List Mgmt. 2026 List Management Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Perrip

There were some influential Saints supporters who begged the club not to press ahead with the TDK deal.

If it doesn't work out expect fireworks.

Fwiiw I think he'll prove to be a good player for them if he stays injury free . But 1.7 good ??

1.7 is what you pay for generational ruckman Gawn who turns up each week at an elite level and who can single handedly win games.

Would it have been, probably, ideal that Fages didn’t say this? Sure.
Pretty sure they've just taken the most quotable segment from the interview for media & fan engagement, seems to have worked. It'll just be a small part of the wider interview though going off the Cox interview.
The moment Swans coach was told Curnow deal was 'not going to happen': Dean Cox says letting go of Will Hayward and Ollie Florent to land Charlie Curnow was the hardest choice he's had to make in his time as coach
New Swans, gameplan and 'unspoken' expectations: Inside Sydney's bid to bounce back: Swans coach Dean Cox speaks to AFL.com.au's Cal Twomey about Sydney's pre-season, Charlie Curnow, the health of the list and much morehttps://www.afl.com.au/authors/1355726/callum-twomey

Round 3 will be spicy. Ross and Fox are gonna clip this up and go to town on it you'd reckon. "News clippings on players' locker doors" sort of stuff.

Appointment viewing at, oh, that's right, 11:30am Saturday 😂

Tell you what we won't want to be 0-2 at that point...

99% chance the saints try to bore us to death with possession footy and we win by 12 goals.

Often this is the case for players like Zac. A similarish type of player who comes to mind is Shai Bolton. They are not players you build a team around, nor ones you want to overpay for.

A lot of recency bias with Zac, due to his strong year, but this time 12 months ago there was conjecture whether he was best 22 given our depth and who we had coming back.

The next 12 months is going to be telling insomuch as, was it an out of the box year by him? Or has he genuinely elevated himself to become a consistent, high-level player worth the money some are willing to pay?
To be fair on Zac, he’s been on a pretty strong improvement trajectory year-on-year. His 2024 was down, but he battled injuries. I think he gets a bit of a negative opinion because of his history of trying to dish out the old “don’t argue”, or lack of awareness and being caught with the ball. He probably flew under the radar a bit early because he was drafted around the same time a Rayner & McLuggage.

No doubt he’s one of the best X-factor players in the comp. As noted by others though, if you’re going to be a x-factor player you want to be doing it in a good team. Essendon will go hard for him, he’ll need to choose money over enjoying the remainder of his football career. Though he’ll get big offers from other contenders too…

Interesting development with Fages weighing in.
Sounds a bit odd for him to be commenting directly about other club players. Not like him.

I don't see it as a comment on the players, but more the principal.

1. Paying on potential, more than those who are the actual prime movers and

2(me personally) paying a large portion of your cap on 2 players - leaving a much smaller pot for the rest to share.

Would it have been, probably, ideal that Fages didn’t say this? Sure.

However, the Saints board is currently imploding because of it so I’d say it has derived a net profit.
Haha just had a read. All 10 of their supporter base are not happy. Only a matter of time until they are packed up and shipped off. Their latest decisions in list management have only fast tracked it.

How about the guy who was so happy with the reaction on Melbourne radio he declared the Saints relevent again 😂 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

The great man's comments drew this response from St Kilda

View attachment 2522157

It is very funny that he is complaining about the system, but technically the Saints have benefitted as well from access to academy players. Owens, Windhagen etc. These guys are decent players 'given' to them by the 'system'. Also, the vic academy is zone based, not development based.

For sure the Lions have beneffited from father sons, but so has Magpies, so has Cats and others. Both those clubs have had significant players leading to flags.

The majority of our list was assembled by the rebuild, and only 3 players from our flag side was from the academy, all selected lower than the Saints academy players. We were down for 15 years so our success is a result of the rebuild, with luck from father sons, and not taking shortcuts, so it is laughable the narrative about this subject.

Supporters of clubs with victim mentalities have zero interest in actually looking at facts like that.

It's easier just to assume we're good because we've been given an armchair ride by the AFL.

The Lions are only good because of father sons & academies helps plaster over the cracks.

And it starts

Imo, that response seems to be the Saints reiterating their decision to pay over for those players to get them to St. Kilda, while also again complaining the northern clubs have inadequate access to talent at the draft. Which doesn't really answer Fages criticisms of the move.
Like, all Fagan is saying is that the top players in the league, i.e. Daicos, Bont, Cripps, Heeney, etc., should be paid what St. Kilda paid their trade targets because those top players are superstars of the game and deserve the payday. TDK? NWM? Silvagni? None of those players would get close to what the Saints offered in a "market system" that dictates "prices" compared to the top players of the game.

And it starts

I have no idea why Fagan chose to give a platform for St.Kilda to rant. They'll keep this going until round 3 whatever.

Unnecessary, we usually play it humble and keep low profile - quite surprised at the approach Fagan has taken here. I'm sure on hindsight he'll realize this was a mistake and quietly walk it back in a future interview.

I have no idea why Fagan chose to give a platform for St.Kilda to rant. They'll keep this going until round 3 whatever.

Unnecessary, we usually play it humble and keep low profile - quite surprised at the approach Fagan has taken here. I'm sure on hindsight he'll realize this was a mistake and quietly walk it back in a future interview.
Fages was talking about Bailey's contract during a yet to be released interview with Fish, "I think he will stay. I suppose everyone's got a moving price, haven't they?"
Bailey is a great player, but is he in the top 20 players in the league? No of course not. Which is why Fages is saying the amount/length that the Saints offered to TDK & NWM, should be saved for the best players in the league rather than based on potential or good players. And, that paying massive $$$ to players shouldn't be the core reason players want to go to your club.

Fagan is right as ever.

The Wanganeen-Milera money is insanity by St Kilda. That’s the sort of money you have to pay to lure a megastar free agent out of another club as a signing bonus, it’s not the sort of money you pay to retain a player - you just can’t let them take their own club to the cleaners like that, it sets a precedent that will absolutely kill your list build over time.

How can Saints fans really feel good about that deal? Hard to feel like he is all-in and emotionally invested when it takes that much to get a player to stay. How do his teammates feel now? How will they feel when it’s time to negotiate their next deal?

Meanwhile dual-Norm Smith medallist Will Ashcroft re-signs a year early on a long term deal on half the money. That’s what it’s all about.

The Saints fans losing their shit over Fagan’s comments are absolutely media-illiterate.

He wasn’t taking a shot at St Kilda. Why would he? They’re a non-entity. He was clearly sending a little message to Bailey and/or his agent. Basically saying “we love you mate, but we’re not going to compromise the bigger picture. Are you a Washcroft or a Wanganeen-Milera?”

It’s also given the junk tier media something else to talk about for a while instead of rifling through Lachie Neale’s compost bin.

As an aside, MrRipper is bang on, there is something very Lions 2009 trade period about the Saints recent recruitment spree. Teflon Gubby unfairly let Vossy carry the can for that one, who will be accountable this time?

saints fans posting nwm is a top 5 player in the comp and arguably the best in the game right now

this has been a masterclass in trolling by fages. magnificent.

Madness.

I hope for the sake of saints fans he doesn't do a Grundy, Kelly (GWS), or Kelly (WC) and go missing now that the big contract is signed lol.

Edit: Dwayne Russell arked up (arc'd up? doesn't matter) about the comments today on SEN. Highlighted that NAS polled more brownlow votes than any Lions player last year.

lol. Mate, that's what happens when you have six or seven A graders in your team, rather than having only one player who gets any votes....... and then goes on to extort a maximum dollar contract to stay at his club.

Fagan is right as ever.

The Wanganeen-Milera money is insanity by St Kilda. That’s the sort of money you have to pay to lure a megastar free agent out of another club as a signing bonus, it’s not the sort of money you pay to retain a player - you just can’t let them take their own club to the cleaners like that, it sets a precedent that will absolutely kill your list build over time.

How can Saints fans really feel good about that deal? Hard to feel like he is all-in and emotionally invested when it takes that much to get a player to stay. How do his teammates feel now? How will they feel when it’s time to negotiate their next deal?

Meanwhile dual-Norm Smith medallist Will Ashcroft re-signs a year early on a long term deal on half the money. That’s what it’s all about.

The Saints fans losing their shit over Fagan’s comments are absolutely media-illiterate.

He wasn’t taking a shot at St Kilda. Why would he? They’re a non-entity. He was clearly sending a little message to Bailey and/or his agent. Basically saying “we love you mate, but we’re not going to compromise the bigger picture. Are you a Washcroft or a Wanganeen-Milera?”

It’s also given the junk tier media something else to talk about for a while instead of rifling through Lachie Neale’s compost bin.

As an aside, MrRipper is bang on, there is something very Lions 2009 trade period about the Saints recent recruitment spree. Teflon Gubby unfairly let Vossy carry the can for that one, who will be accountable this time?

If Fagan's little message gets us Bailey's signature - then it's worked out well for us in terms of outcome.

The interview narrative must've gone in few tangents and I felt he could've settled on a "why overinvesting on few players could be a catastrophic approach" and bringing in players like Bont taking unders theme rather than a "best player gets paid best $ - these two are getting paid really good $, but are they the best? I don't know".

It's pretty easy to see it as throwing a shade on those 2 players (even if Fagan didn't intend to). Nasiah looked ominous last season and you don't want these kind of players carry added ammunition against us to prove a point.

Fagan is right as ever.

Early polling says not Gubby

Bit of a storm in a teacup really.

Everyone knows the Saints are nuts giving Gubby and Sos an open chequebook and if you're going to pay those 2 guys that much you're betting on them being generational champs.

Don't have the wherewithall to do a sensible rebuild like we did and banking on blasting their way to the top with a few good players and a lot of slugs.

Nonetheless fills up a few pages of drivel.

NWM looked really good in a few games but I've seen more players with a similar burst of brilliance who never went on with it than I've had hot dinners.

Not saying that'll happen here but you don't want to have to pay someone that much to find out.

What the Saints Pres is saying is that paying players a sensible amount is not viable. OK. Try telling that to any generational successful team over the last 30 years. Well since forever really. You have a club where players want to play to have success. What you pay them takes care of itself if enough good ones want to stay.