2012 SC Forwards

• Thread starter Thread starter SJ

^^^this? Inside info on Winderlich essendon people? If he's going to slot straight back into their midfield I think he's definitely worth looking at. Reckon essendon could be on the way up this year.
Asked this question earlier on, but whats everyone's thoughts on Gary Rohan? The guy moves like the wind and has an awesome boot on him, there's talk of him running up and down the wing this season, could be bulk inside 50's... Thoughts? Sydney people?

I've heard a couple of Sydney posters touting Gazza as the Goodes-esque-type replacement we will need in a couple of years time. The issue I have with him is in 2011 he was the 4th worst in regards to disposal efficiency (@ 58.02%) only (just) beating Pyke, TDL & Byron Sumner. In fact, he's on par with Brett Meredith... (no offence to Meredith but *blah!*).

On the flip side, he was 15th overall last year for goals and he was also 11th for marks inside 50 as well last year.

Taking these stats into account with the fact these are based on him only playing a handful of games (one where he got injured) and you start to think he should be foward much much more often as opposed to trying to deliver the ball... IMO...

If you see him start to play more foward then jump on for sure. I can see him scoring approx 80's if it all starts falling into place.

anyone thinking of picking up Stevie. J?
Doesnt seem to be featuring too much in the discussions
I have him ATM. Good scorer and has the occasional massive score. I am trying to avoid lots of the forwards because of wear and tear, age etc.
Stevie J Gets in.
Any Cats fans got any word on how Stevie is travelling please?

ta:heart:

andrew walker. is he worth a look at a sub premium sort of type. could possibly be moved to midfield this year and chance to improve his score average. apparently flying at training, having said that, he has always been the fittest down there. is it worth taking a shot at this player?

thoughts appreciated greatly.

Why on earth would Carlton move him to the midfield this year? He has shown in the past that he is not really cut out for the midfield and he actually had his breakout year as a forward target.

Depth. Whilst I'd say he would play predominantly a forward role, due to yes his breakout year last year there, if he could excel as both a forward and midfielder that would be a damaging combination.

Absolutely zero chance of him playing midfield. He played full forward all year was our leading goal scorer. He never cut it as a midfielder. About as much chance of playing midfield as Jack Riewoldt.

Whenever I've looked at the forwards I've picked Buddy and then got stuck.

They are going to make or break teams this year.

You've got guys at the end of their careers - Goodes, Chapman, Pavlich, O'Keefe, Harvey.

The up and coming MPPs - Martin, Fyfe, Beams, Zaharakis, Sidebottom.

Injury/consistency issues - SJ, Roughead, Rioli, Sylvia.

Red liners - Cloke, Petrie.

I reckon a fair few of these will tank big time but everyone is going to have to pick a couple of them at least. Just a crapshoot which way you go they all have knocks in my mind.

Does anyone else think Jack Watts, Steele Sidebottom and Jonathon Brown will average 100+ this year i think Sidebottom and Watts can be big scorers

You've got guys at the end of their careers - Goodes, Chapman, Pavlich, O'Keefe, Harvey.

I reckon a fair few of these will tank big time but everyone is going to have to pick a couple of them at least. Just a crapshoot which way you go they all have knocks in my mind.

Mate - that is a fair dinkum thumbs up red hot you beaut call. The forward are where it will be won and lost this year.
One good thing the fwd line has going for it this year is the rookies. I'm leaning towards a heavy rookie fwd line with lads like Smedts, Zorko, Treloar and Walsh looking like likely types.
The feeling in me waters at this stage is those oldies will cause headaches this year...

This. Exactly!

I don't even pick Franklin and pause. You completely nailed it! FWD line is torture ATM

Does anyone else think Jack Watts, Steele Sidebottom and Jonathon Brown will average 100+ this year i think Sidebottom and Watts can be big scorers

When Jack Watts breaks out, he will be one of the best forwards, if this is this year i dont know yet. might during the NAB. He will play all the way up the wings and the 50, will get alot of marks, and be involved not only in scores himself but scoring assists into the likes of Jurrah Clark imo. Is awkwardly priced.

What do you guys think the chances of N. Riewoldt returning to his old self are??

Absolutely zero chance of him playing midfield. He played full forward all year was our leading goal scorer. He never cut it as a midfielder. About as much chance of playing midfield as Jack Riewoldt.

Well I think that's just ridiculous. I'm not saying they are looking to transform him into the next Judd or Murphy and take him out of the forward line but I think they are most certainly looking to develop him partly as a midfielder as well. As they believe he has the capability, it will pay dividends even for his forward game and make him a dangerous player if he is able to switch into the midfield, even just in bursts. Not to mention I'm sure he has a new found confidence in his game which could see him do better as a midfielder.

Tend to agree with you dazk, he will surely play bursts through there, has the fitness to run opponents off their feet.

I don't know if its bias, but i think mitch robinson is a good pick this year. Is training very well, and lot of people have zaharakis in their team who is similar priced, same position (fwd/mid) and similar stage in their career.
I think with the probable rise of carlton this year, Robinson will be one of those players who has a breakout year that coincides with the team.

Anyway, just my two bobs for those struggling to fill out their fwd line

Tend to agree with you dazk, he will surely play bursts through there, has the fitness to run opponents off their feet.

I don't know if its bias, but i think mitch robinson is a good pick this year. Is training very well, and lot of people have zaharakis in their team who is similar priced, same position (fwd/mid) and similar stage in their career.
I think with the probable rise of carlton this year, Robinson will be one of those players who has a breakout year that coincides with the team.

Anyway, just my two bobs for those struggling to fill out their fwd line

I would have to agree with that 100%

Agree on Robinson, don't think theres much between him and Zaha.

Robbie Gray is worth a look as well I reckon. Plenty of midfield time this year could see a nice bump in average. Injury history a concern but played every game last year. Is in under 2% of teams currently.

Whats peoples thoughts on Fasolo?

with Didak out he is in there best 22 and might get pushed in to the middle to cover the Didak loss.

Prob in the best 22 but doubtful if he will spend any extended time in the mid field, regardless of Didak.
Lets face it, Didak doesn't really need to be 'covered' given the performances he produced last year. Gun player, but has def lost his spark.

Prob in the best 22 but doubtful if he will spend any extended time in the mid field, regardless of Didak.
Lets face it, Didak doesn't really need to be 'covered' given the performances he produced last year. Gun player, but has def lost his spark.

This :thumbsu:

I agree sadly was hoping someone would talk me in to it..

Thoughts on O'Hailpin? Playing for the Giants you would think he would get a game each week and probably a lot of the ball too. Also has a decent Super Coach average.

Do you think he's going to score enough to be a keeper? Unlikely. Is he going to make you more money than a rookie? Unlikely. Unfortunately can't see him being a good option for that reason.

Tossing up between dusty or beams. What are peoples thoughts?
I reckon dusty might starting getting extra attention from oppositions this year whereas beams will fly under the radar with collingwoods midfield.

Tossing up between dusty or beams. What are peoples thoughts?
I reckon dusty might starting getting extra attention from oppositions this year whereas beams will fly under the radar with collingwoods midfield.
point distribution favours dusty - pies have too many other guys who will all take their share of the points. Beams still needs to prove himself week in week out IMO