Training Saints preseason 2026

I’d be more concerned if he hadn’t been dominant at VFL level. He’ll settle. Good thing is we don’t need him to come in right away. Let’s worry if he still doesn’t get used to the speed of the game.
He's still growing into his body. He's got the flailing limbs that skinny key position players usually have their first few years depite being a mid/half back. Once he puts on some more size, he has all the tools to be a good player.

I understand that. But the sheer size of Banfield would in my eyes have him ahead of other prospects.

Others have mentioned it but when you see him up close he is a unit. He definitely caught the attention of young and old around me today.
From the 1 training session i went to this year, i couldnt believe it was him. Big lad, very involved and vocal for a 1st year draftee.

Dow needs to pull his finger out. He is being passed left right and centre. He can play but has Billings vibes about him. Seems as vanilla as with no real stand out strength.
Just cant play like he is and expect a seniors gig.
Depth only and if he doesn't click will be delisted at year end.
Is anyone expecting anything more than injury cover from Dow? Entering his eighth year in the system and hasn't really shown anything.

He was fortunate we had no midfield depth a few years ago and offered him a contract.

Initially I had hopes he might make it, but now it's a fair chance he will be depth in 2026 and gone next year.

Don't know what other training watchers think but i have real concerns about Trav...not prepared to totally dismiss him but he'll be a watch..
Half back is not his long-term position. My guess is that we have him there to give him a bit more freedom and also teach him defensive accountability etc.

Once he gets that down pat and adds a bit of bulk I can't see us not moving him into the midfield. His main strength is his contest work and ground-ball stuff - as has been highlighted by several track reports - and the midfield is the best place to leverage that. Rebounding off half-back is arguably the worst way to use his strengths because his kicking is arguably his biggest weakness but maybe the coaches think its necessary for his development

It's definitely not ideal that our pick 8 is yet to really show why he was rated that highly, but I think we should just give him another year in the 2s to develop and lets see how he goes in year 3 where youngsters are really supposed to start proving themselves

Will be very interesting to see how Rowan adapts to playing a high percentage of his minutes forward (or floating around the ground). Personally, I don't think he is a great "full-time forward". Most his goals come from outworking his opponent and drifting forward. Plenty of time to make this work, but could be a great opportunity for Keeler to put the pressure on.
I honestly think that they split the ground 50/50. Either end. If they can work in tandem. Finally we will have some tall timber around the ground.

Training 30/1/16

I thought it would be easier if I just summarise today in one post. Obviously a few posters all there today, so views are my own etc.

Evident Gamestyle

Very evident we have been really well drilled this offseason to date, with how we want to play. everytime we came from our back half there was a huge emphasis to make the ground big and spread. Clear instruction that we wanted to hit a target as opposed to long down the line. Happy to switch the play with Jsos looking sorta like a quarter back hanging in the middle of the D50 to recycle the ball. Once we hit a target our midfielders really spread hard to get on the end of the next ball and get our running game going - Disposal very clean

Rehab

Tauru King Wood Howard Clark all in rehab. All just ran laps, Sprinted and did some exhausting kicking and running drills in that heat. I really want to talk about King. He trained for 2 1/2 - 3 hours today. He ran, He cut, He turned, He jumped, He moved after ground balls etc. He did it all and he worked himself to exhaustion. If he is chasing a round 0 spot - he is doing the work to give himself a chance. It felt exciting like he was genuinely close to the next step.

Dodson, Higgins & Stocker started in rehab but moved into the main stuff. (Dodson did the situational match sim but didn't play the full ground match sim, just ran laps for that)

Injuries
  1. O'Connell the poor bastard was flattened front on by Wilkie (purely accidental). Looked like concussion, blood nose aswell.
  2. Henry looked like a hammy. Really disappointing. Came off on his own accord, but I'm not sure that means much
  3. Pou got a poke in the eye at the end. I think he is fine but sat out the last 5 or so minutes of Match sim

General Training
massive emphasis on using the ball well, being aggressive with ball movement and aggressive defending to win the ball back

Match Sim
This was umpired by Jacob Mollison. Ive known him for a decade and had a quick chat before their warm up.He said they were told that Ross wanted a really willing session from our boys and that's exactly what was delivered. Really good skills for the majority of that session. Bodies put on the line and skills on show. Black side looked to be a predominantly A team. However our second string midfield of Pou, Hall etc started on the other side to go head to head.

instead of going in-depth on match sim, ill talk about the 5 who I thought were standouts today - In no particular order.

Phillipou
He was predominantly playing on ball with some small stints at half forward. He look like he has levelled up. I posted a photo at his size - which looks really comparable to Mitchito. But it translated to his actual game. He was dominant. He got plenty of clearances including making Nas look silly as he turned him insideout and waltzed out of the centre square and hit a target I50. He appeared to be really trying to work on hitting targets coming out of the centre. Can't wait to watch him develop. Really exciting

Jsos
I don't know what I was expecting. Thought he was undervalued at Carlton and if today was anything to go by, we replaced Battle 12 months later and have Tauru to boot. His kicking was a real standout today. Left foot, right foot. He hit targets he was comfortable directing our play from the back half. Defensively, he smothered his opponents and killed a number of high balls. Real highlight was a smother on Marshall where he corralled his man, slowed the play down - a handball got flicked back to Ro and Jsos just dived forward for a full body smother. Really impressive today. He also has put on a lot of size. Big guy now ( photo on previous page)

Liam Ryan
I posted a number of times that I was super excited to watch him in our colours. But he is such an underrated footballer with a really high IQ. He played at HF and his role was to roam between both Arcs, Link the play or try and get on the end of it. Great pair of hands, Great kick - everything he did ended up with a seamless transition forward for a shot at goal. He also has such an impact on the playing group. He makes it fun and the boys get loud around him.

TDK
the dominant big man on the ground. Marked nearly everything that came his way. Big strong, great tap work and a huge tank that had him beating Marshall, Keeler, Dodson, Armstrong etc. The one thing I think he needs to improve is that he runs under the ball when playing forward and its evident as his defender is so worried about him that he follows. But he looked really bloody good - fingers crossed that its a sign of things to come.

Max Hall
If you thought he was good last year, He is better this year. Played predominantly on ball. He was clean, Quick. Worked hard and when he was able to kick inside 50 good things happened, over and over again. We have a bloody good footballer here.He Joined Pou on the B team so he was against Nas, Windy, Macrae etc. Really good showing.
I dont know about anyone else reading this post. But I've got movement in my jocks.

Have just completed precisely one pint and have decided this year is our year 😎
I haven't lived in Australia this century.
just whe did the word 'pint' become common parlance for beer?
Does anyone say 'glass' or 'pot' and more.
Remember two-Pot Tony, the two-pot screamer?

Thanks everyone for the training reports, they are all inspiring in their own way!

Also, how good is it having Saints TV in the background. The quality of that footage is superb, and I certainly don’t take it for granted.

Lastly, just a couple of observations.

Firstly, the Pou who looks primed for a breakout year. And it seems the club has managed his training levels beautifully to this point allowing him to set himself for a hot start to the season. Someone is doing a great job planning in the background.

Also, in that footage Marshall looks like he is gliding over the ground and moving well. I’m still hopeful that we can find a role that makes good use of his marking and linkup ability.

Can’t wait for the season to start!!

I think the council took it over.
We still lease it according to the 2025 Annual report (they list it as a "peppercorn lease" meaning we paid upfront basically). I do know that local clubs use the facilities there often, ive played a couple of practice matches there over the last couple of years.

True I think they just need to settle him into one position, being so slight he is going to take time. Hopefully he gets there, but he needs to be mindful others will start to go past him.
I haven't seen any signs or flashes with Travaglia that makes it really clear why we took him so early.
With Tauru on the other hand, you can see dominant marks, record-brealing spoils, an aerial presence.
Yet to see that yet with Travaglia but I think we should settle him into NAS' vacant HBF role and watch him go from there.

Hastie very similar.

I haven't lived in Australia this century.
just whe did the word 'pint' become common parlance for beer?
Does anyone say 'glass' or 'pot' and more.
Remember two-Pot Tony, the two-pot screamer?
Wrong person to ask if I’m honest mate. I’m not a beer guy, usually go the drinks that would have Isaak Rankine calling me a slur, but today was just too good not to.
Also think we may be of different eras 😂

Thanks everyone for the training reports, they are all inspiring in their own way!

Also, how good is it having Saints TV in the background. The quality of that footage is superb, and I certainly don’t take it for granted.

Firstly, the Pou who looks primed for a breakout year. And it seems the club has managed his training levels beautifully to this point allowing him to set himself for a hot start to the season. Someone is doing a great job planning in the background.

Also, in that footage Marshall looks like he is gliding over the ground and moving well. I’m still hopeful that we can find a role that makes good use of his marking and linkup ability.

I thought Marshall looked really average as a CHF today and significantly better when in the ruck.

Bolton slammed Rowan for not holding the ball in to retain the territory the defenders gave the black side at one point.

Infact in that 10 minute period Keeler was playing as a loose man and out marked Marshall 2-3.

Don't know what other training watchers think but i have real concerns about Trav...not prepared to totally dismiss him but he'll be a watch..
He has what it takes. Over the other side v evasion and tackling practise with the other mids, he got nailed twice, out manovoured etc. He got up every time and tried harder. Ross was complimentry.
In sim made a terrible turnover coming out of defence after indecision costing a simple goal. Got caught htb after Higgo gave him a hospital pass. Rest of the sim, tried hard but just a poor day for him.
He is a slow burn. Only second year, can develop off a hbf in the VFL. Lots of positions opening up in a year or two.

Mitch is ok at snagging a goal when the ball hits the deck or goes over the back. Other than that, I'd be expecting Nas, Hill or Sinclair to be running past for a give-off whenever Mitch has the ball in hand and the play has stopped. If he's in the backline, and that option gets shut down we could really pay the price, over and again - and other teams would be onto that.

Except for that I do think he'd be a really good disruptor and add a lot of pressure down there. Hamill was good when he went bang and crash like that, but he had much safer hands than Mitch imo. Sometimes Mitch's hands are pretty hard, and we can't be dropping easy marks back there either. Don't want to make it sound like I don't rate Mitch, but he's far from the complete player as we all know.
True but in a team that now is looking a lot better in the number of skilled players, Mitch's ability to (thinks of word) maraude around a footy field and spreadeagle opposition players and take a mark. Kick a goal and bow is just a huge POD. He's different from nearly every other player in the league. He has flaws but he has the intangible ability to football and do so with a granite hard body that can absorb and dish out punishment.
Your post helped me get my head around thinking about why he's in my first 10 team selection with having the flaws you mentioned. In the "ideal" modern footballer he has too many missing parts so I think we don't trust our eyes. Shrug...I'm probably rambiling on a Friday night

But did you see stavro#4 's formatting?

Sexy You Look Good GIF by Bounce
If you like to be patronised by bells and whistles 😉

Ro looks lighter.judging from today's sim, he may start forward and push back hard, blowing up his opponent

Couple of other thoughts from today. This is the most versatile, even list we have had in a long time.
Windy needs to be in the leadership group. Reckon he will go up another gear this year.
We have a group of players, other than just Naz that can make things happen.
I think we will have atleast another 4 A graders by years end.

Couple of other thoughts from today. This is the most versatile, even list we have had in a long time.
Windy needs to be in the leadership group. Reckon he will go up another gear this year.
We have a group of players, other than just Naz that can make things happen.
I think we will have atleast another 4 A graders by years end.
Personally think Windy should be VC.