2008 : The year of HOULIHAN!!!!

Agree with you on Dean & Macca, but SOS was a very ordinary kick. There was a reason why he was banned from kicking out after behinds. A number of costly turnovers after behinds which resulted in 7 point plays saw the likes of Campo, Braddles etc given the kick out duties long before this became commonplace.
Why use SOS as a kick in player when you had Ang? ;) :)

SOS was an ordinary kick out player, but I wasn't worried when SOS had the ball in his hands and was running down the field. Langford was a poorer kick of the footy than SOS and had no idea what to do when lining up for a goal. SOS wasn't a classical kick like Southy or even Christou, yet he was effective and kicked 202 goals in his career with 10 against Fitzroy being his best return.

I was always more worried when Spalding and Waite had the ball in their hands.

We dodged a bullet here. :eek: :thumbsu:

http://www.blueseum.org/tiki-index.php?page=Stephen+Silvagni
Then, when he impressed enough in the Interstate Carnival to be selected in the Australian team to tour Ireland, it sparked strong interest from Hawthorn. Under VFL rules of the day, Steve was zoned to the Hawks and they had first call on him - unless Carlton claimed him under the father/son rule. When Hawthorn set a 48 hour deadline for Carlton to act, Blues' Secretary Ian Collins didn't hesitate. Stephen Silvagni became a Carlton player - on the minimum contract wage of the time.

"Serge was terrific in the way he allowed Stephen to develop naturally, rather than by force," Collins said later; "some kids who play footy at a young age either get sick of it or resent it and want to do other things. Consequently they never fulfil their potential. But Stephen wasn't like that. there was balance in his life, which helped him in his football as well. There might have been games being played at the time of Stephen's signing, but there was never any doubt - he was always going to be playing for Carlton. Serge and Rita wouldn't have allowed him to go to Hawthorn, let alone encouraged him to go there."

It might pay to make a better comparison than Houlihan the outside player and arguably the best player in the competition who wins his own ball. An incredibly stupid argument to have made because someone dare questioned your favourite player.

It might pay to check your facts before you continue to make unnecessary personal attacks on me for the second day running::rolleyes:

http://au.sports.yahoo.com/afl/clubs/carlton/30/ryan-houlihan/200013

He ranked second in disposals, uncontested possessions, handball-receives, hardball-gets and fourth in contested possessions at Carlton highlighting that he can win the ball as an inside or outside player.

Did I start this thread? I commented, and have kept the same response every time about Hoops. I have seen alot of football in my 34 years on this planet, and guys at AFL level should not turn the ball over when they have little or no pressure on them.

And you also seem to think that I have some personal vendetta against Hoops as well. Far from it. I am just pointing out some of his faults, and that these need to be addressed. Some of them are his fault, and some of them are not. Being played out of position is NOT his fault, but turning the ball over when he is trying to be to cute, kick around the corner with his left, or running down the ground with little pressure IS HIS fault.

I know you'll throw the fact that he came 4th in the B&F at me, but, in a pretty weak and inexperienced list, that is where he should be finishing.
No I didn't start it either. And find me when I ever have. I'm not making any predictions and unlike certain people here I don't claim to be on anyone's bandwagon! I think we've had this discussion so many times it's getting rather tiresome. We went through this yet again not long ago, as we have all year, but let's go through the same tired arguments yet again. We can't let a week go by without that can we?

You may say you have no personal vendetta but here you are yet again saying the same things you've said that many times it's getting rather tiresome. If it's not his kicking, he's played out of position or any number of other things. And 4th in the B&F is not good enough. How many times are you going to say the same things over and over? I don't hear you scrutinizing other players who turn it over far more often. He averages a little over 2 clangers a game, which is a lot better than a lot of other players. Most supporters remember the turnovers a lot better than the kicks that found a target and his kicking efficiency is one of the highest at the club. Go and tell us all the specific examples of where you say he turned it over under no pressure. And tell us the superstars who are so perfect they never made a mistake in their entire life. When you play a long kicking game you will turn it over far more than players who kick short all the time. You want players to play safe, kick short and never take risks or players with flair who are prepared to risk turning it over so you can criticize them over and over? It was suggested to you that he's not perfect but has worked very hard to improve. If you can't accept that, then you'll obviously never be satisfied, which is your problem but it's getting rather tiresome.

Agree with you on Dean & Macca, but SOS was a very ordinary kick. There was a reason why he was banned from kicking out after behinds. A number of costly turnovers after behinds which resulted in 7 point plays saw the likes of Campo, Braddles etc given the kick out duties long before this became commonplace.
I wonder why kick out duties are given to the player who according to certain people here turns it over all the time under no pressure. There's about as much pressure on the kick out player as any in modern football. I guess the coaches have no idea.

It might pay to make a better comparison than Houlihan the outside player and arguably the best player in the competition who wins his own ball. An incredibly stupid argument to have made because someone dare questioned your favourite player.

Everytime SOS kicked it? :rolleyes:

I never cringed when SOS, Dean or McKay kicked the ball.

They would always make the correct decision and dispose of the ball cleanly after beating their man to win the ball.

A SOS, Dean or McKay is worth three Houlihans on match day.

Neither is Clinton Young!

Chop him.

Almost everytime ;) I never cringed when McKay or Dean had it. But SOS had some occasional funny skills.

No I didn't start it either. And find me when I ever have. I'm not making any predictions and unlike certain people here I don't claim to be on anyone's bandwagon! I think we've had this discussion so many times it's getting rather tiresome. We went through this yet again not long ago, as we have all year, but let's go through the same tired arguments yet again. We can't let a week go by without that can we?

You may say you have no personal vendetta but here you are yet again saying the same things you've said that many times it's getting rather tiresome. If it's not his kicking, he's played out of position or any number of other things. And 4th in the B&F is not good enough. How many times are you going to say the same things over and over? I don't hear you scrutinizing other players who turn it over far more often. He averages a little over 2 clangers a game, which is a lot better than a lot of other players. Most supporters remember the turnovers a lot better than the kicks that found a target and his kicking efficiency is one of the highest at the club. Go and tell us all the specific examples of where you say he turned it over under no pressure. And tell us the superstars who are so perfect they never made a mistake in their entire life. When you play a long kicking game you will turn it over far more than players who kick short all the time. You want players to play safe, kick short and never take risks or players with flair who are prepared to risk turning it over so you can criticize them over and over? It was suggested to you that he's not perfect but has worked very hard to improve. If you can't accept that, then you'll obviously never be satisfied, which is your problem but it's getting rather tiresome.

Shouldn't us as supporters expect more from Houlihan as he is a senior player, and has played alot of football for the Carlton Footy Club. The reason I comment is that it is bought up by quite a few posters here. However, if someone wanted to start some threads on the following players, I would make these observations:

Adam Bentick - A little slow for the modern game, and may struggle to get a game this year. Can turn the ball over at times.

Bret Thornton - Needs to work on his on field antics, and not look at blaming other players when his opponent gets the ball. Also tries to be a little cute at times, and can turn the ball over.

Kade Simpson - A great little player, but can try to do a little too much at times by running the lines, and can also turn it over.

Should I keep going? There are a heap more I can list.

Why don't you come to the football with me one day. Yes, I get disappointed and frustrated at times with the players skill, or lack of it, but ask BG1983 and Gilly, who have both been to the football with me, and they will tell you that I NEVER bag a Carlton. Why? How can you bag your own player? They are trying their best. Yes they make mistakes, and things that they can work on.

I guess my problem BW is that just about every player has come in for their fair share of critisism on BF, however, you almost seem to take it personally with Houlihan.

In my mind, I will give an honest assesment of any player that is talked about here on BF. I don't believe in sugar-coating things when the real issues need to be raised.

I'm happy enough that we don't see eye to eye on this one. Not everyone has to agree on everything.

I guess my problem BW is that just about every player has come in for their fair share of critisism on BF
Really! No other player has a thread started on him every week without fail to the extent that at one stage someone asked where was this week's Houlihan thread. Find me all the threads criticizing anything and everything about any of the players you mention week in week out. We had this very discussion not long ago and people said that no one is perfect so get over it. Oh but he's a senior player and you expect more- see you just admitted you expect more from him than anyone else. He's a a pick 73 so why do you expect so much from him? He's played more games than any pick 73 ever. This thread was all positive until you decided to give your negative assessment that we've heard time and time again.

You're kidding aren't you. Where was James Hird drafted? Or Chris Grant? Or even Brad Fisher? Just becuase if you are drafted down the order, doesn't mean you'll have a better career than someone drafted higher up. Heard of Dylan Smith, Luke Livingston and Chris Egan. All top 10 selections, yet 2 of them are not on AFL lists anymore, and Egan would be lucky to be on Collingwoods past 2008.

I simply cannot have a rational discussion on Houlihan with you. You blindly defend him everytime, and any critisism of him you almost treat it as a personal insult. This is the last time I will reply to you in this thread.

What the hell.

Why do people suddenly think that because we have Chris Judd that we'll be able to drop this player and that player. Ffs. Some people honestly.

The plain fact is that Houlihan will be one of the best we can have out on the park, and will be for quite a while yet.

It seems alot of people are overratting our team - especially players like Jordan Russell who have struggled thus far. Houlihan will play all 22 games next year barring injury, and rightly so.

I simply cannot have a rational discussion on Houlihan with you.
For the first time ever you've said something true. :p

Just becuase if you are drafted down the order, doesn't mean you'll have a better career than someone drafted higher up.
A perfect example. What on earth are we wasting all that money on recruiting staff when it doesn't matter where you are drafted. And how stupid were all those supporters hoping we'd lose ganmes so we can get the #1 draft pick when there are champions waiting at the end of the draft. I think you'll find that you are once again making absolutely no sense as research shows that the higher you are drafted the more games you are likely to play. Of course there will be exceptions but that's not what usually happens. By the time you get to the 70's you'd be lucky to play 10 games- let alone 150+. Sounding really rational.

avg-draft-60.gif

This is the last time I will reply to you in this thread.
Yippee!!! You'd better not reply again!!!! Hopefully in any thread!!!! And hopefully no more weekly commentary on where he's been selected, where they should play him and constantly saying the same things over and over and over and over and over and over and over..... :)

Yes he really is the worst at our club at hitting targets. What about that Chris Judd guy? He hits even less targets and that's unacceptable for a player of his ability. He better lift and hit targets this year or he might find himself in the VFL. Might pay to check some facts.

Yes he does miss targets, as do lots of players. Have you ever thought that Houlihan magnifies the fact that when he does miss a target it is at the make or break time in the game. He seems to miss targets at the most crucial times.
Mate i have probably seen more games than most people on bigfooty and seen 4 grand finals. Not bragging but just letting you know im no snotty nosed upstart kid on here.
Comparing Judd and Houlihan is like comparing Ackland to Cox.
Watch Nick Stevens, how often does he miss a target? hardly ever.

Why was Houlihan picked at 73 when every club knew of his skill?

Lappin was moved down back after kicking 50 goals as a small forward and made an AA side as a defender.

What's holding back Houlihan from reaching AA level?

You don't have to be big to win the ball and inspire as Blackwell showed against Collingwood in round 18.

Watch Nick Stevens, how often does he miss a target? hardly ever.
You think so? How do you explain the fact that in his last full season he had a kicking efficiency of just 72% and was 12th in the AFL for clanger kicks? I think you need to watch a bit closer. I don't think I need to waste my time with your observations.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=359628&page=2

2007...2008... keep trying. What a sad bunch of 'supporters' we have on this board. I suppose bagging and hoping for misfortune to others is what gives people here pleasure.:rolleyes:

It goes further back than that.

That's how long he's been annoying the **** out of people.

Some of my Houlihan hightlights

• Running down the wing with the ball under his arm and pushing his girls curls behind his ear
  • Running a nice big loop around an opponent looking to shephard rather than giving them a solid bump
  • More hair playing exploits during the game x 134

BluesWorld stop your sooking and face the facts! Hoops needs to improve like everyone on the bloody list or we will be going nowhere in this football world with a waste of talent.

2008 : The year of HOULIHAN!!!!