Player Watch Pick #33 (2024) - Jack Whitlock

• Thread starter Thread starter RossFC

He is going to be a really good player as long as he bulks up and improves his kicking.

his read of the game and his effort levels are already at AFL level, just need to get the other things there, and maybe playing afl is the only way that will happen.

That’s the thing I’m saying, if we’re picking Ramm at the moment he’s not demanding selection and it’s very much an eye to the future

Whitlock is currently getting picked on merit for his efforts.

As PJ says the forward rucking is a huge bonus

It would’ve been great to see Whitlock convert his chances, but he still had a reasonable game and shows plenty of promise. He’s already consistently showing some of the more difficult AFL traits for a young key forward to develop.

His marking is a thing of beauty - he’s timing his jump well, getting hands to the ball at full stretch and using his height to advantage. I think his leading patterns and chemistry with the other forwards is looking good too.

As he builds up his strength and tank he is going to be very difficult to defend against.

It would’ve been great to see Whitlock convert his chances, but he still had a reasonable game and shows plenty of promise. He’s already consistently showing some of the more difficult AFL traits for a young key forward to develop.

His marking is a thing of beauty - he’s timing his jump well, getting hands to the ball at full stretch and using his height to advantage. I think his leading patterns and chemistry with the other forwards is looking good too.

As he builds up his strength and tank he is going to be very difficult to defend against.
The deficiency that stands out at the moment is his tendency to drop chest marks, low down and sliding marks. That is absolutely fixable. When he fixes that and given his current trajectory continues, he will prove the steal of the second night of the 2024 draft.

I watched the replay, he did a few things that didn't get on the stat sheet. He's staying pretty involved without kicking goals or getting a heap of disposals. A few of his ruck contests weren't bad too, looked a natural with the tap.

For me, Jack is looking like the player I wanted Marshall to be. For 201cm he is bloody agile and I reckon he is more alert and has more footy nouse than Marshall had at 19 / 20.

Received a voicemail from Jack this afternoon thanking me for my xx years of continuous membership, since this last round was member recognition round. Poor kid. Imagine having to make literally hundreds of those calls. Was a custom call not a generic dear member type cos at least he said my name at the start.

I rate him even in this very early stage of his career.

And besides, he's wearing the No. 17 guernsey ;)

Player weights are no longer allowed to be made public but when you you speak to the young Power key forward, it is very apparent he is bulking up. Listed at 200cm on the Power’s website, Whitlock thinks he has grown a centimetre or two since arriving at the club, and the 19-year-old is on a mission to add size to this long frame.
So he is eating, a lot. “I try to eat six meals a day,” he tells CODE Sports.
When I get home it is just a lot of meals at the moment. “I love my eggs, heaps of eggs in the morning, chicken wraps and then for dinner there’s a bit of everything trying to get all the fuels. “And even after dinner stuff like oats, yoghurt bowls, all that sort of stuff.”
A young tall having to put on size and strength is nothing new in the AFL.
But Whitlock, who has played the last six games for the Power after debuting last year, is hoping that he can make an impact at the highest level without the pounds stacked on.
“I always talk with Matt Lobbe who is helping me with my development about fast tracking my development,” Whitlock said.
“I think it has been the case in the past where everyone says key forwards do take a long time to develop but I think now that the game is evolving I think with my mobility and athleticism I can just play to my strengths and still have influence over the game and not have to worry strength and that.
“I think with my jump as well the new ruck rules are probably helping me and then yeah my point of difference is getting around the ground, helping out and almost playing as another midfielder.”

bloke has talent, definitely something there. Add on some muscle, experience and confidence and he could be anything really.

Very impressive first 7 games for a key forward
Would be ideal if he didn't have to ruck but considering we don't have a forward ruck, Whitlock is the tallest player we have currently that can play as the second ruck.

He has Ben King type potential as a KPF. Him and Georgiades could be the best 1-2 KPF punch in the league by 2028 if he continues to develop.

Equally as important, it will allow Dougie to not be thrown in and relied upon as an important spinal pillar in the team from day 1. That is of course, presuming he extends his contract beyond this season.

He has Ben King type potential as a KPF. Him and Georgiades could be the best 1-2 KPF punch in the league by 2028 if he continues to develop.

Equally as important, it will allow Dougie to not be thrown in and relied upon as an important spinal pillar in the team from day 1. That is of course, presuming he extends his contract beyond this season.
Best part is they have different strengths and aren't similar players. Would also allow Dougie to play as the third tall while he develops.

I wonder if that means Pilot will be a mid at AFL level? :think: