Review FIFTEEN POINTS!!! WE DID THE WEES AND POOS BY FIFTEEN FREAKING POINTS!!!

This game confirmed to me that JL knows what he's doing.

Coming off multiple 6 day breaks we couldn't go all out all game long. We would've been stuffed by 3 qtr time and they would've rolled us in the last.

The strategy worked. We maintained touch until the last 10 minutes then broke the game open.

I trust the process.
Once Cox moved on to Gunston and we tightened up on their F50 entries I have to say I think he outpointed Mitchell pretty handily in a lot of areas. They attempted to work over Jackson but it was our midfield rotations that broke down their entire engine room to the point where they couldn't get out of 2nd by the end of the game.

And Mitchell went very conservative once the tide turned in the 3rd quarter. JL released the shackles. Staggering reversal of stereotypes.

What a game of footy!!

The good
  • Jackson is our best player surely? whatever we are paying him is probably not enough lol
  • Freddy had one his best games in a while
  • Treacy wasteful goal kicking but 2.4 and 17 touches shows he was really involved and influential
  • Amiss stood up when others couldn't convert
  • The coaching team for turning it around in the second half, protecting the corridor better and shutting down Gunston and Watson
  • The confidence and belief until the final siren

The bad
  • Another terrible game from MJ I really hope its just illness (McVee as well maybe)
  • The tackling was really bad, at one point it was nearly 20 broken tackles to 0
  • Poor goal kicking from a number of players
  • **** you Gunston, why is he still so good?

It’s absurd how big the gap is between our best and our worst - our best is the best in the comp, period. That last 10 mins is as good as I’ve seen a team play all year.
But we can look so listless, nervy and crap for such long periods, and that’s what frustrates so many of us.

Yes maybe we melt too early, but we just want to see that footy more often!

I thought we had mentally cooked ourselves on the big stage again, yes we all have the Elimination final in our heads where exactly that happened.

And no - I’m not going to apologise for melting halfway through, because we were rubbish to that point.

Maybe we are just this burst team this year, and need to hang in when the bursts aren’t happening.
Gordon Ramsay Reaction GIF by Hell's Kitchen

Holy f*ing sh. What just happened?!

Who is this team with the resilience of 10 Hercules?! FMD, just when you feel you're on the canvas, even Rocky Balboa didn't have this many comebacks :tearsofjoy:

F***ing wow, this team can do it. It can go all the way

First time in the history of the club, where we have genuine belief that we can turn it on for 5 -10 mins and get the win! Even in the Lyon years we didn't win like that.

Jackson was immense in that last qtr. Serong, Young and Bolton turned it on when it mattered. Kudos to Freddy for his clutch goals and Cox for his much better second half against Gunston.

Go Freo!!! So pumped. What a win!!

Yeah I reckon I’m going to stop trying to decipher this team and try to enjoy the ride. This team defies common sense. Hard to grasp how we go from fumbly, unable to stick tackles and unable to get the ball out of our back half to… that.

Far out imagine how good we’ll be when we can manage to play like that for longer than 10 minutes!

Mason Cox played his best game in purple tonight

Freddy amazing on a wing

Jackson last quarter wow

What a win

Go Freo 💪

So can Dogga come home now? 😭

Bloody unreal footballer. Genuinely might be the best player in the game right now.

Great win btw.
He is home. East Fremantle boys doing East Fremantle things.

First time in the history of the club, where we have genuine belief that we can turn it on for 5 -10 mins and get the win! Even in the Lyon years we didn't win like that.

Jackson was immense in that last qtr. Serong, Young and Bolton turned it on when it mattered. Kudos to Freddy for his clutch goals and Cox for his much better second half against Gunston.

Go Freo!!! So pumped. What a win!!
In the Lyon years once we were 4 goals down that was actually game done. We only came back from that position a few times. Though fortunately we didn’t often find ourselves that far down lol

This is the best forward line we’ve ever had. Without a shadow of a doubt.

It’s absurd how big the gap is between our best and our worst - our best is the best in the comp, period. That last 10 mins is as good as I’ve seen a team play all year.
But we can look so listless, nervy and crap for such long periods, and that’s what frustrates so many of us.

Yes maybe we melt too early, but we just want to see that footy more often!

I thought we had mentally cooked ourselves on the big stage again, yes we all have the Elimination final in our heads where exactly that happened.

And no - I’m not going to apologise for melting halfway through, because we were rubbish to that point.

Maybe we are just this burst team this year, and need to hang in when the bursts aren’t happening.
Trying to think if we’ve actually put 4 quarters of football together - the closest we’ve come is probably against Melbourne but we were poor for half of the second quarter.

We’re 6-1 and yet I don’t see a flag contender here, I see a team that’s just doing enough to win, but once we hit the big time, others will just have more unfortunately.

I hope it changes - look if we come out and beat the Dogs and the Hawks in a row, maybe im wrong.
waiting on this mate

Jackson. What a ****ing player. Thought he needed Darcy's protection against bigger boys like Meek; no more. He's phenomenal.

Cox did a power of grunt work to keep Jacko fresh for that last qtr burst though.

Jacko still works best with a second specialist ruck, whoever that may be. He's not one of those rucks you can let get knocked around for 90% of the game with the occasional chop out and still expect him to explode late like he does.

We showed the whole competition that we only need 7 mins to win.
7 mins

Mate we only needed 4 mins tonight lol.

if we kick straight we win by 40 and had that wrapped up a lot earlier.

Incredible because it felt like one of those nights we just werent there with our kicking.

Hawks are our bitches which is incredible we won 8 games against them in 25 years.

Since JL arrived we are 8 wins from 9.