2014 Leadership group announced

• Thread starter Thread starter Michaels

Not surprised to see Jack out. Was surprised to see him in it last year. More concerned about Grimes being left out. Makes new wonder if the club is doubtful in his ability to stay healthy. V worried because I bloody live Grimesy.

Speaking to Dad today, he said some SEN journo was saying this is a sign Jack in on the outs at RFC

Is this right, or does Dad finally need a hearing aid?

Speaking to Dad today, he said some SEN journo was saying this is a sign Jack in on the outs at RFC

I wouldn't read too much into jack not being in the LG this year. He has a new role to focus on and will still provide some leadership during games just he doesnt have the official title. Probably just takes a bit of the load off so he can focus on his own game a bit more. Just like marics inclusion - he will play a lot more forward so he's not rucking 85% of the game and can provide a bit of leadership. Grimes' ommision is coz he never plays so what's the point and jacko is a great bloke and won the jd medal so kinda makes sense. Not sure if i just did though :confused:

It's more that the journo is a moron.

Which journo ? Blobbo ?

Im pretty happy about this now, just shows no one is above the club anymore.
Matty Lloyd summed it up, would other great key forwards like Pav, Nick R or J Browne show the sooky petulance of Jack on field? Nup. Good call and i hope its the making of him as the footballer he should be.

Ralphy did say today 'when is jack out of contract? Maybe sell to the highest bidder'. This is just ralphy exhibiting the worst of our supporters.

Matty Lloyd summed it up, would other great key forwards like Pav, Nick R or J Browne show the sooky petulance of Jack on field? Nup. Good call and i hope its the making of him as the footballer he should be.
While he clearly does it more than these players, they do crack it, at times, and yet it is never brought up which I think is a double standard.

In 3 years time Chaplin, Maric, Jackson and dare I say it Cotchin might not even be at the club. Seems like politics to me. Those who know Jack Riewoldt know that he is probably the most passionate guy at the club and from what I can see on field, he is always first to give direction and is always willing to bring players into the game. Obviously the players and coaches know best and have selected the "right people"... but I personally don't see it.

Deledio and Cotchin are like little mice as far as I can see. Both terrific players, and whilst Cotchin stands up in clutch situations I'm still waiting for Lids to stamp his authority on a 50/50 game. Perhaps both appointed for "lead by example" roles. Both have a long way to go if they want to become captains like Luke Hodge for example...(who surprise surprise has had his fair share of undisciplined acts and emotional displays). Speaking of undisciplined acts...Dan Jackson?

Annnyway some harsh on Jack IMO. You need to reward the guys who bleed for the jumper. Cotchin wouldn't even wear the right jumper....ah well!

I don't mean to offend mate but I dare say you have never pulled on a footy boot in anger to say what you have just said. Deledio yeah one can find faults re leadership at critical times. But you're having a crack at Cotchin who was a first year young captain and showed fantastic leadership in his first year.

And when selecting leaders, you don't select them simply because they may bleed for the jumper. JR shows me little as a leader out on the ground. I see him exactly as I saw Adam Goodes when he first missed out on getting onto the Swans leadership group...strutting around thinking he was a leader and mouthing off as if he was but his actions were far from a leader. Roos pulled him up on it, didn't get him on the group and a few years later Goodes gets on and is a very good leader. Hopefully JR takes something out of it and learns what qualities his teammates look for in a leader. He obviously doesn't have them.

And WTF are you going on about re Cotchin not even wearing the right jumper? You still going on about him not wearing #17?

I've seen them all do it. Especially Nick R and Pav and Lloydy himself. But theFlea is right the Journo's don't bring it up.

I personally think they see Jack as an easy target. They get into him about being selfish and he goes out of his way to give up goals he should be kicking himself. How many times in the last two years has jack had a chance to nail a goal and instead screws the ball around a corner to pick out a team mate? I can think of at least half a dozen.

Maclures is the worst and its the only insight he offers into a game he commentates on other then if a team is losing they just didn't go in hard enough or the winning team went in harder for the ball.

Only have to look at HSUN and channel 9's lead news stories after it was said Jack was not in the leadership group. Jack Reiwoldt sensationally dumped for Richmonds leadership group. Only reason its sensational is because they make a massive headline and then barely a mention of Grimes being removed too.

Jack is passionate and wears is heart on his sleeve, he loves the club no doubt, but you can't have people that drop there bundle when they having a bad day being a leader. Chaplin or Jack that's easy. Always thought they put Jack in this role too early. Also the media can suck balls, typical... Don't believe the hype!

I've seen them all do it. Especially Nick R and Pav and Lloydy himself. But theFlea is right the Journo's don't bring it up.

I personally think they see Jack as an easy target. They get into him about being selfish and he goes out of his way to give up goals he should be kicking himself. How many times in the last two years has jack had a chance to nail a goal and instead screws the ball around a corner to pick out a team mate? I can think of at least half a dozen.

Maclures is the worst and its the only insight he offers into a game he commentates on other then if a team is losing they just didn't go in hard enough or the winning team went in harder for the ball.

Only have to look at HSUN and channel 9's lead news stories after it was said Jack was not in the leadership group. Jack Reiwoldt sensationally dumped for Richmonds leadership group. Only reason its sensational is because they make a massive headline and then barely a mention of Grimes being removed too.

How many times has Heath Shaw, Steve Johnson etc cracked it at players? All the effing time, yet they don't get these calls from the commentators. Yes Maclure I'm talking to you!! And you know what I think is funny, its not ok for players to bad mouth other players(mostly for not following team rules), yet it's fine to coaches to display petulance, sooking, cracking the sads in the coaches box, which is highlighted even more these days by the TV stations!!

I don't mean to offend mate but I dare say you have never pulled on a footy boot in anger to say what you have just said. Deledio yeah one can find faults re leadership at critical times. But you're having a crack at Cotchin who was a first year young captain and showed fantastic leadership in his first year.

And when selecting leaders, you don't select them simply because they may bleed for the jumper. JR shows me little as a leader out on the ground. I see him exactly as I saw Adam Goodes when he first missed out on getting onto the Swans leadership group...strutting around thinking he was a leader and mouthing off as if he was but his actions were far from a leader. Roos pulled him up on it, didn't get him on the group and a few years later Goodes gets on and is a very good leader. Hopefully JR takes something out of it and learns what qualities his teammates look for in a leader. He obviously doesn't have them.

And WTF are you going on about re Cotchin not even wearing the right jumper? You still going on about him not wearing #17?

You haven't offended me mate no dramas. :)

I clearly like Cotchin, hence my avatar and name etc, but I think a lot of people in this thread have been out of line regarding Jack. As others have pointed out, the management and inner sanctum know best and have probably made the most informed decision but I disagree on a lot of the reasons here.

To summarise the points made:

• Jack's a bit self absorbed. I brought up Cotchin not wearing the jumper as I think his decision to wear 9 suggested it is a bit about him (also the fact that he deliberately placed contract to extract as much money as possible when he comes out as a FA is strange). I think that Riewoldt loves the club more and is more selfless than Cotchin. Not that Cotchin in the worst. Just as a comparison. If your captain doesn't love the club more than some of the guys he's leading then it's a worry.
  • Jack doesn't show on-field leadership. Other than Chaplin I'd probably have him first on this list. Countless times I'v seen him doing that whistle he does, calling blokes back etc and giving direction. I brought up Deledio because I personally don't seem to notice him directing or influencing at clutch situations.
  • Jack is undisciplined and needs his head pulled in. Daniel Jackson has been rubbed out many more times than Jack so I think this is unfair.
Some people were a little out of line I feel. Perhaps he is not in the best 5 leaders at the club, no body here really knows but for people to come on and say yer good call, needs a wake up call etc is just strange.

How many of you / us / the media have thought that this is all about further team building and improving the leadership at the club. The club knows it has a bunch of guys who do show leadership qualities but also know that they need further development to continue the progress of this great club. So the leadership vote is taken, the team knowing it is being cut to five from last years 7 and thus some are going to miss out. The five best are selected and it shows that although Jack and Dylan DO HAVE LEADERSHIP ATTRIBUTES that they aren't as good as the top five and they need to develop it. The younger guys see that it takes more than just talent, needing application as well to get into and stay in the group. It motivates the guys who missed out, it motivates and sets the standard for the younger guys. This is all good news, none of it should be seen as a negative wrap on Jack (or Dylan) and it all points to a better, stronger more resilient team going forward. Keep up the good work Tigers.....

I like the thinking and I hope this is what was going on behind closed doors.

Someone above made the comparison of JR to Adam Goodes, and I thought that was an interesting point. Goodes has definitely developed a LOT through his career. Every year he comes out and gives something more than he gave the year before. (Plenty of Swans fit that description, too, IMO - Ryan O’Keefe, Kieran Jack, Jude Bolton etc).

Riewoldt has developed into a more complete player each year, so far. Hopefully, this shows him where the leadership bar is, and drives him to get over it, just like it did for Goodes.