List Mgmt. 2013 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Igloo

Hey guys,

This morning, conversations over the draft thread and the list management thread converged, ending in the same topic being discussed in two different threads - this is what we were trying to avoid by splitting the threads in the first place. It's not ideal that list management (eg. Trades, delistings, overall 'what the list needs and doesn't need') is discussed in the same thread as the draft, as not everybody is interested in discussing the prospects in detail. The thread ends up super cluttered and poorly organised.

So we're going to try this one more time.

In the list management thread:
  • Trade discussions.
  • Discussions about what the list needs or doesn't need.
  • Discussion of existing players.
  • Trade radio information - unless directly related to the draft.
  • Possible delistings.
  • Overall off-season hypotheticals - for example, if you suggest what we do over the entire off-season rather than just the draft.

In the draft thread:
  • Draft prospect discussion.
  • What to do with our ND, PSD and rookie picks.

Please try your hardest to keep conversation in the correct thread. Moving posts is more difficult than it should be, hence why the previous threads were merged. If someone goes onto the draft thread posts something relevant to the list management thread or vice versa, please don't quote them and continue discussion - instead, quote their post in the list management thread and try to get it back on track.

Mistakes are fine, we just want to avoid cross-conversation.

Thanks.

Way to perpetuate the thought that you two are the same person :p
Igloo was too lazy to write the OP so asked me to do it. ;)

It wasn't a compliment to him. Why would I do that? :P

Igloo was too lazy to write the OP so asked me to do it. ;)

It wasn't a compliment to him. Why would I do that? :p

I didn't think it was possible to derail a thread in the first post :p

Sorry, Igloo

i'll try get it on track!

Dannnnnnnnnn, thanks for responding to my query re: Darcy Byrne-Jones (posted somewhere in the now-merged thread)...
he seems (statistically) like a tutt-dahlhaus hybrid...if we were to pick him as a rookie, where would he end up playing senior AFL footy? does he have a game that could translate into that small defender we'd like?

Wait...did everyone seriously let Jake Kelly slip through for nothing?

People can still pick him up in the ND without nominating him right? Maybe they're playing Collingwood :D

i'll try get it on track!

Dannnnnnnnnn, thanks for responding to my query re: Darcy Byrne-Jones (posted somewhere in the now-merged thread)...
he seems (statistically) like a tutt-dahlhaus hybrid...if we were to pick him as a rookie, where would he end up playing senior AFL footy? does he have a game that could translate into that small defender we'd like?
He's got nowhere near Tutt's pace and probably slower than Dahl as well, but what really makes him special is his agility. He's just so hard to tackle. Macrae is a bit different in the way he gets around, but just think that sorta 'not quite fast but breaks lines anyway' kind of player.

At senior level he'd probably play as that running half back and take Goodes' spot (well, we'd aim for him to anyway). He's reasonable one on one which means he can be defensively accountable and appropriate for that spot. He has nice skills and distributes it quite well as well. He'd fill a need nicely.

I have a few names ahead of him for our third and fourth round picks, but I certainly wouldn't be disappointed if he were there.

People can still pick him up in the ND without nominating him right? Maybe they're playing Collingwood :D
Nah, Collingwood nominated him as a F/S which means they can take him with their last pick in the draft I believe. Very surprised he was allowed through to them.

That's strange, over on the Collingwood board they were thinking they would have to spend their 3rd round pick on him. Especially in a shallow draft where he's shown some signs, why wouldn't someone else nominate him in the 3rd/4th round?

Harding: My understanding is the two WA clubs (WCE and Fremantle) aren't in the market (for Dayle Garlett).

because he wants to go to victoria.

Last year i wasn't a fan of Garlett but since reading a article about him maturing and wanting to leave W.A to escape the friends factor i reckon we should pick him up now that he is a mature person.

Harding: My understanding is the two WA clubs (WCE and Fremantle) aren't in the market (for Dayle Garlett).

because he wants to go to victoria.

Last year i wasn't a fan of Garlett but since reading a article about him maturing and wanting to leave W.A to escape the friends factor i reckon we should pick him up now that he is a mature person.

There is obviously no doubt Garlett is highly skilled, but I have also heard he is not very accountable (lazy defensively, and hasn't worked hard enough to build his tank). That combined with his off-field issues doesn't really sound like a Macca type to me.

BRG93, shh about foster
we can still get him in the 4th round
Sorry haha Just Curious, And for the record he says he may push for a F/S spot by playing for Footscray *Man that feels good saying that* next year

he would benefit him to be playing with us next year regardless of drafting or undrafting.

plus having the medical team access he would help, his ankle problems will be gone.

AND SO FOSTER SHALL BECOME A 100 GOAL KICKER!

Brisbane picked up a kp forward named Jonathan Freeman with a zone selection, any good?

very good kid
great marking and kicking skills
local boy will def learn a lot from Brown.

He's got nowhere near Tutt's pace and probably slower than Dahl as well, but what really makes him special is his agility. He's just so hard to tackle. Macrae is a bit different in the way he gets around, but just think that sorta 'not quite fast but breaks lines anyway' kind of player.

At senior level he'd probably play as that running half back and take Goodes' spot (well, we'd aim for him to anyway). He's reasonable one on one which means he can be defensively accountable and appropriate for that spot. He has nice skills and distributes it quite well as well. He'd fill a need nicely.

I have a few names ahead of him for our third and fourth round picks, but I certainly wouldn't be disappointed if he were there.

cheers ears. will be a name i look for on draft day.

i'm a little over talking about the top prospects over and over. we've picked them to bits over and over.
so here's another couple for you, Chris Grant all y'all draftwatchers...asked KM and C25 this a while back...

hi KM.
are there any bob murphy types about this year? swingman flankers with a bit of poise and pizzaz? we may have drafted one last year in mcrae (a seriously tantalising prospect) - but would love to have another similar sort of player. the sort of player that jinks and dinks around an opponent and half kicks one off the outside of his shoe to an unmarked teammate 35m away (that no-one else in the stadium even knew was there).

we hear a lot about 'explosive' and 'contested ball magnet' and 'powerful' and 'outside runner' - but murphy's doesn't fit into a category. his trait & gift is that he sees and plays the game a bit differently to others - and it makes him extremely hard to match up on and super fun to watch.

KM replied with George Hampson, a relative unknown from WA...said he matched the question perfectly.
& Chris replied with a few more well known names, like Lennon, but he also mentioned Isaiah Miller from Bendigo.

do you folks know anything about these guys?

Have a feeling we will get Billings or Lennon with our first pick.

Billings sounds like a Brad Johnson replacement and Lennon just sounds amazing as well. Matt Scharenberg just has a soft feel about him compared to some of the other players (by the sounds of people who have been looking at the draft prospects).

KM replied with George Hampson, a relative unknown from WA...said he matched the question perfectly.
& Chris replied with a few more well known names, like Lennon, but he also mentioned Isaiah Miller from Bendigo.

do you folks know anything about these guys?

I've only seen one game of Hampson, so I won't comment on him at this stage. But I'll be taking a look at a few of his WAFL games over the next couple weeks. I do like the sound of him.

Miller is one that should certainly be on our radar. Very attacking player with good athleticism. I saw one highlight of him this year where he ran the length of the field to kick a goal and the same again but he hand passed it off to a team mate to kick the goal. Just has that attacking flair and the speed/agility to back it up. He takes a lot of the kick outs as well and he makes very good decisions. His kicking I think does get overrated a bit. He's a good kick, but his kicking can lack penetration at times and from what I've seen can get found out against better opposition especially when he's going for distance.

His defending could also do with some work. He does read the play well, is a nice size at 188cm and can take a strong intercepting mark. But he plays rather loose and will need to play a lot tighter as he will get found out at the next level.

If he can't get it together as a defender he already has a decent endurance base and could play as an attacking winger which I do think is a bit more suitable for him especially early on.

If we could get him at our 3rd rounder I'd be very happy with that.