2012 Division Two Draft Prospects - NT, QLD, NSW, TAS

I really liked the look of the Rioli boys. Surely they would have to get a look in, their form in the champs was pretty solid. Rookie Selections perhaps?

I really rate Anderson, but more than likely he will be a GWS next year!

Re: Who from Qld, NSW, Tas, N.T., for 2012 Draft?

From QLD:

Clay Cameron: Key Position type, mainly forward but can play back, I would like to see more of him this year, and too see him grow as he is a bit short at 190cm. Yet very athletic and has good hands and reasonable skills. Will probably go to GC as I understand.

Jordan Bourke: Tall forward AIS, Geelong father son. Strong hands has decent size and mobility and should get picked up somewhere sooner rather than later.

Andrew Boston: Good solid mid/HFF finds the ball well and has neat skills, very much an accumulator, can kick goals. Should have a decent u18 carnival.

James Ives: Solid mid/HFF type who seems to have a knack for being in the right place and doing the right thing. Another who can find the ball well and use it decently.

QLD won the U16 carnival 2 years ago, in 2010, so hopefully this translates to a decent bunch of kids now. They had a solid yet uninspiring game against Dandenong on the weekend.

Cheers for the kind words haha, I prefer half-back when I play club though I only got placed in the mid's due to the bigger bodies down back.

BL3 - your recent posts on Lions Academy discussion don't suggest you are James Ives - eg stating u are 6'2 and haven't seen Gribble for a while (Ives and Gribble however have been Qld under 18 teammates for last several mths!). Mysterious.....

Do footy players ever come on here? Would be funny to see them join in.

BL3 - your recent posts on Lions Academy discussion don't suggest you are James Ives - eg stating u are 6'2 and haven't seen Gribble for a while (Ives and Gribble however have been Qld under 18 teammates for last several mths!). Mysterious.....

Ha, I'm 5'11 rather than 6'2 I guess it's a bit of short man syndrome, nah I actually just said that height to try and prove my point if you read the entire post you may have figured that out. If you also read the entire post you may have realised that I used to go to school with Sam at Kedron State High School in Brisbane's Inner North, Sam is a bottom age player and therefore he is still at school and I am not, therefore I meant I don't see him at school.

Well thats awkward isn't it. Have any clubs spoken to you?

Well I speak to Vossy pretty regularly in a social manner, Lions Academy nights, State Awards, Club Nights, Best and Fairest's things like that and I've spoken to a couple of recruiters but nothing definitive more like "good game" or "keep on going", really not much at all, but I'm just happy to be enjoying footy, some of those guys would sell their soul to be on a list but I've got a life outside footy, I've got a job and go to uni. I'm just happy kicking a ball around a park.

Hey BL3, can you clear something up for me? I thought you captained QLD for all the recent champs games, but a mate was telling me he thought they rotated one or two others through there as well. I ask because it helps give an indication to outsiders about which guys are seen internally as leaders.

No worries BL3 / Ivesy - we can discuss when I see u next.

I agree, but there are others that may get in late. There's hope for Jeffery, Walsh, and maybe Hibberd. Who are your two? Thurlow and Lonergan?

I will go out on a limb and have a stab at the draftees/rookies.

Definite Draftee: Lonergan. What round he is picked up depends on form in the post carnival TSL competition. At this stage round 2-3.

Possible draftee/rookie: Thurlow. Had a couple of good years in the championships and at TSL seniors. At this stage round 3 onwards or a rookie contract.

Possibble rookies: Hibberd. A longer shot for a draft spot. The quiet achiever who has not put a foot wrong. Marks all the boxes and is the right size and shows the right attitude.

Van Den Berg. Might get a rookie spot. Apparently Adelaide are interested in him. First championship game a ripper, but quiet in last 2 games.

There are others who have had their names thrown around. However after last year the reality is that Tasmanian boys have a harder road than their mainland counterparts when getting the attention of scouts.

Not sure if their is any truth to any blokes playing in the TSL being drafted (as per Hall & Howe).

Nah, I am putting Thurlow down as a definite. I will quit following football if he isn't drafted.

That would be sad as we don't have enough contributors as it is!

I am still recovering from last years draft as I thought we might have snared a few more than 2. Hopefully you are spot on and Thurlow gets his chance.

Ha, I'm 5'11 rather than 6'2 I guess it's a bit of short man syndrome, nah I actually just said that height to try and prove my point if you read the entire post you may have figured that out. If you also read the entire post you may have realised that I used to go to school with Sam at Kedron State High School in Brisbane's Inner North, Sam is a bottom age player and therefore he is still at school and I am not, therefore I meant I don't see him at school.

ANNOUNCEMENT:

Conversations between James Ives and BigFooty have revealed that BrisLions3 is NOT James Ives.

We will not tolerate posters impersonating other players, whether they are on an AFL list or a draft prospect.

It is especially troubling when (as BrisLions3 did on the Brisbane board) the poster posts content that could cause damage to the reputation of the player he is impersonating and/or other teammates or draft prospects.

BrisLions3 has been removed from the site.