2009 Trade Discussion Part 8

Just the one final upgrading trade, to give me a team full of keepers/premiums: Skipworth -> L.Davis

I'll probably try and save the rest of my trades for STIs/LTIs or a Beams downgrade and a Buddy upgrade to Roo/SJ/Chapman, but we'll see how that pans out.

Remaining from your salary cap: $14,300
Remaining trades: 5
DEFENCE: Goddard, S.Fisher, Mackie, Embley, Hodge, Drummond and Grimes (Houlihan/Petrenko)

MIDFIELD: ABC, Swan, Gibbs and K.Cornes (Beams/Muston)

RUCK: Cox and McIntosh (Spencer/Jacobs)

FORWARDS: Deledio, Pavlich, Didak, Davis, R.Murphy, Franklin and Higgins (Ballantyne/Sidebottom)

Just the one final upgrading trade, to give me a team full of keepers/premiums: Skipworth -> L.Davis

I'll probably try and save the rest of my trades for STIs/LTIs or a Beams downgrade and a Buddy upgrade to Roo/SJ/Chapman, but we'll see how that pans out.

Remaining from your salary cap: $14,300
Remaining trades: 5

great team, forward line probably your weakest point, with not having one or more of roo, chappy and stevie j. but very nice team with 5 trades left.

any opinions?

I just did something similar mate.
Sidey > Hogan to avoid a donut and make cash.
Used that money to go Petrenko > Carazzo.

There's not much else on offer in the forwards (already have Ballantyne).
And there's always the hope Hogan matures into a consistent player.
If not, then hopefully there won't be much need for him when Pav+SJ return.

I just did something similar mate.
Sidey > Hogan to avoid a donut and make cash.
Used that money to go Petrenko > Carazzo.

There's not much else on offer in the forwards (already have Ballantyne).
And there's always the hope Hogan matures into a consistent player.
If not, then hopefully there won't be much need for him when Pav+SJ return.

dude thats scarey, im in the EXACT same position as you mate and i agree. Hopefully Hogan has a ripper and gets at least a few more games. Ill have Ballyntine first emg anyway.

Plus it helps me afford GAJ which i cant complain about

I have $154,500 in the bank, and looking to upgrade Rich. This will be my final upgrade, with no more trades for the rest of the season unless LTI's - will only have 2 after this trade. Would love to get Anthony in there, but not sure I need to waste a trade to get him.

Who do people think as a final mid out of these? $448k to spend (Got Kornes, Bartel, Gibbs, Murphy)

Pendlebury
Sewell
Selwood
SThompson
Tuck
Mitchell
NDS
Boyd

I'm leaning towards Sewell because he's having a great season averaging 108. Will he keep it up or is it safer to go with Selwood/Mitchell?? Haven't seen Sewell in too many teams here.

I have $154,500 in the bank, and looking to upgrade Rich. This will be my final upgrade, with no more trades for the rest of the season unless LTI's - will only have 2 after this trade. Would love to get Anthony in there, but not sure I need to waste a trade to get him.

Who do people think as a final mid out of these? $448k to spend (Got Kornes, Bartel, Gibbs, Murphy)

Pendlebury
Sewell
Selwood
SThompson
Tuck
Mitchell
NDS
Boyd

I'm leaning towards Sewell because he's having a great season averaging 108. Will he keep it up or is it safer to go with Selwood/Mitchell?? Haven't seen Sewell in too many teams here.

I would wait a week for Montagna to drop below that price point in which he will with a massive B/E or take Tuck this week. Tuck's been averaging 115 for the last 8 weeks and is quietly slipping under the radar.:thumbsu:

Thanks flackjack, but I guess there's two problems facing me with waiting until next week for Joey.

1) Rich may drop as well this week, and certainly not guaranteed to be able to afford Montagna NW.
2) I'm in eliminator and facing a 0 in the fwd line for SJ - really want to bring in a premium this week.

Tuck is an interesting prospect. It comes down to him, Selwood or Sewell I think... what are people's thoughts?

With Sewell and Tuck you will probably get an average of 110 to 115 for the rest of the year I'd say. With Selwood I think you would get 95 to 100. You've gotta decide whether you will need the extra cash saved by choosing Selwood. At the moment, Tuck and Sewell are fairly priced, but Selwood is very underpriced. If this is your final upgrade I would take Tuck/Sewell.

3 Trades left, 150K banked.

Copping a zero in Forward line with Pav, should I downgrade Sidey to Ballantyne giving me cover in case of injury?

Also playing Rich and Anthony, and I need to upgrade Rich before season is out.

So in closing, with 3 trades can I afford a downgrade or should I just upgrade Rich to Bartel now and leave 2 trades for LTIs? I like the idea of having at least one forward cover and I think Sidebottom's chances of coming back into the side are pretty slim.

kinda odd question. Seeing as my backline is actually playing this week I have a decision on who to start. Current backline:
B: D Mundy , S Fisher , S Thorton, A Mackie, T Lockyer, C Cornes, G Broughton, J Grimes

Need one of those 8 to take a bench spot this week. Was thinking Mackie, as the loss of milburn/scarlett will probably make him play KPB so poo scorer. Any ideas?

Ahh, injuries starting to burn now...

Foley, S.Johnson, Pavlich, Skipworth all going down in recent times... and a lack of playing bench is hurting me.

Thankfully Cox is back...

Just the one trade this week to limit my 0s down to 1, Foley out for Scott Thompson.

3 Trades left, 150K banked.

Copping a zero in Forward line with Pav, should I downgrade Sidey to Ballantyne giving me cover in case of injury?

Also playing Rich and Anthony, and I need to upgrade Rich before season is out.

So in closing, with 3 trades can I afford a downgrade or should I just upgrade Rich to Bartel now and leave 2 trades for LTIs? I like the idea of having at least one forward cover and I think Sidebottom's chances of coming back into the side are pretty slim.

You could always just keep Rich?

Sometimes I wonder why DTers get hung up on trading their cash cows. I know that's the way it is supposed to work, but I've got Grimes, Broughton, Rich and Anthony and they've all got averages higher than Lance Franklin and other 'guns', 'keepers' etc.

Which brings me neatly to say I'm thinking about ditching Buddy for a slight upgrade. He just doesn't look interested and his recent DT scores have been embarrassing. I kept thinking he'd turn it around, but it hasn't happened so far.

You could always just keep Rich?

Sometimes I wonder why DTers get hung up on trading their cash cows. I know that's the way it is supposed to work, but I've got Grimes, Broughton, Rich and Anthony and they've all got averages higher than Lance Franklin and other 'guns', 'keepers' etc.

Which brings me neatly to say I'm thinking about ditching Buddy for a slight upgrade. He just doesn't look interested and his recent DT scores have been embarrassing. I kept thinking he'd turn it around, but it hasn't happened so far.
Franklin is probably just acceptable now as a 7th forward with an average of 70. Rich is averaging 75, which is not enough for a 5th/6th mid, so an upgrade to Bartel would be ideal.

FWD line dilemma...

with both johnson and pavlich still out, i have two zeros...
my two bench players are Sidebottom and Wright

I need to trade one out and bring in someone like Hogan for one cover score whom is also more likely to get games. Any suggestions?

I will then have enough cash $300k to upgrade muston/dangerfield to any gun in the league....who should i get?

im thinking of cashing in sidebottom, as beams seems to have secured the one spot of the team they have both been sharing all season. would like to bring in the like of Hayes/Bartel/Sewell/Boyd...

Franklin is probably just acceptable now as a 7th forward with an average of 70. Rich is averaging 75, which is not enough for a 5th/6th mid, so an upgrade to Bartel would be ideal.

Yeah, I can see that argument.

Hi guys - just want some affirmation for my thoughts

8 trades left - $150k in the bank

Sidebottom -> Ballantyne (I only want to make 2 more downgrades, the other will be Burgoyne -> Rookie defender in a few weeks)

Rich -> Montagna.

My focus is a league win and the saints have a relatively easy final month.

Was going to wait to bring Mon.tagna in due to his breakeven - but i think he'll cane it this week - and his 74 will go off the radar after this week,

Plus Rich is going to drop by as much regardless due to playing the cats

Leave me 6 trades to upgrade M Brown and D Beams - probably to S Johnson and D Swan

Hi guys - just want some affirmation for my thoughts

8 trades left - $150k in the bank

Sidebottom -> Ballantyne (I only want to make 2 more downgrades, the other will be Burgoyne -> Rookie defender in a few weeks)

Rich -> Montagna.

My focus is a league win and the saints have a relatively easy final month.

Was going to wait to bring Mon.tagna in due to his breakeven - but i think he'll cane it this week - and his 74 will go off the radar after this week,

Plus Rich is going to drop by as much regardless due to playing the cats

Leave me 6 trades to upgrade M Brown and D Beams - probably to S Johnson and D Swan
looks like a solid plan you got.

now for my situation:
need to figure the best option

1) Muston -> Anthony
Rich -> Selwood/Sewell/MID<419k

2) Rich -> Anthony
MBrown -> Didak/O'Keefe

3) Rich -> Anthony
Sidebottom -> Davis

Option two will require Anthony to play in the starting lineup, something i'm a little unsure about but will make my forward line heaps stronger.
Still got Pav and SJ copping 0's though have got cover for one.

Forward line currently:

SJ, Deledio, Higgins, Roughead, Pavlich, Franklin, Skipworth, Ballantyne, Warren

Got enough money in the kitty to afford any forward.

Moving towards trading out Warren so he isnt dead wood on the bench, and keeping Skippy or Franklin on the pine as cover.

The question is... who to trade in?

Top candidates are
Riewoldt, Chapman, Okeefe, Didak.

Would get straight onto Chappy, although if he misses one game from here on end it it won't be worth it, even though he will grossly out average the rest.

Thoughts?

The question is... who to trade in?

Top candidates are
Riewoldt, Chapman, Okeefe, Didak.

Would get straight onto Chappy, although if he misses one game from here on end it it won't be worth it, even though he will grossly out average the rest.

Thoughts?

Chapman - questionable durability (as mentioned). could be rested in lead-up to finals.
O'Keefe - possible role change with Hall retired
Roo - KPP, good run home, playing under a roof
Didak - playing out in the open, goal kicking midfielder

Down to Roo and Didak for me. Do you have a preference for KPP's or midfielders?

hey guys a quick question, i think i no what im going to do but just looking at what other people think

i have stevie j, pav and sandilands out this week, im still in eliminator and my opponent has sandi but no stevie J, so i will cop a 0 for stevie cuz i hav no cover. to even it out im thinkn of getting hmac for sandi therefore we both have no 0s

the only prob is it wont give me enough cash to upgrade later and the huge issue is i wil be left with 2 trades

what do u think?

I'm not commenting on Eliminator coz I'm not in the mind set for it.

But, what are Sidebottom's chances of returning to the team? Need to know if I should downgrade him to Ballantyne or not.

OPTION 1: Rich ----> Morton/Salopek/Any other mids between 300 - 315k
Pearce -----> J.Selwood/Mclean/ Any Mids around 350k

OPTION 2: Rich ------> Gibbs/Kornes/Murphy/Bolton
Keep Pearce + 1 trade

OPTION 3: Cheney ----> 86k
Pearce/Rich ------> Any Midfielder around 480k

I only have 2 trades left soooo thats about it
Im just taking a rish approach and laying the trades off as im not gonna win the car, and its just a game so it doesn't matter much, just want to win my league.

Opinions please

ANF06 how much more expensive is Roo than Didaka? I have had him as my captain the last few weeks and let me tell you i have been verrrrry happy with him, altho i expect him to struggle tonight on the doggies taggers. I would go for him plus the extra little bit of cash..

My situation is i have 5 trades left, but i really want to get Bartell. I have no emergency covering anyone at all. If i trade out Walker for a rookie, who do you think? (not Ballantyne) and then Rich for Bartel my onball unit is looking truly good. The only problem is 3 trades for the rest of the year, do you think that is too little?

Cheers guys.

Chapman - questionable durability (as mentioned). could be rested in lead-up to finals.
O'Keefe - possible role change with Hall retired
Roo - KPP, good run home, playing under a roof
Didak - playing out in the open, goal kicking midfielder

Down to Roo and Didak for me. Do you have a preference for KPP's or midfielders?

for me, it doesn't particularly bother me either way.
Thanks for your opinion.
Roo it is.
Am not getting diedie because i couldn't afford him at his bottom price and i refuse to get him now for over 100k more expensive. As with OKeefe.

ANF06 how much more expensive is Roo than Didaka? I have had him as my captain the last few weeks and let me tell you i have been verrrrry happy with him, altho i expect him to struggle tonight on the doggies taggers. I would go for him plus the extra little bit of cash..

My situation is i have 5 trades left, but i really want to get Bartell. I have no emergency covering anyone at all. If i trade out Walker for a rookie, who do you think? (not Ballantyne) and then Rich for Bartel my onball unit is looking truly good. The only problem is 3 trades for the rest of the year, do you think that is too little?

Cheers guys.

Roo is cheaper.

If you have decent bench options in each position then i personally think that 3 trades is enough.

I have 4 trades with 2 playing defenders, midfielders and fowards as backup.