Jascave

Jun 17, 2005
Sandringham
Hampton Rovers
This thread is about putting your selections in for each week's round of matches in each section (A-D4). Don't put your selections for each week in the respective section thread (ie D4), put them in this thread instead. The sections thread would only focus on what happened on gameday and news in the week leading up to the next round of matches. But for now, predict who you think will win the flag at the end of the year in each section, the grand finalists (or teams promoted to a higher section) and the candidates for relegation in each section. The best & fairest winner and the leading goalkicker for each section comes later in the year.

A Premiers Old Xavs
Runners Up St Bedes Mentone
Smokies Uni Blacks
relegated
Old Scotch
Old Trinity

B Premiers St Kevins
Runners Up Old Camberwell
Smokies anyone other than Beaumaris . Potentially very even section 9 wins finals 6 wins relegation
Relegated
Beaumaris
anyone

C Premiers Rupertswood
Runners Up Ormond
Smokies Oakleigh
Relegated MHSOB
Parkdale

D1 Premiers Bulleen-Templestowe
Runners Up Fitzroy
Smokies Old Geelong
Relegated Aquinas
Peninsula

D2 Premiers Old Paradians
Runners Up Werribee
Smokies St Marys/Salesian
Relegated Glen Eira
Ivanhoe

D3 Premiers St Johns
runners up Williamstown
Smokies UHSOB
relegated Swinburne
Powerhouse

D4 Premiers St Francis Xavier
Runners up West Brunswick
Smokies anyone- very changeable section

U19 Premier
Premiers Old Xavs
Runners Up St Bedes Mentone
Relegated Uni Blacks
Marcellin

Here's my tips:

A SECTION

Premiers: Old Brighton
Runners Up: Old Xaverians
Team to watch: St Bedes Mentone Tigers
Relegation: Old Scotch Old Trinity

B SECTION

Premiers: St Kevins
Runners Up: Old Camberwell
Team to watch: Old Carey
Relegation: Beaumaris Old Essendon

C SECTION

Premiers: Rupertswood
Runners Up: Mazenod
Team to watch: Ormond
Relegation: MHSOB Parkdale

D1 SECTION

Premiers: Fitzroy Reds
Runners Up: Bulleen Templestowe
Team to watch: Old Mentonians
Relegation: Aqiunas Peninsula

D2 SECTION

Premiers: Old Paradians
Runners up: Werribee
Team to watch: St Marys/Salesian
Relegation: Glen Eira Ivanhoe

D3 SECTION

Premiers: Swinburne
Runners Up: St Johns
Team to watch: UHSOB
Relegation: Williamstown Powerhouse

D4 SECTION

Premiers: St Francis Xavier
Runners Up: West Brunswick
Team to watch: Albert Park
Bottom Two: Kew Eley Park

Here's my tips:

A SECTION

Premiers: Old Brighton
Runners Up: Old Xaverians
Team to watch: St Bedes Mentone Tigers

B SECTION

Premiers: St Kevins
Runners Up: Old Camberwell
Team to watch: Old Carey
Relegation: Beaumaris Old Essendon

C SECTION

Premiers: Rupertswood
Runners Up: Mazenod
Team to watch: Ormond
Relegation: MHSOB Parkdale

D1 SECTION

Premiers: Fitzroy Reds
Runners Up: Bulleen Templestowe
Team to watch: Old Mentonians
Relegation: Aqiunas Peninsula

D2 SECTION

Premiers: Old Paradians
Runners up: Werribee
Team to watch: St Marys/Salesian

D3 SECTION

Premiers: Swinburne
Runners Up: St Johns
Relegation: Williamstown Powerhouse

D4 SECTION

Runners Up: West Brunswick
Team to watch: Albert Park
Bottom Two: Kew Eley Park

Jason ... I am trying to work some type of logic in your thought process :confused: . In a post about a week ago I asked you who would have the most success as a A section coach in 2008. Your response was 'Brett Chandler from Old Trinity'. Then you say Trinity will be relegated after the 2008 season ? Can you please attempt to clear up what you are trying to say ? Or am I just trying too hard to understand ?

Cheers.
Sloth

Jason ... I am trying to work some type of logic in your thought process :confused: . In a post about a week ago I asked you who would have the most success as a A section coach in 2008. Your response was 'Brett Chandler from Old Trinity'. Then you say Trinity will be relegated after the 2008 season ? Can you please attempt to clear up what you are trying to say ? Or am I just trying too hard to understand ?

Cheers.
Sloth

No Sloth, you just realised what a lot of us already knew. Jascave is a massive clown!

I've changed my mind on Brett Chandler. He will have success in his coaching career, but not this year. The problem I have with Old Trinity is that if Andrew Ramsden breaks down during the course of the year, what replacements do they have avaliable? I think the rookie coach of the year award honour would go to Simon Lethlean from Old Xaverians. I was only trying to gee up Scribe, seeing that he used to play with Old Trinity!!!

Edits to Jas tips

A SECTION

Premiers: Old Xaverians
Runners Up: Uni Blues
Team to watch: Old Ivanhoe

B SECTION

Premiers: Old Camberwell
Runners Up: Old Essendon
Team to watch: agree with Red here, this section is wide open
Relegation: Beaumaris Marcellin

C SECTION

Premiers: Ormond
Runners Up: Rupertswood
Team to watch: Monash
Relegation: MHSOB Hampton

D1 SECTION

Premiers: Old Geelong
Runners Up: Fitzroy Reds
Team to watch: South Melbourne
Relegation: Aquinas Yarra Valley
D2 SECTION

Premiers: Werribee
Runners up: St Marys/Salesian
Team to watch: Banyule

D3 SECTION

Premiers: St Johns
Runners Up: La Trobe
Relegation: Hawthorn Powerhouse

D4 SECTION

Runners Up: Box Hill Nth
Team to watch: Bulleen

anyone got clubbies or u19 tips to add?

I don't take much notice of Club XVIII or Under 19 sections, but I'll give those tips out when the fixtures are released sometime in March.

Jase

are you serious when you say you do not take much notice of Under 19 and Club 18 teams?? I mean seriously Jase, you are talking about the future of your club with the Under 19's and also more than likely the largest financial contributer to the club in the Club 18?!?!?!?!

Jase, you need to get a life, and realise that there is more to your existence than the Hampton Rovers Senior Team.

What an idiot!!!!

The draw for Club XVIII and Under 19s hasn't come out yet so I'm waiting until the draw for those sections is released by the VAFA, then I'll give my tips. Also I was talking about Club XVIII 1,2,3 and the Under 19s sections as a whole, not just one section. After all, some clubs usually come & go in Club XVIII/Under 19s football, so I won't get a fair idea who to pick until the VAFA releases its fixtures for those sections.

Actually Jase the draw for Premier Under 19 IS available. it has been since before Christmas.

Oh thats right, Hampton are not in that division are they? Thats why you have no idea and dont care too much

OK here's my tips for the Under 19 Premier Division:

Runners Ups: Uni Blacks
Team to watch: Rupertswood
Relegation: St Bedes Mentone Tigers De La Salle

Archangel, re your relegation tips I agree with you, I think the Rovers won't do all that well, considering they've been VERY slow on the recruting front. I also agree with you abut the Grand Finallists in C Section Rupertswood & Ormond, however I tip Rupertswood to win the premiership.

PS How would Victoria go in rep footy this year?

Archangel, re your relegation tips I agree with you, I think the Rovers won't do all that well, considering they've been VERY slow on the recruting front. I also agree with you abut the Grand Finallists in C Section Rupertswood & Ormond, however I tip Rupertswood to win the premiership.

Jason

Rationale behind your De La for relegation selection please?

Having watched SBMT dispatch OMs at Sportscover 21-14-140 to NIL, I reckon your picks are right on the money. OM got it to their forward fifty twice in the game, and each time the SBMT backmen stopped sipping their milo, put the kettle back on the primus, and sent it screaming back up the midfield before sitting down again. You're right, no way can they survive in the rarified atmosphere of U19P.

De La Salle finished the season on top of Premier division and St Bedes flogged all comers in Divvy 2. Unless they have had all their players turn 20 in the same month then you really are taking the piss now.

I've changed my mind on Brett Chandler. He will have success in his coaching career, but not this year. The problem I have with Old Trinity is that if Andrew Ramsden breaks down during the course of the year, what replacements do they have avaliable? I think the rookie coach of the year award honour would go to Simon Lethlean from Old Xaverians. I was only trying to gee up Scribe, seeing that he used to play with Old Trinity!!!

Didn't work Jase. ;)

Depth in key positions hasn't really been an issue at OTs for a long time.
Mason Cole and Andrew Bourke provide more than good back-up for Jack Healey and Rambo, so much so that my old mate was playing more up forward with Cults in 2007 than as an around the ground ruckman. In my view, the absolute key player for OTs is David Beardsley. Good key defenders are hard to find in the Ammos!!

The major area they need to address is bigger bodies around the contests. A few lads have been hitting the gym recently, which can only be a positive. Scott Dann and Anthony Kenna have returned from a year away at Fitzroy to add some experience and aggression too.

Even allowing for natural bias, I'd expect the OTs to surprise in 2008 with a middling effort to finish somewhere from 4th-7th. The Carlson/Gaut senior coaching regime presided over the most consistent 10 years in the club's history, but no doubt the arrival of Brett Chandler will have sparked a lot of enthusiasm in the group.

I reckon the AJAX supporters would think back to the 2006 C Section Grand Final and say 'if only we didn't shut up shop when we were 8-10 goals up during the second quarter of the '06 Grand Final.' Because look where St Bedes Mentone Tigers are now: A Section. AJAX: C Section.

F**K you are an idiot. They still would have got relegated. They were horrible last year!

I reckon they'll get a full house for the St Bedes Mentone Tigers/Old Xaverians match at Brisindi St, to see their beloved Tigers go up against the powerhouse of VAFA football in Old Xaverians. What chance St Bedes Mentone Tigers have of defeating Old Xavs?

Seriously Jase, you are like the terminator... just keep coming back.

No one cares for your polls, questions and hypotheticals so unless you've got something interesting to say please don't hit the 'Post Reply' every 5 minutes.

PREMIERS: Old Xavs
RUNNERS UP: Collegians
TEAM TO WATCH: Uni Blues
RELEGATION: Uni Blacks, St Bede's Mentone

Dont Know and Dont care about the rest

2008 VAFA Selections