List Mgmt. 2026 List management - pt.1

• Thread starter Thread starter akaifu

These are the players that I believe our recruitment team have no excuse for missing -

Over looking Archie Roberts from the Dragons taken at pick #54 right under of noses, was a major blunder from our recruiting group. https://www.afl.com.au/news/1498013...who-could-be-the-best-value-pick-of-his-draft

You cant get all your picks right, but when these kids are training at Moorabbin HTF can their potential not be identified? He was even starring at U18 level and was a bargain at #54, kids like this we simply cant afford to be missing on.

We cant blame Dalrymple for this one as Roberts was taken in the 2023 draft, but Im far from convinced Dalrymple has nailed too many picks at this stage.
Roberts had 42 disposal yet only managed 2 score involvements for the game. I wouldn't be losing sleep over not drafting him atm.

I believe revisionism over past drafts is pretty much an ego illness lol. There are so many factors that go into a player excelling at AFL level.

The Roberts revisionism is absolutely ridiculous. Every club passed over him multiple times before he was selected for a start.

Also, the development of players is not linear.

Sure, if a recruiting team gets heaps of decisions wrong, well then there is most likely a problem.

But players occasionally are going to slip through to later in the draft sometimes and there is nothing anyone can do about it.

Except select dart-throwing, egotistical Big Footy draft experts ;)

I’m getting real sick of hearing (from Gettable) how much Wilson is ready to leave to go to ****ing North
Well he does have one good game a year.

He's not whipped, St Kilda sabotaged every negotation with him with the hope he would net us a pick of some sort at some point that could have been spent on a player of indeterniable availability or talent.

Ross ****ing hated the three tall defense line in 2023 that netted us no 1 defensive team that year and personally took a shit on top of Battle's green beast commodore. I know this because Lyon cannot coach and this is evident in his lack of defensive interest.

I am not a crackpot.

Still whipped tho....

the simpsons episode 24 GIF

I'll take JSOS and The Viking over Battle any day of the ****ing week.
An interesting thing I was surprised by is that Silvagni is only 6 months older than Battle.

Battle is a gun but if you had to choose between Silvagni and Tauru or Battle I think you definitely take what we have.

If Silvagni can stay fit he'll end up a champion for us. The guy is a gun.

And Tauru could be anything.

Have to say it's pretty bloody lucky we got Silvagni. The Dogs would love him right now.

Gettable

• Wilson is VERY GETTABLE - host of VIC Clubs after him,
  • Travaglia is gettable (eyes on Tassie)
  • Asked the question about Bodhi Uwland. He isn't going anywhere.
  • Ben King to Stkilda? "marginally Gettable"
Walter & Lewis are gettable

Gettable

How is Travaglia remotely gettable. I heard they referenced that he played 12 games last year and can't break into the team this year. My brother, he is currently injured and in year two. Why don't we get this trash on year two players from big clubs?

Gettable

Jed Walter all the way for me. Lewis has spent less time on the Park then King at this stage. Walter is that 2nd tall power forward that I think we need and is 7 years younger.

How is Travaglia remotely gettable. I heard they referenced that he played 12 games last year and can't break into the team this year. My brother, he is currently injured and in year two. Why don't we get this trash on year two players from big clubs?
One of last nights Footy shows said Tassie weren't interested in contracted players - but would focus on players coming out of contract.

Travaglia would be one, Tauru similar

Jed Walter all the way for me. Lewis has spent less time on the Park then King at this stage. Walter is that 2nd tall power forward that I think we need and is 7 years younger.
I personally wouldn't be upset if Darcy Wilson became Jed Walter. I like Wilson, but he is up and down and for whatever reason doesn't seem to have found a fit in our team as yet. Walter would fit well in to our team

I have no insider information for anything, but I just have a gut feel that Darcy Wilson is going to test the market and get given an offer he can't refuse (probably from North). Seems like an interesting guy.
It’s pretty rare for a first round pick to request a trade him at the end of their first contract without being home sick.

These are the players that I believe our recruitment team have no excuse for missing -

Over looking Archie Roberts from the Dragons taken at pick #54 right under of noses, was a major blunder from our recruiting group. https://www.afl.com.au/news/1498013...who-could-be-the-best-value-pick-of-his-draft

You cant get all your picks right, but when these kids are training at Moorabbin HTF can their potential not be identified? He was even starring at U18 level and was a bargain at #54, kids like this we simply cant afford to be missing on.

We cant blame Dalrymple for this one as Roberts was taken in the 2023 draft, but Im far from convinced Dalrymple has nailed too many picks at this stage.
In my opinion Dalrymple has nailed: Max Hall, Tauru, Boxshall (early days but tracking really well) and Dodson (early days but looks like he's got it).

Yet to be determined in my opinion: Travaglia, Barratt, Said, Armstrong, Banfield, Fincher.

Usually you need to allow up to 3-4 years on average to determine if a player will 'make it' (the metric being 50+ games proven senior player credentials) so it's truly early days in that regard. Obviously there are some players that impact straight away but it's often the exception to the rule.

The league wide average drafting success rate of list managers over the last 15 years sits a bit above 30%. So far, my early opinion is that Dalrymple has hit 40% and we will get a better idea of his success rate over the next 2 years.

Dalrymple has used 2 first round picks and 8 later picks or rookie selections. As for picks in the 40-50 draft range they become far more speculative, but history proves Dalrymple has a particular strength in finding the 'diamonds in the rough.'

Not sure the normal rules will apply to Tasmania at the outset. They might be able to grab OOC players without moving out draft picks.
I believe they will be treated as free agents so we'd still get a compensation pick (as if the draft was not buggered enough already). the herbs and spices will need some updating to account for the ages of the younger guys