oneoffpost
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Western Bulldogs

PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 0
SuperCoach Rd 0 - The Throw Up SC Talk - Rate My Team - Injuries - SC Leagues ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 0 AFF Talk - Preseason 2026 - Rate My Team
Na definitely not. Budarick is a little nugget. Moved pretty well and did some good things todayBudderick it would have been if he had a left foot?
WESTERN Bulldogs first-round pick Lachie Carmichael was building a case for an Opening Round debut across the summer, but Sydney academy product has suffered a syndesmosis injury.View attachment 2518882Are you telling me this bloke wasnt running around today at half back. Who the hell was it then??
I think you will find it was Michael Sellwood fellas.Was gonna leave this for the full write up later but too exciting. Couldn’t work out who a bloke was. Easily the best for the possibles in the first half. Good mover and lovely left foot.
I fair dinkum had to go ask a bulldog official who this kid is.
And drumroll……… Carmichael
Yeah I remember reading that. I even said to the bloke are you sure? Isn’t he injured?? And the kid definitely looked like that photo. I thought they were calling him Freddie. But if Carmichael is a right footer then it definitely wasn’t him. This kid was only using his right foot for balanceWESTERN Bulldogs first-round pick Lachie Carmichael was building a case for an Opening Round debut across the summer, but Sydney academy product has suffered a syndesmosis injury.
The 18-year-old will be sidelined for the next five weeks after suffering the ankle sprain at the Mission Whitten Oval earlier this week.
This was 8 days ago. It wasn’t Carmichael and he’s also a right footer.
Na Lachie is blonde and looks like B Dale out there. Had a great game today. Lock for Rnd 1 barring injuryWas it Lachie Jacques?
Yeah I remember reading that. I even said to the bloke are you sure? Isn’t he injured?? And the kid definitely looked like that photo. I thought they were calling him Freddie. But if Carmichael is a right footer then it definitely wasn’t him. This kid was only using his right foot for balance
Was it Freijah?Na definitely not. Budarick is a little nugget. Moved pretty well and did some good things today
Luke Kennedy?View attachment 2518882Are you telling me this bloke wasnt running around today at half back. Who the hell was it then??
. Bottom 4 incoming if he's lighting up our match simIt could’ve been him. Ive never heard of him and they were definitely calling him Freddie. Very good player. Did he play at Footscray last year??
It could’ve been him. Ive never heard of him and they were definitely calling him Freddie. Very good player. Did he play at Footscray last year??
Can’t believe whoever I asked told me it was Carmichael. What a clown
Im not sure that it's ever been a question of professionalism with Rhylee. In my view I just think he just had to get his head around the fact that the coaching staff knew his game and where he fit better than he did.I read somewhere that he loves footy and is super dedicated. Rhylee is a gun but he had to learn to become a pro and took him a little while to settle into a professional program.
He was in the civvies today. He walked past us to do some work with the rehab group on the other oval. I’m thinking it might have been BuderickView attachment 2518882Are you telling me this bloke wasnt running around today at half back. Who the hell was it then??
I spoke to the man, the myth, the legend….i stammered in his prescenceI think you will find it was Michael Sellwood fellas.
People never learned to spell Macrae, why would they learn to spell Jaques?Thanks for the reports guys!
No c in Jaques, btw. Sounds like we're gonna need to get used to spelling his name given his preseason so far.
Great to hear a honest reviewGood day at the footy - Apart from Maroochydore not opening up the canteen or bar which meant I had to nick to the servo at half time to prevent heat stroke and dehydration.
Club decided to play probables vs possibles in the first half. Before evening the teams up at half time. They didn’t make it best forwards on best backs. Just a mix of the two squads.
By the second half it was glorified circle work. It was hot and the boys were starting to tire.
As you would imagine the first half was very one sided. Starting in the centre for the probs was English, Bont, Richard’s and Freijah. They did as they pleased in the centre circle and around stoppages early. Poor Buku copped a huge knee in the back from Darcy from the first centre clearance. The rest of his day didn’t get much better.
Make no mistake. This is Darcy’s forward line and I’d imagine in the next 12-24 months his team. He only played a half and had at least 6-8 shots at goal. He is unstoppable when his opponent has to play by the rules.
In saying that Naughton was huge as well. At least 10 shots on goal for the day and looked to be moving really well. In the 2nd half he had O’Donnell and seemed to always be able to get a metre or two on him on the lead. Not sure if it’s concentration or slow off the mark but our key backs always seem to be a yard off the pace.
The back line to me will still be a concern. Buderick will be a good pickup and Jacques will slot in on the other back flank with Dale. Still not sold on Busslinger. Not quick, not overly strong.
It’s hard to compare setups on the ground with last year because I don’t see any live games. But it did look much more man on man in defence (rather than zone)and we didn’t look as highly pushed up the ground as we were. The last wall looked to be set up just over Centre.
Around stoppages it looked very similar. In/Out and back with a runner going past. Definite fed to a runner going by more than I remember us doing the last few years.
I won’t mention all the players but just a few who caught the eye, are popular around here or the familiar whipping boys.
Sanders - started at half forward and didn’t really get into the game until he went on ball. That’s where he belongs. Covered the ground well. Won’t say he looked quicker but was definitely linking up with one/twos. He’s going to be a good player. Just a matter of how good and whether it’s with us.
Artie Jones - was surprised to see him warming up. Thought he was injured. Like a few of the kids looks like he’s filled out a bit but definitely hasn’t lost any of his speed or agility. Always buzzing around but not quite clicking for him just yet. Needs a break out game then I think he’ll be off to the races.
Hynes - Was really looking forward to watching this kid. I think he is exactly what we’re lacking at the moment. Dangerous mid size forward who can play a few minutes on ball. Looked great in the warm up and did a few good things. Has nice hands. Don’t think he’ll ever be a big accumulator of possession’s but I’m playing him Rnd 1. Has a bit of X factor.
Gardy - everyone’s favourite. What hope do you have playing on Darcy when Richard’s and Bont are walking it out of the middle. Not much. Unfortunately even when he had a smaller, younger opponent in the second half he was still beaten.
Coffield - genuinely surprised he’s still on the list. Didn’t do anything wrong he’s just meh. Remember in U14’s there was the big Italian (Greek/Lebo) who dominated cos he was bigger and stronger than everyone else. But then by U18’s they are still the same size. They still go ok it’s just that everyone else has overtaken them. That’s how I feel about Coffield.
English - too hot for chilli today. Don’t think he bothered getting out of 2nd gear.
McNeil - the almost player. Runs hard, creates space, pressures well then drops a chest mark. Runs hard, creates spaces, gets the ball, then chooses the wrong option. Frustrating to watch
Cleary - wish he just had a bit more tenacity. Bit more mongrel. Everything he does is nice and safe. I’d say Jacques has gone past him
Jacques - run out of defence was excellent. Was one of the players continually running past to receive the handball and a good size. In my team against Brissie
Emmitt - thought he was pretty good. Was used a few times by the boys coming out of defence which tells me the boys have confidence in him. Not sure he’ll play Rnd 1 but wouldn’t be a shock.
Sellwood - this guy could be the second coming of Jesus. I honestly have no idea if he exists.
Walker / Sellwood / Busslinger basically anyone with shoulder length hair or longer today was ordinary.
I’m sorry and please don’t kick me off this board.
I tried logging on to my laptop to write all this but I couldn’t remember my password. I’ve had to use my phone and my thumb has had enough.
Any questions about players or the game in general just ask.