2012 list management.

4 games in and has done a decent job. Long term he isn't going to get a game ahead of all the young midfield stars you have, getting kicks in the bottom side and getting beat by 60-100 points almost every week doesn't mean a whole lot mate.

Although I am a collingwood member and gold cast as well I do like to see you guys do well as my wife loves the club. I was bitterly disappointed in there effort against the pies and have been most of the year as they look like they have lost hunger and look like a heap of the young blokes have '2nd year blues'.

The question is do you think it is worth keeping a plodder like Danny for a couple more years or getting another kid on the list that could add something long term?

Ill informed comments? I have watched stanley in plenty of games over the years at both the pies and gold coast and he was average at VFL level as well.
Would he get a game anywhere else? Maybe at the Dees or GWS.

I'm on the GCS side pal, I want to see them improve and fast because if they serve up the crap they have been the last few weeks for the next couple of seasons....many people and members won't bother going to games or support the club.

Sunny is right, hope they put up a great performance on saturday night, cause I'll be there watching and hoping they beat North.

Who would be on your de-list list now mate?
Interested to see what people think....

De-List / Trade:
Magin (would like to see him make it but someone has to go...)
Moss
Fraser (Too old, Too slow)
Coad (R)
Hine (haven't seen enough of him to be honest but someone else has to go..)
McQualter (R) - not a bad footballer but a bit slow and not in our long term plans.
Brown (always seems to get injured just when he starts playing well - won't go this year but will be on my list again next year)
N. Krakouer
Warnock (Depending on Bocky's recovery. Matty has been serviceable but we've got potentially better young blokes who will soon overtake him - May, Schade, Thommo and I like how Josh Hall moves for such a tall bloke - very mobile)

Trade (for the right price):
Toy (reckon he might be end up a good player at another club surrounded by more senior players, just doesn't play at the right tempo for us)
Nicholls (reluctantly - big wraps on him)
Gorringe (reluctantly - only if he wants to leave but he's slipped behind Hickey, Zac, and Dicko due to injury in my eyes - achilles are dreadful injuries)
Caddy (reluctantly - only if he wants to leave)

Disclaimer: work in progress, haven't taken any notice of contract status thread, and will probably be changed at least 20 more times before the next National Draft. Players have 11 weeks to prove themselves worthy.

4 games in and has done a decent job. Long term he isn't going to get a game ahead of all the young midfield stars you have, getting kicks in the bottom side and getting beat by 60-100 points almost every week doesn't mean a whole lot mate.

Although I am a collingwood member and gold cast as well I do like to see you guys do well as my wife loves the club. I was bitterly disappointed in there effort against the pies and have been most of the year as they look like they have lost hunger and look like a heap of the young blokes have '2nd year blues'.

The question is do you think it is worth keeping a plodder like Danny for a couple more years or getting another kid on the list that could add something long term?

Ill informed comments? I have watched stanley in plenty of games over the years at both the pies and gold coast and he was average at VFL level as well.
Would he get a game anywhere else? Maybe at the Dees or GWS.

I'm on the GCS side pal, I want to see them improve and fast because if they serve up the crap they have been the last few weeks for the next couple of seasons....many people and members won't bother going to games or support the club.

Sunny is right, hope they put up a great performance on saturday night, cause I'll be there watching and hoping they beat North.

Collingwood AND Gold Coast member eh? And you've seen Danny play plenty of games over the years, at both the Pies and GC? And he was average at VFL level? Mate, quit this argument while you're behind and start again. Danny only played 5 games at the Pies so you didn't see "plenty" really did you? Oh, and he was an out and out star at VFL level (as was Iles). And last year, and every game this year, he was a regular bests. Not gonna get a game long term? I'll have a little bet with you. I'll bet Danny will be playing long after the majority of the little princesses now at GC have fallen by the wayside. He creamed Goldie against us and he wasn't even playing his right position. Another little bet - I'll bet he gets an offer (maybe offers) at the end of the year, and if he goes, GC will regret it bitterly because thet're as soft as butter and Danny (and Sammy to a lesser extent) are the only genuine impact hardnuts GC has - and yes, I include the overpaid, over-rated Campbell Brown. Apologies to GC supporters but who will fill all the holes when the little darlings get weary or broken or just give up and want their Mums?

Mate, Danny wore the black and white more times than you or I or any other internet hero, and he deserves our respect, not an ill-informed bagging. I wish him and Sammy the very best of luck and continued success.

Mate, Stanley has been great. Go to most VFL games for the Pies and then Senior games and have done for 50 years and when he was with us he was in the best most weeks for the VFL. I will just say that I disagree with most of what you say but that is your opinion. All I can say is he is leagues ahead of any of the uncontracted players bar Ablett and most of the kids atm. He is not a long term player there but in reality who is? No one knows which of the kids will stay or who will even make it long term. The uncontracted players will slowly be replaced as well and they will be list cloggers next year. Every year more kids come through the system and can potentially take someones place in the team. The GC should be interested in the now and play the best team and try to get some success to help instil confidence in the younger players along with experience. He will not be delisted at the end of the year. I can tell you that for sure.

Collingwood AND Gold Coast member eh? And you've seen Danny play plenty of games over the years, at both the Pies and GC? And he was average at VFL level? Mate, quit this argument while you're behind and start again. Danny only played 5 games at the Pies so you didn't see "plenty" really did you? Oh, and he was an out and out star at VFL level (as was Iles). And last year, and every game this year, he was a regular bests. Not gonna get a game long term? I'll have a little bet with you. I'll bet Danny will be playing long after the majority of the little princesses now at GC have fallen by the wayside. He creamed Goldie against us and he wasn't even playing his right position. Another little bet - I'll bet he gets an offer (maybe offers) at the end of the year, and if he goes, GC will regret it bitterly because thet're as soft as butter and Danny (and Sammy to a lesser extent) are the only genuine impact hardnuts GC has - and yes, I include the overpaid, over-rated Campbell Brown. Apologies to GC supporters but who will fill all the holes when the little darlings get weary or broken or just give up and want their Mums?

Mate, Danny wore the black and white more times than you or I or any other internet hero, and he deserves our respect, not an ill-informed bagging. I wish him and Sammy the very best of luck and continued success.

If I went on your board and said Collingwood was full of criminals who ride in cars with murderers I wouldn't last very long
A post supporting Danny Stanley who is highly respected and liked at our club is fine
A diatribe questioning our players' character and performance is unacceptable.
I'd put David Swallow, Nathan Bock, Dion Prestia and Jared Harbrow up against anyone in the competition.
Their loss has had a major impact on our season.
Please show more respect when posting on our board.

If I went on your board and said Collingwood was full of criminals who ride in cars with murderers I wouldn't last very long
A post supporting Danny Stanley who is highly respected and liked at our club is fine
A diatribe questioning our players' character and performance is unacceptable.
I'd put David Swallow, Nathan Bock, Dion Prestia and Jared Harbrow up against anyone in the competition.
Their loss has had a major impact on our season.
Please show more respect when posting on our board.
Are you serious mate? Said nothing about gold coast supporters to start with.
The blokes you have mentioned (bolded) have been excellent this year but the teams performances bar the Freo game have been very ordinary. I hope they can get their structures right and start to play more competitive football.
Yes injuries suck, but all clubs are having issues with that this year. You guys just don't have the depth to cover them at this stage of development.
Not of fan of Danny's but good luck to him if he gets another year or 2 at AFL level.

Stanley has been very good in all the games he has played. Will be funny to see the egg on that journalist's face when those two so called list cloggers come in the top 5 in the best and fairest. Sam Iles already won the B&F in 2010. Damn Herald Sun must be trolling.

Stanley was actually quite a high draft pick in the Pendlebury year, why is it you think he is an avg player? He has a good body, works hard, and is team orientated.

On topic, I thought Flanagan was impressive v Broadbeach on the weekend. Starting to finally get his body right maybe? Named BOG also. Could survive the cull and ahead of Hutchins ATM. Either will get picked up by vic clubs should they move on.

Stanley was actually quite a high draft pick in the Pendlebury year, why is it you think he is an avg player? He has a good body, works hard, and is team orientated.

On topic, I thought Flanagan was impressive v Broadbeach on the weekend. Starting to finally get his body right maybe? Named BOG also. Could survive the cull and ahead of Hutchins ATM. Either will get picked up by vic clubs should they move on.
Work ethic and hardness are 2 things Danny does well.
Not all high draft picks turn out......see Aaron Fiora.
His decision making and skills let him down to much.
What's the go with Hutchins? He looked promising 12 moths ago!

Injured for most of the pre-season and start of the H&A. Slowly yet surely working his way back into form though, with the latest Reserves game probably his stand-out for the year. Probably another 3-4 weeks away before getting a senior run I would say.

Work ethic and hardness are 2 things Danny does well.
Not all high draft picks turn out......see Aaron Fiora.
His decision making and skills let him down to much.

Disposal Efficiency - Stanley 69% against Saints Ablett 55%
Disposal Efficiency - Stanley 80% against Collingwood
Didak 69%, Fasolio 71%, Beams 78%
Would say he is doing Ok compared to the above super stars.

Disposal Efficiency - Stanley 69% against Saints Ablett 55%
Disposal Efficiency - Stanley 80% against Collingwood
Didak 69%, Fasolio 71%, Beams 78%
Would say he is doing Ok compared to the above super stars.

He had 20 touches against the pies compared to Beams and Didiak...32 & 29.
Surely you're not comparing him to the above players? Considering he isn't at the same level as those players...
As I said I'm not a fan but good on him for making the most of his 2nd chance.

He had 20 touches against the pies compared to Beams and Didiak...32 & 29.
Surely you're not comparing him to the above players? Considering he isn't at the same level as those players...
As I said I'm not a fan but good on him for making the most of his 2nd chance.

Whatever champ. I value your opinion and that is what makes this forum so interesting we all have different views on players, some we like some we don't. Great to have a debate of sorts about players. At the end of the day I just love the game and my team as I am sure you do too. Cheers!

All good pal.
As I said, I really hope you guys become a quality side.
Hopefully I get to see the first win at Metricon on staurday night against North.
What you think of the ins and outs for the week?

All good pal.
As I said, I really hope you guys become a quality side.
Hopefully I get to see the first win at Metricon on staurday night against North.
What you think of the ins and outs for the week?
Yeah happy with them although I would like to see Weller and May in for their bigger bodies, love the Horse, Zac was excellent last week. Just a bit unsure about Patrick- very flashy and exciting when on but very inconsistent. Glad to be giving Hine another chance only got 1 quarter last time. Wilko can be a nuisance to players so hopefully he has a tagging role of some sort. What about you ?

Yeah I love May...reminds me of my favourite player...Nathan Brown (Pies).
Quality gorilla type defender with a booming kick.
My issue with Wilkinson is he spends more time looking at the man and holding than watching the play.
Weller would be really handy atm...as would a few of the injured young guys.

Yeah I love May...reminds me of my favourite player...Nathan Brown (Pies).
Quality gorilla type defender with a booming kick.
My issue with Wilkinson is he spends more time looking at the man and holding than watching the play.
Weller would be really handy atm...as would a few of the injured young guys.

Yes I agree about Wilko he does not need to do that he is extremely fast but he must get under the oppositions skin coz he seems to be involved in a bit most games off the ball so for nuisance value I think he is an in. I do not know what is happening to Weller he was very good last week got to crack it soon. Yeah I am with you about Thompson also but giving him the benefit of the doubt atm. Bock is missed so much. Swallow should be back after the bye I thought I read somewhere and Prestia soon too i hope. Not too fussed about Harbrow Isles playing that position much better. Not sure Brown will play he might be a late exclusion. With the rocket the players were supposed to have had I am hoping they at least try for all 4 quarters.

Agree.
Thompson is doing well but when May is fit he gets the nod as does Bock...Warnock has done well for a bloke with little ability in an under siege defence.
But May & Bock are FB & CHB no doubt.
If they get beat by 20-40 but play really hard and well...then it's an improvement over the last few weeks.

I think Hine took huge steps in showing why we should be keeping him. Also showed for the first time why we picked him up as a 17 year old.

As our injuries mount and fringe players begin to show what they can do, it certainly makes it hard to de-list them!

He was one of our best in the back 6 against North and showed incredible ferocity for the contest.

Hine was good for sure and will hold his spot. Hope he at least ups his trade value in the 2nd half of season.

Hopefully this time next year we can start talking about campbell brown moving on. He is the only player on our list I don't really support. Overrated, overpaid, and arrogant.

Ok we know who is in the firing line for delisting but who are the potential trade options? ie too good to cut but some what out of favour etc, not saying they are leaving but have to be discussed at least.

My thoughts:

Nicholls, good prospect but a few bigs ahead of him here.
Dixon, will likely stay but I know of a few clubs that would take him in a heart beat.
Gorringe, holds high currency but down the depth charts a bit here. Crows/Power would go hard for him.
Caddy, much discussed, we would get something nice in return and not a 'must keep' so to speak.

That is probably it, possibly Flanagan also but id like to retain him on the rookie list if it can be done.

Cannot possibly see Dixon go after adding the ruck string to his bow. So valuable to us in that position as a real bash and crash type. 22 every day of the week for mine if he can continue what he did against North.

It breaks my heart to see Gorringe on that list, but it's hard to disagree with you. With Hickey showing good stuff, he slips a bit further down. I don't think we'll trade him this year, but he'll want to show a lot next year. He has a lot of ground to catch up on. He's missed a lot of footy.

You really enjoy this list stuff, don't you bballscout? :p

every team needs backup ruckmen. look at the saints with mcevoy being injured. they've got kosi, plus a few other raw rucks. besides that, they had the put blake in the ruck, which did work out fairly well for them at some points.

i realise some of our KPP can have stints in the ruck, but i'd hope we don't get rid of too many ruckmen, especially with the majority of ours being under 23 besides frase.

We do have an abundance of tall potentials in Lynch, Day, Smith, Gorringe, Thompson, Nicholls, Hickey. We obviously cant keep all of them, or for them to be happy and satisfied!

Gorringe from SA maybe involved in a Tippett trade? I dont want Tippett though.

Not sure if you saw the Blight/Sheehan Open Mike special, but Blighty was very tightlipped about the Tippett/Day link and whether the trade would or should happen. There was a smirk as if it was heavily considered.

2012 list management.