Review Cats keep the streak on Crows at KP by 8 points

An ugly win but bank it and burn the tape. Now over to David King and Jack Flogvoldt as they dissect the one lasso kick that actually went out way all night and how it is the root of all footballing evil.

Feels like Riewoldt has his ugly mug everywhere on fox footy these days.

Thought Clark was just about BOG in the last quarter.
Wiltshire was good, instrumental in a few scores and chased well.
Cameron well beaten, which happens, but disappointing he couldn’t impact further up the ground.
Smith had a very good game, BOG.
SDK was good, continues to use the ball like the full back he is.
Edwards already having an impact.

Not great to watch but a belief-building team win.

Thought Adelaide defended heroically and credit to the boys for fighting it out in what was an ugly grind for the most part. Clearly we will need to be cleaner and more fluent going forward for the Hawks clash. Blitz got it together in the end. The Irish boys were solid with Mullin excellent on Rankine. And, welcome back SDK.

At 3/4 time I was ready to banish Clark for the rest of the season. Rather large last.
think he had 4 touches to 3/4 time... ended with 14.... but the pressure and tackles I remember more than the disposals. Good effort in the end.

GO Catters

I don't mind scraps like these; you learn something about your squad.

Lassoo rule makes no sense when
  • it's a scrambly accidental toepoke
  • you can now kick the ball sideways out of bounds in your D50
  • you can do the fake "trying to keep it in play" thing all you like.

It was a slog with the usual sloggy frustrations, but I actually thought we played quite well.

Just on that; Tom Atkins a wonderful piece of shithousery in the last quarter to claim the free kick on the wing when it had come off his own boot - sold it like the pro he is.

The lasso rule failed twice. 1-1 draw. Both ultimately resulted in a goal to each team. But the media will just talk about the Atkins toe poke.
I still don’t understand the first one. It was right not to pay it live. Why on earth was that the one they felt the need to review??

Not a game that you'll want to replay, so bank the points and move on.

I've got to replay it stress free, walked out of the room too many times.
Good job we won, so no sour grapes saying umpires were all kinds of shite.

A few random thoughts:
  • Thursday night games are shit
  • SDK was good, played with intent and solid overhead
  • Clark anonymous for 3 qtrs, showed up in the last when needed
  • Wiltshire showed afl qualities for the first time
  • O Henry competed well and had good work rate, did a lot of defensive game. Good signs from him
  • Martin very impactful, probably his best game for geelong
  • Zuthrie very quiet, just going
  • Stewart, j Henry and COS very solid down back
  • blitz, Holmes, smith & Atkins good
  • Edwards not disgraced, showed some decent signs, probably needs a rest now
  • close not missed, don’t see a quick way back into the team for him
  • Dempsey very good, this is the expected level for him now
  • Mullin put rankine in his pocket. Very important role in this game
  • Thursday footy is really shit

Just on that; Tom Atkins a wonderful piece of shithousery in the last quarter to claim the free kick on the wing when it had come off his own boot - sold it like the pro he is.
And wonderful use of “shithousery” mate. 👏

SDK was a real positive tonight, as was Jack Martin who looked dangerous up forward. I thought our pressure and intensity was good all game.

We made hard work of it. The entries were really poor. I feel we needed to change up the angles a bit to create some space and catch their defence out. Lots of bombing and kicks in hope.

Let us never speak of this game again.

Mullin took the Rankine wallet and keys outta the pocket all night long. Fair effort to get 12 odd touches and kept him under 10 I reckon.

GO Catters