Player Watch #36: Kozzy Pickett – 2025 All-Australian

• Thread starter Thread starter TheCount

I mean, we're hoping it's not a Bobby Hill scenario. That's gotten real ugly and close to court proceedings. We don't know how ugly this is yet. Hopefully the young fella is ok. Such a beautiful family.
Why would it be anything like Hill's situation?

Why is any of it our damn business?
Might want to alert the media of this lol

I mean Neale was all over the papers and internet for weeks over his indiscretion. It's interesting that Bobby Hill hasn't had the same airtime across media. Hope Koz is ok and whatever he's going through he can sort through

How the hell is this so Melbourne, couples split up all the time, just stupid thing to say

This guy... Bit of an odd reading to think I was suggesting relationship breakdowns are somehow an MFC issue.

I’ve got nearly five decades invested in this club. One thing you learn as a Dees supporter is that whenever things start looking rosy — like, say, a star player you’ve just signed to a massive contract having a ripping summer and everyone talking him up — you learn to just simmer down and wait a few weeks. Somehow, some way, something always goes sideways.

None of that is to blame Kozzie at all. Clearly he’s the one dealing with a real-life situation here, not just a footy inconvenience, and I hope he’s okay. But the long-suffering Dees supporter in me can’t help sighing and thinking, “ah… here we go again.” We're all victims of the footy gods that have a checklist to mess with us like this.

This guy... Bit of an odd reading to think I was suggesting relationship breakdowns are somehow an MFC issue.

I’ve got nearly five decades invested in this club. One thing you learn as a Dees supporter is that whenever things start looking rosy — like, say, a star player you’ve just signed to a massive contract having a ripping summer and everyone talking him up — you learn to just simmer down and wait a few weeks. Somehow, some way, something always goes sideways.

None of that is to blame Kozzie at all. Clearly he’s the one dealing with a real-life situation here, not just a footy inconvenience, and I hope he’s okay. But the long-suffering Dees supporter in me can’t help sighing and thinking, “ah… here we go again.” We're all victims of the footy gods that have a checklist to mess with us like this.
Yep, clearly a personal issue for Koz, but definitely a feeling the fans are used to. Can't ever get comfortable as a fan of this club. Even the one flag we all waited so long for happened at a time none of us could fully enjoy it lol

I fully enjoyed it. In a way, because things were so shit in Melbourne for two years, I appreciated it even more.

Obviously have had less fun since though…

I fully enjoyed it. In a way, because things were so shit in Melbourne for two years, I appreciated it even more.

Obviously have had less fun since though…
Yeah, not saying i didn't enjoy it, but couldn't fully experience it like it should be. Couldn't go to the game or have the same lead up with grand final parades etc. Still see the nuffies online calling it a covid cup.

One thing that irks me about 2021 was it was just as about a normal season you could have aside from no crowds in VIC games towards the end of the season and the finals all being played out of VIC.

2020 was by far a bigger * of a season than ever before, 10 week pause, 5 rounds of footy in 3 weeks, 17 min quarters, 17 games, GF played in October. For mine its overlooked because it was won by Richmond who had already won 2 of the previous 3.

If anything our GF was remarkable given the side was on the road for 3 months, isolations, no home ground advantages etc.

Still shit not being able to experience and celebrate it first hand, but when you look at it 20-25k of actual supporting members get to go to the GF, 90% of fans are still watching it on TV regardless of location.

One thing that irks me about 2021 was it was just as about a normal season you could have aside from no crowds in VIC games towards the end of the season and the finals all being played out of VIC.

2020 was by far a bigger * of a season than ever before, 10 week pause, 5 rounds of footy in 3 weeks, 17 min quarters, 17 games, GF played in October. For mine its overlooked because it was won by Richmond who had already won 2 of the previous 3.

If anything our GF was remarkable given the side was on the road for 3 months, isolations, no home ground advantages etc.

Still shit not being able to experience and celebrate it first hand, but when you look at it 20-25k of actual supporting members get to go to the GF, 90% of fans are still watching it on TV regardless of location.
That's completely ignoring a site set up for fans to watch, pubs open, GF parade, premiership party after in Melbourne and all the rest. Wasnt great for a social experience for people

100%. The * COVID cup stuff is just rage baiting. As above, 2021 was arguably the most difficult year for an MCG tenant to win the premiership.

2020 didn’t even feel like AFL level football at times. So many games where one team only scored 3 or 4 goals due to the shortened quarters and shortened rests between games. It was a good illustration of how player in ground fatigue allows for more scoring. But take nothing away from Richmond, they had the same conditions as every other Vic based team and came away with the premiership.

Day of the 2021 flag I went to the MCG with a friend and walked around it a few times then went to Gosch's. Heaps of Dees tragics around.

I then did heaps of drugs in my living room after we won and snuck over to a mate's place to watch the replay the next day - including Prelim replay and Chris Scott presser.

Was 10/10. Wouldn't have changed a thing.

That's completely ignoring a site set up for fans to watch, pubs open, GF parade, premiership party after in Melbourne and all the rest. Wasnt great for a social experience for people

Yes make a difference for the fans experience, doesn't make the premiership any less legitimate.

This the Melbourne board mate I don't think anyone's arguing with this

I fully accept majority of fans miss out on the GF, but majority don't miss out on the games throughout the year, the finals themselves, going to the pub and watching it with your mates/family, celebrating afterwards etc.

My partner goes for Geelong. Since 2021 I have gone to 2 qualifying finals wins, 3 prelims (for 2 wins) and I got to see them celebrate hard and all that. I didn't realise how much we I/we all missed out after seeing that

2021 was great don't get me wrong, but we did miss out on the full experience and euphoria of it all

Worked out better for me, I would have paid a shitload to go, possibly by myself. Instead I watched with the wife and sons and got to pass out on the couch instead of some random shrub in the city.

I wouldn’t know. Can’t compare it to other premiership experiences.

I loved it. It was a genuinely shit time in Melbourne. Huge event for me in a really horrible set of circumstances.

Worked out better for me, I would have paid a shitload to go, possibly by myself. Instead I watched with the wife and sons and got to pass out on the couch instead of some random shrub in the city.
I had a snooze under some lavender bushes in my backyard at around 3 AM so replicated the fun of the day in more normal times.

I guess it might have been disappointing if your idea of fun and a social experience is the parade, pubs, getting arrested for running up and down Swan Street naked and trying to overturn cars.

I loved winning a premiership and was as happy as I’ve ever been. All manner of nuffies on BF crapped on with the haha you didn’t get to go lol. They can frankly **** off.

All that parade shit is “tradition” but it doesn’t mean I have to accept it’s the only way to have fun. I loved winning a premiership and I’d be happy right now not to bat off people that want to tell me it had no value. It was my day and it was great.

I guess it might have been disappointing if your idea of fun and a social experience is the parade, pubs, getting arrested for running up and down Swan Street naked and trying to overturn cars.

I loved winning a premiership and was as happy as I’ve ever been. All manner of nuffies on BF crapped on with the haha you didn’t get to go lol. They can frankly **** off.

All that parade shit is “tradition” but it doesn’t mean I have to accept it’s the only way to have fun. I loved winning a premiership and I’d be happy right now not to bat off people that want to tell me it had no value. It was my day and it was great.
We didn't get the full experience of the premiership. Absolutely loved the feeling it gave me. I necked a bottle of champagne as soon as the siren went. Had my friends and family on Zoom chats throughout the night which was fun. It was a unique experience for sure. But yeah, missed a lot of the build up, and the post celebrations and that opportunity to attend which is the big one for me. Buy a membership every season guaranteeing me GF tickets and the one year we win it I can't access it. Doesn't scratch that itch completely of attending a Dees premiership. The partying in the pubs and the gloating at work and wearing your scarf around the streets of Melbourne for the next few months either. There was lots to love about it, but also lots to unfortunately feel ripped off about. We weren't going to win it any other year though because we are Melbourne.

We didn't get the full experience of the premiership.
So?

Didn’t personally give a shit about what others judge as “the experience of a premiership”. That’s just manufactured crap anyway. Happy myself to have my own experience without others telling me it’s no good unless parade etc.

“We weren’t going to win it any other year” is just Melbourne veil shit living in your head. We were very very good and won.

I as a common fan wouldn't be able to go unless i got lucky and paid a heap. Grand finals genuinely don't feel available to the every day person. I don't really care for the pub and restrictions in reginal vic where relaxed at the time so I had my small family over.

Call it sad or cope but in the end what I was going to end up watching it at home on TV no matter where the game was

Premiership was great, but the following years kind of soured it a bit. Knowing that the club would quickly implode afterwards makes it a much less fun rewatch.

That’s the thing that made it less after the event. Not the circumstances on the day, but the crap that followed which has soured the recollections of 2021.

Still hoping to randomly run into some of the people I blame so I can punch them firmly in the head (then run away and fashion an alibi obviously)