2004 Membership

• Thread starter Thread starter Streaker

Originally posted by West Coast Stre
If I were to buy a membership next year what should I be looking at getting into?

what do u mean? price, or where are the best places to sit?

im joining next year and i emailed the clubs memebership department ( on the website theres a memebership link) and they replyed saying they'l send out a whole bunch of info on seats, cost etc...

thats prbly ya best bet

Re: Re: Re: 2004 Membership

Originally posted by West Coast Stre
Both

From memory, middle of the range prices are about $180 for a standard concession membership, and $250 (iirc) for a standard adult membership. Premium or Captain's club might cost you upwards of $300, you might get an el cheapo budget membership for a bit more than a $100..

This is the seating arrangement-
017382ac.gif

as you can see, there is a fair amount of reasonable standard seating, if you want it under cover, though, you'd probably have to shell out for premium.

I was block 130 standard this year and certainly don't have any complaints about it. Only thing worth noting is that sitting on the south side means you might have some trouble with sun in your eyes, particularly if you're more up towards the city end of the ground.

Personally, I think the best place to sit is along either wing, a bit back where you have the best view of the entire field, and the big screens which are at either side of the ground. Maybe also try for a bit closer towards either halforward line , so you get a bit better view of the forward 50 action at one end each quarter. Everyone has a different preference, though- my best suggestion though, is if you can find a day when subiaco is open, or failing that, once the eagles get back to training, go along and have a look around- its hard to tell whether you'll be happy with your seats until you've sat there.

But as Juddy said, if you call or email the membership dept, they send you out a heap of stuff with all the prices and seating guides and so on.

We're in 337, straight over the Eagles race - a standard seat. Brilliant view, you're out of the weather and there's a good bunch around us as well. Downside is that you're usually in the sun - well, not really a downside, but the missus finds it quite hot for her.

Sat for many years in 415 (budget seat) - panoramic view, but not great of the other goals (as you'd expect) and the seats are cramped.

I know Ozzult was saying that barracking is not really on in the Captains Club seats, which accords with my experiences when I used to occasionally go and watch from the noteholder seats. So if you're a shouter, better to go cheaper.

Chen's idea of going to take a look when the ground is empty is a good one.

Yeah I wouldn't really recommend the Captains Club to anyone unless you are a bit of an older supporter. I'm gonna be downgrading to either a budget or standard seat in 2004 cos there are 4 Saturday arvo games that I won't be able to go to (I play local footy on Saturday). No point forking out $360 for a membership that I'm only gonna see 7 games on.

Block 106 is a great place to sit. Its on the 2 tier stand and you get a good view of both sides of the ground.

If I was to get a Standard seat for 2004 I would aim to get a seat from Blocks 104-107 (I believe these seats are rows AA-CC)

316, and while it's not everyones cup of tea, I like it. Undercover, raised enough so that as a short arse I can still see, but not up in the rafters. Get a pretty good view of the whole ground, things just get a little ant-like at the extreme opposite end of the ground.

Did anyone else hear about the proposed idea of an Eagles social club? I think it's a great idea, as personally I'd easily pay for higher membership classes and access to functions, but the people I go with would not. The option of a Social Club membership would be ideal, and having spent a little time in the SC of a Melbourne based club last season, I can only see the chance for fanatical supporters to get together more to be a good thing. (Yes I know that Captains Club have access to functions etc, so what I'm proposing is a Club membership that is on top of a normal membership, entirely separate to Captains Club and seasons ticket.) Thoughts?

Originally posted by Eagle_Fan

Did anyone else hear about the proposed idea of an Eagles social club? I think it's a great idea, as personally I'd easily pay for higher membership classes and access to functions, but the people I go with would not. The option of a Social Club membership would be ideal, and having spent a little time in the SC of a Melbourne based club last season, I can only see the chance for fanatical supporters to get together more to be a good thing. (Yes I know that Captains Club have access to functions etc, so what I'm proposing is a Club membership that is on top of a normal membership, entirely separate to Captains Club and seasons ticket.) Thoughts?

Too good to sit with the riff raff huh? :rolleyes:

Originally posted by Rocco Jones
Too good to sit with the riff raff huh? :rolleyes:

She/He (not sure sorry) mentioned it would be a great opportunity to mix with the "Fanatical Supporters" - aren't they generally considered to be the "Riff-Raff" of Football supporters ?

Just a thought.

Originally posted by Black JuJu
She/He (not sure sorry) mentioned it would be a great opportunity to mix with the "Fanatical Supporters" - aren't they generally considered to be the "Riff-Raff" of Football supporters ?

Just a thought.

She. And yes, the riff-raff are often more fanatical. Of course the real riff-raff imho are the ones in groups that go to games rarely, so treat it like a trip to the pub. Walk in front of you several times a quarter on bar runs. Get more & more loud and obnoxious the more they drink... uurrgghh. Next to no interest in the game whatsoever.

Please just ignore our Mr. Jones will you people? :)

Another option is a Silver AFL Membership with WCE club support package. For around $270 you become an AFL member as well as an WCE member.
With an AFL membership you get to go to 11 home games and 19 other games.

The plus is that you can go in general admin to all the freo games as well as their membership is large enough to fill Subi. Also you get entry into the first 2 weeks of finals and get first oppurtunity for finals tickets inlcuding GF.

Just a thought.

On the Social Club thingy.

It is a great idea. If anyone has scene the "shed" and the crows tavern in adelaide you owuld agree.

We have no place to go afterwards that has a pub/bar atmosphere, where everyone can sing and carry on like idiots.

We need one and need it so.

Originally posted by WaDsY
Another option is a Silver AFL Membership with WCE club support package. For around $270 you become an AFL member as well as an WCE member.
With an AFL membership you get to go to 11 home games and 19 other games.

The plus is that you can go in general admin to all the freo games as well as their membership is large enough to fill Subi. Also you get entry into the first 2 weeks of finals and get first oppurtunity for finals tickets inlcuding GF.

Just a thought.

Pretty sure that Subi doesn't have any AFL members area, so if you get an AFL membership in Perth, all you get is membership of your club, and then you have to pay additional for your reserved seat (the only way to get a reasonable seat at Subi)

There aren't 19 other games to go to in Perth, and I believe that those 19 games have to be at the MCG/Docklands anyway. Don't think you get entry to any finals outside Melbourne either, but I wouldn't want to stake my life on that...

Originally posted by kuepper
Ignore? The Great Mr Jones??

Disgraceful to even suggest such blasphemy. :(

Rest assured Pa, my suggestion was for purely selfish reasons. I want him all to myself you see, you're just not enough. Sorry. ;)

We definately need a Social Club btw, just to keep on topic.

Originally posted by Mr Q
Pretty sure that Subi doesn't have any AFL members area, so if you get an AFL membership in Perth, all you get is membership of your club, and then you have to pay additional for your reserved seat (the only way to get a reasonable seat at Subi)

There aren't 19 other games to go to in Perth, and I believe that those 19 games have to be at the MCG/Docklands anyway. Don't think you get entry to any finals outside Melbourne either, but I wouldn't want to stake my life on that...

Yeah but there is another 10 that you can get into in Perth. The AFL Membership with club support gives you a budjet reserved seat for home games at Eagles games (if available). If all budjets reserved seats are gone, you are up **** creek. You can go to every Freo game, except derbies for no cost with this.

Originally posted by WaDsY
Yeah but there is another 10 that you can get into in Perth. The AFL Membership with club support gives you a budjet reserved seat for home games at Eagles games (if available). If all budjets reserved seats are gone, you are up **** creek. You can go to every Freo game, except derbies for no cost with this.
Budget reserve (I assume you mean the public reserve that doesn't go on sale till the ticket windows open) are usually taken very quickly at every Eagles home game.

I don't think getting an AFL membership while living in WA is such a suitable thing to do.

Originally posted by Eagle_Fan
Rest assured Pa, my suggestion was for purely selfish reasons. I want him all to myself you see, you're just not enough. Sorry. ;)
Don't be sorry, i've heard how hard it is to satisfy you.

Originally posted by kuepper

What disturbs me more is that being a woman, she has both opinions and thinks she knows football, what is with that Rocco?

Mate call me a SNAG but I think it's ok for a woman to have opinions on certain things, such as what's the best washing detergent, kitchen decor, what meal will best tell your man that you really care and uses of starch in every day life.

Originally posted by Rocco Jones
Mate call me a SNAG
Fine: SNAG.

but I think it's ok for a woman to have opinions on certain things, such as what's the best washing detergent, kitchen decor, what meal will best tell your man that you really care and uses of starch in every day life.
Look, I do agree with you to a point, as long as those ideas are cleared by their man.

I mean you don't want to send a woman out to buy a car, and have her drive home in a vulva, do you?