2012 list management.

McQualtar is only a rookie so doing no harm to stay on the list. Also Stanley plays hard and makes good decisions. Versatile and can push forward.

Toy is trade bait, keep him on if a deal cant be done.

Hi guys .. first time posting on the Suns board. Sincerely hope you can breakthrough for a few wins in 2012, know how hard it can be.
My question ... I notice in the Herald Sun in Melbourne today an expose on the poor state of the club. Interestingly they listed Iles, McQualter and Stanley all as 'list cloggers'.
Wouldn't have thought the two journos (Ralph and Stevens) could have it more wrong.
Iles in particular has been exceptional this year - one of the shining lights. Stanley has upstaged some of the more credentialed players with previous AFL club experience, while McQualter, if I am not mistaken, was a rookie???
I think Iles has played great footy. Any thoughts?

Hi guys .. first time posting on the Suns board. Sincerely hope you can breakthrough for a few wins in 2012, know how hard it can be.
My question ... I notice in the Herald Sun in Melbourne today an expose on the poor state of the club. Interestingly they listed Iles, McQualter and Stanley all as 'list cloggers'.
Wouldn't have thought the two journos (Ralph and Stevens) could have it more wrong.
Iles in particular has been exceptional this year - one of the shining lights. Stanley has upstaged some of the more credentialed players with previous AFL club experience, while McQualter, if I am not mistaken, was a rookie???

You're spot on, Goldust. Stanley and Iles have been our best and are certainly not cloggers. McQualter we brought on as a rookie to mentor the young kids. He's been brought upgraded just to help plug some gaps, so I don't mind that.

Just another example of journos not doing any research whatsoever.

You're spot on, Goldust. Stanley and Iles have been our best and are certainly not cloggers. McQualter we brought on as a rookie to mentor the young kids. He's been brought upgraded just to help plug some gaps, so I don't mind that.

Disagree with the statement about Stanley not being a list clogger. He was hopeless at Collingwood and struggles at the best of times. Iles on the other hand would have stayed at Collingwood if it wasn't for all the quality mids we had at the time.
McQualter is a development coach prospect I assume with him being there to help develop young blokes.

I think their definition of list cloggers was players, who had been deliberately let go by other AFL clubs, rather than the uncontracted players we picked up (Ablett, Bock, Harbrow, Krakouer, Rischitelli, Brennan, Fraser & Brown) or our untried youngsters.

Iles & Stanley have certainly earned their places in the team. They are regularly amongst our best players & are doing far better than some of those uncontracted "stars". McQualter was a regular at Ross Lyon's St Kilda a couple of seasons back when they were a top team, so he should have some of the defensive skills we need to develop. He was promoted from our Rookie list due to a heap of injuries to our senior players. He's done ok in the few games he's played, but could probably be loosely classified as a list clogger. He'd be unlikely to stay on our Senior list, if we didn't have so many injuries.

I won't tell you what my profession is, buddy .... journo (not at national level though and don't necessarily cover sport, or AFL in regional Australia). But the quality of some of my peers does seriously irk me. It seemed a misinformed article and a mere case of bashing the new boys for the sake of doing so. An extension of the "Ablett is hurting the Suns' crap!

Haha, certainly. I don't mean journos in general, I more meant those at The Age or the HS.

There are a few journos that I enjoy reading, don't get me wrong. Mike Whiting for the AFL who covers the Lions and Suns does so with accuracy because he actually LIVES in Queensland and gets to interview the people. He knows what's going on.

Robbo, Roos, Ralph and people outside the State have no idea. They just see the final score, some highlights, see that everyone else is kicking the bottom team and do so themselves. This isn't a GC exclusive thing, they do it for every team struggling.

I'm also not saying that we don't deserve a roasting from the media, but please, get your facts right before you spiel about it.

Haha, certainly. I don't mean journos in general, I more meant those at The Age or the HS.

There are a few journos that I enjoy reading, don't get me wrong. Mike Whiting for the AFL who covers the Lions and Suns does so with accuracy because he actually LIVES in Queensland and gets to interview the people. He knows what's going on.

Robbo, Roos, Ralph and people outside the State have no idea. They just see the final score, some highlights, see that everyone else is kicking the bottom team and do so themselves. This isn't a GC exclusive thing, they do it for every team struggling.

I'm also not saying that we don't deserve a roasting from the media, but please, get your facts right before you spiel about it.

Don't disagree one bit there, matey.
All spot on!
You can guarantee that these same reporters - Roos, Ralph and Robbo - should us Tigers lose a few more games, will trot out the ol' analysis of Richmond's poor drafting from seven years ago, that is Tambling over Franklin, Oakley-Nicholls and Cleve Hughes over everyone etc. and justify a living. Shoddy and lazy!
These blokes, above all, have little recollection of their past offerings. One week Gold Coast are on the right track - three weeks later they contradict all that they wrote just weeks before. Fickle!

Mike Whiting for the AFL who covers the Lions and Suns does so with accuracy because he actually LIVES in Queensland and gets to interview the people. He knows what's going on.

Robbo, Roos, Ralph and people outside the State have no idea.

What's Andrew Hamilton's excuse then? :p

Back on topic...I reckon Iles has been one of your better performers this year, while Stanley has been serviceable. You're certainly getting more out of 'em than the much more fancied Riska and Brennan anyway.

What's Andrew Hamilton's excuse then? :p

Back on topic...I reckon Iles has been one of your better performers this year, while Stanley has been serviceable. You're certainly getting more out of 'em than the much more fancied Riska and Brennan anyway.

Hamo's just a jerk. :p Lions fans know this better than most, though he has left us alone mostly to focus his rage on Brisbane.

Disagree with the statement about Stanley not being a list clogger. He was hopeless at Collingwood and struggles at the best of times. Iles on the other hand would have stayed at Collingwood if it wasn't for all the quality mids we had at the time.
McQualter is a development coach prospect I assume with him being there to help develop young blokes.
Sorry mate you are a tosser. Stanley is one of the GC's best. Played last year and was 5th best and is a great pick up. Without him and Isles GC would be in a much worse state. I have barracked for the Pies for 50 years and I have always rated Stanley and Isles. Just because they are not at the Pies now does not mean they are hopeless. Stanley's stats actually beat a lot of Pies players atm and it is much harder to acquire stats in this young inexperienced team that ours.

Spot on!

One minute we are getting attacked for not having enough mature age players - now it seems we are getting attacked for actually playing mature 'list cloggers' - it is a complete contradiction.

Isles has been superb this year & we are defintely a better team with the both of them out there.

One minute we are getting attacked for not having enough mature age players - now it seems we are getting attacked for actually playing mature 'list cloggers' - it is a complete contradiction.

Isles has been superb this year & we are defintely a better team with the both of them out there.
Iles has been sensational all season, no way is he a list clogger.

Stanley & Isles have been great for our club. They have been in the best most weeks when playing since they arrived here. I am sure they were recruited to fill a gap and when the young ones were ready their services would be terminated but we all know we are miles off that happening and they are needed and required players. Gold Coast have two shinning lights at the moment and it is them. The kids have hit the wall while they keep going. Let us hope the club can take this negative press and turn it into a positive and everyone, not just Stanley and Isles step up and play their guts out. I take what the Collingwood feral says with a pinch of salt you are right Makeshift I think he is a tosser as well!.

No need to get personal, I am entitled to an opinion as a GC Suns member!
I just think that things haven't worked out how many have expected and It may require a mini clean out.

No need to get personal, I am entitled to an opinion as a GC Suns member!
I just think that things haven't worked out how many have expected and It may require a mini clean out.

So is everyone else entitled to their opinion and I can't see one person that agrees with you. After reading your ill informed comments I have been busy doing background research on Stanley.
Stanley has played 4 games only this year, after coming back from a nasty back injury. He got BOG first game back and named in the top 4 bests for other games and you say he is no good. Was leading goal kicker last year and 5th in best and fairest. I just checked the stats compared to the pies and he beat 18 of your players last week and 12 the week we played you. Took 9 marks and 8 marks in the past 2 weeks and his dream team points have been fantastic . From memory he was on Goldsack first half and killed him. His average for marks is 6th best in the whole competition. He also has to play in three or four different positions every week to cover others So yeah I suppose get rid of him he is obviously no good.!
Also Isles was delisted a year before Stanley. Fremantle tried to snare Stanley but we got him first so obviously not everyone thinks he is a dud mate!

So is everyone else entitled to their opinion and I can't see one person that agrees with you. After reading your ill informed comments I have been busy doing background research on Stanley.
Stanley has played 4 games only this year, after coming back from a nasty back injury. He got BOG first game back and named in the top 4 bests for other games and you say he is no good. Was leading goal kicker last year and 5th in best and fairest. I just checked the stats compared to the pies and he beat 18 of your players last week and 12 the week we played you. Took 9 marks and 8 marks in the past 2 weeks and his dream team points have been fantastic . From memory he was on Goldsack first half and killed him. His average for marks is 6th best in the whole competition. He also has to play in three or four different positions every week to cover others So yeah I suppose get rid of him he is obviously no good.!
Also Isles was delisted a year before Stanley. Fremantle tried to snare Stanley but we got him first so obviously not everyone thinks he is a dud mate!

4 games in and has done a decent job. Long term he isn't going to get a game ahead of all the young midfield stars you have, getting kicks in the bottom side and getting beat by 60-100 points almost every week doesn't mean a whole lot mate.

Although I am a collingwood member and gold cast as well I do like to see you guys do well as my wife loves the club. I was bitterly disappointed in there effort against the pies and have been most of the year as they look like they have lost hunger and look like a heap of the young blokes have '2nd year blues'.

The question is do you think it is worth keeping a plodder like Danny for a couple more years or getting another kid on the list that could add something long term?

Ill informed comments? I have watched stanley in plenty of games over the years at both the pies and gold coast and he was average at VFL level as well.
Would he get a game anywhere else? Maybe at the Dees or GWS.

I'm on the GCS side pal, I want to see them improve and fast because if they serve up the crap they have been the last few weeks for the next couple of seasons....many people and members won't bother going to games or support the club.

Sunny is right, hope they put up a great performance on saturday night, cause I'll be there watching and hoping they beat North.

I'll admit it. Sammy was one of the players I had on my to-delist list at the beginning of the year. However, with his form this season He is most definitely in the "must hang onto" category now. He finds the ball and generally disposes of it well, something a lot of our kids are as yet unable to do. At 27 years old, Sammy is in his prime as footballer, and gives me hope that our kids are nowhere near their best (even Sebby and Josh Toy), so our best as a team is yet to come. Bull has impressed me from the start - just a good solid footballer. We've gotten good value from these recruits, moreso than from our high-priced stars (Barring Gaz and Bocky).

Who would be on your de-list list now mate?
Interested to see what people think....

Yeah I'd like to see it....link?

From here.

I can come up with 8 potential delistees, can anyone add a player to the list? In my eye all guys not mentioned here are worthy.

Krakouer - no brainer
Jolly - Talented but lacks work ethic, I couldnt see him getting a game in SANFL atm.
Hine - Can only play defence and lacks size/poor disposal. Not a baller winner either.
Hutchins - Dropped off radar, could be brought back as a rookie?
Flanagan - I would look to delist and re rookie similar to Hutchins.
Moss - Too light and struggles at NEAFL let alone AFL.
Patrick - Will probably move on, off contract and has looked unspectacular in NEAFL.
Fraser - Will either retire or be delisted.

That free's up 4 roster spots with 2 being O'Meara/Horsley. Could Nicholls/Toy be looking at a trade home to VIC?
It's a constantly changing list, really.

IMO Hine and Moss will definitely go. Too far back IMO. Krakouer and Fraser also gone, so that's four.

2 more to be traded out for picks, Caddy & Toy.

Another 2 to go and be re-rookied. Like Jolly and Flanagan. Rest stay.

2012 list management.