Autopsy Round 3, 2026: Positives and Negatives vs Port Adelaide

First off it's early days,

I think the quality of players we have recruited in the past few years might be better than our last rebuild particularly around the mid field, more reminiscent of our 2000-2004 rebuild.

Not going to lie I was a bit worried past few years we would end up like one of the shit clubs of the competition, our recruitment and development seems to be already ahead of the likes of Carlton, Essendon and Kangas, which I'm very pleased to see.

It's still going to be a hard year but gotta be happy with the early result.

This should be more permanent. Baker up front provides a hard contest, much needed leadership and accountability.

The biggest gain for our team will be not having his turnover game occurring in the corridor. He is actually decent shot for goal as well.

That leaves Duggan as the only obvious turnover merchant in defence and he needs to polish up his lockdown defensive role and hand pass to simple targets. Oh, and no kick ins please
I agree with Baker. Not so much with Duggan - he should go polish up his WAFL skills and get out of the team.

Houghey had an absolute shocker.
I'd also say Tyler Young needs to be more aware of where his opponent as as he got schooled today. Hopefully he learns to lock down better as that's his job.
I’m a Houghy fan but he’s had an absolute stinker of a fortnight.

Looks a touch slow, lacks a second effort and disposal is a concern. I think when Starce is fit for selection, Houghy is the one who should make way for him.

We would never have imagined that two to three years ago, but our list is simply better than then.

Missing 4-5 basic goals almost cost us the win. We should've belted them.

Both teams left a few goals on the table although Cripps missing that soda could’ve proved costly when it should’ve been the sealer

Won't lie though Harley is frustrating.
Why? He gave away one free kick today which was against Butters who did his routine flop and otherwise appeared to be a typical jumper push and should've been play on.
Is there another incident I'm missing?

Jagga is good. But Allen won’t be far behind and Baker and Graham have transformed this team.

Trade was pretty shit on value and probably a loss for every other side but looks like a win for our list
Plus we got Owies as well.
Puts it well over the top in our favour.

Shanahan is probably my favourite player of yours, reminds me of Treacy in the sense of him being a couple of years ahead of his KPF cohorts, will be a premier forward sooner rather than later I'd say, your recent draftees are a likeable bunch too.
You missed their most important shared attribute, they are both ex-Pioneers.
I know that Danny O'Bree, in particular, is proud of how they both have developed in the AFL environment.

-s
Slow start again. Man there was some shocking disposals and efforts early on
Yeo getting injured
Cripps.. that missed sitter. Getting outmarked twice in a minute
+s
Shanahan. I was against us drafting him with our first pick that year but we didn't and he's turned out a gem. His marking was outstanding
Duursma.. from the marks, tackling pressure, smothers and shots at goal he's a beauty
Waterman.. gives his all
Harley.
Davis. Hopefully he can build on this form

Late in the 1st in the Melb V Carl game, Gawn was lining up from beyond the 50.

BT says "what is Max thinking, no one kicks them from 60 anymore".

Gawn goes on to spray it.

If you know, you know.
In fairness Gawn typically sprays the ball from 20m directly in front as well.

Remember in 2011, off a spoon, we started the season with a home win vs North then an away win against Port and finished top four?

I bring that up for no reason at all.

Was that the season that Dwayne complained incessantly about us tanking the season before to get Darling (who all but Collingwood could have drafted)?

That Duursma move in the back pocket where he made time for himself and hit up Graham (I think) was all class. He genuinely might have it all

I think the challenge of the four talls is it’s fairly likely at least one will have a quiet week.

His mark in the second half and the turning a bloke inside out before finding Davis in the last was as impressive as anything he’s shown to date I reckon.

Hard to have four big boys who each have huge stat sheet impact but I think he’s building beautifully.

I was shocked at that ground level agility and skill by big Archer. Super impressive.

I’m a Houghy fan but he’s had an absolute stinker of a fortnight.

Looks a touch slow, lacks a second effort and disposal is a concern. I think when Starce is fit for selection, Houghy is the one who should make way for him.

We would never have imagined that two to three years ago, but our list is simply better than then.
If anyone deserves #credits, it’s Hough. Was a shining light for us in our darkest hours and clearly bleeds for the club. He definitely looks a bit off and low on confidence but I’d be giving him every opportunity to find form (and all three of those things could be applied to Starcevich from what I’ve seen of him)

Not a big day for CDT but his last quarter was a prime example of having his moments. Those 50/50 wins were critical in the win especially the gather and handpass to Kelly in the dying seconds.

The cleanest 200cm ground level player deliberately fumbling it over the line with 1 min to go shows some serious composure and game sense. 18 years old by the way.

Three weeks ago felt like sitting in the lineup at Margaret River in a monster swell and in primal fear of being too far inside. Now it feels like dropping into a 30tf slab, hitting a big carve then laying back and charging a green tunnel 4x overhead with a beautiful pathway ahead. This is finally back to an old fashioned WCE team, big dominant spine, tough hard-nosed players all over the ground and well coached. Us lucky bastards have a beautiful ride ahead I reckon.

Bloody exciting to get another win. We did our best to lose it at the end there but you can expect this from a young team

I feel like I'm finally seeing the McQualter vision. Low possession footy but high pressure stuff. With focus on moving it quick and locking it in our 50 / forcing repeat entries

Some thoughts on individual players:
  • Shanahan: He's incredible. His hands are elite. I hope we continue with him as a forward but also keep the swing man card up our sleeves, kind of like Adam Hunter did. Thanks again, Richmond.
  • Duursma: RS nomination this week surely. He might win it. He will be scary in a few years when he's put on a bit of muscle.
  • Harley. Probably BOG. It's so clear how much better his conditioning is this season. That double candy sell was epic. Umpires seem quick to call him for little free kicks against so he needs to be better when it comes to not giving away frees, especially late in games. A few came at very critical times
  • Waterman: Once he gets his kicking boots on then look out. I knew we missed him last season but didn't realise how much. Gun
  • McCarthy: Looks like the midfield experiment is over before it started. I don't mind. He's great down back and alongside Lindsay we have two dynamic generals back there
  • Davis: I've been critical on him before (solely because of his kicking) but I'm finally seeing it I think. He's just super solid, hard working role player and I can see him being an important part for years to come
  • Allan: Not many touches but wowee. Great to see him kick a few snags. He reminds me a bit of Andrew Embley actually. Glad we're pumping games into him.
  • Lindsay: Super solid. One or two kicks where he bit off a bit too much. But a few other kicks that were pure class.
  • CDT: A quieter game but he still competes super hard and impacts much more than any 200+ cm 3 gamer should. He was big in the last few minutes for us
  • Flynn: Actually okay today. An easier match up for him but he competed well
  • Duggan and Kelly: Both have surprised me this year. Playing well above the level they have over the past few seasons
Could probably keep going but those are the main ones

I hope we keep the same lineup into next week's game (except for forced changes)