2003 Draft prospects?

Any early EARLY thoughts. Obviously no real trend usually emerges until the National Under 18 Championships, but I was just wondering what people's thoughts are at this stage.

Particularly interested in anyone from WA or SA who has seen any likely prospects.

Porthos' Draft Site

:)

Adam Cooney (West Adelaide), Josh Willoughby (Glenelg) and Iszac Thompson (Woodville West Torrens) are a few from SA that spring to mind.

[edit]

12 Adam Cooney West Adelaide 30 Sep 85 187 78 22
Outside wingman/half forward who can also play back. Dashing type who reads play extremely well. All Australian in AFL U18’s in 2002 and member AIS/AFL Academy in 2001/2002.

19 Matthew Moody South Fremantle 23 Sep 85 186 77
Clever midfielder/forward with great pace and goal sense. Member AIS/AFL Academy in 2001-2002 and won All Australian U18 selection this year (2002).

25 Raphael Clarke St Marys 24 Sep 85 187 73
Athletic and skilful player who is an excellent kick for goal on the run. Member AIS/AFL Academy in 2001-2002. Brother Xavier plays with St Kilda. Not eligible for 2002 AFL Draft. Received Mike Fitzpatrick/AFLPA scholarship in 2001 assisting his education in Darwin. (Played with the Aboriginal All Stars this year, if my memory serves me correctly)

36 Ryley Dunn Murray Bushrangers 7 Oct 85 182 79 18
Versatile defender/forward who is strong overhead and hard at the ball. Reads play extremely well and won All Australian honours after impressive performances for Victoria Country in AFL U18’s. From Shepparton FC. Recipient of Mike Fitzpatrick/AFLPA Scholarship in 2002.

Porthos; you're a gem!

Adam Cooney is a 17 year old utility from West ADelaide. Me made the Under 18 All Australian side last year but was too young to get drafted. Can play both as a tall or a small. Is 186cm and 80kg. Well built. Nice frame....and hair!!! Expect him to go top 5.

Harry Miller is a 17 year old from Port Adelaide. A livewire small forward in the Jeff Farmer mould. Very quick, pretty good skills, and knows where the goals are - 11 goals in 5 games.

Craig Parry is a 19 year old bigman from Port Adelaide. Maybe a draft smokey. Has held down Ports rucks, by himself all season so far, and he isnt even a ruckmen - hes a key forward/defender. 194cm, 94kg.....very well built kid.

Cameron Ilett from Port Adelaide is another who could well go. Midfielder/defender, a lot of natural ability and performed well for NT in the U18 champs last year.

Then theres David Kellett from Centrals, who was supposed to be drafted last year but noone picked him up. Small player. Great skills. Shoudl definately go this year.

Leigh Treeby, came to the WWT Eagles this year and has performed very well so far. Missed out last year but could well get picked up this year.

Luke Nitschke from Norwood seems like a good option. 18, 174cm.

Michael Griffiths from Glenelg is a HUGE kid. 19, 207cm, very mobile for his height and can play up forward.

Adam Grocke from North Adelaide is pretty much a certainty and who i reckon will go in the top 15 picks. 18, 187cm forward who has a lot of natural ability.

About the only guys I've been keeping an eye on are Brayden and Heath Shaw.

Brayden (son of Tony) was shining until he did a shoulder. Looks in doubt for the U18 Carnival, but we'll probably pick him anyway (provided his old man doesn't stick his nose in where it ain't wanted). High posession midfielder and uses it well. Will definitely get drafted on the off chance we don't select him under F & S.

Heath (son of Ray/brother of Rhyce) has been very good at half forward for Northern, kicking a few goals, but given we only have one F & S pick, he will probably have to go into the draft proper. Will probably get drafted or at least a rookie spot.

Brock Mclean will go top 5 this year, only just turned 17 and is a great build like 184cm and about 84kgs he played for the under 17 AUS team and maybe even co captain it with Moody he also captain VIC M under 16.

From Calder Cannons.

Matthew Moody (South Fremantle colts) - he played a shocker on the weekend but will definately get snapped up early on.

Originally posted by FIGJAM
About the only guys I've been keeping an eye on are Brayden and Heath Shaw.

Brayden (son of Tony) was shining until he did a shoulder. Looks in doubt for the U18 Carnival, but we'll probably pick him anyway (provided his old man doesn't stick his nose in where it ain't wanted). High posession midfielder and uses it well. Will definitely get drafted on the off chance we don't select him under F & S.

Heath (son of Ray/brother of Rhyce) has been very good at half forward for Northern, kicking a few goals, but given we only have one F & S pick, he will probably have to go into the draft proper. Will probably get drafted or at least a rookie spot.

Ta for that FIGJAM. Is this what you've seen yourself or heard?

Salim Hasan from West Adelaide looks a likely type from what I've seen of him, along with previously mentioned teamate Cooney and Central District player Kellett who IMO was unlucky not to get picked up last year.

Kellett last year didn't end up going to the draft camp due to playing in the reserves grand final for Centrals, anyone reckon this would have worked against him?

I've noticed Pettigrew has been getting in the best players for West Perth colts. How well he is playing I'm not sure... but he was probably going to get drafted late in last years draft so he pulled out to spend another year in Perth. Nic Chidgzey is playing WAFL for East Fremantle and I wouldn't be surprised to see him drafted this year. Kepler Bradley had 31 disposals and 13 marks in his last game, I think he could be one to look for...

Originally posted by Macca19
Adam Grocke from North Adelaide is pretty much a certainty and who i reckon will go in the top 15 picks. 18, 187cm forward who has a lot of natural ability.

Gee Macca19 I would swear he is taller than that. i have seen him a couple of times and he looks tall enough to play KP. Accodring to North's website he is listed as 193 cms and 85 kgs.

Cooney will most definetly go in the top 10. This keid is all class.
One player that has the skills and attitude to make it but most probably won't be drafted is Matthew Stokes from the Eagles. He is only 170cm and 73 kg. I have really been impressed with him.

David Kellett wil definetly get drafted this year but his only query is his pace.

That kid from glenelg Josh Wil--something is also a top 10 material apparenly.

Another live wire form the Westies is Salim Hassan who has been very good so far this year in the senior side. He has got good pace. Shocking hairstyle.:p

hehe, Craig Parry....sounds like he's the forward and has the body Geelong require, but then we already have Mackie as our smokey...

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Soory mate. Difficult name to spell but one hell of a player by all reports. He won the medal last year as the best player in the U16 Championships/

No problemo.

Us SA mob should just aim to finish in the bottom four if we want to pick up Cooney or Willoughby. We've got buckley's chance, unless both of them slip through like Salopek. Which I cant see happening. :(

I'm a big fan of Cooney; top 10 material, if not top 5. Quality kid - love the hairstyle! :D Guess I'll just have to make the most of watching him play for West before he gets drafted interstate. I like the draft, but it ****s me off all the same. Why the wooden spooner gets a reward for finishing last is beyond me.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Gee Macca19 I would swear he is taller than that. i have seen him a couple of times and he looks tall enough to play KP. Accodring to North's website he is listed as 193 cms and 85 kgs.

Yer...i got the info from the weekends footy budget (which is usually wrong)...and it lists him as 187cm and 79kg.

One player that has the skills and attitude to make it but most probably won't be drafted is Matthew Stokes from the Eagles. He is only 170cm and 73 kg. I have really been impressed with him.

Got a bit of Medhurst in him i reckon.

Originally posted by footyman
Are any of these kids playing SANFL seniors already?
I have seen the following play seniors at SANFL level so far this year, some of them are regulars:

Adam Cooney, Harry Miller, Craig Parry, David Kellett, Leigh Treeby, Michael Griffiths, Adam Grocke, Matthew Stokes and Salim Hassan
;)