List Mgmt. 2014 Draft Watch Thread

Jeeez I go out for dinner and you guys turn on each other like wolves!

Everyone is allowed an opinion here. If you don't like someone's post, don't bite their head off. Just report it or ignore it. Don't inflame others.

We're all on the same team here.

Jeeez I go out for dinner and you guys turn on each other like wolves!

Everyone is allowed an opinion here. If you don't like someone's post, don't bite their head off. Just report it or ignore it. Don't inflame others.

We're all on the same team here.

I didn't think mods have lives? :p

It's the bye week, Let the lady enjoy the peace and quiet until the Saints flogs turn up on Monday morning. :p

Saints play Monday. Sunny_ gets a long weekend. Tuesday is when we can expect the posts on how much Longer is gonna kill us.

What did you eat for dinner Sunny :D

Okay so if you guys are done beating the shit out of each other I will go on to discuss the draft. I totally agree with Sunny_ on her thoughts via our drafting needs so my choices will reflect that. I expect we will select 3 players again. As Sunny_ said this draft is well stocked for key position however the amount of keys falls away significantly after the first 10 players in my opinion.

With our first pick:

#11 Gold Coast – Lachlan Weller (QLD – Mid)
Height: 180cm, Weight: 71kg, DOB: 23/02/1996
Recruited from: Broadbeach
Style: Sam Mitchell
Player comparison:
Range: 5-20
Profile: Small midfielder who can play both inside and outside the contest. He’s nothing like his brother and not nearly the physical beast his brother Maverick but a much better skilled player. Lachie has a damaging 55m kick on him and has excellent vision picking out targets up the field or inside 50 at will. He’s got a nice balanced game with ability both inside and outside the contest. He can win it inside the contest and is an effective stoppage player and has good hands inside the contest and finds targets inside by hand but then on the outside can also accumulate and use the ball really well. He from reports approaches the game professionally and is someone who will put in the work required to achieve success at the next level.

With our second pick:

*Still thinking...

With our third pick:

#35 Essendon - Sam Bevan (WA – KPF/KPD)
Height: 195cm, Weight: 80kg, DOB: 12/06/1996
Recruited from: Claremont
Style:
Player comparison:
Range: 20-rookie
Profile: A light body at this stage and a project player but has some talent. He’s for his size and type a very skilled key position player who uses it really well by foot. In front of goal he makes the most of his opportunities and rarely misses his set shot attempts. He’s a capable mark on the lead but with his lack of size not a 1v1 or contested marking threat at this point. Down back he’s a capable intercept mark reading it well and knowing when to peel off his man and can also play a reasonable shutdown role.

Obviously going to change heaps after the championships but I do think we need another KPF talent in the squad. I believe we should go to the rookie draft for a ruck. With that second pick I am hoping for either a small defender or small forward (or someone who can do both).

Clem Smith also really excites me (not in a Bruce Mcavaney homoerotic way) but we probably won't have a pick low enough to grab him if we take Lachie. If he is available at our first and Lachie isn't though then we should go for it.

#14 North Melbourne – Clem Smith (WA - Util)
Height:177cm, Weight: 74kg, DOB: 03/02/1996
Recruited from: Perth
Style: Byron Pickett
Player comparison:
Range: 10-30
Profile: Clem Smith is as hard as you’ll find and has electric pace making him a big time weapon and someone with a really unique game. He’s not a big guy and not tall but he has a real presence with the way he hits guys, bumps, tackles and hits the contests harder than anyone else on the field at any time. He can do the undisciplined and sometimes goes over the line but he’s got some real fight to him and you love to see that old fashion footballer, particularly when they have some special footballing talent to go with that. The other real point of difference with Smith is the way he takes on the game. He has excellent pace and can break the lines. He’ll need to iron out his footskills but he’s got some talent and is someone you notice out on the field with the hardness he plays with.

Smith would want to 'iron out those footskills'. Isn't he one of the worst kicks in the draft?

Good users of the footy are critical. It doesn't matter if you can break a line if you're going to kick it out of bounds or turn it over.

He has poor footskills but there is a lot to work with there. A hard nut inside player with excellent pace are rare commodities. There is a reason he is rated first round. You can iron out footskills but you cannot teach what he has.

Other thing is Sunny_, Clem Smith is the exact type of player our recruiters like to draft given his athleticism.

I was going to post this earlier but its already headed this way, I think in this draft we need to focus on players that can use it well and have superb footskills. Kolodjashnij probably has the best footskills on our team already( possibly equal to Ablett) and it really shows. I think we need someone with a similar skill set who can push through the middle, and off the wing delivering inside 50. Matt Shaw really doesn't have much competition for his spot with our squad atm. I don't think J.Hall should, or will be promoted so I wouldn't mind looking to the rookie draft for the best mature aged, genuine ruckman available.

I don't know if we can afford to wait until the rookie draft for a ruck?
We have seen how vulnerable our list is at the moment with only 3 rucks in Smith, Nichols & Gorringe.

And I'm also starting to 180 on my post saying picking up a ruck in ND. I thinking if Nichols does depart, we might need to hit trades week strong and grab a reasonably established ruckman who could hold down the #1 or #2 ruck role should things go pear shaped with Smith/Gorringe for whatever reason next season?

Similar to a Hawthorn targeting big boy McEvoy, the cats with McIntosh, etc, but obviously someone with less experience. Perhaps someone who has been on another's clubs list for a few years but stuck behind 2 experienced rucks & just needs the opportunity?

Something in my gut telling me as we head into next season as genuine finals contenders, we need 1 more "ready to go" ruck on our senior list, who can be picked at anytime and not just when have a LTI? All comes down to Nichols and if he stays or goes, bugger better decide either way sooner rather than later!?

I don't know if we can afford to wait until the rookie draft for a ruck?
We have seen how vulnerable our list is at the moment with only 3 rucks in Smith, Nichols & Gorringe.

And I'm also starting to 180 on my post saying picking up a ruck in ND. I thinking if Nichols does depart, we might need to hit trades week strong and grab a reasonably established ruckman who could hold down the #1 or #2 ruck role should things go pear shaped with Smith/Gorringe for whatever reason next season?

Similar to a Hawthorn targeting big boy McEvoy, the cats with McIntosh, etc, but obviously someone with less experience. Perhaps someone who has been on another's clubs list for a few years but stuck behind 2 experienced rucks & just needs the opportunity?

Something in my gut telling me as we head into next season as genuine finals contenders, we need 1 more "ready to go" ruck on our senior list, who can be picked at anytime and not just when have a LTI? All comes down to Nichols and if he stays or goes, bugger better decide either way sooner rather than later!?

I said no trade talk :P Lets wait and see what Nicholls does before we start panicking about ruck stocks.

History shows you have just as good a chance finding a good ruck prospect late in the ND or in the rookie draft as you do with an early pick. Dean Cox, Aaron Sandilands, Shane Mumford etc show this. I am always reluctant taking rucks high in the ND. I don't mind if we take one with our last pick though.

I was going to post this earlier but its already headed this way, I think in this draft we need to focus on players that can use it well and have superb footskills. Kolodjashnij probably has the best footskills on our team already( possibly equal to Ablett) and it really shows. I think we need someone with a similar skill set who can push through the middle, and off the wing delivering inside 50. Matt Shaw really doesn't have much competition for his spot with our squad atm. I don't think J.Hall should, or will be promoted so I wouldn't mind looking to the rookie draft for the best mature aged, genuine ruckman available.

Lachie Weller fills this void should we get him. I would like another good ball user but Clem Smith sounds special to me. Sort of talent you would regret passing on.

I will update my picks after the champs :)

Lachie Weller fills this void should we get him. I would like another good ball user but Clem Smith sounds special to me. Sort of talent you would regret passing on.

I will update my picks after the champs :)

Weller had 35 touches, 21 handball receives and 11 tackles against Gippsland on the weekend. Saw him in the flesh myself. He is going to be a beauty.

Jeeeeesus. Our chances of getting him slim further :( Thanks for the heads up mate!

Think his size could play a part in him maybe slipping to us?

Maybe he will end up joining his brother after all at the Saints?

Think his size could play a part in him maybe slipping to us?

Maybe he will end up joining his brother after all at the Saints?

How woud that happen? They will most likely have a top 3 pick then a second rounder. I would say thats pretty unlikely.

At a guess I would say he will fall somewhere between pick 6-10.

How woud that happen? They will most likely have a top 3 pick then a second rounder. I would say thats pretty unlikely.

At a guess I would say he will fall somewhere between pick 6-10.

We have seen some bolters before in the draft. As Sunny_ says he keeps putting out performances like that he will find himself top 5 very quickly.

Plus also as Sunny said, StKilda are much better than us, so no chance at bottom 3 :p

We have seen some bolters before in the draft. As Sunny_ says he keeps putting out performances like that he will find himself top 5 very quickly.

Plus also as Sunny said, StKilda are much better than us, so no chance at bottom 3 :p

I doubt it man. There are some serious key position prospects which the likes of St Kilda and Brisbane will definitely not pass up on. Durdin, Wright and McCartin would almost definitely be selected before Weller. Then there is Goddard too who is another KPF who will most likely be selected before Weller. Then Brayshaw who is far and away the best mid in this draft.

I'll take your word on it man. Since I have been up here I have lost touch with everything through the carnivals and underage :thumbsu:

Haha. The joys of the interwebs though!