Review St Kilda v Essendon Pre-Season game #2 -- 3:10pm Saturday - Kayo/Fox

• Thread starter Thread starter Mat Mann

So preseason Byrnes was the scapegoat, played well last week, so scapegoating duties fell to Carroll, now he was good Keeler is copping it in the scapegoat stakes.
Here a tip, sometimes players have poor games, sometimes they play out of position, sometimes they are still developing.
The pile on for Keeler is unfair. Far from the finished product, is still developing and went ok as a fill. n down back last week.
Bet he cant wait for Tobie to get a gig to take the pressure off him and take the scapegoat reigns once again 🤣😅

18-9 centre clearances

8-5 contested marks

Liam Ryan with 8 score involvements from 12 disposals

Recruits doing their thang

Owens is an absolute jet. His stats will never tell the full story.
I genuinely think he was the most hurt by King's injury problems the last 2-3 years (besides Max himself obviously).

Mitch should never have been anything other than our third tall target. But without a prominent key forward, his development was really hampered. It's hard to work yourself into games when you're still working on your craft AND have the second best defender sitting on you.

Rowan down there should be a revelation for him (and eventually - maybe - hopefully - King as well).

No but didn't look happy. Maybe a break in the foot. You imagine that he'd have the ankle heavily strapped and he was on crutches but no brace or bandaging.
Poor guy.
Not so good for us either. Even if he was on the periphery of the 23 according to some, he would’ve been a very handy #24 for us.
Hopefully a quick- ish recovery.

Also hopefully Wilkie and JSOS good to go next week.

Zac Bailey is gunna love playing in the red white and black with these guys next season 😀

Don't want to be paying our best footy end of February
100%

So much to like the last 2 weeks, go into the season with some confidence

You were on the money last pre-season with Hall, looking like you're on the money with Banfield this year

Ankle. On crutches which wasn’t a great look. Hope it isn’t a long term thing like Syndesmosis.

Wilkie limping in the rooms wasn’t a great look either, but might have been the compression bandage.

EDIT Might be wrong about ankle. Foot?
Both players have been so resilient - a real shame.
Lucky Windy managed to get through at least.

Don't want to be paying our best footy end of February
You're right, but winning this game was important. We've had nothing but good press for the last week - we need that to continue.

Makes our first game against Collingwood even bigger. Everyone is tuning in to that match, we've got Ed Sheeran (and if he's not performing wearing St Kilda colors, he might as well not show up), that's the night we announce to the AFL that the Saints are back. And are far from irrelevant.

Win against Collingwood, and our membership could hit 80k this year.

We've done everything right since Christmas.

Maybe the curse is finally broken?

18-9 centre clearances

8-5 contested marks

Flanders also a handy addition, does not need to dominate but value adds.

That is what we need

Liam Ryan looks like he'll be a great addition not only for his footy but culturally aswell. Seems like a ripper.

First half was sloppy but second half with the drier ball we came into our own. Really solid and that's without our two best key backs. Really liking the midfield rotations with Pou looking good, Windy, Flanders etc.

Hot competition for spots round 0 with Hill coming back in too. Thought Carroll looked better. Wood seemed quiet and might miss out?

18-9 centre clearances

8-5 contested marks

Nas, Owens and Windhager all in our top 6 players for impact. Nas, Windy and Phillipou all in out top 4 for possessions. Phillipou with the 8 clearances too.

Liam Ryan looks like he'll be a great addition not only for his footy but culturally aswell. Seems like a ripper.

First half was sloppy but second half with the drier ball we came into our own. Really solid and that's without our two best key backs. Really liking the midfield rotations with Pou looking good, Windy, Flanders etc.

Hot competition for spots round 0 with Hill coming back in too. Thought Carroll looked better. Wood seemed quiet and might miss out?
Wood's had an interupted preseason, needed a run..may start on the bench next week..

Liam Ryan is a low possession, high impact sort of operator!

They've just started WWIII, might need to get a move on.

That would be just our luck, we finally look like winning our second premiership and the world ends in a nuclear catastrophe.

Don't worry, Israels nukes are only capable of hitting the West Coast of Australia. Increases our chances if Freo is wiped out

It was a good win, but I'm far from convinced our back line will hold up when playing stronger teams. Especially if we don't have both Wilkie & Silvagni on the park.

Caminiti tries hard but he is really clunky in his efforts. The way he looked today he is going to have a lot of goals kicked on him. We know he can play better but he still needs a lot of support around him. Lets just say all his smarts must go into studying his engineering degree.

We aren't winning a flag without a dominant 200cm key defender IMO.

Too many games like today and Hammer will lose his spot to Howard.

Keeler has a way to go. I believe he is better forward , but it won't hurt him to learn the game in defence.

Tauru looks good floating across marking contests, but has is a long way from holding down a key post.

Windhager was really good apart from a couple of kicks. Stocker & Carroll looked shaky.

I reckon Byrnes might miss a fair bit of footy the way he was looking in the rooms.

Our other obvious weakness was a key forward to take a contested mark. Sharman just shouldnt be expected to play that role.