No Oppo Supporters General AFL Discussion #13 - Carlton Posters ONLY!

Saw the headline in the Hun, scrolled straight passed it, that peanut is dead to me and should be dead to all of us. Dunno what our blokes have in store for him rnd 0 but I seriously hope they hammer him.

Nothing.

It will be handshakes and hugs before the game, like it usually is when a player returns to play his former club.

Nothing.

It will be handshakes and hugs before the game, like it usually is when a player returns to play his former club.
Good.

“Last year was like a shambles … I had to get ankle surgery because I played through an ankle injury the year before … and then I had to get two knee surgeries after that ’cause for whatever reason a few things just didn’t get picked up, which were just maintenance stuff, but it means I just couldn’t do pre-season [last year]. And then I ended up playing round two, which, when you start behind like that, you need to not play for a while and try and work your way back into the season, which I didn’t really do.”

Weren't you the one who declared yourself fit for the EF mate? You sent Vossy a text telling him you were right to play?

“I’m really thankful for the club because, to make something happen … they got me out of some deep water there, too."

The deep water you put yourself in mate...

Here's the article in case anyone's interested:

Weren't you the one who declared yourself fit for the EF mate? You sent Vossy a text telling him you were right to play?

The deep water you put yourself in mate...

Here's the article in case anyone's interested:

Reading the tea leaves with some of the stuff he said..
  • Sounds like his relationship with Voss was strained
  • Seems like he didn't agree with how we managed his ankle injury late 2024 and into 2025. Even if some of that was probably his own fault for putting his hand up to play which he kind of admits later in the article. Blame goes both ways there.
  • All of the above made him lose enjoyment playing football which was obvious looking at his body language all year.

Either way we move on. We gave him his opportunity at AFL level and he gave us a lot of great moments. That's it period. No hard feelings towards him but he's now and opposition player so he's the enemy on game day. Hopefully for his sake he finds his love of footy again.

But for us.. we got in some players who work their asses off and have been super impressive in the preseason even if they don't have the same talent level.. that work rate and effort will lift culture and push us forward. We were right to let him go if his heart wasn't in it. We need players who are fully committed both in effort and desire to achieve great things and I feel like we are starting to build that. But it's also a wake up call (should be) with how we manage players through injuries.

Reading the tea leaves with some of the stuff he said..
  • Sounds like his relationship with Voss was strained
  • Seems like he didn't agree with how we managed his ankle injury late 2024 and into 2025. Even if some of that was probably his own fault for putting his hand up to play which he kind of admits later in the article. Blame goes both ways there.
  • All of the above made him lose enjoyment playing football which was obvious looking at his body language all year.

Either way we move on. We gave him his opportunity at AFL level and he gave us a lot of great moments. That's it period. No hard feelings towards him but he's now and opposition player so he's the enemy on game day. Hopefully for his sake he finds his love of footy again.

But for us.. we got in some players who work their asses off and have been super impressive in the preseason even if they don't have the same talent level.. that work rate and effort will lift culture and push us forward. We were right to let him go if his heart wasn't in it. We need players who are fully committed both in effort and desire to achieve great things and I feel like we are starting to build that. But it's also a wake up call (should be) with how we manage players through injuries.
Every club manages injuries differently and not all players are comfortable with that.If he was a professional footballer (which we know he is far from it) he would’ve given his all ala Bryce Gibbs not sook it up like he did.

If your paid big money like he was play your part as well as you can,show some leadership and certainly don’t make obvious and stupid decisions like riding a bike to an afl game.

Yes the club was partly to blame for his rehab but ultimately it’s on the individual.

CFC for me.

Charlie Curnow sooking about the way the club managed his injury is not only something Charlie Curnow would sook about, but also lacking self-awareness considering most of his injuries were self inflicted and he still rode his bike to an AFL game.

:tearsofjoy: :tearsofjoy: :tearsofjoy:

97bd5b422ef31acae5b9591512fcc428-regular.jpg

Liam Pickering pumped up Collingwoods tyres a bit. Jesus Mary and Joseph.

Darcy Moore (B), Nick Daicos (A), Josh Daicos (A), Jamie Elliott (A)
“That’s it for me at the moment.”
B-Graders: Brayden Maynard (B), Scott Pendlebury (off), Harry Perryman (off wtf), Steele Sidebottom (off), Darcy Cameron (B), Jordan De Goey (off), Jeremy Howe (off), Jack Crisp (off)
Dan Houston isn’t reliable. Isaac Quaynor is a bit stiff.”

And im being generous basing off 2025 form. If it was 2026 projected form, Elliot would be B due to age and injury history, Maynard would be off aswell, Moore off for being a dickhead.

Charlie Curnow sooking about the way the club managed his injury is not only something Charlie Curnow would sook about, but also lacking self-awareness considering most of his injuries were self inflicted and he still rode his bike to an AFL game.
Lets not allow facts to get in the way of a good story.

B-Graders: Brayden Maynard (B), Scott Pendlebury (off), Harry Perryman (off wtf), Steele Sidebottom (off), Darcy Cameron (B), Jordan De Goey (off), Jeremy Howe (off), Jack Crisp (off)
“Dan Houston isn’t reliable. Isaac Quaynor is a bit stiff.”

And im being generous basing off 2025 form. If it was 2026 projected form, Elliot would be B due to age and injury history, Maynard would be off aswell, Moore off for being a dickhead.
Pies have 2 A graders in their team and they have the same surname.

“Dan Houston isn’t reliable. Isaac Quaynor is a bit stiff.”

His most accurate statement was that Houston isn't reliable.

Surely he's done as a footballer for them.

I don't think the Dees gain absolutely anything by playing him. Surprised they didn't try and reach a settlement with him after the trade period finished and they couldn't move him.

Bailey Smith visited a local school this week and a Geelong supporting teacher had this summation - "If you thought Bailey Smith was a please don't evade the swear filter, although i'm actually not sure what that one was intended to be, you are 100% correct"

Apparently dropped repeated F bombs in front of grade 1 kids, thought he would go better this year because last year he drank too much and admitted that after the Cats beat the Lions in the first final he didn't get home until 7am (you could argue this isn't a big deal given they had the next week off but why disclose this fact to someone you only just met)

Last edited by a moderator:
Bailey Smith visited a local school this week and a Geelong supporting teacher had this summation - "If you thought Bailey Smith was a please don't evade the swear filter, although i'm actually not sure what that one was intended to be, you are 100% correct"

Apparently dropped repeated F bombs in front of grade 1 kids, thought he would go better this year because last year he drank too much and admitted that after the Cats beat the Lions in the first final he didn't get home until 7am (you could argue this isn't a big deal given they had the next week off but why disclose this fact to someone you only just met)

Because Bailey Smith does come across like someone that would absolutely try to impress and look cool to Grade 1 kids.

Last edited by a moderator:
Re player payments. You would think Fagan doesn"t rate De Konig highly & his worried about losing Lion's stars
TDK is getting double his real worth at the Saints. NWM has been given somewhere between 25% and 33% overs by just about any metric. Yes players moving are attracting a premium, but it is ridiculous. Then the money for JSOS who may make a big name for himself in his larger years as was very good behind the ball for half a season, but with his injury history and short window at possibly elite status he is overpaid.

To have multiple players absorbing so much of the salary cap is scary management and more than likely to bite them on the backside. Absolutely Fagan is trying to mitigate huge offers for his players, they will come. I don’t think he was disrespecting TDK, just keeping it real.

Can’t wait to see the bidding war for Butters. Just hoping we stave off any ridiculous offers for Walsh, although either way should be a positive with our young mids in line as replacements of sorts, or a massive draft bounty immediately prior to Tassie coming in. We clearly keep the cap under control until Walsh signs, so we can at least force a massive trade through matching.

What a peanut. He is on limited time as an AFL player