Training Saints preseason 2026

No one can argue that we aren’t significantly better on every line in terms of personnel.

I think by the end of 2026 we will be a formidable outfit.

But, I’m just not confident we come out of the gates as an unstoppable force.

I think the quick transition game plan will be hit and miss early on under proper match pressure, mainly because so many of our team will be new, or in a new role.

Don’t get me wrong, I still think we can win. I just feel like it will look and feel like hard work for a lengthy stint early on.

Regardless though, it will be a fun year to watch all our boys in both the AFL and the ressies.

Last year having injuries to Howard and King and losing Battle hurt us a lot. We had no ability to kick long down the line as we had no tall representation so if we did it would be a turnover. Its not sexy, but a big part of footy. Keeler was too young, Heath we should have given more games in my view as he helped with that.Caminiti needed to play key back.

This year hopefully King is able to play, but even if not we have TDK so him or Marshall will be forward of the ball. Howard can also hopefully contribute, but if not we have JSOS.

Also Keeler and Tauru are both stronger now if they need to play key forward or defence

Side note, was driving my nuts last year when commentators were complaining we were going so slow and kicking it around. We had no genuine talls to kick long to ffs!!

Even the Lions aren't that great until finals time. In Melbourne they are gettable with improvement.
Lions thrive off the pressure and intensity of finals and its no surprise given their experience. Took them 5 finals series to make their first GF with this team and 6 finals series to win one and now they're on for the 3-peat

I hope we get to the point where we don't have to be perfect in the H&A series to succeed in finals. IMO that gives us the foundation for sustained success - as long as we make the top 4 or even the 8 (10) we are genuinely as good a chance as anyone to win the flag

Just hoping we win a final this year and maybe make a prelim in 2027. It will be tough to maintain the momentum with so many b23 players OOC at end of 2027 but I have huge faith in our kids to step up. Get them some experience in those high intensity finals and they'll understand what it takes

In terms of personnel, I think our list is in really good shape but we do need a couple of guys who we can trust will step up in big moments in September. Nas is all we have atm but imagine seeing Pou putting us ahead in a prelim with a 55m roost or Wilson burning off a stoppage and kicking truly or Viking doing a Leo Barry. Or maybe even a big pack mark from Max. Lots to get excited about but hopefully we can get something tangible this year

The amount of young talent we have on the list at present is almost non St Kilda like. Its so foreign having a list where 95% are a strong chance to play a good number of AFL footy.

Its subjective but in past years we would have been lucky to have 75% of the list, who were players with a definite future.

The under 23 potential talent we now have is enormous -

Nas, Windhager, Owens, Caminiti, Keeler, Wilson, Garcia, Phillipou, Collard, Hastie, Travaglia, Tauru, Barrat, Boxshall, Dodson, Banfield, Fincher, and throw in the Irish lads all have the potential to play in excess of 100 games for the club. That's the team of the future.

Said has a lot of work to do, but he'll get a chance now he is over last year's injuries. The rest are a good chance of producing long-term.

Then we also have this years SSP options to add another.

Opening Round vs Pies - tickets are now available.

Adelaide had a dream run with injuries. When up against the top teams in finals they looked decidedly bottom of the 8, probably about 7th.
Bulldogs aren't better as much as they just seem to smash us every time we play. Sounds counter intuitive but they just match up so well on us, a bit like we have with Geelong over the past 5 or so years.
I think Hawks are better and Geelong are always difficult.

I think with Dogs - they realised that for all the pressure, Saints don’t have the hurt factor.

Saints win the ball in case of an error. Big whoopty do! Nobody could kick a goal.

So, now they just ignore and go for the flashy flat track bully route. Obviously, that doesn’t work with the better teams.

The trick is about the hurt factor. Ryan will help and so will TDK. Big question will be on the forward line.

Interesting little nuggets given by Adam Kingsley on SEN this morning regarding Lleek Aleer

Wrapped to keep him and great result for them but went onto say he hasn’t trained at all this off-season or pre-season with adductor issues and will aim to be in the side at the back end of the year but he won’t start in it.

That of course won’t get reported though will it 🤫

The amount of young talent we have on the list at present is almost non St Kilda like. Its so foreign having a list where 95% are a strong chance to play a good number of AFL footy.

Its subjective but in past years we would have been lucky to have 75% of the list, who were players with a definite future.

The under 23 potential talent we now have is enormous -

Nas, Windhager, Owens, Caminiti, Keeler, Wilson, Garcia, Phillipou, Collard, Hastie, Travaglia, Tauru, Barrat, Boxshall, Dodson, Banfield, Fincher, and throw in the Irish lads all have the potential to play in excess of 100 games for the club. That's the team of the future.

Said has a lot of work to do, but he'll get a chance now he is over last year's injuries. The rest are a good chance of producing long-term.

Then we also have this years SSP options to add another.
Ranking them imo in terms of potential

I think green is top 10 potential.
Red is All Australian

1. Naz (already there)
2. Pou (Could be anything including the best player on the ground any given night if he puts it together.)
3. Tauru (I think could be a game changer from backline or forward line)
4. Dodson - Anyone who has read my posts would know that I think if we allow him to play and develop he could be an All Australian top 3 ruck easily.

5. Wilson - Valuable top 5 player for us consistently and All Ausralian.
6. Boxman - See above
7. Owens - game breaker bur limited due to his kicking

8. Windy top 5 BnF for us
9. Garcia top 5 BnF for us
10. Trav too early to say.
11. Camaniti

Regardless I don't think for a while we have had this much potential A grade talent, particularly the top 3

Not including Lance, Keels, Banfield or Fincher.

The reason I hope I am wrong but Keels and Lance could be delisted at end of the year if they have poor years.

Normal transmission resumed after all those interlopers on Australia Day.
Tauru heavily strapped right knee, in red top, running laps with Higgo who is in blue. Hopefully only a minor nick.
Clark and King in rehab. Two in red going to the wellness centre I didnt see who.
Higgo in rehab but in blue, a corkie. Clark heavy strapping on left knee, Doog joins the rehab group.
Main group repeat run throughs.
Tauru not hampered in running but only in straight lines.
Henry, Collard, Fincher and no.41 whoever that is, seperate group, all now peel off to the main group.
Tauru up to the rooms. Doogs and Max doing run throughs, Clark laps, Higgo, standing about chatting to a trainer.
Tauru back, a bit of a limp but think it is the strapping restricting him.
3 groups doing 1/3 field ball work. High intensity.
Watching the group with TDK, Trav, Armstrong, Hastie, Carroll, Dodson, Dow, Flanders, Barrett.Trav impressive.
Quick swap between tops and bibs.
Armstrong a tad sloppy.
To make training even more difficult not just blue tops with white numbers, but they are pumping out a MMM 90's playlist. Do zoomers really listen to Guns and Roses?
Ok two groups near side midfield, Roh v TDK. No throat punches Roh he is our side now.
Sincs,Hugo, Pou and Said back from the pool.
TDK taller than Roh. Flanders great hands in close.
Naz and Henry with the mids, Carroll there but off the back of the square, like a hbf.
Hall outhunts Flanders for a rolling ground ball.
Coaches taking this, Boris, bj, Harvs. They know a bit about it.
Ronnie off a hb, no ruck contests, rolling balls mainly to hb to start the drill.
As soon as the contest breaks down the coach stop it and resets.
Not bad, pressure high, a few wayward disposals.
Bit of a break so went and got a coffee while groovin to Pump up the Jams.
20 minute half field transition and positioning. Again if it breaks down the coaches reset.
Sloppy from Wilks OOF from a kick in.
JSOS on Owens, TDK dominating in the ruck. Wilks drops a sitter, Ryan pounces for a goal. TDK beats Roh this time in field positioning.
Hammer in defence on Coops.Lots of stopping and positioning.
TDK v Keeler, takes out of the contest to a flying NAZ, moist.
Now Sat n Peppa, Push it real good baby, FFS.
TDK beating Roh. Now Roh v Keels. JSOS looks nice down back. Good positioning, nice size.
The boys are looking Fergilicous, oops sorry, this ****en playlist is doing my head in.
Hall to Flanders who steadies, recognises the mismatch between TDK and Said who gives away the free.
I call this as I see it. TDK smashing Roh in the ruck.
One on one contests now. LOC going well, good contest between Keels and Hammer. This music is atrocious.
Wilson and Hall a bit of a mismatch, Hall halves it.
TDK, Dow and Silvagni walking the boundary, need Stocker, Carroll and Hammer to get the Bloos set. Must feel sentimental in the light Blue.
12 minute session Forwards, Mids, Backs. I'll watch the mids. Keels with the forwards.
No ruck contests, mids reading off the rucks hands.
Starters for me in the mids, TDK, NAZ, Windy, Flanders. Havent seen Macrae today. Where to fit Pou?
BTW apparently we built this city on rock and roll. Who is responsible for this playlist?
Over to the backline, 3 groups,one on ones with the ball coming into the fifty.
Dylan Shiel is a good looking rooster. Looks good in Saints gear.
Far side skills training, receiving the ball kicking into the 50 to a lead. All pretty tidy
Who impressed today? TDK, JSOS, Flanders, Hall, Henry looked as zippy as I have seen for two seasons, Trav and Wilson looked good in patches, LOC tidy. Ryan is class in front of goal. Hard to tell the rest, the blue tops with white numbers are terrible, almost as bad as the music, EVERYBODY DANCE NOW. Holy hell, I am almost dead and this stuff was around in my 20's ans 30's. Has no music been recorded since 2005? Lets get Physical now, ok, they have won.
Anyway, got the horn for the 4 recruits, all walk into the 23.
All she wrote.
Adios Amigos.

This was Joffa-licious

No one can argue that we aren’t significantly better on every line in terms of personnel.

I think by the end of 2026 we will be a formidable outfit.

But, I’m just not confident we come out of the gates as an unstoppable force.

I think the quick transition game plan will be hit and miss early on under proper match pressure, mainly because so many of our team will be new, or in a new role.

Don’t get me wrong, I still think we can win. I just feel like it will look and feel like hard work for a lengthy stint early on.

Regardless though, it will be a fun year to watch all our boys in both the AFL and the ressies.
There's only 4 new players...not like it's half a team that needs to gel!

I'd say it's mostly just for...

View attachment 2517227

Speaking of vibes....

What colour lambos do TDK and Nas have in the carpark?

Interesting little nuggets given by Adam Kingsley on SEN this morning regarding Lleek Aleer

Wrapped to keep him and great result for them but went onto say he hasn’t trained at all this off-season or pre-season with adductor issues and will aim to be in the side at the back end of the year but he won’t start in it.

Season 2 Episode 3 GIF by Leroy Patterson

I feel like our injury list is actually extremely good this year (touch wood) with no actual major injuries at all. Whilst we do have guys in the rehab group they all appear to be managing very mild strains with no actual off feet time, theyre all in running programs and still building towards the practice games.

There is no player who at the moment who isn't putting their hand up for round 0 as far as I know and that's damn good compared to the last several years.

please don't say this sort of thing - don't even think it

You'll enjoy it..Friday is a big session with full on match sim
Yup, big saintmike65 talked me in to going again tomorrow.
Missus has given the all clear ( think she is glad to see the back of me).
Will give a comprehensive of whatever yacht rock playlist this incredibly disappointing generation is force feeding us, oh and some stuff about footy as well.

Heard that he hurt it trying to fend off Devil Kilda from stealing his life.

Mitch Owens has almost become a bit of a forgotten man in our young brigade.

I reckon he’s played the hardest possible position and performed admirably. He has played as a 1st or 2nd forward but well undersized. More pressing, he was forced to do so in a team who had the greatest weakness of being outmarked in the air. We were one of the worst teams in the league at intercept defender marks against. So Owens constantly scragged against 2 defenders and more often than not he made a contest.

With more tall timber, be it King or a resting ruck, he will get far more looks one on one. He is incredible in a contest and the defenders are forced to hold and scrag. My prediction is that he will win a significant amount of free kicks in front of goal this year for holding, as it’s the only way defenders can try to compete in the contest.

If he can tidy his set shot goal kicking, especially the kicks straight in front 30m out, he will have a big year I think.

There's only 4 new players...not like it's half a team that needs to gel!
And the 4 new senior players added have a lot of experience with new game plans.
I'm expecting they get up to speed on RTB game plan quickly.
If everyone is fit R1 we'll start start the year strong with fast transition.

It’s really pure guesswork at this stage, because a ball hasn’t been kicked in anger this year yet.

Every year 2-3 teams who played finals the year before stink it up the next year, and that’s likely to be the case again this year, so

A: We don’t know how good we’ll be this year yet (and injuries are already starting to mount a bit) and
B: We don’t know which of the clear top 9 teams of last year will drop right off this season.

Honestly if by some miracle we were actually able to regularly field a team really close to the one that was in that article, there would be very few teams I wouldn’t be confident we could beat, especially at either Marvel or the ‘G.

I mean Geelong came 2nd last year and we know we can beat them, Collingwood came 3rd and have a 1 man forwardline almost, and the worst key forward stocks in the league, and we beat them at the G the previous year, Hawthorn came 4th and they aren’t anything special (especially without Day), Adelaide were easily accounted for by the aforementioned Hawthorn at home in a final, and I wouldn’t be scared of them if we played them here, we were clearly on top of Freo for 7 of the 8 quarters we played against them last year, and had Tauru not given away 4 goals in a handful of minutes against Sydney, we presumably win that game.

They could be a handful with Curnow, Amarty and McDonald up forward though.

The teams I think would be a real handful even if we’re at full strength would be Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sydney and Freo, especially on their dung heaps. And of course WB. Who just start kicking goals when they see a Saints guernsey.
Yep, impossible to predict at this stage of the year. Difficult to pick from year to year based on personnel. Which team has their tails up and confidence in their structure and game style, which ones get enough luck early to build belief with early wins, injuries - type of player and when - FIXture, and so on.

Personally, I don’t see that Hawthorn, Collingwood, even the Cats have as strong lists as their perpetual win totals suggest! Winners win I guess. All have excellent coaches.

I think Sydney will bounce back into top 4, but as above, I often think talent is not quite as important as usually portrayed. And talent is often perception anyway. Carlton and Essendon always seem to have some perception of “next year”/“next big thing” and generally have been junk. I think this is often linked to fan base size and visibility - big games, Friday night lights. I think the general footy population has a perception that because Kyle Reimers kicked 4 one week (against the bottom team) that that’s their level and the other 15 rubbish games is an aberration. Our junk games aren’t on FTA. As an aside on Sydney they still have a nice collection of top liners anyway - Heeney, Gulden, Lizard, Grundy, Warner, Papley (when not suspended), Tommy McCartin when not injured), Curnow. But usually have the kulcha and the intangibles.

That will be one of the big things for us this year - can we build confidence and improve all the intangibles that others have mentioned in the last day or so: better knowledge of the plan, positioning, stronger leadership onfield, improved team defence, ability to stop run ons, being much harder and tougher.

Anyone there yesterday thoughts on Fincher and BanfBeast?
Banfield much more impressive, Fincher, to.me, looks a bit small. Lets let him develop over the next couple of seasons.
Banfield is a beast and I can hardly believe he is a new draftee.

Yup, big saintmike65 talked me in to going again tomorrow.
Missus has given the all clear ( think she is glad to see the back of me).
Will give a comprehensive of whatever yacht rock playlist this incredibly disappointing generation is force feeding us, oh and some stuff about footy as well.
No doubt there will be a track about someone's bumps, their bumps, their lovely lady lumps.........

Christ, that is a horrific outcome for the bloke.