Mature Age 2026 Mature Age & MSD prospects

Like Herbert, he is tough!

Alex Holt from Sturt is high up on my watch list Accountable, courageous and good defensive IQ. Thought he was stiff not to be drafted a few years back.
I liked Herbert in his underage years for his talent but defensively he was a kitten and just so damn lazy and a frustration. If he gets it together he will quickly fly back to the top of lists. His limit is above state league footy.

Ethan Phillips changing from Carlton to St Kilda VFL. Could that be a mid season selection for the saints.

Jason Binns could be another MSD consideration.
Nah, his kicking isn't there.

I want to draft Hagan but of course we had to pick up Setterfield in the SSP straight away :rolleyes:

Ive started my 2026 VFL fothergil/Round medal spreadsheet, top 3 at the moment would be (admittedly, after 2.5 rounds)

Louie Montgomery, GWS Giants VFL, 184cm, 24.04.2006 (18), defender

Has had 2 standout games in a side that is flying. 29disposals in round 1, 28 in round 2. Watch this space as someone who can come straight in.

Josh Tovey, Port Melbourne Borough, 193cm, 92kg, 22.07.2005 (20), midfielder/forward

Strong, big, powerful. Averaging 25 across 3 games, 5.5 Inside 50s a game and an ability to hit the scoreboard (2 goals, 5 behinds) but an ability to connect midfield and forwards. Watch this space after looking like everything is finally clicking.

Charlie Clarke, Port Melbourne Borough, 182cm, 80kg, 04.01.2004 (22), small forward/midfielder

One-game former Dogs small forward is an excitement machine. Just makes things happen. Kicks goals (6 through 3 games) and an ability to rack up touches (ave. 18.66) should put him firmly back on AFL radars.

Honourable mentions so far; Josh Clarke (St.Kilda VFL), Jad Hagan (Tasmania VFL), Max Mapley (Tasmania VFL), Tom Barnett (Coburg), Daniel Pinter (Sandringham)

Alex Van Wyk returning in 2026 after a long lay off in second half of last year and dominated

14 possessions, 1 goal, 7 marks, 4 tackles, 28 whiteouts,

good stats for a 21 year old, 203cm ruck.
I heard about him. was on Norwoods list.

Then at the end of 2024 or early 2025, goes to North Adelaide.

Was best on ground in his 1st game for north Adelaide in round 1 of 2025.

I Was wondering why he only played 8 games last season. So he had injuries in the 2nd half of the season.

Sam Grant a watch for me over the next month going to play against some pretty alright AFL listed rucks. Electric start to the season 23yr 203cm

Kuol Mun another

Sam Toner kicked 6.3 for us today. 5 in a quarter. Was unstoppable. 3 straight in his only other VFL game this season.

185cm highly althetic marking forward. 20 year old. Has to be a fair chance. Pick 1 potential?

Not sure if you blokes (and ladies) are following Tassie but Menzies is a class above.

Not sure he gets another shot, close to 50 games at AFL level, bit of a known quantity. State league just might be his level.

Kind of like Boyd Woodcock from Southport who continues to dominate.

What’s the story with Max Beattie at WWWT (SANFL) has had a great start to the year with bags of 5 & 3 early on.

He’s 21-22 y.o. does he have a game that will translate to AFL level?

Tom Hird getting into calculations
Yep no doubt. He wasn’t great rnd 1. But has been ok since.
Ive started my 2026 VFL fothergil/Round medal spreadsheet, top 3 at the moment would be (admittedly, after 2.5 rounds)

Louie Montgomery, GWS Giants VFL, 184cm, 24.04.2006 (18), defender

Has had 2 standout games in a side that is flying. 29disposals in round 1, 28 in round 2. Watch this space as someone who can come straight in.

Josh Tovey, Port Melbourne Borough, 193cm, 92kg, 22.07.2005 (20), midfielder/forward

Strong, big, powerful. Averaging 25 across 3 games, 5.5 Inside 50s a game and an ability to hit the scoreboard (2 goals, 5 behinds) but an ability to connect midfield and forwards. Watch this space after looking like everything is finally clicking.

Charlie Clarke, Port Melbourne Borough, 182cm, 80kg, 04.01.2004 (22), small forward/midfielder

One-game former Dogs small forward is an excitement machine. Just makes things happen. Kicks goals (6 through 3 games) and an ability to rack up touches (ave. 18.66) should put him firmly back on AFL radars.

Honourable mentions so far; Josh Clarke (St.Kilda VFL), Jad Hagan (Tasmania VFL), Max Mapley (Tasmania VFL), Tom Barnett (Coburg), Daniel Pinter (Sandringham)
I’d be adding in Philactides and Stefanakis both at Sandy. Keeping the theme they’ve had great starts to the year and their stats are impressive. Another small fwd MSD smokey is Willis Reidy.

Yep no doubt. He wasn’t great rnd 1. But has been ok since.

I’d be adding in Philactides and Stefanakis both at Sandy. Keeping the theme they’ve had great starts to the year and their stats are impressive. Another small fwd MSD smokey is Willis Reidy.
all three already on my spreadsheet as ones to consider.

Sam Toner kicked 6.3 for us today. 5 in a quarter. Was unstoppable. 3 straight in his only other VFL game this season.

185cm highly althetic marking forward. 20 year old. Has to be a fair chance. Pick 1 potential?
Toner is a good shout. He was in MSD calculations last season based mostly off his physical traits, now the production is starting to match.

Wouldn't mind if we had a good look at him (and Hagan for that matter) to replace Newton. The Tigers VFL program did pretty well by us last year.

Toner is a good shout. He was in MSD calculations last season based mostly off his physical traits, now the production is starting to match.

Wouldn't mind if we had a good look at him (and Hagan for that matter) to replace Newton. The Tigers VFL program has did pretty well by us last year.
Think we have got much bigger fish to fry unfortunately. Depends how many selections we have but I don't see us picking anything other than a KPD or Ruck, unless we have 3+ picks

Feels like those particular fish are so big we really need to address them via the National Draft or trade/free agency.

But yes, if there was a promising ruck or KPD prospect available in the MSD I would lean that way too. Jacob Marron maybe an interesting overeager in the CTL.

I reckon a few of the tassie VFL listed players will be on the radar...

Jaxon Artemis is flashy with his run and carry off half back.

Jed Hagan can play multiple roles, but looks so smart inside forward 50 at ground level. Reckon he deserves a crack at AFL level.

Max Mapley looks very talented for a relatively raw ruckman. His following up work is particularly good.

Lachlan Hay was super impressive weekend just gone kicking 4 as a half forward/mid

Rory Wright was unlucky not to get picked up last year and has looked sound in his first few games.

Wouldn't mind if we had a good look at him (and Hagan for that matter) to replace Newton. The Tigers VFL program has did pretty well by us last year.
A couple more good games before the MSD and he'd be a monty you'd think.

I reckon a few of the tassie VFL listed players will be on the radar...

Jaxon Artemis is flashy with his run and carry off half back.

Jed Hagan can play multiple roles, but looks so smart inside forward 50 at ground level. Reckon he deserves a crack at AFL level.

Max Mapley looks very talented for a relatively raw ruckman. His following up work is particularly good.

Lachlan Hay was super impressive weekend just gone kicking 4 as a half forward/mid

Rory Wright was unlucky not to get picked up last year and has looked sound in his first few games.
When can Tassie list them? I assume it needs to be before the MSD?