2013 SEQAFL Division 3

Why would they be playing seniors? Wouldn't they top up the reserves? After all the reserves are "In Reserve" to top up the seniors.......

I was responding to Angry Mango's question as to why we didnt use Div 1 or U18 guys to top up Div 3 seniors. Fact is that we do top up/double up with reserves on many weekends

the point is that you responded that "div 4 players are not generally up to playing div 3 seniors." The query off the back of that is - why don't the Div 3 reserves go up to div 3 seniors, and div 4 players play div 3 reserves?

Exactly my point. Robina would never make the Seniors enter a game with half fresh players, if the 2's had to be topped up with a bunch of spuds then so be it. Senior football is the reason the club goes around it's disappointing clubs get that confused.

6a00d8341bf89d53ef01156fc7dd2f970c-pi.jpg

Where r the finals this week? Why the **** cant AFLQ just leave it to the ladder to decide finals fixtures? works for every other state! Hope there is a few gold coast finals. Did Carrara apply? or are they still wondering where it all went wrong?
I think there's a bit more science behind it to just announce. There's the consideration of participating teams junior clubs for example.

I do agree though that it would be good for all to know!

Because although we started with plenty of numbers we didn't end up with heaps. Playing the Div 4 team ultimately smashed us for numbers and we had to keep fielding a side in order not to forfeit. It then falls to the ressies to double up in div 3 as the Div 4 guys were often playing at the same time.
Its tricky running a football club with lower grades largely made up of young university students - who often miss the big "C" in commitment!

Because although we started with plenty of numbers we didn't end up with heaps. Playing the Div 4 team ultimately smashed us for numbers and we had to keep fielding a side in order not to forfeit. It then falls to the ressies to double up in div 3 as the Div 4 guys were often playing at the same time.
Its tricky running a football club with lower grades largely made up of young university students - who often miss the big "C" in commitment!
why not have afl reschedule the match for ya? or is that just for games ya ressies mite lose?

I think there's a bit more science behind it to just announce. There's the consideration of participating teams junior clubs for example.

I do agree though that it would be good for all to know!

If the powers that be had any organizational skills they would have already had the grounds worked out for a Coomera win or a Ipswich win

Qualifying Finals will be held at Wynuum with an 11am and 1.15pm start for Reserves and Seniors respectively. This allows Pine Rivers reserves and support staff the opportunity to get back to their Senior game. This was put to us by AFLQ last night and we believed that it was a fair request. Anyone who works at committee level or even as a volunteer would know the strain it would place had we objected.

In regards to the ground being closer to Pine Rivers than Coomera for the reserves match, this is a no brainer- you make judgements on the Senior side. It will be a neutral ground for both and if you can't win at Wynuum this year well then you're in strife! The Grand Final is there after all.

Well g'day there, what happened on the weekend? I see there is finals this weekend so I must have missed rd 18... Ha ha! I hope everyone's prep is coming along nicely for the weekend... Any idea of awards night? If Logan got through could be Beenleigh Logan following week, surely awards would be Monday before that!! Too soon?? Ha ha!!

So Coomera and Beenleigh have asked AFLQ to rethink the early game but were told no. We asked if we could just meet half way and have the game start half an hour early and the Pine Rivers v Logan game half an hour later (to allow their Ressies the full hour they need) but that would make it "too dark".

Makes it tough on guys with other commitments but ah well it's finals! You make things work!!

So Coomera and Beenleigh have asked AFLQ to rethink the early game but were told no. We asked if we could just meet half way and have the game start half an hour early and the Pine Rivers v Logan game half an hour later (to allow their Ressies the full hour they need) but that would make it "too dark".

Makes it tough on guys with other commitments but ah well it's finals! You make things work!!

''Nice guys'' Tuesday, hard done by Wednesday, what's today going to bring?

We thought it was a fair request to have space between the 2 games but had said we would need to run it by the playing group to see if it was possible. It is putting strain on 3 of the 4 participating teams (only the closest team is not effected) and we asked them to consider the team that finished 3rd in the Seniors make adjustments to their start time and were told no.

It's not just us but Beenleigh who are asking for consideration. Remember its an hour early for a game that is an hours travel away. Just asked for consideration seeing as how we were minor premiers.

I hope that clarifies it for you.

We thought it was a fair request to have space between the 2 games but had said we would need to run it by the playing group to see if it was possible. It is putting strain on 3 of the 4 participating teams (only the closest team is not effected) and we asked them to consider the team that finished 3rd in the Seniors make adjustments to their start time and were told no.

It's not just us but Beenleigh who are asking for consideration. Remember its an hour early for a game that is an hours travel away. Just asked for consideration seeing as how we were minor premiers.

I hope that clarifies it for you.

It's finals football, players should be bending over backwards to play in it, not complaining about start times!

Pine Rivers and Wynnum aren't exactly neighboring suburbs, close to 40 mins travel time. AFLQ gave you a reason, that it could get dark by the end of the game if started too late. Just be thankful they didn't put the games on Sunday...

It's finals football, players should be bending over backwards to play in it, not complaining about start times!

Pine Rivers and Wynnum aren't exactly neighboring suburbs, close to 40 mins travel time. AFLQ gave you a reason, that it could get dark by the end of the game if started too late. Just be thankful they didn't put the games on Sunday...
Not arguing with you on it at all. Our players have and will bend over backwards to play. It was merely informing people on this forum of the discussions around their decision. Unless I am mistaken these topics are part of the reason for forums.

We are happy to play at Wynuum, and very proud to be in the position we are. Just thought it was an interesting topic for a forum which is constantly stagnant.

Good luck to all (and by all I really only mean those not playing us).

ur wrong swooper forums are to hang shit on flogs. axle obviusly comes from pinerivers and is happy the afl are lookin after em. His right but ur boys should suck it up. arent u used to gettin the raw end from the league yet? if ur ressies and seniors were split ud want to have the time difference.

dont they have lights at pinerivers? if so then I reckon it shoulda been played later.why wasnt game at coomera or beenleigh if you guys care so much?

now there is no doubt UQ stack their ressies, come at me old man, and defend the indefensible
We play you in round 1 and punt you by 100 points because you dont have your team together. You then go and win every game after that till we play you again in round 10 and we beat you by about 15 points in a ripper gamer.
Today we played a good hard game of footy in finals mode and we beat you by just 19 points - about 4 kicks in it. If that is indicative of stacking then there is something wrong with you.
You guys did really well today and we loved being out there for the contest. You guys had your chances and we were a bit lucky.
Last word - Go and enjoy the wrap up of a really good season - and dont be a sore ****ing loser!!

2013 SEQAFL Division 3