2012/13 ABC cricket Criticism thread

brisbane13

it may be a bit tough but i thought i would start start an abc cricket bagging thread after having enough of listing to Geoff Lawson, the team do a brilliant job (well compared to the nine team) but every team has a personality the public cant stand

its a big surprise that he isn't part of the channel nine commentary team knows nothing about cricket out side of of NSW, is not funny and is all round just nieve, but today took the icing on the cake when he declared Brad Haddin the out and out best keeper in the country

it may be a bit tough but i thought i would start start an abc cricket bagging thread after having enough of listing to Geoff Lawson, the team do a brilliant job (well compared to the nine team) but every team has a personality the public cant stand

its a big surprise that he isn't part of the channel nine commentary team knows nothing about cricket out side of of NSW, is not funny and is all round just nieve, but today took the icing on the cake when he declared Brad Haddin the out and out best keeper in the country

Was the bolded sarcastic?

I actually don't mind Lawson, you sort of have to take everything he says as a joke though. Which is hard, because he's being completely serious.

he's a twat, very self indulgent and likes to make big calls at various stages of the match

having said that, he is not unbearable and works well with the overseas visitor when commentating together.

other than that, the ABC is virtually flawless, except for the WA broadcast only starting at 8am local time, some bullshit news beforehand, hello...cricket has started

I enjoyed Brett Geeves (?) too. Thought he had good things to add.

You take the good with the bad with lawson, he has some interesting things to say, he certainly isn't biased, which is good. But he is the ultimate FIGJAM.

I reckon they'll groom Geeves, easy to listen too, describes the play well and likes a yarn/joke.

The commentary box isn't exactly young, I reckon they might groom Geeves as an eventual replacement for Drew in a ball by ball slot.

You take the good with the bad with lawson, he has some interesting things to say, he certainly isn't biased, which is good. But he is the ultimate FIGJAM.

In all the years I have listened to ABC, I have only heard Geoff Lawson recommend a non-NSW player once. And even his fellow commentators picked him up on it.

Was the bolded sarcastic?

I actually don't mind Lawson, you sort of have to take everything he says as a joke though. Which is hard, because he's being completely serious.
mate thats why agree with you, he meets all of the standards of being a nine commentator (all respect go to bill, tony & tom moody). have totaly no idea about cricket out side of NSW a total baffon

Lawson was certain it was safe for Australia to tour Pakistan when he was coach but I didn't anything from him after the Sri lankans were attacked.

Have mentioned it in another thread but Lawson going on about NSW grade cricket gets pretty boring.

Jim Maxwell seemed to struggle identifying some of the Sri Lankan players at times.

Overall, it is a great commentary. I look forward each year to the international guests and they always seem to have a good rapport with the regulars.

I like not having to hear about the distance between the keeper and slips, how reverse swing works and the explanation of DRS umpire call decisions every 5 minutes.
its far better than listing to all things NSW if i wanted that id listen to nines commentory

Kerry O Keefes is awesome to listen to (hes laugh is gold) as stated i suppose they need some young people Geeves is pretty good odd sense of humor though, I think i prefer Drew Morford doing footy but not bad to listen to Lawson seems the most intelligent about things cricket but doesent seem to be liked as much all in all 10,000x better then the channel 9 commentry

I like Lawson. He calls it as he sees it and doesn't care who he upsets. He speaks the truth.

Lawson was certain it was safe for Australia to tour Pakistan when he was coach but I didn't anything from him after the Sri lankans were attacked.

Imran Khan also said it was safe...

My only problem is Jim Maxwell, A very good cricket caller, but him continually carrying on about the Hobart crowd was a bit over the top. It is easy to judge, when you are getting free entry into ground,food etc etc, Hobart is the smallest capital city and being charged $43 entry just to sit on a hill is a bit rich, plus its a week before xmas.

Jim if you dont have something positive to say.......... Dont say anything!!!!

I'd love to see Geeves stay on for the series, and beyond, he's a natural! Morphett shits me a little, but only when he talks in hyperbole... Lawson I wouldn't miss if he wasn't there

he's a twat, very self indulgent and likes to make big calls at various stages of the match

having said that, he is not unbearable and works well with the overseas visitor when commentating together.

other than that, the ABC is virtually flawless, except for the WA broadcast only starting at 8am local time, some bullshit news beforehand, hello...cricket has started

Couldn't agree more. Lawson is a bit of a w***er but you can put up with him. Everyone else I love. Can't understand how ABC can get all the enjoyable commentators with their low budget while 9 have unbearable commentators with a massive budget to work with.

Geeves has done Bellrive the last few tests I think, pretty good to listen to. I wonder who they'll have for Boxing Day instead of him, I think they had an ex state cricketer the last couple of years? Jewell? Think he was pretty good too.

The problem with Channel 9 is they pick a cricketer first and commentator second.

Slats and Heals were both really good when they started. They deteriorated quickly when they had to be "fun" instead of just talking about cricket, like how Bruce and Dennis used to be excellent with football but now try to be everybody's mates.