List Mgmt. 2014 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter GrandBlue

Who would you like us to select with our first round pick right now? (Wright & Durdin excluded)

http://boundforglorynews.com/2014-draft-profile-reece-mckenzie/

Reece McKenzie (Northern Knights)
Height: 196 cm
Weight: 100 kg
Position: Key forward/ruckman
Player comparison: Travis Cloke
Strengths: Contested marking, running patterns, dominates gamesAreas needing improvement: Goal kicking consistency, temperament

Reece McKenzie will take the AFL by storm. He’s been kicking bags of goals since 16 years of age, when he kicked 10 for Marcellin in the A-Team.His marking is unbelievable: no defender can beat him for strength in the TAC Cup, he has enough acceleration on the lead to constantly turn a one-metre advantage into two on the lead and his running patterns are unpredictable, but intelligent.The sum of all the parts means he could easily be one of the best key forwards this year, but he struggles to put it all together.McKenzie is stronger than anyone in this draft class. He is a man mountain, yet he seems to be able to move well and find the ball up the field. His disposal average of 11 is strongly affected by his down games.When he is playing poorly, he barely finds the footy. McKenzie averages a tick under six marks per game, which shows how hard he works to get himself into the game. What is even scarier is his contested marking: he has three per game.When on song, McKenzie looks as though he has as much talent and dominance as Patrick McCartin. However, what separates the two is goal kicking.Against the Eastern Ranges earlier this year, McKenzie kicked 1.4 with one out on the full. He had nine marks – three of those contested – and he added 18 hitouts. He was unstoppable that day, but he just kept missing.His mental demons really got the better of him. I interviewed him early in the year, and he said that because he has such a high expectation of himself, he can get frustrated when he isn’t playing well, which can really throw him off his game. That will get better with maturity.Fast forward a few months, and McKenzie took on the Ranges again. This time, he kicked 10.4 from his 19 disposals and 13 marks (eight of those contested). Clearly, his best is unstoppable. His goal tally of 26 in eight games is okay, but he must learn how to kick straight.His father, Warren McKenzie, played in Carlton’s 1987 premiership. However, Warren didn’t play 100 games, and thus McKenzie is on the open market. The Blues have had their eyes on him since he was 16. At that stage, he was an elite basketballer.This year marks his first season at TAC Cup level, although he had been part of the Northern Knights since the under 16s. The Blues have a strong interest in McKenzie, but his 10 goal game may take him from being a late second rounder into a possible top 25 selection.

Having said that, if he can find the footy in the air as easily as he seems to be able to, that's fine by me. Well sort out the rest of his game later.

Well that's farked that idea then - thanks for turning him into Jarryd Roughead "boundforglory"
Boundforglory could do a write up about someone who didn't get drafted and still make them sound like the love child of Gazza and Buddy. His stats speak for themselves though, want him!

they all do that :)

I could make Foster sound like Ablett Snr if I wanted ;)

just have to play down the flaws and highlight the strengths
I'm not too concerned, someone good should pop up around our pick/s :D

Strengths: Contested marking, running patterns, dominates gamesAreas needing improvement: Goal kicking consistency, temperament

Reece McKenzie will take the AFL by storm. He’s been kicking bags of goals since 16 years of age, when he kicked 10 for Marcellin in the A-Team.His marking is unbelievable: no defender can beat him for strength in the TAC Cup, he has enough acceleration on the lead to constantly turn a one-metre advantage into two on the lead and his running patterns are unpredictable, but intelligent.The sum of all the parts means he could easily be one of the best key forwards this year, but he struggles to put it all together.McKenzie is stronger than anyone in this draft class. He is a man mountain, yet he seems to be able to move well and find the ball up the field. His disposal average of 11 is strongly affected by his down games.When he is playing poorly, he barely finds the footy. McKenzie averages a tick under six marks per game, which shows how hard he works to get himself into the game. What is even scarier is his contested marking: he has three per game.When on song, McKenzie looks as though he has as much talent and dominance as Patrick McCartin. However, what separates the two is goal kicking.Against the Eastern Ranges earlier this year, McKenzie kicked 1.4 with one out on the full. He had nine marks – three of those contested – and he added 18 hitouts. He was unstoppable that day, but he just kept missing.His mental demons really got the better of him. I interviewed him early in the year, and he said that because he has such a high expectation of himself, he can get frustrated when he isn’t playing well, which can really throw him off his game. That will get better with maturity.Fast forward a few months, and McKenzie took on the Ranges again. This time, he kicked 10.4 from his 19 disposals and 13 marks (eight of those contested). Clearly, his best is unstoppable. His goal tally of 26 in eight games is okay, but he must learn how to kick straight.His father, Warren McKenzie, played in Carlton’s 1987 premiership. However, Warren didn’t play 100 games, and thus McKenzie is on the open market. The Blues have had their eyes on him since he was 16. At that stage, he was an elite basketballer.This year marks his first season at TAC Cup level, although he had been part of the Northern Knights since the under 16s. The Blues have a strong interest in McKenzie, but his 10 goal game may take him from being a late second rounder into a possible top 25 selection.

Having said that, if he can find the footy in the air as easily as he seems to be able to, that's fine by me. Well sort out the rest of his game later.

Surprised you aren't into Butcher if that's your view!

I'm pretty sure they compared Honeychurch to someone about 15cm taller than him last year, so I don't think people pay too much attention to it.

Pretty good know that there's a fair chance Wright/Durdin will fall to out pick, only major danger is if Frawley leaves Melbourne and they get band one compo.

On the current ladder, how I'd have the draft going.

1. St Kilda - McCartin
2. Melbourne - Petracca

3. GWS - Brayshaw
4. Brisbane - Durdin
5. Western Bulldogs - Wright

IMO McCartin and Petracca are both #1 and #2 in no particular order, these are the only two players I am 99% certain will be gone by our pick. Think Petracca will go #1 come draft day too.

I posted this on the Carlton board initially - but I figured its more useful here:

I a great conversation with a good Bulldogs source and reading between the lines - I'm pretty certain that the Bulldogs will be putting in a bid for Lions Academy player Matt Hammelmann.

Dalrymple is a fan.

I posted this on the Carlton board initially - but I figured its more useful here:

I a great conversation with a good Bulldogs source and reading between the lines - I'm pretty certain that the Bulldogs will be putting in a bid for Lions Academy player Matt Hammelmann.

Dalrymple is a fan.
Brissy would probably just take him with their 2nd wouldn't they?

I really wonder if there is any chance whatsoever Wright gets through to our pick, I reckon if Brissy finish above us and Melb don't get a compo pick, he could quite easily be there.

Campbell/Wright would be a perfect combo

Dalrymple is a fan.

appreciate the info. anything in particular dalrymple liked about the lad?

any suggestion about how early we'd nominate the kid? even if we nominate him with P5/6 - brissy could choose hime with P22 which is around his projected draft range. brissy's likely finishing spot directly below us sees them having us over a barrel in the chase for hammelmann

Brissy would probably just take him with their 2nd wouldn't they?

I really wonder if there is any chance whatsoever Wright gets through to our pick, I reckon if Brissy finish above us and Melb don't get a compo pick, he could quite easily be there.

Campbell/Wright would be a perfect combo

The Academy bidding takes place prior to the draft, so it makes it harder for clubs to strategise re: availability at each round.

I think you guys are a monty to finish above us (if you beat St. Kilda this week), and even though I would like us to, I just can't see us going for Wright, meaning that he could still be there at your first pick (#7?).

appreciate the info. anything in particular dalrymple liked about the lad?

any suggestion about how early we'd nominate the kid? even if we nominate him with P5/6 - brissy could choose hime with P22 which is around his projected draft range. brissy's likely finishing spot directly below us sees them having us over a barrel in the chase for hammelmann

No problems,

No other info other than Dalrymple is a fan and that he is "a good starting mould to work with", he rattled off more info about his traits (good mark agility and mark for his size).

Thanks for that information. Saw him on TAC show and they were talking him up. If his form keeps up he could jump into the top 10 and maybe could be seen ahead of a some of the other rated big guys. It looks like there could be 4 decent KP prospects in this years draft as a minimum. It's unlikely that we will finish outside the bottom 6 and of those I reckon Stkilda and Carlton will take a KP if possible and Brissie might. So there should be a highly rated big available for us or someone will pass on a highly rated mid to get a tall and we can then swoop on the cream of the mids. I actually don't mind having picks around 4 to 7 for that very reason.

From the little I have seen so far of all the KP Prospects Mckenzie looks the best to me so far in terms of a pure goal kicking KP forward. I'm not sure of Wright or McCartin as I have not seen enough yet.

Big fan of Reece McKenzie.

Good old fashioned full forward type.

I really wish his old man would have gotten to 100 games with us (and I'm sure you guys can sympathise with this).

His younger brother will be even better IMO.

....... great :( :thumbsd:

I think you guys are a monty to finish above us (if you beat St. Kilda this week), and even though I would like us to, I just can't see us going for Wright, meaning that he could still be there at your first pick (#7?).

how do you see the top 7 unfolding? getting 2 metre peter sounds awesome. i can see that clubs finishing below us may have more pressing needs thanks a ruck/fwd, but i don't know who else they could reasonabley rate a P4,5,6 candidate above him. surely he's best available?

Big fan of Reece McKenzie.

Good old fashioned full forward type.

I really wish his old man would have gotten to 100 games with us (and I'm sure you guys can sympathise with this).

His younger brother will be even better IMO.

....... great :( :thumbsd:

it smarts don't it? we'd be chuggin' along pretty well if ben was playing CHB and sam was at CHF!

how do you see the top 7 unfolding? getting 2 metre peter sounds awesome. i can see that clubs finishing below us may have more pressing needs thanks a ruck/fwd, but i don't know who else they could reasonabley rate a P4,5,6 candidate above him. surely he's best available?

Our recruiter for the past two years (Shane Rogers) changes his approach with each draft pool. In 2012 he adopted a best available approach (Menzel), whereas last year he adopted a best available for need/position approach (Cripps), and he's done a fantastic job so far.

I really rate Wright, and think that he could be a fantastic addition to our line up and forward structure, but its very hard to see how we will fit him in with our ruck/forward rotation even if he did slip through to us (which is unlikely because I doubt he'd get past both of Melbourne's picks.

I really do like him though, purely as a KPF target - of course, a lot can change after the trade period regarding the team dynamic and set up.

IMO I think the draft will work something like this:

1. St Kilda - McCartin
2. GWS - Petracca
3. Brisbane - Wright
4. Melbourne -Brayshaw
5. Melbourne - Durdin

... and from there it gets a little tricky:

6. Carlton - Ahern/Marchbank/Lever/Goddard
7. Western Bulldogs - Ahern/Marchbank/Lever/Goddard

Melbourne getting to double dip into the top 5 talent pool is what really throws a spanner in the works, what we both need is a few of the annual bolters to shoot up the ranks after the Combine in order for the 'top 5' to slip out to either of our picks.

it smarts don't it? we'd be chuggin' along pretty well if ben was playing CHB and sam was at CHF!

Yep, would be nice to have sole access to both of Warren's boys. We've got some father son's coming through next year and the year after in Rice, Bradley, Silvagni's (x2)

6. Carlton - Ahern/Marchbank/Lever/Goddard
7. Western Bulldogs - Ahern/Marchbank/Lever/Goddard
You don't rate Laverde?
I only ask as we tend to rate the rate of improvement over other aspects, far more than other clubs (e.g. Macrae, Bonti, Ward)

You don't rate Laverde?
I only ask as we tend to rate the rate of improvement over other aspects, far more than other clubs (e.g. Macrae, Bonti, Ward)

Whoops forgot about LaVerde, he's definatley a Dalrymple type (fits in with the Macrae/Bont mould).

I would include him within the mix of Ahern/Marchbank/Lever/Goddard, but I think if the reports of him growing up to 191 cm are true and he performs well at the Combine, he'd be one of the bolters that could push into the top 5.

Dalrymple is a fan.
Will be interesting to see how highly they rate him because they'll likely go a tall with their first pick
and already have Close and Freeman who are those skinny tall forwards (at the moment anyway)

I'm a fan of him to, both as a forward and defender

Dannnnnnnnnn, going back 12 months ago before Lever did his ACL, who did you think was the better player as a defender, Lever or Durdin?

Said defender because I know Durdin has the flexibility that Lever doesn't.