$20 challenge

Eagles
I just remembered that I have some money on my sportingbet account, so thought I'd see how far I can make it stretch. The idea is to start with $20, and after each bet place the $20 + winnings onto the next bet. And so on and so forth until I lose or the sum becomes so big I feel uncomfortable making such large bets.

I have a little over $60 on my account, so will have 3 concurrent bets running. Chances are all 3 bets will fizzle within a few days, or I might get lucky and earn me a bit of drinking money.

My rules:
- Don't bet on multi's. Take it one bet at a time and size up each bet.
- Bet on short priced favourites only. Nothing more than $1.40 (give or take a few cents)
- No horses or greyhounds.
- No tennis. The inconsistencies in results far outweigh the incredibly short prices that favourites pay

Goal:
1) Make $25,000 so I can buy a new car :D
2) Have fun and learn if money can be made by a complete novice.

Feel free to play along with me, even if you use fake money.

First bets to be posted tonight or tomorrow in time for the weekends AFL matches.

So I assume you will be betting on Geelong and Hawthorn this week in the AFL.

I would rather back short priced winners than long odds losers.

I also recommended you should bet on the EPL matches with the option of either:
Team A or Draw
Team A or Team B
Team B or Draw

They will have the low odds you are looking for.

Goodluck.

I'll come along too.

My first bet will likely be Geelong. It is Ablett's 150th, they're coming off an eight day break and are against an Adelaide side only six days back from Subiaco.

The good old "last laugh bet".

To achieve 25,000 you will need to have more than 21 consecutive wins at $1.40.

You will also need to place bets such as:

$600-$16,000

But good luck. As you say it is a bit of fun..........

they have these challenges on the betfair forums. Blokes bet in play when odds are like 1.01-1.03, starting out with $100 and they plunge their entire bankroll on it until they bank at predetermined levels (eg $1000, $10,000). Some pretty huge money being made.

A good way to bet just have to have the capital to start with. I do like the idea of "banking" If I started at $100 I would back at $500 and start again.

A link to the thread on betfair would be good.

A good way to bet just have to have the capital to start with. I do like the idea of "banking" If I started at $100 I would back at $500 and start again.

A link to the thread on betfair would be good.

heaps to choose from.

go to the general betting forum. You can't link the threads cos they uses frames.

eg:
**Laying Correct Score Market**

Right, i have a bank of £300 where i shall have 2 attempts to reach £1000.

Each bank will consist of £150 and i will be playing the correct score market either prior to Kick Off or In Play.

I got this idea from the Football Forum and believe that over a month it is easily achievable.

Lets see if i can make the easily achievable the actual reality!!!

Bank One
£150
(01) Lay Marseille 1-1 Auxerre (currently 1-0 at HT) @ 8.8 W £18.27 £168.27
(02) Lay Fluminese 1-1 Athletico MG (Pre KO) @ 8.2 W £22.20 £190.47
(03) Lay Brazil (W) 1-2 Germany (W) (in play 1-1) @ 6.4 W £33.51 £223.98
(04) Lay AEK (In Play 0-1 65mins) @ 10.5 W £22.39 £246.37
(05) Lay Torquay 1-0 Ebbsfleet (Pre KO) @ 10.0 W £26.00 £272.37
(06) Lay Nigeria 1-1 Belgium (Pre KO) @ 7.8 W £38.05 £310.42
(07) Lay Albania 0-1 Greece (Pre KO) @ 8.8 W £37.80 £348.22
(08) Lay Norway 0-1 Rep of Irekand (Pre KO) @ 10.0 W £36.76 £384.98
(09) Lay England 1-1 Czech Rep (at KO) @ 8.6 W £48.12 £433.10
(10) Lay Brazil (W) 0-1 USA (W) (17mins in play) @ 11.5 W £39.18 £472.28
(11) Lay USA (W) to score next goal (currently USA 1-0 in ET) @ 4.0 W £149.53 £621.81
(12) Lay Wrexham 0-1 Oxford (Prior to KO) @ 12.5 W £51.37 £673.18
(13) Lay Wisla Krakow 1-0 GKS Belchatow (Prior to KO) @ 7.6 W £96.89 £770.07
(14) Lay Guimares 1-0 Setubal (in play 0-0 30mins) @ 5.7 W £155.65 £925.72
(15) Lay Charlton 0-2 Reading (Prior to KO) @ 15.0 W £60.65 £986.37
(16) Lay Reading (in play, currently losing 1-0 28mins) @ 7.6 Poss Profit £141.98 £1128.35
(17) Lay Liverpool 1-0 Middlesborough (Prior to KO) @ 7.4 Poss Profit £167.49 £1295.84
(18) Lay Arsenal (Currently losing 1-0 @ 45mins) @ 3.5 W £492.10 £1787.94
(19) Lay Wigan 1-1 Chelsea (in play 18mins currently 0-1) @12.5 W £147.70 £1935.64
(20) Lay West Ham (at HT, currently drawing 0-0 with 10 men) @ 11.0 W £183.88 £2119.52
(21) Lay Halmstads (currently losing 1-2 75mins) @ 34.0 W £61.01 £2180.53
(22) Lay Brann 2-0 Rosenborg (in play 0-0 6mins) @ 18.0 W £121.85 £2302.38
(23) Lay Real Madrid 2-0 Valencia (0-0 after 16mins) @ 10.0 W £243.01 £2545.39
(24) Lay Portsmouth 1-0 Man United (Pre KO) @ 14.5 W £179.11 £2724.50
(25) Lay Portsomouth (in play, losing 0-1 @ HT) @ 21.0 W £129.41 £2853.91

A great performance from Man United tonight has helped me with my last 2 bets. I have now withdrew £2353.91 and will be continuing with 2 banks of £250.

Bets will continue from tomorrow!!

Un-bloody believable.

Well I will start again and get on Geelong tonite. Gaza's 150th they won't lose, I hope.

I will bank when I come to point where I feel uncomfortable in gambling so much money. However I will have to pick some winners first, something I haven't done for a while now.

$20 on Geelong will hopefully get me of to a start.

Tommorow I might wait until half way through the games until I place a bet. I don't feel too confident in any game tommorow.

looks like fun!

and after a ripper season on afl punting last season where i came out with 600% profit - well i'm having a shocker this season. so this might be a nice way to start!

i must admit to only having 5 bucks in the account that i use for sportsbet at the moment (i don't like to mix up my sportsbet and horses account) - so i'm going to try and get a multi (i know, it's against the rules!) to get some odds up to around $4.

so in the nrl is the bulldogs and cowboys (both paying about $1.50) and in the afl it is richmond at about 1.30 and bulldogs at about 1.50 (who are stunning value at 1.50 i reckon).

odds total just under $5.

we'll call this my "qualifying round" to get up to $20 so i can play along.

Yep, Geelong now has my balace at $24.00. I am looking to wait and see if anything comes up in the next two games before the Dogs vs West Coast game. I wouldn't mind getting some odd's of about $1.20 sometime later in the game between Dons and Roo's. Will definately be getting on the Bulldogs, in form and playing a struggling West Coast but when they are at home you never know what will happen.

Bulldogs, what the hell.

I think it is about time we make an AFL betting rules thread.

Number1. Don't bet against West Coast at home
Number2. Always bet for Geelong

Number1. Don't bet against West Coast at home
Number2. Always bet for Geelong
Number 3. never back richmond. ever.
Number 4. always back collingwood in an interstate night game

Alright everyone else has had a crack, I might as well.

Beginning with EWE Baskets Oldenburg to win tonight in the German basketball league @ 1.35

Great home team at decent odds. Smashed Artland away earlier in the season. Cant help but give them a go with my first bet.

Was going to go with Orlando win in the NBA but 3 upset away team wins today has scared me the hell out of doing that and Oldenberg are double Orlando's odds.