2012 Draft - Overrated and Underrated

• Thread starter Thread starter Chris25

On Mayes: The only player that he plays like in the AFL that is worth a high pick is LeCras. Awkward height for a forward and a mid.

Forward, yes. Midfielder, no.

I'd say clubs are expecting him to be able to play as a full time midfielder in a few years. I reckon he'd be pretty effective on a wing, he's not really a Lecras type either.

Forward, yes. Midfielder, no.

I'd say clubs are expecting him to be able to play as a full time midfielder in a few years. I reckon he'd be pretty effective on a wing, he's not really a Lecras type either.
I agree. Lets also not forget that LeCras was drafted as a midfielder and his game is partly built around workrate. He has an absolutely elite fitness base and would be one of the hardest runners at our club. He was also originally taken at pick 37 (IIRC).

Many medium forwards also have demonstrated dual utility as a midfielder when drafted and if they don't, few are taken early without some absolutely standout characteristics.

ome Richmond posters rave about him and tigs2010 in particular is quite keen and rates him ahead of Wines, but many other people don't rate him as high as Richmond do on this forum and even those who do rate him highly don't rate him as much as other players Richmond could take.

You want to know why Richmond supporters rate Vlastuin and not Wines ? They're doing so in the knowledge that one player will be available to them and the other won't, ergo a bias is beginning to form.

Both could very well be available. I'd hope we go Vlastuin. Though it's a close call and I won't be dumping chicken shit if we go the other way.

Richmond supporters are the only ones on Bigfooty who would pick Vlastuin over Wines. Wines also will not be available at pick 9, so its no wonder you're already trying to convince yourself you got the better player.

Vlastuin at 9 is a massive reach anyway.

Richmond supporters are the only ones on Bigfooty who would pick Vlastuin over Wines. Wines also will not be available at pick 9, so its no wonder you're already trying to convince yourself you got the better player.

Vlastuin at 9 is a massive reach anyway.
Wines is a pretty good chance to get to 7 at the least. Vlastuin is the better fit for our club and the way we play. Hence, I would take him first if I was Richmond.

Would you want to continue to play Vlastuin on the half back flank or let him develop into an inside midfielder?

He is an inside midfielder lol. And a very good one. One who kicks the ball well and has exceptional character/leadership. Get his ankle right and he will be able to build his tank up to the level it needs to be to play that role full time. 100% ticks every box off that the club looks for in a player. Wines has the better tank and go for longer in the middle but IMO Vlastuin is the better kick of the footy. (Not saying he is elite but better than Wines) This would make him suit Hardwick's game plan a lot better than Wines and be a better fit for the club. Having said that I mentioned on one of the other Richmond forums that I was watching a lot of Wines yesterday and his kicking was better than I first thought hence I'll be happy with either.

If you can be bothered wading through 172 pages of the draft thread on Richmond's board I've had Vlastuin high up above Wines for ages.

He is an inside midfielder lol. And a very good one. One who kicks the ball well and has exceptional character/leadership. Get his ankle right and he will be able to build his tank up to the level it needs to be to play that role full time. 100% ticks every box off that the club looks for in a player. Wines has the better tank and go for longer in the middle but IMO Vlastuin is the better kick of the footy. (Not saying he is elite but better than Wines) This would make him suit Hardwick's game plan a lot better than Wines and be a better fit for the club. Having said that I mentioned on one of the other Richmond forums that I was watching a lot of Wines yesterday and his kicking was better than I first thought hence I'll be happy with either.

If you can be bothered wading through 172 pages of the draft thread on Richmond's board I've had Vlastuin high up above Wines for ages.
I only watched the champs, where he was quite and pretty ineffective on a half back flank. He may have the 'intangibles' of leadership etc, but Wines no doubt makes more of an impact on the contest. I'm pretty sure Wines averaged something ridiculous like 145 supercoach points per game in the TAC Cup. If you're comparing Wines and Vlastuin as inside midfielders then there is really no contest.

You realise Vlastuin was injured which has affected his tank and midfield time? I think it's obvious going by my posts I rate Vlastuin's kicking better than Wines and why I believe Vlastuin is the better fit for us. Wines is certainly higher rated by many at this stage and the risk with taking Vlastuin is due to his ankle he didn't get the exposed form this year. Luckily our recruiters don't base it off one year and if you go back a year and you'd take Vlastuin everyday of the week.

You realise Vlastuin was injured which has affected his tank and midfield time? I think it's obvious going by my posts I rate Vlastuin's kicking better than Wines and why I believe Vlastuin is the better fit for us. Wines is certainly higher rated by many at this stage and the risk with taking Vlastuin is due to his ankle he didn't get the exposed form this year.

Fair enough, but if I was Richmond i'd be wanting the better overall player. You guys should be running down the street naked celebrating if Wines slips to you guys.
Luckily our recruiters don't base it off one year and if you go back a year and you'd take Vlastuin everyday of the week.
You could've made that point to take Sellar #1 in the 2006 draft.

You realise Vlastuin was injured which has affected his tank and midfield time? I think it's obvious going by my posts I rate Vlastuin's kicking better than Wines and why I believe Vlastuin is the better fit for us. Wines is certainly higher rated by many at this stage and the risk with taking Vlastuin is due to his ankle he didn't get the exposed form this year. Luckily our recruiters don't base it off one year and if you go back a year and you'd take Vlastuin everyday of the week.
If Wines were available at pick 9 I would have no doubt that Richmond would choose him over Vlastuin.

Fair enough, but if I was Richmond i'd be wanting the better overall player. You guys should be running down the street naked celebrating if Wines slips to you guys.

You could've made that point to take Sellar #1 in the 2006 draft.
Vlastuin has a position at AFL level whereas Sellar didn't and it was pretty obvious a 196cm ruck would have to reinvent himself. We got a gift last year due to injury/illness allowing Elton to slide.

If Wines were available at pick 9 I would have no doubt that Richmond would choose him over Vlastuin.
We will still take Vlastuin if both are available.

Confirmation bias alive & well.

Probably.
Bit early to call, though.

There's a lot to like about all the top kids. Vlastuin might end up better than Wines, vice versa, they might both star or they might both fail. But let's not kid ourselves we have that much of an idea how they will go from here.

Wines/Vlastuin to me is a bit of an each-way bet. Not heaps to separate them.
For me the interesting thing is the number of Richmond fans saying they wouldn't want Grundy, if he slipped through. They have a ruck division of basically 1, + Vickery who's unproven as a ruck.
Whereas their midfield is OK, probably their strongest line (albeit Tuck probably on the way out).

Wines/Vlastuin to me is a bit of an each-way bet. Not heaps to separate them.
For me the interesting thing is the number of Richmond fans saying they wouldn't want Grundy, if he slipped through. They have a ruck division of basically 1, + Vickery who's unproven as a ruck.
Whereas their midfield is OK, probably their strongest line (albeit Tuck probably on the way out).

I want Grundy for the reasons you've stated.