GAMEDAY THREAD- West Coast Vs Fremantle (Derby XXXV)

TruBluEagle

May 3, 2012
Well it's finally here, the much anticipated first derby for the year. West Coast are coming into this game on second spot on the ladder with only one loss to the top placed side in Essendon. Fremantle are sitting in 10th position with 5 wins and 3 losses and will be fired up after a poor showing against the Hawks.

All this doesn't mean squat though as the derby is a whole new ball game where form doesn't always come into it. So will Fremantle go in with the tall trio or will there be a late change? Will Nic Nat play for the Eagles or is the speculation on the money and he will be a late out? Most importantly, who will win derby XXXV?

I am tipping the Eagles by 23!

Teams
B: Butler, Glass, Schofield
HB:Waters, Mackenzie, Hurn
C:Rosa, Priddis, Gaff
HF:Masten, Darling, Shuey
F:Cox, Lynch, Hill
Foll: Naitanui, S. Selwood, Kerr
I/C: A. Selwood, McGinnity, Sheppard, Brennan
Emg:Stevens, Hams, Lycett

B: Duffield, Dawson, Broughton
HB:Johnson, McPharlin, Mzungu
C:Barlow, Crowley, Hill
HF:de Boer, Mayne, Neale
F:Ballantyne, Pavlich, Clarke
Foll: Sandilands, Mundy, Pearce
I/C: van Berlo, Crichton, Silvagni, Griffin
Emg:Suban, Crozier, Spurr

The only reference to Naita being out seems to have been Hardie and some speculation due to Lycett being an emergency. Hopefully he'll be fine

Agreed. I would love to see both teams go in with the best possible lists given current injuries. Hopefully it's just a great game to watch!!

Surprised how confident I am.

I give us no chance of winning by more than a few goals, but just know we'll do enough to get the four points. Freo's defensive strategy will make it ugly, and keep them in it, but we'll pull away to win by a couple, potentially in controversial circumstances. No standouts for us, but Scooter, Cox and Waters to continue their good form.

Can't wait.

I'm tipping the eagles by 24 points, dockers fighting back in the last through Pavlich and Mayne.

Scott Selwood to give there midfield a masterclass in toughness and rosa and gaff to be running free off both wings due to superior tanks.

Ballantyne to try get in as many peoples faces as possible, ultimately wasting his time (unless schofield belts him) and sacrificing any type of damaging play to behind the play tactics.

Pavlich to be their best, has a good record against us from memory.

RG: Shuey. Will be the class of our midfield, finishing everything off as Kerr gets tagged and is limited in his outside game, reduced to clearance machine.

I'm predicting an ugly, scrappy game. Hopefully no late changes, but if there is, I hope it's something like Hams for A. Selwood (hand) rather than Lycett for Naitanui (hamstring) - although I guess that goes without saying! :eek:

We should win, but it'll be close.

Cant wait, I think It'll be a real arm wrestle. Am tipping us to win by 15 pts and Scooter to win the BOG award.

Perfect day for it!

Haven't been this confident of a win in a derby for a long long time. Hoping for a 50+ points win with the purple pretenders only kicking 6 goals for the game.

Lets get a Woosha chant going! Woosha Woosha Woosha! Whos with me :thumbsu:

Perfect day for it!

Haven't been this confident of a win in a derby for a long long time. Hoping for a 50+ points win with the purple pretenders only kicking 6 goals for the game.

Lets get a Woosha chant going! Woosha Woosha Woosha! Whos with me :thumbsu:

Yeah I like this idea, I'm with you! Not sure about the 50+ win but that'd be awesome.

Eagles by 31.

If Mcginnity rapes their mums this game could get ugly real quick.

My tip: Eagles by 9 points to win the last leg of a multi and shower me in $$$

I'm feeling so confident about this game, I can actually see us winning by 60+, just a feeling.

With the shit style of footy Freo are playing, a 30 point win would probably be the equivalent of a 60 point thumping.

Eagles by 27 for me. :thumbsu:

Eagles by 17 points. :thumbsu:

Cox for the RG medal :)

Go Eagles!! I have been crook as the last couple of days so expecting the boys to win to make me feel better!!:D

I reckon our boys will get up by 20 with Scooter and the Shuperman tying for BOG!!!