Injury Blue Healers Medical Room 2026

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

Do we get a larger volume of injuries compared to other clubs or around the same amount but we never read about the other clubs as they aren’t regularly posted on here, except for the major injuries.

We get more injuries than any sporting organization in the history of mankind.

Worth asking the question at this point - why can't we just ease into the season like a proper club? We've always got to be the club flogging our players harder than everyone else. Is it a lack of confidence in the players abilities?

Is the thinking that the only way we could possibly win is to be fitter than everyone else? Doesn't seem to work either way as we faded badly in the majority of games last year when leading at half time.

I can’t wait to see Matty Carroll this year after hearing track reports, but I don’t mind this. We are pretty stacked for depth now off HB and wing, so gives someone else like Chesser/Wilson/Boyd the chance to try and nail down a spot. Carrol will be back in 3, Cowan similar - guys will wanna play well to keep their spots.

Cowan
Carroll
Cotterell
Haynes
Motlop
HOF
Newman
Acres

All won’t be available in preseason games and/or the first few rounds.
Cowan = no info
Carroll = 21-days if standard hammy/Round 1
Cottrell = after round 2 bye
Haynes = after round 2 bye
Motlop = season
HOF = July / Aug?
Newman = OR or earlier
Acres = OR or earlier
We’ll see how these dates stand true

Opportunities for others.

Weiters & Cripps SoO. Harry Dean granted leave.

We get more injuries than any sporting organization in the history of mankind.

Worth asking the question at this point - why can't we just ease into the season like a proper club? We've always got to be the club flogging our players harder than everyone else. Is it a lack of confidence in the players abilities?

Is the thinking that the only way we could possibly win is to be fitter than everyone else? Doesn't seem to work either way as we faded badly in the majority of games last year when leading at half time.
Is it because we’ve been underdone for X amount of years and trying to get up to speed?

Same players injured?
Cotters. Haynes of late. NN.

Then there’s bad luck, incl LTI’s. Injuries are part of sport at any level.

Is it because we’ve been underdone for X amount of years and trying to get up to speed?
That was Russels excuse the first couple years, but it didn't get any better.

I'm sure I've read once or twice the current regime say the same thing. May have been a bluemour on here or maybe was in the wider media, don't remember.

Fwiw the Lions under Voss also had a consistently high injury list, and every year for us under him has been the same. It's a theme for sure.

Cowan = no info
Carroll = 21-days if standard hammy/Round 1
Cottrell = after round 2 bye
Haynes = after round 2 bye
Motlop = season
HOF = July / Aug?
Newman = OR or earlier
Acres = OR or earlier
We’ll see how these dates stand true

Opportunities for others.

Weiters & Cripps SoO. Harry Dean granted leave.
You won’t see Cottrel for some time.

That was Russels excuse the first couple years, but it didn't get any better.

I'm sure I've read once or twice the current regime say the same thing. May have been a bluemour on here or maybe was in the wider media, don't remember.

Fwiw the Lions under Voss also had a consistently high injury list, and every year for us under him has been the same. It's a theme for sure.
Every team starts getting injuries at this time of year. When the intensity grows and loads get upped

Cowan
Carroll
Cotterell
Haynes
Motlop
HOF
Newman
Acres

All won’t be available in preseason games and/or the first few rounds.

Hate to agree with him but I think Cornes' thoughts on players having too long off then training really hard and having issues is on the money.

In bygone years, most teams would be backing off, tapering about now after months of solid preseason. Now they get a longer break before pre season commences, then up to three weeks off pre Christmas until late second week in Jan. Clubs are playing catch up and cannot afford to back the foot off the pedal. Opening round further exacerbates the timeline. The latest thing seems to be opening round participants getting an early bye in round 2,3 or 4 not tapering until that bye.

Examination can show a number of clubs peaking “early” and being cooked before or by finals. They are all trying to work it out under the new model. Some have an “engineered” mid/late season form lapse, probably “engineered” by S&C with an eye to hitting top gear in September. They are working it out.

I have some concerns that we have inherited the former Swans S&C boss who presided over a couple of late season fade outs after dominant periods in the seasons. Hoping he has learned from the outcomes of their group and ours.

Same players injured?
Cotters. Haynes of late. NN.

Then there’s bad luck, incl LTI’s. Injuries are part of sport at any level.

I don't think it's because we flog our players harder than other teams trying to play catch up. Look at these in isolation.
Mots and HOF - ACLs, just bad luck.
Haynes and Newman - You expect the older guys to start picking up injuries at the tail end of their career, this historically happens.
That's half of the injury list either due to bad luck or to the older guys you'd expect to be more likely to pick up a niggle. Newman especially had a long lay off so it's very common to do a hammy getting back up to speed.

As for the others:
Acres - He has dodgy shoulders. This will continually be a problem. Especially since they opted against surgery this time.. there is a fair chance it pops out a lot this season and he has to battle through pain all year.
Cotters - He has battled foot injuries for the last few years and is fast becoming a problem since he relies so much on his hard running and continues to breakdown with similar issues or picks up a new one pushing to catch up. His time on this list may be coming to an end sadly but let's hope he can make it back in the second half of the year.
Cowan - I believe he has done his calf before so that's mildly concerning to do the same thing again at such a young age. Calf injuries are called the old man injury for a reason.. they tend to hang around and be troublesome to fully shake. I remember Carrazzo could never shake them.
Carroll - This one is probably on the unlucky side. Intra club matches are a step up in intensity and it's common to see injuries out of these games. Let's hope it's on the minor end.

In bygone years, most teams would be backing off, tapering about now after months of solid preseason. Now they get a longer break before pre season commences, then up to three weeks off pre Christmas until late second week in Jan. Clubs are playing catch up and cannot afford to back the foot off the pedal. Opening round further exacerbates the timeline. The latest thing seems to be opening round participants getting an early bye in round 2,3 or 4 not tapering until that bye.

Examination can show a number of clubs peaking “early” and being cooked before or by finals. They are all trying to work it out under the new model. Some have an “engineered” mid/late season form lapse, probably “engineered” by S&C with an eye to hitting top gear in September. They are working it out.

I have some concerns that we have inherited the former Swans S&C boss who presided over a couple of late season fade outs after dominant periods in the seasons. Hoping he has learned from the outcomes of their group and ours.

I'll take a late-season fade out any day. We usually have start of season fade-outs so that all sounds pretty good.

I always bang on about Geelong but that's mostly because I know one of the players. They have prescribed running they have to do for preseason in their own time usually in small groups of mates (apparently Narkle was known for sitting in the grandstand on his phone while the others did their running). The rest is pretty low key. They then use the practice matches to get match fit.

They almost expect to lose 2 of their first 3 but generally have a pretty minimal injury list and are still going strong by round 23.

On the other hand you have Carlton's approach which generally leads to 10-12 injuries by round 0 and if not our fitness geniuses will do an extreme load mid-week between round 1 - 3 to directly cause a few more - and fade outs in the second half of most games anyway.

OK fitness is important but you can't win anything with 10 of your starting 22 sitting in the grandstand.

I'll take a late-season fade out any day. We usually have start of season fade-outs so that all sounds pretty good.

I always bang on about Geelong but that's mostly because I know one of the players. They have prescribed running they have to do for preseason in their own time usually in small groups of mates (apparently Narkle was known for sitting in the grandstand on his phone while the others did their running). The rest is pretty low key. They then use the practice matches to get match fit.

They almost expect to lose 2 of their first 3 but generally have a pretty minimal injury list and are still going strong by round 23.

On the other hand you have Carlton's approach which generally leads to 10-12 injuries by round 0 and if not our fitness geniuses will do an extreme load mid-week between round 1 - 3 to directly cause a few more - and fade outs in the second half of most games anyway.

OK fitness is important but you can't win anything with 10 of your starting 22 sitting in the grandstand.
How do you know the injuries are due to fitness loads? Carroll, Cottrell and Cowan all have long injury histories. Haynes had a clean up of his knee, which isn’t uncommon for a bloke in his mid 30’s playing professional sport. Motlop ACL - complete fluke. Acres has a shoulder supported by string cheese. If we were having 10 soft tissues, and load related injuries, then maybe you’d have a point.

You just sound angry and are looking for someome to blame and name call

The guy should retire or atleast go on the LTI permanently so we can add wade derkson or will white.
Sadly, I tend to agree with this. Heart and soul player who relies heavily on his running capacity to claim a spot in the top team. Clearly his body has let him down. It is virtually impossible to think a considerably compromised foot will ever stand up to the workload required to return to his best.

Is contracted until end of ‘27 which really hurts. Was a top team regular who did not demand significant salary, so I am not “dirty” on his extended contract. Deserved the tenure, but it has come back to bite us.

Hopefully one of our wealthy benefactors can offer him a job post footy to allow us to pay out his contract should, as likely, his inability to get on the park continues.

I reckon it was ribs, fingers crossed there is no punctured lung and bruising at worst. Think the medical staff were being ultra-cautious because of the game. Weitering can go down like he is shot sometimes in games, I've seen him several times look like he has sustained a serious injury then was fine 10 minutes later. The player did land very heavily on his ribs though.

Get ****ed

Hope its only concussion (Weiters)
Was thinking the same but concussions can end season. Thought he grab a shoulder when he first hit the ground. Hopefully just minor but looked bad.