Opinion 2014

• Thread starter Thread starter Simmofreo

Might be a tad pedantic but people need to remember it's not a draw but a fixture designed to maximise revenue, but yes our fixture next year will likely be much more difficult. I will lose my shit if they make us play the Hawks in Tassie again though, or Sydney in Sydney for that matter (unless we play both teams twice).

They probably will make us play them twice. We'll play WC twice, and then double up against 4 out of Hawthorn-Sydney-Geelong-Carlton-Port. I predict the AFL will make it Port that we play once ... with their Adelaide clashes, they also have to drop a double-up against one of the top 6.

We'll play Hawthorn at the MCG though.

be interesting to see if we recruit many new members. Would have gone through the roof if we had have won.

Pretty sure we broke our membership record this year and probably on the back of that Geelong final, would be shocked if we didn't break it again next year. Another couple good years and we should crack 50k.

I just had the heart to watch the GF replay after getting home from Melbourne.. OMG!!!!!! what a wasted opportunity. We played pretty well. Those shots on goal killed us. It is painful to watch, We were so close to winning a flag :( we so could have won that. Heartbreaking. It feels like it is going to be such a long road to get back there again. I don't know if i can handle the stress of the ladder predictor and defying the footy gods. So painful

Mundy, Fyfe, Barlow, Crowley, Morabito and Sandilands would monster the crap out of every midfield in the league

Sandilands should be the new Clark Keating.

Or Brad Ottens.

I think its realistic to expect Sandilands to play about 10-15 games in the year. We need to make sure that 3-4 of them are finals next year.

I would manage pav sandi and mcpharlin next year.

Id have the full strength team playing at any MCG games, other than that i wouldnt play them more than 15 games during the H&A.

Its all about september.

I think we managed it really well this year. Mcpharlin/Pav/Sandi travelled about 12 times between them for the year.

One good thing is we won't be playing the hawks in tassie, but for example, if we play GC in Brisbane then we should leave pav/mcpharlin/sandi behind.

Mcpharlin has 1 year left. Pav/Sandi probably have few more but none of them will be able to play the full 25 odd games it would require to win the cup.

I can't buy all the negativity about 2014, but can understand some of the nervousness (comes with being a Freo supporter). I think we will be up in the top 4 - top 6 for many years, Geelong like. I still have complete faith in RTB. We got where we got this year largely without Pav, Sandi and Macca anyway. Morabito is an x-factor in 2014. We have some good kids developing well and our competition over the next 4-5 years will lose as much player-wise as us.

I think playing Sydney, Hawks, Geelong etc twice actually helps us and lessens the chance of those teams going through the season with 2-3 losses. We know we can beat any of them at Subi if we play as we should. The future is bright!

Or Brad Ottens.

I think its realistic to expect Sandilands to play about 10-15 games in the year. We need to make sure that 3-4 of them are finals next year.

I think we managed it really well this year. Mcpharlin/Pav/Sandi travelled about 12 times between them for the year.

One good thing is we won't be playing the hawks in tassie, but for example, if we play GC in Brisbane then we should leave pav/mcpharlin/sandi behind.

Mcpharlin has 1 year left. Pav/Sandi probably have few more but none of them will be able to play the full 25 odd games it would require to win the cup.
Abbasolutely the three of them will play at most 15-17 games each.

Griffin was in great form before he went down. And zac will continue to improve. There will be no buddy.

We need to develop more mids so that fyfa , Barlow and muddy can rotate thru the forward half. All over 190cm and good overhead.

The premier side usually has its main starts injury free for most if not all season which the hawks did thisvyear and Sydney did in 2012 and geeeelog managed theirv ageing stars in 2011 etc

Abbasolutely the three of them will play at most 15-17 games each.

Griffin was in great form before he went down. And zac will continue to improve. There will be no buddy.

We need to develop more mids so that fyfa , Barlow and muddy can rotate thru the forward half. All over 190cm and good overhead.

The premier side usually has its main starts injury free for most if not all season which the hawks did thisvyear and Sydney did in 2012 and geeeelog managed theirv ageing stars in 2011 etc

This is a good point. Geelong have 13 or 14 players turning or over 30 years old next season. We should follow their lead in managing those more mature players as they have been very good at getting their best through the year and deep into the finals year after year.

Yeah but the Australian cricket team sucks now. My left nut has more talent than David Warner in a test match.
I always remember before he was selected for Australia he told Ponting to retire so the young guys could come through. He's a arrogant, meagrely talented little shit.

Had a read of the Risers/Sliders thread, and it seemed that more people reckon Hawks/Geel/Syd will drop than Freo.

Most people still predicting Freo for top 4, and TAB and Sportsbet both have us favourites for the flag (TAB tied with Hawks), even with the development of Buddy-->Sydney.

As has been said, the chance to play Geelong, Hawks, Sydney in Perth (or at least 2/3) would be good. Also remember it is "1-6", and this year 5th was Port Adelaide and 6th was Carlton. Wouldn't mind two games against each of them next year. The more difficult away legs would be against sides like Richmond, Collingwood and NM, all of which are in the next bracket.

Had a read of the Risers/Sliders thread, and it seemed that more people reckon Hawks/Geel/Syd will drop than Freo.

Most people still predicting Freo for top 4, and TAB and Sportsbet both have us favourites for the flag (TAB tied with Hawks), even with the development of Buddy-->Sydney.

As has been said, the chance to play Geelong, Hawks, Sydney in Perth (or at least 2/3) would be good. Also remember it is "1-6", and this year 5th was Port Adelaide and 6th was Carlton. Wouldn't mind two games against each of them next year. The more difficult away legs would be against sides like Richmond, Collingwood and NM, all of which are in the next bracket.
Richmond finished 5th and Collingwood finished 6th.

Nope because finals count. So Rich will be 7th and Coll 8th :)

woulda preferred rich and pies.. atleast that woulda been to more guaranteed games at the G

Also woodside need to step up their sponsorship and buy some industrials fans for FFC to simulate the MCG breeze. Think the players are spoilt wind wise with subi being relatively sheltered.

Nope because finals count. So Rich will be 7th and Coll 8th :)

That is interesting news, I knew that applied to the draft order but I didn't realise they had made that decision for the fixturing next year too