Training Saints preseason 2026

Saying that we’ll finish higher than the Pies is not that much of a positive prediction. My thinking is that they’re going to tumble.

Really hard to know. They are very good at holding together and have to have a lot go right to stay competitive but Geelong seem to never tumble from a similar position.

I saw the predicted opening round team for the pies showing no Howe and no Moore and it was ****ing grim.

Cameron, Naicos, Pendles and Long in the guts, Jaicos on a wing and a whole lotta **** all else. Theyll unearth a few and no doubt wont totally go to shit but if their vets dont get and stay healthy its hard to see them being relevant

I saw the predicted opening round team for the pies showing no Howe and no Moore and it was ****ing grim.

Cameron, Naicos, Pendles and Long in the guts, Jaicos on a wing and a whole lotta **** all else. Theyll unearth a few and no doubt wont totally go to shit but if their vets dont get and stay healthy its hard to see them being relevant

100% but well run clubs seem to defy gravity. They need a lot to go right still.

I know you campaigners are already cooking with gas, but the Chinese new year is coming up and this year is a rare combination: a fire horse. This only happens every 60 years and the last time it happened was in, you guessed it--1966.

It's happening, people.

Saints flag/England World Cup multi...

He's 22 years old and doing stuff now that is ridiculous. Imagine him after he hits his peak around 25 or 26. Dusty was a good player at his age but his absolute ridiculous football came after he hit about 25 year old.

He's the best player we have had for a long time if he hits what I think he will. Maybe the best Saint of all time.

I said at the start of last year that he was potentially the best player in the AFL. I'm going to up that and say that he could end up our best ever player if he keeps going on his current trajectory.

He's still finding his feet at this point. It's scary to imagine what he'll look like when his building confidence becomes arrogant performance. He's more damage per touch than anyone I can think of in footy already.

I'm glad someone else is getting carried away. Every now and then there's a player that changes how the game is played. Real peak of the game types like Judd, GAJ, Dusty. I think Nas' breakaway from a pack and take 3 bounces is gonna be not only his trademark but something that kids aspire to like Dusty's fend off.

He's got Pendles composure, Harvey's skill set and dare I say it Dusty's big moment putting team on shoulders and kicking goals when it matters.

He's gonna be our MJ (the basketball one). Maybe with a touch more humility though.

Ok I'll calm down now.

He's 22 years old and doing stuff now that is ridiculous. Imagine him after he hits his peak around 25 or 26. Dusty was a good player at his age but his absolute ridiculous football came after he hit about 25 year old.

He's the best player we have had for a long time if he hits what I think he will. Maybe the best Saint of all time.

I said at the start of last year that he was potentially the best player in the AFL. I'm going to up that and say that he could end up our best ever player if he keeps going on his current trajectory.

He's still finding his feet at this point. It's scary to imagine what he'll look like when his building confidence becomes arrogant performance. He's more damage per touch than anyone I can think of in footy already.
I wasn't sure he could eclipse what Rooey could do and in my time, he would have to be the greatest saint ive seen. But I keep watching those highlights and think, why not? why can't he be?

he has it all. He just needs to put it together for seasons at a time now and he has to have the team success Rooey had - of which Roo, was the cornerstone of.

AFL defends decision to add MCG game to Opening Round 2026 | Herald Sun​

AFL chief operating officer Tom Harley insists the addition of a Melbourne blockbuster enhances Opening Round despite it straying from the round’s initial purpose.

“Getting access to facilities at that time of the year is really tricky. It’s a long weekend in Melbourne, so the Sunday night slot will be great to showcase opportunity for the Saints.

we better be ready for it. Just a snip from the article. But Harley thinks it's about us. We really need to deliver.

AFL defends decision to add MCG game to Opening Round 2026 | Herald Sun​

AFL chief operating officer Tom Harley insists the addition of a Melbourne blockbuster enhances Opening Round despite it straying from the round’s initial purpose.

“Getting access to facilities at that time of the year is really tricky. It’s a long weekend in Melbourne, so the Sunday night slot will be great to showcase opportunity for the Saints.

we better be ready for it. Just a snip from the article. But Harley thinks it's about us. We really need to deliver.
Can’t keep choking on the bone when it’s thrown to us. Good Friday springs to mind. Must make this count

Can’t be too injured. Too much talking.

When asked if St Kilda tried to reach out to him following the backflip, Aleer said it wasn’t something he explored.
“I didn’t really try to dig too deep or try to find answers as to why what happened, happened,” Aleer said.
“I just copped it on the chin and saw it as something that’s going to be part of my story down the track.
“I didn’t really have any answers, and I didn’t really feel like finding out any answers. What everyone knew was basically what I knew; there wasn’t anything internally I could have found out.
“It was about two seasons ago they showed a bit of interest (in me). I thought to myself that what they were offering and the opportunity they were offering was something I couldn’t really turn down. I think anyone in my position would have probably felt the same.
“Things didn’t pan out the way I thought they were going to pan out but, mind my language, shit does tend to happen, football is a business and decisions can be made at the flip of a coin.”

Can’t be too injured. Too much talking.

When asked if St Kilda tried to reach out to him following the backflip, Aleer said it wasn’t something he explored.
“I didn’t really try to dig too deep or try to find answers as to why what happened, happened,” Aleer said.
“I just copped it on the chin and saw it as something that’s going to be part of my story down the track.
“I didn’t really have any answers, and I didn’t really feel like finding out any answers. What everyone knew was basically what I knew; there wasn’t anything internally I could have found out.
“It was about two seasons ago they showed a bit of interest (in me). I thought to myself that what they were offering and the opportunity they were offering was something I couldn’t really turn down. I think anyone in my position would have probably felt the same.
“Things didn’t pan out the way I thought they were going to pan out but, mind my language, shit does tend to happen, football is a business and decisions can be made at the flip of a coin.”

Interestingly, Sam Taylor is going to miss our match in round 2 which opens the door for a leek in their defence...

:)

Richo probably responsible for a fair bit of his early form alongside whoever was list managing us at the time. Richo was a strong in the contest coach who went ape shit if players didn't go at every ball and make a contest. He also was a straight line coach not a guy who liked to possess the ball. It was the worst possible match for Hill. Ratts got more out of him but once Lyon arrived we worked out why we got him.

Most of us learned to respect him if not like him. His presence at the club is up there with Mason Wood for bringing everything to the table off field.
Perhaps look back to what Brett was saying about Hill and the way he wanted to use him

So the intent was always there - but you have 17 other players on the field

A very good and disciplined player who not only contributes with ball in hand but also attends the thankless task of running the defensive flanks negating the switch (as does Byrnes)

No Tom Green, no Jelly Kelly, no Sam Taylor and potentially also no Finn Callaghan

And maybe no Toby Bedford.
niNetxh.gif

I wasn't sure he could eclipse what Rooey could do and in my time, he would have to be the greatest saint ive seen. But I keep watching those highlights and think, why not? why can't he be?

he has it all. He just needs to put it together for seasons at a time now and he has to have the team success Rooey had - of which Roo, was the cornerstone of.

Nas will be judged on finals for sure. Without that players get marked down. He looks built to win big games with his temperament. Probably more than Rooey who was probably only 75% in skills but 100% heart and ambition.

The scary thing with Nas is that he seems to do it like Dusty where he makes it look easier for him than anyone else. If he needs another gear he can lift and he does it without even looking like he is bothered by pressure. Absolute ice-man.

Exactly what they are mate. Subjective, laced with my own biases.
I am no svengali or master of football, I played at a lower level in the mid 80's, and have a watched fooy as a ball watching punter like most of us. Certainly have never coached or been part of anything like running a club. Many more people on this forum with vastly more footy knowledge. I am just lucky enough to get to training to pass on I see is happening (others see thing different) to the rest of the Saints tragics who are footy starved over preseason.
What I post is what I see, through my eyes. I try to temper expectations by repeating this but people take things as gospel.
Like when someone gets some info about a player coming to the Saints that turns out to be false. At the time it was correct but things change.
My response was to a poster saying Hill was the least like player at the club, I stated he wasn't, neither of us can definitely prove it. At some point he may have been, nowadays I reckon others are bigger scapegoats.
Anyway I am rambling in some weird rant, time for a Bex and a good lie down.
Living in Brisbane and unable to watch the players train I'm immensely grateful for your training notes Joffa!!

I may not always agree with your ratings of individual players, but always respect your right to make those judgements.

Keep it up please, I copy & paste your notes on to a few of my Saints mates in Qld and with our team's prospects looking the brightest for years levels of excitement are sky high!!:tonguewink::sunglasses:

Nas will be judged on finals for sure. Without that players get marked down. He looks built to win big games with his temperament. Probably more than Rooey who was probably only 75% in skills but 100% heart and ambition.

The scary thing with Nas is that he seems to do it like Dusty where he makes it look easier for him than anyone else. If he needs another gear he can lift and he does it without even looking like he is bothered by pressure. Absolute ice-man.
I’m nearly there with you on his ceiling.

But I think I just need to see it.

I still remember that version of Rooey from mid 08’ to the north game at the start of 2010 just before the Hammy. Might be the greatest player I’ve seen. That’s a big ceiling to reach.

Not for nothing, but Riewoldt played in 17 finals for St Kilda, and of the 7 we won, he was probably BOG in 5 of them.

The Dogs one particularly he was huge and carried them. Not saying he wasn't an absolute legend but he looked like he cared too much at times.

I always felt Harvey was the best saint ive ever seen and he started when i was born. Nas has some Harvey traits imo (shimmy/evasiveness and the 20m dink inside 50 for forwards to run onto) but Nas has WAY more tools too.

Its funny cause to match either of those guys he would need at least one brownlow, an AFLPA MVP and then a bunch of blazers and BnFs but if he manages a flag and a norm...

It all seems achievable for him which is incredibly exciting.