2013 SEQAFL Division 3

This is something I will speak to Bec about, I speciffically told her to say "hey you Carrara jerks, stay up on that hill ya sillys". Not sure how that could be misinterpreted so badly!

Seriously though- why in QLD are clubs so stuck in "no body else does it"? Educating your inexperienced players is a must if you want to improve. 99% of blokes who grew up in Vic would remember the buddy system and learning by watching a more experience team! If any coach doesn't take the time to look at there opposition they deserve to lose IMO.
Spot on Gaz. Our younger players watched and took it in like a sponge. granted Coomera have quite a few new players but they are experienced men. They took in how well Stu, Muzz and Rick combined and took note of how and where they lead to. The biggest thing we all noticed was from the start of the game until the UQ goal umpire was tipped off just before quarter time they had 17 on the field. What did someone say earlier about learning the basics of football?

You would be correct in your analysis on that. Did you put that in your book too? ;)

I agree that there would have been some benefit in it for sure. It depends on the situation of the club I guess. If we had been given the bye in the first round and Pine Rivers were playing at Carrara, Logan or Beenleigh would we have had a look? Perhaps.

Personally I worry about my own game and my own team rather than what the opposition are doing. Not a criticism for those who do it differently just saying I don't.

In my younger days at Cooli and in Melbourne I played some run with roles. My preparation was no different than today except I knew the number of the guy I would be on. Stop him getting the ball. Got it. Similarly my time at Full Back I would do the same. Stop him getting goals. Got it.
Today you have experience to get you through. But by your own admission in your younger days you were given a number. We don't know who is who at Coomera or any other club for that matter. Teddy was there last year but your seniors are a different outfit. KP and Jase can help us out a little with buffs. We know how to play and handle Webby at Moorooka having coached against him last year but other than that we know nothing about our opposition at all. So a little insight will always help. Besides we are a young side still in development stage remember so we have to take the boys out on a school excursion :p

TBH Gaz, I think its more a case of here in Qld we do it bc we have been told it is a good idea (by someone from Vic usually that has extrapolated their footy career to read more like a 100 game AFL player than an also ran), not whether it makes sense. At the end of the day local footy is just a simple case of do we have 22 players better than the opposition and do we use the footy better when we do have it? There might be one player worth tagging on the other side and then you need to find someone who can actually do this (not that easy sometimes). As far as structures and set ups are concerned, what you learnt in a game of footy you could probably pick up after 10min of the 1st qrt tbh! I don't think what the Carrara guys did is a waste of time (bc like Cobra said, young fellas watching another game of footy live has to be a good thing) but on the other hand I think Swoop/BOC are correct in that what they get out of it and then able to implement could be disputed. Anyway, good luck with t all - certainly the new boys have thrown the cat amongst the pigeons in this comp! :)

Spot on Gaz. Our younger players watched and took it in like a sponge. granted Coomera have quite a few new players but they are experienced men. They took in how well Stu, Muzz and Rick combined and took note of how and where they lead to. The biggest thing we all noticed was from the start of the game until the UQ goal umpire was tipped off just before quarter time they had 17 on the field. What did someone say earlier about learning the basics of football?
Rumour is I'm going to be isolated in the goal square this week mate so best get a couple of your best blokes to come watch me at training Tuesday.

I'll be the guy 5m behind the rest of the pack during the warm up laps...

What do you mean? Just give me the cash for your half the rent and I'll make sure I go and pay the agents! Ha
Anyway it could be worse, you could be moving in with big bald sniping prick from Logan. Honestly how he gets away with cheap shots continually behind play is beyond me. Surely he doesn't think this scared opposition cause all it does it fires them up even and shows how weak you are! Try going in for the hard ball instead of sniping blokes behind play. Overall though logan Genuinely battled all day and you have to feel for a club that didn't have a field for 2 months cause of flooding. And a free sausage in bread at games end. I love free stuff

I was at that Logan game. Its all good to sit at the computer, not having been on the field, complaining about the bald lad from Logan being thug but its not the case. He copped as good as he gave from what I was watching.
He just has a take no shit attitude and lets ya know it. Its not dirty its hard football, no one got hit from behind and as much as ya wanna point fingers he goes hardbat the footy, does not take a backwards step.
I guess we all like to make those kinda guys out as the sniping pricks, but its football. No one managed to come near him when he managed to stay on the field..
What do you mean? Just give me the cash for your half the rent and I'll make sure I go and pay the agents! Ha
Anyway it could be worse, you could be moving in with big bald sniping prick from Logan. Honestly how he gets away with cheap shots continually behind play is beyond me. Surely he doesn't think this scared opposition cause all it does it fires them up even and shows how weak you are! Try going in for the hard ball instead of sniping blokes behind play. Overall though logan Genuinely battled all day and you have to feel for a club that didn't have a field for 2 months cause of flooding. And a free sausage in bread at games end. I love free stuff

The big fella from Logan was unlucky to get sent off.
1st yellow he got mugged by two players after making a fair tackle, was punched by both and retaliated.. Always the one who retaliates does the ref see, so he should have known better.
2nd yellow was for talking shit so I'm told, there was no scrapping involved.
As for cheap shots ill admit a few a little late, but no free kick awarded so couldn't have been to bad..quote="Morro, post: 27687632, member: 58064"]I also heard the Big fella was as dirty as they get on the weekend, 2 yellow cards I believe??? That is actually meant to be an instant red. He is a thug thats for sure.

I didnt see the game, but plenty of Buffs did.

The big surprise for me on the weekend was the reaming of Pine rivers, can anyone from the Pine enlighten us as to how/why they were beaten so well, especially when everyone, including me was expecting them to be quite strong?

Well done to the Saints on their debut, words cant explain how I excited I am to meet you guys this week.

All other results, hardly surprising although I would have expected a more competitive effort from Calamvale, what happened Mighty?

I just hope the results on the weekend are not indicative of the season ahead, Div 3 needs to be competitive across the division to sustain itself IMO.[/quote]

What a grub thing to say.
No one deserves to be injured. I was at game and as u can obviously tell a cobra fan. The big fella Def goes hard at the man and goes harder at the footy. Say what u like every team loves a teammate like that, and every opposition hates a bloke like that . As for punching a young bloke, that young bloke if you wanna throw punches at someone gotta expect them back. Playin with the big boys now.
Not agreeing with posting pictures or whatever but poor taste is punching a young bloke several times when he's on the ground and late elbows on numerous occasions. It's absolutely disgusting and can't have any sympathy for a bloke that gets injured when he goes out of his way to injure blokes all game. Quite simply the dog did get what he deserved

looked at the team lists, saw your name and thought you guys must have (A) either had a heap out or (B) you've un-retired. then saw #41 got a gig in the ones and knew it was at least partly A ;)

Don't you worry bout #41 Lenny his old legs are still carrying him around the ground!

Swoopa,
Thanks to the Coomera Club for their hospitality on Saturday. Ressies game was a lot of fun and we enjoyed a trot around the paddock with a great bunch of guys. We didn't play good footy so looking forward to crossing horns next time.
Cant say we "enjoyed" the seniors - that was a serious thrashing by a seriously good side. Again though great bunch of guys who very respectful in the the fact that there was a substantial skill gap.
Looking forward to returning the hospitality in mid June!!

Swoopa,
Thanks to the Coomera Club for their hospitality on Saturday. Ressies game was a lot of fun and we enjoyed a trot around the paddock with a great bunch of guys. We didn't play good footy so looking forward to crossing horns next time.
Cant say we "enjoyed" the seniors - that was a serious thrashing by a seriously good side. Again though great bunch of guys who very respectful in the the fact that there was a substantial skill gap.
Looking forward to returning the hospitality in mid June!!
Not a problem Oldman. Glad you enjoyed the run and appreciate the spirit in which you lads played. Could've been easy for a team facing a large deficit to lose focus of the ball and glad that wasn't the case.

I truly believe there will be another great UQ/Coomera match or 2 this year in the Ressies.

Although rumour is some of our critics are referring to us as "looking 6months pregnant" and "fat and slow".

TBH Gaz, I think its more a case of here in Qld we do it bc we have been told it is a good idea (by someone from Vic usually that has extrapolated their footy career to read more like a 100 game AFL player than an also ran), not whether it makes sense. At the end of the day local footy is just a simple case of do we have 22 players better than the opposition and do we use the footy better when we do have it? There might be one player worth tagging on the other side and then you need to find someone who can actually do this (not that easy sometimes). As far as structures and set ups are concerned, what you learnt in a game of footy you could probably pick up after 10min of the 1st qrt tbh! I don't think what the Carrara guys did is a waste of time (bc like Cobra said, young fellas watching another game of footy live has to be a good thing) but on the other hand I think Swoop/BOC are correct in that what they get out of it and then able to implement could be disputed. Anyway, good luck with t all - certainly the new boys have thrown the cat amongst the pigeons in this comp! :)

Hey SMY this is possibly the longest post ever on big footy. congrats!!!!
ps- aint nobody got time fo' that.

Not a problem Oldman. Glad you enjoyed the run and appreciate the spirit in which you lads played. Could've been easy for a team facing a large deficit to lose focus of the ball and glad that wasn't the case.

I truly believe there will be another great UQ/Coomera match or 2 this year in the Ressies.

Although rumour is some of our critics are referring to us as "looking 6months pregnant" and "fat and slow".
Well if you guys are "fat and slow" then some of your opposition are in for a lesson about what "fat and slow" lads can do on the paddock!!

The thing is the assessment was made by someone that is more than qualified in both areas to make that judgement.... :D

As I am heading to Wellington tomorrow to watch the mighty Swans v Saints I will get my tips in early

1s

Beenleigh v Logan - Beenleigh
Calamve v Ipswich - Ippy
Carrara v Coomera - Coomera
Pine Rivers v Roosters - Pine Rivers
UQ get a very timely break.

2s
Beenleigh v Logan - Beenleigh
Calamve v Ipswich - Ippy
Carrara v Coomera - Coomera - will eb close I reckon but experience to win out
Pine Rivers v Roosters - Pine Rivers
UQ still favourites for twos flag in my eyes - have a good rest lads

Rumour is I'm going to be isolated in the goal square this week mate so best get a couple of your best blokes to come watch me at training Tuesday.

I'll be the guy 5m behind the rest of the pack during the warm up laps...

Grounds in great Knick swoopa looking forward to the big challenge ahead

Beenleigh v Logan - Beenleigh in both
Calamve v Ipswich - Ipswich in both
Carrara v Coomera - Coomera in both
Pine Rivers v Roosters - Pine Rivers in both

Seniors
Beenleigh v Logan
Calamve v Ipswich
Carrara v Coomera
Pine Rivers v Griffith Moorooka

Reserves
Beenleigh v Logan