2011 Grand Final radio commentary

Re: Radio commentary

:confused:
I seriously wonder if you change teams every now and again:rolleyes:

Listening to the biased but emotionally charged team on K-Rock is so entertaining and enjoyable, the grand finals have been absolutely awesome!

Every Geelong supporter would love listening to their calls during the 3 grand finals wins and it's much better than listening to the channel 10 commentary which is somewhat hollow and missing genuine excitment.
(May have something do with us being written off by everyone involved in the media at the start of the year)

What are you on about? I have never liked Krock.
Well ok, I actually liked the station when it first went to FM in 1988 or so.

And I didn't mind listening to the games EJ called early on.
But then even he just became another geelong fan boi.

I don't like listening to biased calls no matter who it is.
Sorry.

Some go on about the call of chappy's goal in 09 as being awesome. I thought it was embarrassing.

And FWIW, I haven't watched the last 1/4 of the 2011 GF again yet.
But I did think live that the channel 10 call lacked punch. It was like Huddo was trying so hard to not be seen as an excited supporter that he made it boring.

Re: Radio commentary

Some go on about the call of chappy's goal in 09 as being awesome. I thought it was embarrassing.

:rolleyes:
Wow! You would have to ne the 1st who has said they didn't enjoy that Chappy moment from the K-Rock team.

You know how much I dislike the Collingwood football club right...you say you dislike biased commentary, did you ever get fed up with all the Collingwood talk about how superior and wonderful they are on football shows like Footy Classifieds, On the couch, The gameplan and to a lesser extent One week at a time?

K-Rock is basically the Geelong footy club station and it's refreshing to only hear them talk up Geelong as pretty much everyone else in the footy media did not.

I am actually with VC for once - i prefer listening to an unbiased call from neutral observers to a bunch of Geelong guys screaming out for the Cats. I prefer to earn praise from the neutral to listen to supporters commentate.

I don't watch the footy shows bobby.

I might have seen footy classified a handful of times but that was it.
I don't feel a need to hear my team get talked up any more. We've had 5 years of it.

Obviously I'm in the minority re: Krock.
Makes me feel like I'm on the wrong forum sometimes as I'm nowhere near as biased, one eyed, delusional, passionate about GFC as many on here.

In the end it's just a game of footy.

fair point and not having a go at you but I am curious as to why you wouldn't feel happy emotions when Chappy kicked that goal and the K-Rock guys go crazy:D
I get goose bumps when I hear that moment.

I'll admit I am very one-eyed and biased about Geelong but until 2007 when we won the premiership, I never knew what it felt like as a supporter to win a flag after all the disappointments throughout the 1990's.
The losses can quickly be brushed under the mat and you move on but winning is one of the best feelings and it sure may just be a game but football has the ability to bring families and friends closer together like nothing else can and that is a pretty incredible trait.

No doubt about that Bobby. It's the emotion that makes following any team fun.
At the end of this years GF as the boys were getting the medals I turned to the missus who only has a passing interest in footy and said "you know, I think this has just erased all my pain from 80 and 81"

She looked at me with a look of 'I don't understand'

But it was that emotion inside of me. That pleasure that we'd defeated the club that inflicted that pain on a little 10 year old at VFL park all those years ago.

Something you can only go through and correct with a sporting club.

I am actually with VC for once - i prefer listening to an unbiased call from neutral observers to a bunch of Geelong guys screaming out for the Cats. I prefer to earn praise from the neutral to listen to supporters commentate.

For a live call I'm with you 100%. Much prefer a neutral call. But watching (and re-watching, and rewatching, and re-watching, and rewatching, and re-watching, and rewatching, and re-watching, and rewatching, etc:p) a Premiership THAT YOUR TEAM HAS WON you've got to love a totally biased call in the mix there somewhere.

To each their own though, for sure.

I recently was crook in bed for 2 weeks.....
watched the grand final dvd with every commentary :D:thumbsu:

my thoughts...
Ten - meh so so, love Huddo but he is too professional and keeps himself in check
Triple M - if you were a neutral that would have given you the shits in the last quarter haha.. but as a cats fan knowing the result it was awesome and cracked me up.. T BONE HAWKINS!!!! GET AROUND HIM!!!!
3AW - really shat me, seemed to be very in the pies favour the call... But that was really hardly a surprise with Mr Barracker BT calling, and with David King and Tim Lane involved... 2 people who had called the demise of the cats and who both didn't want to be shown up.
SEN - Enjoyed the SEN call... Dermie is a knob and NEVER has anything good to say about geelong unless he has a 'but' on the end.. but I very much enjoyed their call

Have heard some highlights from the ABC online and that sounded like a good call, Morphett and Gerard are both quality callers so that is to be expected..

Just my 2 bob worth :thumbsu:

Also was impressed with the turn around times with the DVDs... In 07 i brought the dvd the day after and it has just the channel 10 call, this year getting it and it having the other 3 calls was really good!

Have heard some highlights from the ABC online and that sounded like a good call, Morphett and Gerard are both quality callers so that is to be expected..

Does anyone know where we can listen to the whole ABC Grand Final call? Where did you hear the highlights? Keen!

In the end it's just a game of footy.

Just a game of footy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'd recommend re-education camp for you V.C.;)

I love listening to the SEN coverage just to tune into how Dermott got it soooooo wrrrooonnnnggggg.....

Its so refreshing hearing Dermie crap on in the first quarter about how we have no forward 50 targets and have relied on playing Pods and Hawkins against inferior opposition and how our game plan completely falls away against the Pies. His comments that Reid and Tarrant can and will not get beaten are just priceless......of course when Hawkins is taking his record 7th contested GF mark in the last quarter, Dermie is a little quiet!

James Brayshaw sharing the love with T-BONE Hawkins is of course priceless!!! You can bag triple M for a lot of things, but it is great when the share geniune enthusiasm for the game and get around players who stand up....even Garry Lyon wasn't annoying!

Have recently finished listening to the various radio commentaries - going generally 12.30 to 6.30. This is my take in the order listed to:

ABC
Prematch - Excellent and balanced with interviews from both sides, only station that picked meatloaf as a dud, but listened to him anyway
Match Call - Great call, whately is a favourite to listen to
Post match - Good interviews, good wrap up and vox pop

Overall: The ABC do an excellent job generally and they did so again today

SEN
Prematch - Also great quality, but loses marks for Frank Walker, KB thought meatloaf was pretty good
Match Call - Were missing Huddo, but Matt Granlan was more than adequate
Post Match - Again another good wrap up

Overall: SEN also does a great job, the biggest niggle are the ads, but there were none during the call itself

3AW
Prematch - is there a more biased commentator than BT?? he was giving away tickets before the match and gave 19 to magpie supporters and only 1 to a geelong supporter, and only then after Caro kept hectoring him.
Match Call - Was Geelong playing?, all about how great and courageous the magpies were.
Post match - Fortunately short, went to a Tony Leonard post match show which unfortunately or fortunately was not working on my copy

Overall: Several times I was going to stop listening - the bias was that unbearable

MMM
Prematch - Ordinary, had to put up with some long-winded section were they just stoke each other's ego with zero relevance to footy. At least they were the only station to completely ignore Meatloaf
Match Call - Was reasonable, Rex Hunt's last call and he did an ok job but well past his prime. Brayshaw I find difficult to listen to and the general laddish vibe was a bit tiresome
Post Match - Rrather featureless, a brief interview with Bartel and it was over

Overall: Was OK only, they seemed pretty happy that Collingwood lost rather than Geelong winning.

The best thing about the Triple M commentary was the 'Get around him!' cries after goals were scored. That was pretty funny I thought.

I actually enjoy the "laddish vibe" of MMM but its a personal preference thing i guess.

I love listening to the SEN coverage just to tune into how Dermott got it soooooo wrrrooonnnnggggg.....

Its so refreshing hearing Dermie crap on in the first quarter about how we have no forward 50 targets and have relied on playing Pods and Hawkins against inferior opposition and how our game plan completely falls away against the Pies. His comments that Reid and Tarrant can and will not get beaten are just priceless......of course when Hawkins is taking his record 7th contested GF mark in the last quarter, Dermie is a little quiet!

James Brayshaw sharing the love with T-BONE Hawkins is of course priceless!!! You can bag triple M for a lot of things, but it is great when the share geniune enthusiasm for the game and get around players who stand up....even Garry Lyon wasn't annoying!

lol, I commented on other threads about Dermie. I know he doesn't like Geelong but fair dinkum, I don't think he gave Geelong one bit of credit during the whole call. For a neutral it was very unprofessional. As for Drew Morphett, Drew I've never like you as a caller you sound terrible, give it away.

Dermie hates the Cats, always will. On the few odd occasions he praises them, he immediately sticks the boot in. He is such an 80s player it rediculous, Sunday Footy show the other year showed how backwards he was in his thinking, and this is coming from someone who grew up watching and loving 1980s VFL.

I actually enjoy the "laddish vibe" of MMM but its a personal preference thing i guess.

I do too. Even though I'm a predominantly ABC and sometime SEN listener I did used to enjoy JB and BT bouncing off each other, was very funny.

On the flip side I've never been a Rex fan. I'd listen to him for 5 mins and tune in somewhere else. His inane nicknames and babbling made it hard to follow what was going on.

The best thing about the Triple M commentary was the 'Get around him!' cries after goals were scored. That was pretty funny I thought.

YEah, that was ****ing great!! And I am generally not a fan of James 'talks a Big Game' Brayshaw

KRock.... really they are hopeless. The GF call may be alright but in general I think you come away from listening to their calls with LESS than you knew before.

It's really not surprising that Bews or Turner made it beyond the junior coaching level when you get a load of their game analysis

YEah, that was ****ing great!! And I am generally not a fan of James 'talks a Big Game' Brayshaw

KRock.... really they are hopeless. The GF call may be alright but in general I think you come away from listening to their calls with LESS than you knew before.

It's really not surprising that Bews or Turner made it beyond the junior coaching level when you get a load of their game analysis

Thats a bit harsh on Mick. He's done a bloody marvellous job with the falcons - look at the number of premiership players its produced!

Have listened to all the commentary now and although I usually despise them MMM had easily the best call. Funny and passionate.

ABC was the worst. Morphett was calling it like it was a home and away game against GWS and Gold Coast.

3AW was next best but it really annoyed me how Matthews always has to be the first one to say 'It's a goal'. Self absorbed idiot. Totally swamped BT and Tim Lane's calling. Also great to hear the changing tone and then total dissapearance of David King.

SEN was ok just to listen to Dermie go quiet.

The NT call with Crackers was pretty funny. Loved the way he continually bagged Nick Maxwell's game.

Lastly, Channel 10. Almost as bad as ABC. Quarters was a disgrace. His hatred for the Cats was way too obvious. 'The Pies can sense a kill right here' and calling it premature to celebrate when we were 27 up with 5mins to play was laughable. Idiot.

agree with most of you guys, found channel 10 to be very unemotional as if they were literally calling their last game knowing they'd be axed after it.

Rex Hunt wasn't quite his usual self, seemed to be lacking that over the top excitement he gives like the Rex of old.
Was waiting for him to scream "kicks a long GOAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" instead of his usual "kicks a long, long, long, long, long, goal..."

Loved when Lingy kicked his final goal and Dermott says Lingy's been a great story and that Dane Swan has been good on the day but he was immediately cut short by Schwarz and Laidley who reminded him that Swan had half the possessions of what he usually get's and Ling got the 20 disposals and a goal :D, and there was nothing but silence from Brereton :thumbsu:

ABC was the worst. Morphett was calling it like it was a home and away game against GWS and Gold Coast.

Yeah that was strange. Morphett was so devoid of emotion the whole time, especially when the siren went there was nothing. Whateley should have been calling at that moment especially.