1/3 mark

Dont think you can bag Wandin for getting Goodwin back to coach one of the reasons there still in Div 1.

Out of interest how many of Wandins U/18 premiership side are playing senior footy this year?
You must be joking to put it in your words Finger! Alexandra & Yarra Glen are the only reasons they didn't go to 2nd division! You have a terrible man crush on Andy ya poor fella.

Not sure I'm out of line here! You the flog got on here and posted something that was yet again proven to be incorrect!!! And then once again started to back pedal! Is it that hard to sit back have a good think about what your writing and ask yourself "is this actually fact"? Is it that hard ?

Read the post where I acknowledge my mistake. Im sure you are capable.

You must be joking to put it in your words Finger! Alexandra & Yarra Glen are the only reasons they didn't go to 2nd division! You have a terrible man crush on Andy ya poor fella.

Not really just find it odd someone would bag Andys contribution to Wandin.

So you "appearantly" looked this up? Posted what you had "appearantly looked up" and only now realize you had made a mistake? Seriously I'm getting sick of pulling you up on your garbage!!!

Try about four hours ago. Then went through it again. Have you got something to add to the topic?

"you went through it again" surely your better than that? My question is why would you post that if you had not checked your facts??? This seems to be a common trait of yours once again check your facts properly!!! By the way how many players from the Seville vs Healesville game recieved long holidays????

Only one which says more about the league than anything else.

Your cryptic responses do nothing for me finger pretty sure someone from one of the relative clubs said there was not a lot in it? But hey who are you to let the truth get in the way!!!

There's 8 teams in Div 2 so it would take it down to 7.
The league would have to do some re-jigging i would have thought. 8 in Div 2 9 in Div 1
Or they would have to try and get another club in. Coldstream has been on the cards for a number of years.

As an efl bloke I've always wondered why coldy aren't in the yv. Have they ever been? Would be a good fit I reckon.
Lot of my teammates found the trip from the inner east a bit far!!!

Your cryptic responses do nothing for me finger pretty sure someone from one of the relative clubs said there was not a lot in it? But hey who are you to let the truth get in the way!!!

According to one of the relative clubs there was nothing in Fevola being knocked out. Opinions vary.

As an efl bloke I've always wondered why coldy aren't in the yv. Have they ever been? Would be a good fit I reckon.
Lot of my teammates found the trip from the inner east a bit far!!!
They played in the old YVFL in the early fifties

not sure the number of senior games a player plays directly relates to his development. Injury competition in particular spots and body size also have plenty to do with it. A game earned is far more rewarding than a game gifted. Young players these days while super fit and have god raw talent seem to lack the football instincts of players 15 years ago. This is not exclusively a YVMDFL issue but a code wide issue that probably stems from what AFL recruiters are looking for from year to year.

The stats you have thrown up suggest Wandin seem to be a bit more considered with the use of their youngsters whereas Woori appear to be a bit more liberal. Neither method has greater merit than the other and if both clubs are able to keep all their young players moving forward then I would suggest they would have achieved there goal.

not sure the number of senior games a player plays directly relates to his development. Injury competition in particular spots and body size also have plenty to do with it. A game earned is far more rewarding than a game gifted. Young players these days while super fit and have god raw talent seem to lack the football instincts of players 15 years ago. This is not exclusively a YVMDFL issue but a code wide issue that probably stems from what AFL recruiters are looking for from year to year.

The stats you have thrown up suggest Wandin seem to be a bit more considered with the use of their youngsters whereas Woori appear to be a bit more liberal. Neither method has greater merit than the other and if both clubs are able to keep all their young players moving forward then I would suggest they would have achieved there goal.

Woori won a flag last year at a third of the cost so clearly it has greater merit.

Negative as always fingered!!! Maybe you could bring up the fevola incident again to regain some respect! Great point tony, maybe wooris 47 game total regarding there u/18's from last yr is due to the fact there reserves sit bottom!!!

Sat bottom for a while now yet have won 2 flags in the last three years without recruiting from outside heavily.

I would think regardless the amount of senior games your 'fresh' unders have played the most or more important factor is actually having them and the flow on effect of keeping them. The boys on here from monbulk or gembrook would no doubt attest to this as without them leaves a huge hole in your club forcing you to spend to make the shortfall. Would be interested to hear monnie's or garrions opinion on this as they are currently in that predicament.

Finger spending is a different issue than internal development. Your making the assumption that home grown kids don't require payment to play and I can assure you that's not the case.
Considering you have no idea how much Woori is spending and have no idea how much Wandin is spending 1/3 of the cost is not really founded.

Unfortunately money is now a huge part of local footy and with cashed up EFL clubs on the YVMDFL doorstep YV clubs will need to match the spending of the EFL as well as clubs they play against.
The YVMDFL is a great comp but as many post suggest have an up hill battle to maintain growth and stability for all clubs.

With many migrating to Melbourne for employment the talent pool has diminished over the last decade this correlates to the reduced U18 numbers that we are seeing now. In my opinion the fact the Wandin and other clubs are prepared to invest in football makes the YVMDL a better spectacle and a realistic option for ex AFL players and players from other leagues. Players such as Fevola, Ward, Fowkes, Televeski coming to the league should be celebrated not persecuted.

Finger spending is a different issue than internal development. Your making the assumption that home grown kids don't require payment to play and I can assure you that's not the case.
Considering you have no idea how much Woori is spending and have no idea how much Wandin is spending 1/3 of the cost is not really founded.

Unfortunately money is now a huge part of local footy and with cashed up EFL clubs on the YVMDFL doorstep YV clubs will need to match the spending of the EFL as well as clubs they play against.
The YVMDFL is a great comp but as many post suggest have an up hill battle to maintain growth and stability for all clubs.

With many migrating to Melbourne for employment the talent pool has diminished over the last decade this correlates to the reduced U18 numbers that we are seeing now. In my opinion the fact the Wandin and other clubs are prepared to invest in football makes the YVMDL a better spectacle and a realistic option for ex AFL players and players from other leagues. Players such as Fevola, Ward, Fowkes, Televeski coming to the league should be celebrated not persecuted.

Amen

Woori have been fantastic for a long time. They top up each year.
Upwey a powerhouse - and have poached from EFL to top up.
Every club needs turnover.
If your keen to see some familiar faces finger, head to the vets.

What if there was 9 teams in div1 say bottom 2 go down nd hill come up
But from there on it goes back to 1 up 1 down
Norm with div 2 there is just the one front runner and it usually is the side that
Gets relegated,
Would lift the standard of second div also
1st division is looking healthy besides monny n gembrook failing to pull a unders together

And for future league make a decision by round 1 about a merge of under 18s to prevent teams playing each other 4 times and others none

In other thoughts my tip for 2014 is gembrook relegated premiership window closed
Guns are all in there 30s might be time to hang them up
Aprently olinda already talking with monbulkians about joining 2014 campaign

I would think regardless the amount of senior games your 'fresh' unders have played the most or more important factor is actually having them and the flow on effect of keeping them. The boys on here from monbulk or gembrook would no doubt attest to this as without them leaves a huge hold in your club forcing you to spend to make the shortfall. Would be interested to hear monnie's or garrions opinion on this as they are currently in that predicament.
ive been banging on about this for ages

the fact is
out of the 9 venues in div 1 and 2 each week, 4 of these are seniors and reserves only, some weeks
its 5
footy as we grew up is not the same!
wouldn't it be more important to emphasise the kids having a kick in stead of the fat bloke who doesn't train anyway, under the currant system the unders falls over first,we are destroying the future, because it is the easy solution, they can top up the reserves and everything appears normal- there is nothing normal about players playing two games just to get the team out there
seriously when was the last time you watched a reserves game that was a better standard than the unders?
imo relegation system is paramount, would it really mattered if we went to a vfl style development league , cap it under 23 with 5 or 6 exemptions i.i.e 28 year old senior player dropped for form, and loosen the age limit on the vets, the same fat bloke can have a social kick but we get 2 quality games per week and the kids get to play, we can try and make it cool and all the other solutions ( free membership etc) but there appears to be too many clubs in the same boat, you couldn't question gembrook or Monbulk cultures, two of the best ran clubs going around, there is just not enough kids out there
open for ideas, thoughts

1/3 mark