2009 Media Thread

Re: Media Thread

Don't steal my thinder Squizzle.

Old Pumpkin Head Anthony was my humour target for next Monday night.

OK - I'll take the Gunslinger. Anyone know what seat he'll be watching the game from?

alandidakfootycardsp4FNdqYz.jpg

Seems Paddy Smith has managed to spit another article out from the asylum :

Egos controlled, Saints march on

The Australian : Patrick Smith | May 05, 2009

These appear heady days for St Kilda. Top of the ladder, unbeaten, spiffy percentage and critics running desperately to catch up with the bandwagon they had previously waved on its way. Coach Ross Lyon asks for a measure of restraint, for unbridled expectation is as debilitating to a club as a busted knee is to a player.

Lyon has no crystal ball, which is good because they can be most uncomfortable. He cannot see past the next training session and each match must be treated as a means to an end that cannot be thought about until grand final week. That way everything is contained; everything can be controlled. As yet no club has successfully or usefully calibrated anticipation.

Lyon asked for sensible heads after the club recorded its sixth consecutive win on Sunday, beating the respected Western Bulldogs by 28 points. "Clearly Geelong are the benchmark team of the competition and Hawthorn have been decimated with injuries and they have still got themselves 3-3. Everyone else is chasing those two and we are no different," Lyon said after the Bulldogs match.

As it is, St Kilda is hardly breaking new ground. So far it is barely half as good as the 2004 team that won its first 10 matches, developed an ego the size of the MCG and failed to reach the grand final. When the Saints defeated Brisbane by one point in round six in 2004, it sat on top of the ladder, with easily the best percentage in the league. Very much the same as Lyon's mob.

Come round 10 and the Saints kicked 31 goals to shred Carlton by 108 points and sit unchallenged on top of the ladder, clear of second-placed Melbourne by three games and 42 percentage points. It had been a solid coaching performance by the controversial Grant Thomas for rarely - until this burst of games - could he call upon his very best 22 players.

But form can be turned on its head in an instant. St Kilda lost four of the next five games - its one victory was over Hawthorn which won four games for the year. By the end of the season it had fallen to third with 16 wins and six losses and was finally knocked out in the preliminary final to eventual premier Port Adelaide. Within two seasons Thomas was sacked. With that, a period of St Kilda's history thought by many ripe to deliver a premiership, was closed.

Thomas, who had predicted two premierships within a decade when he was in charge, now works in the media. His coaching period will be remembered as a lost opportunity where he might have tried too hard to be different and not hard enough to be good.

He left behind him a disintegrating group. The team that took St Kilda to its sixth win in a row in 2004 is different to the team Lyon coached to victory on Sunday. It has a new face and fresh arms and legs but its torso, its heart, is very much the same.

Of the team Thomas coached in round six of 2004 only seven lined up under Lyon against the Bulldogs on the weekend. But they are the essence of the team now as they were under Thomas. Brendon Goddard, Lenny Hayes, Luke Ball, Nick Dal Santo, Nick Riewoldt, Stephen Milne and Justin Koschitzke. Stephen Baker, suspended in 2004, and Matt Hudghton, injured this season, are the only other players who remain on the list who might automatically be considered in Lyon's best 22.

Lyon has recruited purposefully to flesh out his team. Farren Ray is a former Bulldog who has become a critical part of St Kilda's team. As have Adam Schneider, Zac Dawson and Michael Gardiner. Unlikely types Andrew McQualter, Robert Eddy, Clinton Jones and Jarryn Geary fulfil their role in Lyon's game strategy without fuss but with effect.

Many other things have changed at St Kilda. It has a new board and chairman. Chief executives have come and gone. A new man runs the fitness program, a new man heads the recruiting staff. It is at least one winter away before we discover whether this St Kilda version will reach the grand final the teams under Thomas could not. But Lyon has brought a sense of order to St Kilda. Its match plan is now dissected as oppositions look for elements to unpick, to exploit. They haven't had much luck.

Next Monday St Kilda must beat Collingwood to keep its unbeaten record and Collingwood must beat St Kilda so it does not fall to a negative win-loss ratio. The evolution of the two clubs since round six back in 2004 is very different. Mick Malthouse still coaches but is, more than likely, in his last year. Eddie McGuire is still running the club as well as the umpiring and football departments of the AFL. But Neil Balme is no longer football manager and Greg Swann has taken his chief executive skills to Carlton.

Critics say that Malthouse continues to use the same tactical approach he did five years ago. His list has changed significantly nonetheless. Only Dane Swan, Leon Davis, Josh Fraser, Shane O'Bree and Simon Prestigiacomo played both in round six of 2004 and last Friday. Alan Didak remains injured.

Confidence the key for Jones

As the saying goes, confidence breeds confidence. And in Clint Jones’ case it has been crucial to getting his AFL career up and running.

Jones, who is in his third year on St Kilda’s list, says that only now does he feel he belongs at the elite level.

“It can be really hard to find that confidence. You come into a new side and you don’t know how they play or go about it,” Jones said.

“After you play a continuous number of games with those players, you understand how they work and what they expect of you. You feel more comfortable being in the side.”

This year has been Jones’ best season to date, with several aspects of his game improving out of sight.

“I’ve tried to improve my endurance, my running and always working on my skills as well,” he said.

“A bit of that is feeling more confident and accepted within the team. I have put a bit of work into it. I’ve really tried to work on my kicking and I think it has improved a little.”

Jones has been one of the Saints’ most important players this year and beaten or at least broken even against quality opposition midfielders such as Daniel Kerr, Adam Cooney, Jarrad McVeigh and Paul Hasleby.

He says he has been as diligent as possible in learning to play a stopping role, studying footage of his opponents and getting some helpful tips from St Kilda teammates who have played shutdown roles in the past.

“There have been a couple of games where I’ve gone to Bakes (Steven Baker) and we’ve had a chat and he’s given me some advice. Sean Dempster also did some of the tagging roles last year. I’ve had some words with him too and both of them have been able to help me out,” Jones said.

“You’ve got the support of your teammates. We work well together, they help me out and I’ve been able to help them out at times.”

The 25-year-old has come along in leaps and bounds since he was drafted to the rookie list at the end of 2006. He, along with Robert Eddy, Zac Dawson, Andrew McQualter, Stephen Milne and Jarryn Geary have all come through the rookie list to cement spots in St Kilda’s undefeated side.

He says he shares a certain tenacity with his fellow rookie graduates.

“Being a rookie list player, you know you have to work hard to improve and try to earn that senior spot. There have been a few guys at our club who have been able to do it. These guys are now getting games and we want to be part of the side,” he said.

The rookie list has been a gold mine for the Saints in recent years and with nine players rookied this year, the Saints have plenty more to come through the system.

Jones says it is easy to feel as if you are a long way off a senior game, but persistence and ambition can take you a long way.

“When I first came in I just wanted to train as hard as I could. I remember seeing Nick Riewoldt and Robert Harvey and you look at those guys and see how hard they train and how they go about it,” he said.

“They are so professional and their recovery is perfect. My advice to those guys on the rookie list now would be to do the basics right.”

Saints can maintain aggression

By Luke Holmesby 07 May, 2009

St Kilda midfielder Nick Dal Santo says the Saints should be able to maintain their aggressive style of football throughout the season.

The Saints have been widely praised for their ruthless approach to the contested football and their defensive pressure, but Dal Santo denies it is too taxing to maintain the standard.

“I’m not too sure. You put a lot of pressure on in the front half so it means you don’t have to chase it all the way to the opposition’s forward line so you don’t have to run as far,” Dal Santo said.

“It is probably more intense when the ball is in your area. It also helps when you turn the ball over and you’re running towards your own goal, it makes life a little bit easier. I think it works both ways.”

Dal Santo, who is one of the early Brownlow favourites, says he feels the Saints’ style of play is no more physically demanding than what he has known.

“The game is hard no matter how it is played, whether you are winning or losing, whether you are stopping the ball in the midfield or you are running all the way down to the opposition’s forward 50. You walk off and you’ve pretty much had enough,” he said.

Injured ruckman Steven King was a chance to return to the St Kilda line-up but Xavier Clarke will have to wait until 2010 to add to his 105 AFL games after undergoing a knee reconstruction on Wednesday.

Dal Santo, who was drafted to St Kilda in 2001 – the same year as Clarke – said he was shattered at the news Clarke had ruptured his ACL for St Kilda’s VFL team Sandringham last week.

“It is devastating for X. He has had a really good pre-season. He got a few games under his belt in the seconds and he had the ACL on the weekend,” Dal Santo said.

“He had his operation yesterday and apparently it went really well. We need to support him. It is a hard situation no matter who you are. He has had a lot of injuries and it is just devastating.”

Has anyone caught the article in today's Age yet that Robert Walls wrote "Success comes in half dozens"?

I was just wondering what people thoughts were about this. He has said our bottom six players are:

Zac Dawson
James Gwilt
Andrew McQualter
Sam Gilbert
Clint Jones
Jarryn Geary

There's one player that screams out at me there who shouldn't really be with those six..... Sam Gilbert. I would have thought a few others could be put in that six rather than Gilbert.

Thoughts?

What a deadshit, Gilbert's been in close to AA form.

Players Gilbert is better than from our current team to name a few: Blake, Gardiner, Eddy, Schneider.

Blake and Gardiner have all been outstanding this year though. I'd say Eddy stands out there and should have been in the bottom 6 ahead of Gilbert. Great thing about that 'bottom 6' though:

Dawson - Hudghton
Gwilt - Maguire/Raph Clarke
McQualter - Armitage
Gilbert - Absolute gun
Jones - Gun tagger
Geary - Gun rising star

seems that our bottom 6 are either in ripper form, can/will be replaced by better players or both :thumbsu:

also, it's irrelevant to the Saints, but the whole premise of that article (just read it) is bullshit. Apart from Gilbert, who shouldn't be there, our bottom 6 is not that much better than Carlton's. The difference between our teams is in the top 16, not the bottom 6. We have quality on every line, star players everywhere. Carlton have 2 superstars a couple of promising mids and then nothing. Once again Robert Walls is vastly overrating the amount of talent Carlton has as a side.

edit: one last thing, it wasn't only st kilda's he got completely wrong. Managed to include some pretty good players in Geelong's such as Stokes and Milburn but leaves out Mark Blake? Huge oversight there, Robert Walls please retire.

I don't disagree with the premise of the article - only that the man is a tool who obviously has nothing in the kit bag, and would prefer to talk about Carlton's CHF in the 70's.

I've loved the spread of performances from the guys this year, and guys like Gears stepping up when another team targets a Dal or Monty to shut down.

And CJ going up a cog to both nullify his man and also get some effective possessions has been great to watch.

There are some fairly big names who would be in our bottom six (if there is such a thing) which is due to improved performances of the 22 rather than them being particularly out of form.

Agree our spread of performances has been great this year, and our conventional bottom 6 have pretty much all been on top form.

but I think his point about Carlton is a poor one. The don't lose because they don't get enough from their bottom 6, they lose because they don't get enough from anyone bar Judd, Fev sometimes Murphy and maybe Gibbs if they are 5+ goals up.

The gap in talent between them and us, Cats and Hawks is evident in their list as a whole, not just their bottom 6. The article seems to be suggesting that aside from those players (Cloke, Wiggins, Thornton etc.) their team could match it with ours or Geelong's when they clearly can't.

Hasnt really got to do with the Media, but all the same
anyone remember Justin Sweeney??
does anyone know where hes currently playing, as im trying to track him down

Has anyone caught the article in today's Age yet that Robert Walls wrote "Success comes in half dozens"?

I was just wondering what people thoughts were about this. He has said our bottom six players are:

Zac Dawson
James Gwilt
Andrew McQualter
Sam Gilbert
Clint Jones
Jarryn Geary

I may be old, but I am willing to learn :

facepalm.jpeg

I don't think we have a 'bottom six' this year. St Kilda is playing as a great team this year !

Gilbert ? Jones ? Geary ? In our bottom six ?

That's like nominating Robert Walls for Gold Logie !

Saints in tune with unchanged melody
The Australian - Courtney Walsh | May 11, 2009

Tonight Anthony Rocca and Heath Shaw return for Collingwood in a crucial match against St Kilda. The worth of their presence will be judged in part by the final siren at Etihad Stadium.

But it is the selection status at St Kilda that highlights why the Saints will head the ladder tonight if they defeat the strengthened Magpies outfit. Unchanged. Again. It is significant given stability is seen as an ingredient crucial to success.

When the Swans claimed a famous premiership in 2005, they made just one change in the final seven weeks and that was due to form, not injury. "Part of the reason the side is going so well is that it has been nearly the same team for 10 games," club doctor Nathan Gibbs said at the time. "The ones who are playing have had 10 consecutive weeks, at least, of playing and training, so that is why they have been running teams down in last quarters: because they are as fit as you could imagine."

Following Hawthorn's shock loss to Essendon on Friday night - a defeat that leaves the reigning premier outside the eight with a difficult assignment against the Dockers in Perth to come - coach Alastair Clarkson lamented that injury had cruelled his side's chances to date. Clarkson pointed to the fact the Hawks had been forced into 23 personnel changes in the past month as a reason for the inconsistent start to their premiership defence. In a bid to rectify his side's sinking chances against the Bombers, Clarkson threw most of his players into defence at some stage with no success. "We had two-thirds of the side that played in the back half and if you go through any sides that consistently win games of footy, you don't have a lot of rotations through your back six or seven players," he said. "Last year the key fact of our success was a lot of the back six hardly missed any games of football. We're looking forward to our defenders getting back on the park and playing some consistent footy together."

North Melbourne coach Dean Laidley has cited a similar refrain this season, though the perennial finalist was able to cling to victory against Port Adelaide on Saturday night despite having just 25 fit players from which to choose.
There are no such problems for St Kilda coach Ross Lyon as he looks to a seventh-straight win tonight.

A quarter of the way through the season, the Saints have used just 24 players, three fewer than the Bulldogs and Swans and well short of the 33 players Terry Wallace has used at Richmond, in a bid to find a competitive outfit.

Only Justin Koschitzke, Lenny Hayes and Steven King - all absent for a match - have missed a game among the Saints' best 22, with fringe performers Robert Eddy and Raphael Clarke sharing the crumbs left by that talented trio to play three games between them.

Although the season is not yet two months old, this is in stark contrast to last year, when Lyon was forced to use 37 of the 38 players on St Kilda's list due to several regular performers missing for weeks at a time.

Consider the difference Michael Gardiner, who managed just nine games last season, has made in tandem with King in the ruck.

Or that negating defender Steven Baker could play only two games in 2008 yet has returned to his combative best this season.

Star midfielder Luke Ball missed six games last season. Key defender Sam Gilbert the same. Both are fit and in form.

The news continues to improve at Moorabbin. The injury plagued Matt Maguire, who has managed just 14 games since 2006, showed he could be more than just a key defender when booting five goals from 20 possessions while playing for Sandringham in the VFL. "I've played five VFL games and five practice games this season and my body is slowly coming back," Maguire told a Sunday newspaper. "It's the type of footy I want to play."

It is undoubtedly the type of football Lyon wants to see as well from a reserve, even though the Saints coach will be hoping there is no need to use him in the short-term given his side's stability.

Some interesting comments for someone who wants to fly under the radar!!!

All quiet on the Westaway front
Damian Barrett | May 09, 2009

In his own words, Greg Westaway is no rock star.

Not for him the outspoken style of football club presidency adopted by Jeff Kennett and Eddie McGuire, as well as the man he replaced at St Kilda, Rod Butterss.

Westaway is overly guarded when he talks to the media, afraid his words will somehow conspire against the Saints and bring undone the now-smoothly run operation in place at Moorabbin.

You could call it paranoia, but, simply, it is Westaway's way, and after seven years of Butterss as president and Grant Thomas as coach, it is working for St Kilda. "I'm not Eddie or Jeff. Some people are used to being in the public eye and so they are more adept, but I know where I am at," Westaway said.

Westaway is in his second season as St Kilda boss, time enough for his quiet ways to have filtered down. He uses two words to best assess his outlook for the Saints: continuity and stability.

He doesn't want to comment on the contrast of his style with that of those he replaced.

Asked if the ego has been removed from the club, he said: "We are all there to do a job, that's what we are about, and if there was ego there, there isn't any now. "I'm not here to comment on the previous board. I am only interested in what's in front of us, and the fact that we are all in this together."

In December last year, Westaway's board made a decision that might be looked back on as the main reason for the 2009 season beginning to look like a grand one for St Kilda. It was agreed that coach Ross Lyon should have a year added to a contract that was to expire at the end of the '09 season.

The effect of that decision appears telling, for it gave Lyon comfort and confidence to continue what he started in 2007.

Equally significant, it took Lyon out of the now-raging debate that is playing tricks with the seven clubs which have coaches whose contracts end this year. "We are about continuity and stability, that's what we are about, and it was a club decision to do that with Ross," Westaway said. "It was the right thing to do, to say we are happy with the way you are doing your work, and it is a secure feeling to know the board is behind you. "He is proving to be more of a coach than a lot of people gave him credit for. "He's just got all the players playing as a team, he is getting the best out of everybody there. "Ross is a great achiever, and he is probably one of the less paid in the business. It is not for me to say what he is on and I won't, but he certainly punches above his weight. He would certainly be in the bottom quartile."

Westaway said St Kilda's sponsorship deals were better than 2008 figures, and membership (29,909 as of yesterday) was tracking extremely encouragingly.

Like his 15 counterparts, he is worried about the AFL's stadium problems, particularly after learning this week that the Saints would be hit with a bill of $125,626 for its first three home matches played at Etihad Stadium. "If they're going to be fair dinkum about a salary cap, then they need to have equal stadium deals," Westaway said. "You can't have West Coast getting five times, more, what a Victorian club is getting, and then ask the Victorian clubs to compete. It is just not fair."

The Saints' planned relocation to Seaford, Westaway said, remained on track to be completed by late next year.

There were two more statements made in his interview with the Herald Sun that will delights Saints fans.

One, that Nick Riewoldt would, by the time the Gold Coast formalised an expected offer to join the club, "wouldn't want to go anywhere". "We are very confident of keeping him. He is the captain, we have a winning culture at the moment, who wouldn't want to be at St Kilda now?" Westaway said.

And two: "If anything, he (Michael Nettlefold, the Saints' new chief executive) may even be a fraction better than Archie (Fraser, who left for a senior executive post with Soccer Australia). "Archie was very good at what he did, so don't leave the word fraction out of that, will you!"

Thought this had a number of interesting comments:

No miracle
Mark Stevens | May 09, 2009 12:00am
St Kilda has not gone as far as chaining Lenny Hayes to the boundary fence, but strong words from the fitness staff have had the same effect.
Hayes, in many ways the flag-bearer for the Saints' high-intensity style, is rarely sighted on the training track early in the week. "We've probably learnt to say, 'OK, for the first training session, we're not going to let you train'," St Kilda's strength and conditioning chief David Misson said yesterday.

Misson allows Hayes the pleasure of some stationary ball-work and a light jog, but that's it. "To ask Lenny to take it easy during a training session, it's against the grain a bit with him - every time he steps out, he gives you 110 per cent," Misson said. "But it's too much of a risk on our part to let him out there. "Lenny is a really good example. He just leaves nothing out there on game day, so he's just ticking over during the week."
Hayes has plenty of teammates following the "go hard, then freshen up" theory.

Filling space, tackling and applying relentless pressure is leaving the players spent, but the Saints are comfortable easing off during the week.

Former St Kilda star Austinn Jones alluded to Misson's mission in his role as ABC radio commentator last weekend. "It's definitely a high-intensity game. I speak to the players and they're not doing a lot during the week," Jones said. "They're obviously getting their reward with the workrate they are putting out in a game - it gives them the opportunity to freshen up and get their minds right to prepare for the next game. "Perhaps the workrate in their legs isn't what 12 or 13 other clubs are doing."

GPS data, gleaned in two visits to AAMI Stadium, confirms the Saints players are extracting significantly more from their bodies this year. "There is no doubt, based on the GPS work we have done, that they are working harder during games," Misson said. "What it showed was that top-end running and the ability to repeat that top-end running."

Although the roof at Etihad Stadium renders GPS equipment useless, Misson has seen enough to know that the intensity has gone to new levels. "Because we are working really hard during games, the guys need to be fresh going into games," he said. "I think you're better off being a little bit underdone going into a game rather than overdone. "The days of having big sessions during the week to improve fitness, I think, are gone.
"The coach (Ross Lyon) is obviously doing what he needs to do in regards to structures and game plan, but there is a bit of a de-emphasis on volume during the week. "We are doing a bit more in the weights room and off-legs conditioning, which doesn't tax the legs. "What it is about is knowing where your players are at day to day . . . monitoring muscle soreness and health."

Misson has overseen two pre-seasons at the Saints after seven years at Sydney, where he turned the Swans into the most durable team in the competition.

For the second pre-season, heading into this year, there was a rejig to suit Lyon's tinkering with the team's game style. "We set Hawthorn and Geelong as benchmarks and through the pre-season, the aim was to train like we wanted to play," Misson said. "We did a lot of monitoring, investigation and research into how we wanted to train. It was a strong focus and a simple one. "As Robert Harvey always said, 'You're going to play how you train'. "We had three weeks less this pre-season than last because we made a prelim final. "We just felt we really needed to be spot on. We probably did a bit less base-volume work with our running and got into the skills stuff a little bit sooner."

Misson said the Saints' zoning style was a little less taxing from a running standpoint, given players, at times, are filling space. But he said the effort put into tackling and harassing, which the Saints have taken to a new level this year, can take a heavy toll. "At the end of the day, it is contested footy that is still going to win you games so the emphasis there is on your tackling and pressure skills," he said. "That obviously takes more out of you than most things you do on game day."

St Kilda's fitness resources have come a long way since the days of the "training services" crew. The new board has delivered on its pledge to beef up the football department, including the sports science area.
The investment to resurface Moorabbin has also been a major factor.
"It's made a big difference, where we can walk out on to a pristine playing surface," Misson said. "Even compared to Sydney it is great. We were struggling with ground hardness at the SCG and with a cricket pitch in the middle. "This is fantastic."

Dare we say it, touch wood, the soft-tissue curse at Moorabbin also appears to be over.

LEIGH FISHER UPDATE:

St Kilda player Leigh Fisher suffered a gash under his eye in the opening quarter of Sandringham’s VFL loss to the Northern Bullants on Saturday.

The 25-year old was taken to the Alfred Hospital where he received stitches but is likely to be available this week.

St Kilda Football Manager Greg Hutchison said, “Leigh was involved in a collision early in the first term and suffered a laceration under his eye. He was taken to hospital for treatment and returned to the ground but played no further part in the game. Leigh will be assessed by our Club doctors this week, but is expected to make a quick recovery and may be available for selection this week.”
for saints.com.au

LEIGH FISHER UPDATE:

St Kilda player Leigh Fisher suffered a gash under his eye in the opening quarter of Sandringham’s VFL loss to the Northern Bullants on Saturday.

The 25-year old was taken to the Alfred Hospital where he received stitches but is likely to be available this week.

St Kilda Football Manager Greg Hutchison said, “Leigh was involved in a collision early in the first term and suffered a laceration under his eye. He was taken to hospital for treatment and returned to the ground but played no further part in the game. Leigh will be assessed by our Club doctors this week, but is expected to make a quick recovery and may be available for selection this week.”
for saints.com.au

Good news!

Bloke has been playing some good footy for Sandy an it would be heartbreaking to lose him for 4-6 on top of X the week before

Brendon Goddard talks NFL, quarterbacks and punting on the Dogs.
Eliza Sewell, MX | May 11, 2009

How are you feeling about MNF? Is it a bit weird?
Brendon Goddard: We had all weekend – it was hard not to fall into the trap of sitting around watching footy all weekend. I tried to avoid that.

What did you do?
We had training on Saturday. We had Sunday off, so I played golf, just down at Yarra Yarra, and out for breakfast.

What are you missing out on tonight? What do you normally do on a Monday night?
Every Monday here and there we go to the Railway Club in Port Melbourne and grab a steak.

It’s a pretty good steak?
It’s really good. And they’ve got the dogs on the telly and the TAB, so we sit there and have a bit of a gamble. It’s funny because we don’t know too much about the dogs.

Now I’ve been reading a few stories about you. People call you the quarterback. Do you know much about American football?
My housemate’s pretty keen on it, so he tapes the games. I get the gist of it.

Do you support a team?
I’m kind of torn because I’ve been to Arizona so I follow the Cardinals. But my housemate is a New Orleans Saints fan because he likes Reggie Bush. He also likes the New England Patriots as well.

Do you watch it?
My housemate watches it all the time, so I sit down and watch it with him. But not religiously.

How do you feel about people saying you’re the quarterback? They’re pretty important.
Yeah, I guess so. I’m not sure where it’s come from. It wasn’t until last week that I settled across half-back and I still played 30-40 per cent in the midfield at the weekend. But I guess a lot of the attack is set up from the defence so, if you’re playing down back, you’re the first one to get your hands on the footy and you take it forward.

The quarterbacks call the plays. I was reading about their codes. Do you have any special signs or signals?
They’re not my signs, but as a team we’ve got certain structures and all the guys have a better understanding of those structures and game plan. If the team’s not setting up the way it should be, everyone has the ability to do something about it. I don’t tell everyone what to do.

So no codes? That’s not very exciting. I thought you would have had something.
No. The NFL quarterbacks have got all their plays written on the piece of paper. It’s like in a little sleeve on their forearm. They show it sometimes on the footage. You can see it before they do a play.

That’s awesome. Have you got anything written on your arm?
No. I’ve got too many freckles. That’s about it.

And you’re $13 to win the Brownlow. That’s quite flattering (but) that’s just guys trying to get rich.

You’ve been playing pretty well, though.
That’s just part and parcel of the team playing well. We’re not relying on any individual now. There was talk of Nick Riewoldt carrying us into the finals last year. He’s just one player in the whole puzzle and that’s the way we see it this year.

Is that change in dynamic – that Nick isn’t the focus now – better for everyone?
I think no doubt. There’s no reliance. We never have relied just on Nick, but now it’s an even team performance.

Six wins, it must be exciting. Did you really think you’d be six and zip?
You’d like to think so in a perfect world, but there are a lot of variables in football. We’re quite happy because obviously footy dictates our moods and dictates our life outside of the footy club, so to be 6-0 is great. But we’re realistic and there are still 16 games to go.

2009 Media Thread