we were playing well the first half of the first quarter being up like 3 goals then Sam Darcy hurts his knee and suddenly the Dogs find a second gear and run away with it. Can't have golden boy be injured even though it was purely him just landing awkwardly.

We absolutely need to get back to nullifying that kind of bully attitude (that naturally evaporates the following week) and pull them down to a scrappy game. I dont care if its "bad" football, Rossball wins you games.

Looked great at training. Absolute lock imo

I havent seen training - but he started the year on fire last year and then got sat on by clubs which limited his effect on games. He was our most influential mid until the lung injury and the tagging. Hopefully we will have too much talent in there for clubs to worry about tagging him and he wont attract the same attention.

His experience and ball use is invaluable, we will need his older head in there for when things get tougher. For me he is in the starting mids but we will be able to manage his minutes and slowly introduce younger players to the role.

For me we still need a player/s that have a 'dont farrk with me or my mates attitude". Players that get the opposition second guessing their actions and respect us as a team. Accordingly I would like to see a mid with a real hard edge get minutes in the mould of Garcia, Boxshall.

Funny thing is, we were playing well the first half of the first quarter being up like 3 goals then Sam Darcy hurts his knee and suddenly the Dogs find a second gear and run away with it. Can't have golden boy be injured even though it was purely him just landing awkwardly.

We absolutely need to get back to nullifying that kind of bully attitude (that naturally evaporates the following week) and pull them down to a scrappy game. I dont care if its "bad" football, Rossball wins you games.

Macrae was ranked in the top 3 mids in the AFL until his lung injury. People were calling Kane Cornes every week to talk about his dominance. After his lung injury, he was not able to train properly for the rest of the year. After he returned he had trouble breathing and sleeping. He was very hindered.

He's now completely recovered. I wouldn't be surprised if we are talking about him again as elite by round 6. He starts in the middle in our best 22.

In one of the sims today, Nas takes a cracking clearance, hands straight to Hugo, who gets out the front of stoppage and drills Liam Ryan on the chest who has led up at the kicker. Was lovely, and Hugo was very good at finding the space and bursting from the pack. Gained metres on them very quickly.

On Collard, I saw him do that too - it was on Hill. Awesome chase and corral of Hill up to the boundary and pinged him HTB. Really liked the look of him today. Chased hard and was rewarded.

Please, stop, I have limits to my arousal.

Macrae was ranked in the top 3 mids in the AFL until his lung injury. People were calling Kane Cornes every week to talk about his dominance. After his lung injury, he was not able to train properly for the rest of the year. After he returned he had trouble breathing and sleeping. He was very hindered.

He's now completely recovered. I wouldn't be surprised if we are talking about him again as elite by round 6. He starts in the middle in our best 22.
Round 1 starting midfield of TDK, NAS, Macrae and Flanders is fine by me.

Macrae’s output definitely dropped off post punctured lung and his TOG was reduced significantly as we ran different types through the midfield in the last few months of the season. If fully fit and given the same opportunities as our main extractor as per the start of the season I have no doubt he will produce the same quality performances as the beginning of 25.

If TDK takes advantage of the ruck rules having Macrae/Flanders roving off him will be a treat. Last year we were:

• 18th in the comp for total hit outs
  • 18th for hit outs to advantage
  • 14th for centre clearances
  • 11th for stoppage clearances

Expecting a massive improvement on these numbers. Seems as though for the first time in over a decade, our midfield group won’t feel like we’re taking a knife to a gun fight.

There seems to be a focus on quick ball movement. If it all goes to plan we'll be good to watch.
It's been hard run transition work all preseason. Both ways I might add.

Alix should have played his first game for us 6 weeks before he did and we all no why. As far as I’m concerned he showed him self to be as tough as any other defender and have closing speed better then any other. His downfalls are his decision making at times. He has earnt imo the right to start in the 23.
Doubt the viking will ever be dropped...special talent with enormous upside

Funny how it is because of JSOS that we have Hammer. Carlton have been good to us.
Carlton have never been good to us. I hope they are wooden spooners for the next decade then fold.

I havent seen training - but he started the year on fire last year and then got sat on by clubs which limited his effect on games. He was our most influential mid until the lung injury and the tagging. Hopefully we will have too much talent in there for clubs to worry about tagging him and he wont attract the same attention.

His experience and ball use is invaluable, we will need his older head in there for when things get tougher. For me he is in the starting mids but we will be able to manage his minutes and slowly introduce younger players to the role.

For me we still need a player/s that have a 'dont farrk with me or my mates attitude". Players that get the opposition second guessing their actions and respect us as a team. Accordingly I would like to see a mid with a real hard edge get minutes in the mould of Garcia, Boxshall.
Garcia is like a rabbit dog with footy near him...I'd use him to tag Daicos, he'd hate playing on Hugo!

Macrae’s output definitely dropped off post punctured lung and his TOG was reduced significantly as we ran different types through the midfield in the last few months of the season. If fully fit and given the same opportunities as our main extractor as per the start of the season I have no doubt he will produce the same quality performances as the beginning of 25.

If TDK takes advantage of the ruck rules having Macrae/Flanders roving off him will be a treat. Last year we were:

• 18th in the comp for total hit outs
  • 18th for hit outs to advantage
  • 14th for centre clearances
  • 11th for stoppage clearances

Expecting a massive improvement on these numbers. Seems as though for the first time in over a decade, our midfield group won’t feel like we’re taking a knife to a gun fight.
:D

Henry and Collard behibd
Loving the resorts folks, much appreciated.

We could have one of if not the best batch of small forward options in the comp this year, with Higgins, Hall, Ryan, Henry, Butler, Hill and Collard to choose from.

Pretty handy medium to tall marking options as well, with Coops, Owens, Wood and Pou.

Then King, Marshall/TDK, Keeler, Caminiti and perhaps Dodson, as the taller options.

If we’ve ever had better forward depth in my 36 years following the club I sure don’t remember it. Doubt we’ve even come close really.

We could potentially field two forward lines that could both be about on par with the one Collingwood might be rolling out this year (pending Bobby Hill’s availability).

HF: Hall Marshall Henry
F: Sharman Caminiti Higgins

HF: Pou Keeler Ryan
F: Butler King Owens

Up sleeve: Hill, Wood, Collard, Dodson

HF: De Goey Membrey McCreery
F: Schultz McStay Elliott

Their key forward stocks are putrid. After those two very average players it’s basically untried kids. While Schultz went at less than a goal a game and McCreery kicked 6 from 19!

I had thought that butler retired as i had not heard his name all summer.

What is Stocker's natural game?

Was a bullocking midfielder in his junior days
That was quickly deminished in the Afl as he was deemed too slow in that role.

Sent to the backline where his slowness is even more apparent.

Yeah, he occasionally lays a big tackle, which would inspire his team-mates.

If we had, had more depth in the past
He wouldn't have played as much, l reckon.
Second this - think his attack on the body/ball has most supporters ignoring his limitations. He’s a D50 version of Mav Weller imo

But it's that attack on the body and ball that can change our momentum in one play. Some of the crap he does is pure inspirational and gets supporters on their feet to applaud.