Live Event 2012 Draft Night Discussion

McBean is 203? Thought I saw him listed at only 196?

Looking at who was still available at our picks:

Grundy - best tall KPP the draft, best available at 9 taking Menzel's injury concerns into account, rare talent - we obviously felt we needed a ruckman so why not get the best?
Jacobs - experienced ready to go hbf/mid would've offered more straight away than Vlastuin, which was obviously something we wanted- and with Grundy would've given us best of both worlds.
Graham - Morrish medal winner that went at 54 -steal
Membery- easily best available at 42 IMO

Would've been sorely tempted to go the hail mary with 42 and grab Gartlett or mabe even use 87 another rare talent with special skills and we really need some genuine line-breaking pace - but nobody took him, so I guess there's something really drastic that we're not privvy to and all the clubs are. He still might go PSD or Rookie though, so could still take a punt on him (yeah right:rolleyes:)
Yer McBean is 203cm. Ridiculous mover for 203cm lol.
10 clubs overlooked Grundy. Surely that says something.

The draft was very even outside Whitfield/Toumpas/Menzel. Just came down to personal preference. Eg. I had Vlastuin over Grundy M_R had Grundy just ahead. It wasn't clear cut at all that he was a standout. Mitch Grigg was hyped up on here like no tomorrow a year ago and he's ****ing horrendous. Playing 3rds and if he doesn't get delisted next year I'll pack it in as a football watcher.

Jacobs is ordinary and put a big price on his head. Vlastuin is ahead of Jacobs already lol. So is McDonough IMO.

Graham is a shithouse kick.

Membrey I agree on though I'm pretty happy with McDonough instead as he has midfield potential. The way Membrey slid shows there's a fair chance he was a bit of a man-child.

As you said 18 clubs overlooked him. I think the best thing for him is no one take him in the rookie draft either and see how he responds. Does he go the way of Shane Nelson or Waylon Manson?

Who do you see Vlastuin pushing out of the side for Round 1 tigs?

Good write up - though still not convinced and will probably be pissed about Grundy for such time until proven otherwise - thanks for at least shedding a bit more light on the later blokes and why they maybe weren't on people's radars.

I don't understand our drafting at all. I've let it marinate with me for a few hours and I am just bitterly disappointed. I think the general consensus was that we needed more midfielders, and in my opinion, at least 1 super quick line breaker.

We drafted Vlastuin - a half back who wasn't fit enough to maintain midfield time. I don't know what our obsession is with half backs. Vlaustin, Batchelor, Dea, Morris, Ellis, Newman, Houli, Verrier.

McIntosh - a player I believe we have no need for whatsoever. Rance, Grimes, Chaplin, Astbury, Griffiths, Elton?

McBean - a 202 cm player who is more suited to being a key forward or back? Spare me, why didn't we draft Grundy.

McDonough - probably my favourite pick from the draft, I feel we needed a small forward as I don't rate Nahas at all.

1. Vlastuin isn't a stuffing HBF FFS.

2. McIntosh I've seen little of but the players you're comparing him to shows you've got no idea what you're talking about.

3. 202cm KPF. Hmmmm then dumbass Bombers took Daniher. What a waste of a pick that was. At least we only used a 2nd rounder on one.

4. Agree. Really liking that pick more and more the longer it settles in. Will be a midfielder. Think he'd take King's spot though tbh. Big body, more dangerous in the air and at ground and can actually be productive in the middle.

Who do you see Vlastuin pushing out of the side for Round 1 tigs?

Good write up - though still not convinced and will probably be pissed about Grundy for such time until proven otherwise - thanks for at least shedding a bit more light on the later blokes and why they maybe weren't on people's radars.
I talked up McDonough for a while. And McIntosh being from that shithole WA :p which is where my knowledge is limited.

Tough call on who Vlastuin gets a gig over. Starting to build some depth and once we fill those last 2 spots it will be interesting to see everyone's best 22 because unlike most years there will be some massive differences from poster to poster. Maybe a Jackson and Newman pushes up to a HFF instead. From what I've heard previously and pretty sure read here Dimma said tonight he'd play round 1 though.

So, other than your ranking of Kamdyn, you must think we did ok from our picks?

Looks like you ranked these guys the same as our guys did, only McDonough you rated a little lower which is hardly surprising given how much the draft opened up towards the end of the 2nd round.
Just saw this. In my above post I said I've literally seen Kamdyn play twice/maybe 3 times as a KPD. Was told a week ago he'd likely go first round and try get some footage if I could. Wasn't prepared to bump him up my rankings though as didn't get to see any of this form at WAFL level.

Recruiters including Frank have said we needed a ruckman on the list hence his selection. He may play KD in the future but he will be developed as a ruckman. That is from the clubs mouth tonight. Not a Key Defender, they don't see him there and to be honest, maybe part time but nor do I.

We had a good draft. GWS stole the show, Collingwood did well, as did Carlton. If we had got Membrey instead of McDonough I would have a similar reaction to now. I don't know how far he would have lasted to be honest.

I think we are one of the winners of the night. That's enough for me. A lot rests on McBean becoming a player. If he does this draft is an A+. If he doesn't its a B. I am confident the other three will be good players for us. He is the question mark.
Massive call. Thoughts on McIntosh? Apologies if you've already done it but avoided this joint like the plague for a few hours. :D

Did you hear - forget who it was - someone on Foxtel say words to the effect that Vlastuin was moved down back because he was having trouble getting the ball out in the middle? Considering we want him to eventually play inside mid, wouldn't that be a bit of a concern?

Was it one of the hosts? They had zero idea what they were talking about. It's the one downside to draft night. Muppets with no idea. No concerns from me in that regard.

Unrelated note, wonder if that Oakleigh kid has been dug out of the turf yet? :D

Was it one of the hosts? They had zero idea what they were talking about. It's the one downside to draft night. Muppets with no idea. No concerns from me in that regard.

Unrelated note, wonder if that Oakleigh kid has been dug out of the turf yet? :D

Could be wrong but pretty sure it wasn't one of the hosts, might've even been one of our blokes - mind you I was still aimlessly walking in out of the loungeroom muttering to myself at that stage.

But if it was someone like King - then yeah, I'd disregard.

Ok, so my analysis of the final wash-up.

Pick #9 Nick Vlastuin

We get the guy I rated 6th overall. Menzel was the only one available I had higher who we could have taken but think it's pretty obvious why we didn't. NAB Cup game 1 Vlastuin will run through someone and all of a sudden everyone will love him. He'll be an inside mid once he develops. Will line up Round 1 vs Carlton and be a good contributor. Tough as nails, very good skills, good tackler, and been calling it ridiculously early (ie. before he was a Tiger) will be our captain after Cotchin.

Although i wanted Menzel ,Grundy & Lonergan before Nick - I welcome him to the tigers and hope he becomes our joel selwood and has a 250+ game career at Punt Road. MR and you have rated him extremely highly and i really hope you were correct and i was wrong - Overall im ok with this selection now

Pick #31 Kamdyn McIntosh.

Ok so we get the guy we have at 59 on my list. He's so low because I've only seen him a couple of times and my WA knowledge is limited. From what I was told he was going to go first round and has been fantastic as a midfielder. Wasn't prepared to put him higher in my own list when I haven't seen him. M_R has him at 32. This is what I've been told of him. Smooth mover who kicks the ball exceptionally well. Strong in the air both defensively and offensively. Strong defensive game and developing a very good offensive game too with his elite skills. Has huge tank and work rate. Had a fantastic second half of the year.

I have to admit, I know nothing about this guy except that West coast rated him extremely highly and after watching a few highlights about this guy , He looks fantastic. My first choice would of been Plowman at our selection of the players that 'MIGHT' of been available and the reason was because of his potential midfield capabilities & I love big bodied mids - If Kamdyn is anything like his highlights clip in the AFL - We have a beauty and will be the exact type of Midfielder i like, Tall fast and skillfull that take the game on, Great selection
Pick #33 Liam McBean

Kudos to THE_GUN on this one. I was certain this kid was going late first round and we had no chance of getting him. Bargain at this stage if he can find a position. Agility is amazing, skills for a big guy amazing, Moves like a bloody midfielder. Not sold on him being a ruck though unless it's as a 2nd ruck/KPP type. Prefer him as a forward than a back too FWIW.

Thanks Mate, I love this selection - Probably the pick that has been questioned the most out of our picks but i see it as an integral part of our future structure for the Tigers and will be a very very important player if he develops like i hope. I dont see him as a full time ruckman, To me he is a defender that is very very tall.
Has very good pace,Kicking, Hands and importantly reads the play very well. I see him as a Dustin Fletcher/Jackson Trengove type player that can relieve in the ruck.
In 4 years time when Chaplin is ready to retire Liam will be the player that can take the 'BIG' foward in our backline and along with Vickery will give our #1 a rest - so effectively we will be running the opposition Ruckman ragged with 3 rucks going against him. - Very good selection.

Pick #42 Matt McDonough

This kid has so much ability if he can get his arse into gear in a full time environment. Strong in the air. Dead eye dick from set shots. Can kick goals out of his backside and is just a mini-bull in the forward line. Can push up into the midfield and be a genuine inside mid who accumulates a heap of the footy. Tough and courageous to boot. Could be the bargain of the draft if he can develop his tank.

Again i knew very very little about Matt, Liked his Vid and alot of good words being said from alot of people that is getting me excited like Potential inside mid/Chapman like/38 possesions twice/;ots of goals - BUT
looking at his highlights he has alot of work to do - Looks unfit and dont see him running on or playing on keeping the opposition guessing , Looks to stop alot after marking and doesnt have confidence in his ability to get away from his opponents , Like McBean,McIntosh wouldnt expect alot from these players for 2 years - 2015 when King is finished could be handy if he puts in the work

My biggest wish for the PSD - I really hope Dayle Garlett is considered, Would really top off our draft if we could get him right and very little risk for so much upside - also would like to get another Outside/inside midfielder with good pace, love to see Lowrie being looked at

Again i knew very very little about Matt, Liked his Vid and alot of good words being said from alot of people that is getting me excited like Potential inside mid/Chapman like/38 possesions twice/;ots of goals - BUT
looking at his highlights he has alot of work to do - Looks unfit and dont see him running on or playing on keeping the opposition guessing , Looks to stop alot after marking and doesnt have confidence in his ability to get away from his opponents , Like McBean,McIntosh wouldnt expect alot from these players for 2 years - 2015 when King is finished could be handy if he puts in the work

My biggest wish for the PSD - I really hope Dayle Garlett is considered, Would really top off our draft if we could get him right and very little risk for so much upside - also would like to get another Outside/inside midfielder with good pace, love to see Lowrie being looked at
I think Vlastuin will be a star. May take awhile like Conca where he'll play but it will be out of position to a certain extent and won't look as good as he will in a few years. Expecting Conca to make a huge jump over next 2 years.

McIntosh will be an interesting wingman. Looking at his stats they were better at WAFL senior level than colts. Lol

McBean I agree with TB, if this kid comes off we will have had a very good draft.

Wouldn't surprise to see McDonough line up round 1 purely as a forward. Good at ground and in the air which should cause some problems.

As far as the rest goes I want Sam Lonergan as a delisted player and another midfield/runner type whether it be Toy (passes a medical) or a Sam Lowrie/Shane Nelson type in the PSD I'm not fussed.

Rookie draft I think we take one of the two rucks plus hoping for a small forward. Tipungwuti/Warrell/Garlett. Though I think Garlett's best bet is to be overlooked this year and get the kick in the vagina he needs.

Just read that only 3 indigeneous players were picked up this year. Gartlett, Yarran, Taylor and Morell were all overlooked.

EDIT: Also just noticed Colquhuon & Pongracic didn't get taken either. :eek:

I guess, ruck notwithstanding, we don't have a huge number of glaring holes now.
The area I am most concerned about is our lack of a defensive (run-with or tagging) midfielder. A player who can sacrifice his own game to nullify an opponent but still has the ability to get the ball 20 times and has the skills to hurt the opposition's best midfielder on the rebound if that midfielder fails to be accountable.
The only player who does that (apart from Dan Jackson, who, let's face it, doesn't really have the skills to hurt his opponent on the rebound), is um, well, Dan Jackson.
Whether you draft someone to be that guy, or get an inside midfielder to become that guy, I'm not sure. Most of the better sides have one of these guys, though.

The more I go over it, the more I like it...Who knows, we could have the next:
Ryan O'Keefe, Dylan Grimes, Dean Cox and Jason Porplyzia.
And one or two of them may not make it at all.
But every club will go through that, you need five years to review it.
The mix gives us a bit of everything, with a couple of PSD picks to come.
Welcome Nick, Kamdyn, Liam and Matthew :)

Hate it how Geelong drafted Brodie Grundy. Stephen Wells is the ******* man. We are all destined for mediocrity. We need to spend the FTF to get this guy to the club. Wouldn't have missed out on Grundy at pick 9 if he was recruiter.

Maybe that was in an joke or something but I really hope you are taking the piss here mate!

Massive call. Thoughts on McIntosh? Apologies if you've already done it but avoided this joint like the plague for a few hours. :D

Yeah maybe a massive call, just feel we have picked up some really good players. I can tell you right now, Of Towers wasn't there on the board and the thinking was Collingwood would bite, McIntosh would be a Swan at pick 22. He is a diciplined defender but with elite footskills and reading of the game. He can see the situations unfolding before they happen and reacts. Good mover in traffic, does the one percents often. I don't think he is a Key back but he could be a third tall or take a turn in the midfield for us. Such is his versatility Sydney were lining him up as a Grundy replacement. A very nice size who has elite endurance, good speed and agility, so maybe Richmond have this right and along with his skills and footy boys, could make a fantastic midfielder. The Perth scouts I know rave about him. He was a first round ranking. The way the draft worked out, he fell along with another highly rated in Clurey. Our bonus.

I think my rankings has got to do with the fact I think Vlastuin, McIntosh and McDonough will all play 200 games for us. If McBean joins them, well to have four players recruited in one draft to impact the club. That's pretty special.

Yeh I heard that as well... it was definitely one of the hosts... pretty sure it was Brad Johnson... made it sound like Vlas was a terrible pick!!!... no fecking idea!!!

I guess, ruck notwithstanding, we don't have a huge number of glaring holes now.
The area I am most concerned about is our lack of a defensive (run-with or tagging) midfielder. A player who can sacrifice his own game to nullify an opponent but still has the ability to get the ball 20 times and has the skills to hurt the opposition's best midfielder on the rebound if that midfielder fails to be accountable.
The only player who does that (apart from Dan Jackson, who, let's face it, doesn't really have the skills to hurt his opponent on the rebound), is um, well, Dan Jackson.
Whether you draft someone to be that guy, or get an inside midfielder to become that guy, I'm not sure. Most of the better sides have one of these guys, though.

McIntosh

Yer McBean is 203cm. Ridiculous mover for 203cm lol.
10 clubs overlooked Grundy. Surely that says something.

The draft was very even outside Whitfield/Toumpas/Menzel. Just came down to personal preference. Eg. I had Vlastuin over Grundy M_R had Grundy just ahead. It wasn't clear cut at all that he was a standout. Mitch Grigg was hyped up on here like no tomorrow a year ago and he's ******* horrendous. Playing 3rds and if he doesn't get delisted next year I'll pack it in as a football watcher.

Jacobs is ordinary and put a big price on his head. Vlastuin is ahead of Jacobs already lol. So is McDonough IMO.

Graham is a shithouse kick.

Membrey I agree on though I'm pretty happy with McDonough instead as he has midfield potential. The way Membrey slid shows there's a fair chance he was a bit of a man-child.

As you said 18 clubs overlooked him. I think the best thing for him is no one take him in the rookie draft either and see how he responds. Does he go the way of Shane Nelson or Waylon Manson?

Thanks Tigs. I guess coming out of your mouth will make people listen now..........(I don't have that respect:()

Brad Helbig is being groomed as Jacko's replacement. Arnot could probably do it as well.
Yeah maybe a massive call, just feel we have picked up some really good players. I can tell you right now, Of Towers wasn't there on the board and the thinking was Collingwood would bite, McIntosh would be a Swan at pick 22. He is a diciplined defender but with elite footskills and reading of the game. He can see the situations unfolding before they happen and reacts. Good mover in traffic, does the one percents often. I don't think he is a Key back but he could be a third tall or take a turn in the midfield for us. Such is his versatility Sydney were lining him up as a Grundy replacement. A very nice size who has elite endurance, good speed and agility, so maybe Richmond have this right and along with his skills and footy boys, could make a fantastic midfielder. The Perth scouts I know rave about him. He was a first round ranking. The way the draft worked out, he fell along with another highly rated in Clurey. Our bonus.

I think my rankings has got to do with the fact I think Vlastuin, McIntosh and McDonough will all play 200 games for us. If McBean joins them, well to have four players recruited in one draft to impact the club. That's pretty special.

Thanks for that on McIntosh. As I said I was hearing he was a potential 1st rounder about a week out but didn't get the chance to get any footage of him. Hence my low ranking of him. Hard to rate players you don't see. :D
Could well be one of our Geelong like drafts that set us up for years if we get 3/4 200 gamers. Now where's that Josh Toy signature? Just imagine if we sign Toy and he comes on as he was touted as a kid. :D

Maybe that was in an joke or something but I really hope you are taking the piss here mate!
Just having a go at how FJ cops shit and Wells is a god yet he didn't take Grundy either despite they have Trent 'bloody' West as a ruckman. Over the year seen so many sack FJ shit going on it's annoying.

Is it too much to hope that one of our players taken outside the first round can be a deadset gun? Tuck in 2003 was the last one that I can find (not including Grimes as he was taken in the pre-season draft - if he's not multiple All-Australian by the time he's finished then i'll stop watching football).

Anyone could have found Deledio, Cotchin, Martin. Ellis and Conca will be solid citizens, and hopefully Vlastuin joins the first three as a key plank for the next ten years.

Why is it that we can never seem to find a Fyfe, Beams or Sloane outside the top ten?

Is it too much to hope that one of our players taken outside the first round can be a deadset gun? Tuck in 2003 was the last one that I can find (not including Grimes as he was taken in the pre-season draft - if he's not multiple All-Australian by the time he's finished then i'll stop watching football).

Anyone could have found Deledio, Cotchin, Martin. Ellis and Conca will be solid citizens, and hopefully Vlastuin joins the first three as a key plank for the next ten years.

Why is it that we can never seem to find a Fyfe, Beams or Sloane outside the top ten?
Reckon we may get 1 this draft if not 2.

Interviewed really badly. Take a look at the kids instagram
Surely it has to be something more than an Instagram account. I saw it and it just looks like any 18 year old kids pictures. Sure the one with the beer and smoke looked bad, but that can't be enough to make a kid go from a 1st round pick to not picked up at all. There has to be something he's done off field in a Troy Taylor/Dan Connors kind of way.

Live Event 2012 Draft Night Discussion