Player Watch #22 Blake Howes - extended to 2027

• Thread starter Thread starter SackLunch

Got some love earlier in the year and I think is due some more. Was solid and composed in defence in a higher level of intensity last night and hasn’t really put a foot wrong in his first season. I think he was even on Stengel at times showing some versality. Working well in the system with May, Lever, TMac.

Was on stengle for his first goal, will need to watch the replay but he went into the marking contest, which allowed stengle an easy snap at goal because Howes was out of the contest. Not the worst crime and he'll learn. Besides that he was pretty good as was the rest of backline.

If I’m Howes I’m only signing this if I got some level of commitment from Goodwin that I will - form permitting - be regular 22 if not this year then in 2026.

I’m sure there would’ve been other clubs sniffing around at what they saw as a bit of value.

While he’s pretty dominant as a ball user back in the VFL he’s been asked to be more lock-down at AFL which I think exposes his in-betweener size a bit. Too tall and not agile enough for smalls, not tall enough or strong enough for bigs.

I did see him standing next to Fullarton and I swear he wasn’t much shorter. I think he’s taller than his listed 191cm now.

He’s maybe a Salem replacement with a bit more size.

My man
I really like Howes. He's a defender first something we lack big time down there. Not the most skilled but he's a full effort player and he's had some big moments last few games.
Might be me new photo

My man
I really like Howes. He's a defender first something we lack big time down there. Not the most skilled but he's a full effort player and he's had some big moments last few games.
Might be me new photo
He's a weird player, was a wing who could kick and take a grab with a free run but was otherwise a bit soft in the air, then he turned himself into a bit of a semi outside 4th back, and now he's an aggressive stopper. If he can put his full career arc so far into one player, we've really got something.

I don't know what it is and Topkent has beaten me to claiming him, but i genuinely saw something with him once he started playing senior footy.

People kind of scratched their heads and moaned when he came in last year at times when really he was the next best defender in to come from the reserves. The way he's playing now, he'll be the last defender get dropped back there.

Has had to overcome some injuries early and started his development on the wing. But just a good honest defender now. Locks to his man, commits the body when asked to go, gets the hand in to spoil. It's a doesn't have to be done perfect job, but a job that has to be done. Can't fault the role he's playing in our team

Was really struggling to see it with this guy over the last couple of years, but it looks like I was wrong.

Great couple of weeks and shaping up as one of the real good news stories for us of the year. Seems determined to make it and keep improving.

At the season launch one of the development coaches said Howes and Windsor would have breakout years. He's definitely playing with way more confidence than previous years.

Kind of playing like early McVee by winning 1 on 1s and being super clean and composed with the footy.

Weirdly, would rather Howes currently. More size, better one-on-one, and the much-vaunted 'attacking' McVee has been very underwhelming so far.

Got me thinking about our half backs now - keen to see Bowey kicking off our half back line now with this gameplan when he gets fit again.

Loving seeing McVee struggle over in Freo. Sucked in.
Won't reel off all the stats again, but in another post I plucked out a few around how good our transition footy from D50 to score is and how useful Salem has been as part of that. When you look up all those stats from last year though, Bowey is always up around the mark as well, he'll be huge once he's back in and found his feet.

Howes is a good case study of investing in development.

Came to the club as a forward likened to Gunston.

Was injured early and when not injured played the wing in the VFL.

Then converted into an intercept defender in the VFL, and now a more pure defender at AFL level.

He could’ve easily been cut a few times over the years. But replace him with who that would be better? An 18 year old undeveloped player at pick 82?

I reckon with Tassie coming in teams will have to spend more time developing players like Howes.