08 Northern Football League Div 1 B&F

Right, so instead of doing what they did with Jake King and get him in at Coburg where he can develop and learn under a Richmond Senior Assistant Coach in Jade Rawlings, they sent him back to local footy to Eltham where he can run around and get the ball whenever he likes.

They must be loving the way he is learning nothing as he has to do it all himself playing in a young side that gets belted more than it doesn't!

Makes a lot of sense mate... why didn't all the other recruiters ever think of this amazing strategy!

Ahhh a bloke that can never be wrong :rolleyes:. You may find Jake King also played local footy at the same age as Chris and dominated the competition and THEN went down to Coburg, who says Chris wont be doing that either? Gives him a chance to get comfortable playing senior football against men, all be it at local level, so if he does go down to a VFL club he knows he can compete against men, just like Jake King did. Just because the Tigers havn't done it the same way as every other person who comes through the system doesn't mean it wont happen mate. I'm just passing on information mate, facts, not what you "think" should happen and whats the "best way", because in the end there is no best way if you end up on an AFL list.

You just dont get it, do you! If Richmond were genuinely intetested in him, at his age and with his junior credentials, don't you think they would get him into Coburg and the VFL system asap, and back their own Development coaches and programs to nurture him and bring him along.

To suggest that they sent a 20 year old back to local footy to get "comfortable playing against men" is just a ludicrous thing to say!

Do you think when any young kid gets drafted he doesn't have doubts wether he can compete against men? Of course they do, because they have never done it before. Thats why clubs put an extraordinary amount of resources into Development and Player Welfare.

If his name gets read out on draft day then I'll be the first person to say I was wrong and offer you a beer, but until that happens I really think your drawing a long bow for the kid...

You just dont get it, do you! If Richmond were genuinely intetested in him, at his age and with his junior credentials, don't you think they would get him into Coburg and the VFL system asap, and back their own Development coaches and programs to nurture him and bring him along.

To suggest that they sent a 20 year old back to local footy to get "comfortable playing against men" is just a ludicrous thing to say!

Do you think when any young kid gets drafted he doesn't have doubts wether he can compete against men? Of course they do, because they have never done it before. Thats why clubs put an extraordinary amount of resources into Development and Player Welfare.

If his name gets read out on draft day then I'll be the first person to say I was wrong and offer you a beer, but until that happens I really think your drawing a long bow for the kid...

Mate, what you say makes ordinary sense, but in this case you are wrong.

BTW, there are now at least two other AFL sides who have taken a keen in interest in the lad, including an interstate side that did their homework on him two years ago but doubted he could be aggressive enough against mature bodies.

They have now come to the realisation that their initial thoughts were wrong and believe that Varsa has what it takes. Should the tiges not offer him an opportunity they are almost willing to wack him on their rookie list.

stay tuned - I give ya the Hottip :cool:

Are you kidding??

He has kicked 30 goals. As to Shane Harveys 90 from a forward / on baller.

congratualtions on pointing that out too bad the fact that he has kicked 30 goals has nothing to do with my original post..

1st of all if you can read i said he probly wont win it, 2ndlyiv watched harvey play 3 times this year and have been in awe of him everytime and he is my pick to win it. 3rd of all a question for you, so if a centre half forward ( a up the ground lead up chf mind you) presents all day takes 12-14 marks has 20-odd possesions but kicks only 2 goals for the day, just because he hasnt kicked a swag of goals he should not get votes? one other point rogers also has been switched to chb many times throughout the year.

congratualtions on pointing that out too bad the fact that he has kicked 30 goals has nothing to do with my original post..

1st of all if you can read i said he probly wont win it, 2ndlyiv watched harvey play 3 times this year and have been in awe of him everytime and he is my pick to win it. 3rd of all a question for you, so if a centre half forward ( a up the ground lead up chf mind you) presents all day takes 12-14 marks has 20-odd possesions but kicks only 2 goals for the day, just because he hasnt kicked a swag of goals he should not get votes? one other point rogers also has been switched to chb many times throughout the year.

I admit his last 4 games looks like he has had been a big contributor but before this he hasnt been held in high regard by opposition people watching and not too damaging in games.

Reply to your question....Didnt know you took stats for him all day!

I admit his last 4 games looks like he has had been a big contributor but before this he hasnt been held in high regard by opposition people watching and not too damaging in games.

Reply to your question....Didnt know you took stats for him all day!

ahh yer fair call i dont actually take stats, all i was saying was that goals arent necessary to attain votes. and by saying he could do well in the count, for me anything such as 10-12 plus would have been what i was talking about. and as u know thats only 4 best on's and in a dismal year thus far for the bulls rogers has been the clear standout. but yes i would think harvey would take it in the mid 20s (votes wise) :thumbsu:

Mate, what you say makes ordinary sense, but in this case you are wrong.

BTW, there are now at least two other AFL sides who have taken a keen in interest in the lad, including an interstate side that did their homework on him two years ago but doubted he could be aggressive enough against mature bodies.

They have now come to the realisation that their initial thoughts were wrong and believe that Varsa has what it takes. Should the tiges not offer him an opportunity they are almost willing to wack him on their rookie list.

stay tuned - I give ya the Hottip :cool:

I take your word for it Kickass and for the lads sake I hope you are right. As I said before, I don't have an issue eating humble pie and will be the first to offer up a beer if proven wrong on draft day.

I just cant see the logic behind making a kid prove his aggression playing local footy as opposed to playing VFL or working within their Devlopement Programs.

It doesn't make any sense at all.

I take your word for it Kickass and for the lads sake I hope you are right. As I said before, I don't have an issue eating humble pie and will be the first to offer up a beer if proven wrong on draft day.

I just cant see the logic behind making a kid prove his aggression playing local footy as opposed to playing VFL or working within their Devlopement Programs.

Mate the VFL competition is a joke. AFL players get right of way first no matter how well you play the previous week you get set back to playing in the 2's. AFL clubs dont care about VFL 2's. Its a waste of time. I have played both and NFL is much harder to get a kick. Mayb not the skill level but the aggression ect. Its like playing under 20's in the VFL ressies.

Im not havin a dip at you HottieP but im not sure if you have experienced playing VFL lately. AFL clubs will tell the VFL club not to play a certain player for a certain amount of game time therefore the side is strugglign with 3 on the bench. Its a crap comp I beleive and doesnt do much to help develop young footballer after under 18's in which I think is when they play their best footy.

Mate the VFL competition is a joke. AFL players get right of way first no matter how well you play the previous week you get set back to playing in the 2's. AFL clubs dont care about VFL 2's. Its a waste of time. I have played both and NFL is much harder to get a kick. Mayb not the skill level but the aggression ect. Its like playing under 20's in the VFL ressies.

Im not havin a dip at you HottieP but im not sure if you have experienced playing VFL lately. AFL clubs will tell the VFL club not to play a certain player for a certain amount of game time therefore the side is strugglign with 3 on the bench. Its a crap comp I beleive and doesnt do much to help develop young footballer after under 18's in which I think is when they play their best footy.

Hey Macca, How ya doing bro?

When can we expect you to come down to the Pantherland, 'cos we could sure do with a bloke like you especially we lose Varsa to the big leagues.

I must say i am quite a fan of yours even though you are one of the world's greatest receivers :p

Cheers mate

K.A

Fair enuff Mate, :thumbsu:

Happy to share a beer with you regardless of what happens because having a beer and a chit chat solves all the worlds problems except for how to cure the next days hangover :D

Hey Macca, How ya doing bro?

When can we expect you to come down to the Pantherland, 'cos we could sure do with a bloke like you especially we lose Varsa to the big leagues.

I must say i am quite a fan of yours even though you are one of the world's greatest receivers :p

Cheers mate

K.A

See what happens nect year KA but yeah if Varsa is still playing down there I'll prob go down cause him and his mates are gona be stickin round there for a while. Hopefully they can dish me a few handballs like you said hahaa.

Nahhh my days are over I retired in under 14's im just a can hill boy now.

See what happens nect year KA but yeah if Varsa is still playing down there I'll prob go down cause him and his mates are gona be stickin round there for a while. Hopefully they can dish me a few handballs like you said hahaa.

Nahhh my days are over I retired in under 14's im just a can hill boy now.

Geez, I reckon you'd be one of the only U 14's (outside of Lalor) to have had a :Dfully flourished beard and drive yourself to games

I'd have to say Paul Pierce from the Celtics

ya definately Pierce, he absolutely killed it come finals time...oh NFL sorry, ah look someone, probably someone good will win it...more detail you say, ah look anyone of the following would make me happy, M. Gay, D. Deangalis, A. Williams, A. Franchina. Anyone outside that four and the vote is rigged and I am as one eyed as all f**k but anyway, ok well maybe S. Harvey.

Bye now, won't be logging on for the rest of the week, so you kids be good to each other.:p

08 Northern Football League Div 1 B&F