Mega Thread 2013 Official Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter MR

His sister is stunner though! Absolute babe! Works at osmosis at chirnside park

Set her up with Vlas - their son will have talent on both sides and at least half a chance of not being a tool.:thumbsu:

I spoke to a bloke a while back who went to school with Vlas, apparently he was an absolute prick aswell lol.

Funny, most people who say they either went to school with or knew an AFL footballer growing up reckon they were pricks.

He at least has the right footy attitude.:thumbsu:

Funny, most people who say they either went to school with or knew an AFL footballer growing up reckon they were pricks.

Jealousy probably.

I don't know Vlas personally but every other account I've heard of his character has been glowing. Maybe the other bloke is the prick? ;)

Jealousy probably.

I don't know Vlas personally but every other account I've heard of his character has been glowing. Maybe the other bloke is the prick? ;)

He was probably just self-confident. That often gets misinterpreted by people as being a prick & up yourself - particularly in this country.

Where is Kelly from vic metro expected to go?

Early i think, probably top 5-6. Unfortunate as i'm a massive fan, old man won a couple of Sandovers too, Football DNA is great. PLayed 60 odd games for the Roos too, so happy he isnt F/S as we would be hearing all about him on top of Mcdonald.

How would that work with the new F/S bidding process, assuming both attracted a bid earlier than the Roos first selection?

Same as the bulldogs with Libba and Wallis they'd use their 1st and 2nd round picks. Get one for about market price and the other well under.

My thoughts on yesterdays games:

Note: I had a list who I had an eye on so if I didn't list them it's because I wasn't paying attention. :D

1st rounder:

Dominic Sheed - I'd happily take him top 3 but Shifter apparently said he's a teens pick :confused: so I'll include him. Not a great athlete but is just a real footballer. Absolute gun. Can play inside/outside. Wins clearances, uses the ball well and kicks goals. Really smart player. If he's there (which he won't IMO) he's a must have.

Ben Lennon - Was very good as that high half forward. Really good size, strong mark and an elite kick of the footy. Not sure he lasts till our pick but if he does he's a very good fit for our club. Was definitely one of VM's best and one of the reasons they were able to make the game a contest.

Christian Salem - Didn't impact the game as much as I'd have liked to have seen. Uses the ball well when he gets it though.

Jack Billings - Really nice forward/mid prospect. Linked up well with Lennon to get VM back into the game. Used the ball really well, always looked dangerous as a marking option up forward.

Billy Hartung - Looked to take the game on with his run and carry. Was unfortunate his big run down the wing wasn't allowed due to his team receiving a 50m penalty. We need to add some speed to our team and I'd be more than happy to take Hartung.

Lewis Taylor - Small midfielder (174cm) but has elite speed and skills. Also has a very good side step so is very difficult to tackle. Probably my last choice for this pick due to his lack of size but he does have the other attributes to make him a good AFL player.

2nd Rounder: (Note: A lot of these blokes will go between our 1st and 2nd pick)

Darcy Hourigan - The big SA key forward. Already a ready made size (94kg) and we need a CHF. Very good kick of the footy on his left and can thump them from well outside 50m. From memory kicked 3-4 goals. Looked a little unfit and lacked a defensive side but that will be fixed in an AFL environment. The reason I'm hoping he slides is he's only 190cm so as we've seen those types have slid in the past. (Darling/Membrey)

Luke Reynolds - Hourigan's partner in crime up forward. Another of those lead-up medium forwards. One thing that disappointed me with him was his goal-kicking was ordinary my his standards. He's usually a fantastic kick from what I've seen. Reynolds just kept getting involved in the game which is what you want from a high half forward type.

Mitch Harvey - Harvey intrigued me yesterday. Haven't seen him very high in anyone's mock drafts but think he fits in the 2nd round. Really good size (195cm/97kg) and can clunk a mark but showed he's pretty good at ground level. Drifted out of the game in the second half but that's partly to do with the other "talls" dominating. (Hourgian/Reynolds)

Jonothan Marsh - got injured during the game and was off for a lot of it. Did show his elite speed for a tall though but overall struggled to impact the game. Will know more Wednesday hopefully. Intriguing prospect as a lighning quick CHF who could play off a wing.

Blake Acres - WA wingman who got smashed into the turf early after kicking the opening goal. Uses the footy well but needs to be able to win more of his own footy. Just coming back from a shoulder injury so will only get better. One to watch.

James Tsitas - smallish midfielder (180cm) who won a lot of ball from what I saw but wasn't overly damaging. Does have a very good defensive side to his game for a kid. Was a bit underwhelming tbh.

3rd Rounder-late draft:

Darcy Cameron - athetlic type ruckman who is already a good size. Used the ball well for a young ruck when he gets it but didn't impact the game enough around the ground for my liking.

Clayton McCartney - one of my favourites. Has really good skills and vision. Was a quieter game by his standards but was ok setting up a couple of goals.

Jarman Impey - another of the indigenous VC boys. Played a role further up the ground and through defence. Used the ball really well except for one shocker on the full which was laughably bad. Showed some great speed at one stage bursting clear on the wing. Should have kept going to make the goal a bit easier and instead missed from 50.

Ben Sokol - WA boy with a ready made body who I like the look of. Imposes himself and gets into damaging positions. Should have kicked a few goals but missed which was unfortunate. Hopefully converts his chances at Etihad and he'll start getting talked about a bit more.

Daniel McStay - was really competitive as a KPD and provided really good drive from the back line for a big bloke. Has good skills for a big guy and if he was there as a 4th rounder or later and if we decide we need a KPD which I believe we do then this could be the kid to target IMO.

Others of Interest: (Rookie Prospects)

Aliir Aliir - Sudanese 19yo who played KPD. Super athletic and 195cm. Needs to get stronger which he has the frame to do. His game sense seems ok for a guy who hasn't played a lot of footy. I think there's a bit to work with to be able to develop a big defensive stopper down back. His skills are good enough to be able to play that role.

Angus Milham - Would be a huge project but he showed a bit and at 210cm he's worth the punt IMO. Good tap ruckman with his height but isn't afraid to get down and dirty at ground level and lay tackles. Worst case scenario is you get an interesting prospect than another team trades for which for a rookie is a win. Just look at Jarrod Witts.

Toby Nankervis had 22 possessions and kicked 5 goals for Tassie today, and was listed as their best player. :thumbsu:

Eli Templeton had 27 possessions and a goal.

However, I would like us to look at Kade Kolodjashnij. 34 possessions, 10 marks and kicked 2 goals.