Training Saints preseason 2026

How did Carroll look down back?
Really quiet.

But so were others like Wilson.
On King, I'm still very sceptical about his body holding up to the rigours of AFL footy but it sounds like he is moving better than he was this time last year, right? Track watchers reported him constantly looking like he was uncomfortable/limping, but no such reports coming through this pre season.

There's a glimmer...
He was moving pretty well. Still not sure if he is striding out 100% but he was bending, Cutting, Jumping, Kicking running etc on that knee

On King, I'm still very sceptical about his body holding up to the rigours of AFL footy but it sounds like he is moving better than he was this time last year, right? Track watchers reported him constantly looking like he was uncomfortable/limping, but no such reports coming through this pre season.

There's a glimmer

King worked very hard and was out there for the whole session doing various stretching exercises and run throughs, really testing his knee. He looked comfortable . Can’t be far off

My thoughts from today.

There were 23 flunkies (support staff) on the field.
A big change from prior days.

Every minute seemed planned, very little if any time wasted.

Every player/support person seemed to be across their role.

All of the above gave a vibe of ………. professionalism.

Not seen that at Moorabbin for years.

The four rehab guys are not far off.

King running freely, doing knee exercises, lunges etc, without issue.

Emphasis on quick movement and maintaining structure (Bolton yelling the latter at players).

Of the new players:

Ranked in structural importance:

1. JSOS,
2. TDK,
3. Flanders
4. Ryan

Ranked by the entertainment they will provide this year:

1. Ryan,

Daylight.

There was a couple of moments there where NAS and Ryan were playing a different game. They are going to tear teams apart.

Special mention to Hall and Keeler.

Only $4 mill? Why stop there with the embellishments!
Will be eleventy billion dollaridoos by the end of the day…

Which will then be presented by SEN/The Hun as fact.

Max Hall
If you thought he was good last year, He is better this year. Played predominantly on ball. He was clean, Quick. Worked hard and when he was able to kick inside 50 good things happened, over and over again. We have a bloody good footballer here.

stop it

Aroused The Colbert Report GIF

Keelers best session IMHO. Holding his ground better and a massive leap , so new ruck rules will work for him

If keeler's in the team this year- I really hope we play him like wet toast played nic nat.

As in- sit him on the bench for literally 50% of the game every week.

And then tell him his job is to go absolutely flat out and impact whenever he is on field.

The extra bench spot, plus our list having quite a few endurance beasts (sincs, marshall, wilkie, wilson, hill etc) means we can make it happen

Will be eleventy billion dollaridoos by the end of the day…

Which will then be presented by SEN/The Hun as fact.
Parroted enough by various media commentators, it has supposedly become fact that St kilda overpaid to keep NWM. A ‘fact’ which ignores the reality that 3 clubs were willing to pay him that amount.

had a looksy today, agree with the great reports from Stavro and Joffa

a few observations/vibes

King - great to see him working very hard, didn't watch him heaps but one drill he was pretty slow off the mark, not sure if that is always the case or just knackered

TDK - super impressive, absolute athlete, great aerialist and made Rohan look like a bit of a plodder (sorry Roh).
Rohan - looked stuffed, had some moments
Liam Ryan - calm and smart, perfect transition player, loved his work
Nas - made other players look a level below in the earlier drills. less dominant in match sim when the heat was on, still absolute gun of course
Hammer - great work down back, good luck beating him in the air, spoiling nicely
Pou - looking super confident, winning the ball and always looking to evade and get the ball moving (too much at times, will get caught a bit but the intent is great and the execution is pretty dang good. in a lot of discomfort at the end from face hit (poked in the eye I'm guessing)
Mitchito - great work, looks fit, very lively up forward
Coops - love this guy, beating himself up for some dropped marks but just smart and efficient up forward. will kick some nice bags up forward with the right match ups
LOC - totally cleaned up right in front of me by Wilkie, accidental high hit, guess he'll prob be out for concussion
Hall - lively
Hill - very involved in match sim, great direction to younger players, excellent team mate
Flanders - get and go man, loves to get a few steps in after receiving and get the ball going forward, played down back a bit
Butler - lively - he and higgo best performed small forwards
Keeler - building nicely, some good aerial wins and so good at ground level for a big bloke. prob be patchy again this year but he's improving for sure
Windy - great in the tighter confines, gets the ball moving with quick feet and aggression. Garcia ditto
Wilkie - gun. half killed poor LOC
Collard - sprayed to around the corner shots at goal
TT - didn't see much earlier on, looked in solid VFL form, improved through the match sim. loves to shake and bake. kicking is a lottery, hands good. doesn't look noticeably stronger
Tauru - running at good speed with heavy right knee taping, kicking on it too. looking much bigger in the arms, filling out nicely

all in all great to see, mood is high, hopefully we stay fit and put it on the park this year

Parroted enough by various media commentators it has supposedly became fact that st kilda overpaid to keep NWM. A ‘fact’ which ignores the reality that 3 clubs were willing to pay him that amount.
Before he re-signed - "St Kilda have to pay whatever it takes to keep him. Whatever it takes"

After he re-signed - "We didn't mean they should actually do that"

Butler - lively - he and higgo best performed small forwards

Thanks for the writeup.
Great to hear butler is fit and firing.

Im no massive fanboy- but he's underrated and that injury last year was the stuff of nightmares.
I thought it was a career killer at the time

oh and Banfield - this kid - what a specimen!
playing wing & half forward I think, runs all day, good in the air, combative
skills a bit untidy but be surprised if he doesn't get a few games this year, looks great, very pro attitude
What the hell were West Coast thinking looking at him and not taking a punt at that point in the draft.

Thanks, everyone! Baby looking great and mum is doing well in recovery! This year is going to be a special year--I can feel it!
First one mate? Look out, the Grandmothers lose their minds over the grandkids, I have lost mine over my first granddaughter, we are absolute besties 🙂.
Fantastic news to your partner and you. A great great day in your life.

What the hell were West Coast thinking looking at him and not taking a punt at that point in the draft.
They had no list spots left because of another unexpected bid. Seemed to think he'd just slide to the rookie draft. They dealt with the situation really poorly, could have easily had the spots by moving other players to their extra rookie spots.

Ship him off next year now Keeler is All Australian quality??
Keeler showed a lot but was dropping back into Chb position, contested marking was a feature. He and TDK used the bags to tap at centre bounces, both can leap.
As for King, out there for 2.5 hours doing his utmost.
When I was over there told a supporter he was doing all he could for R1, but seemed a bit doubtful, would not commit which is fair. Also said it could be a few weeks of managed minutes before seniors.
Personally skeptical he will make R1.

Ryan has played further from goal over the last couple of years. More like Max Hall than a stay at home small forward.
As stav reported between the arcs, mainly on a wing, going forward to make the extra forward outmatch. Swapped with Higgo to be the small forward and Higgo between the arc's numerous times.
Ryan today was everything I thought Henry would do for us. Was not that excited when we picked him up, but surprisingly the recruitment staff know more about it than me. Who knew? 🤣🤣