2015 QAFA (B) Central

Players coming back from injury, yes play in thirds and then move back up, but dropping players who are not injured is a dog tactic.
So your team makes finals but then the players that got you there are now playing in their proper team... Your actual 3rds team is subsequently beaten by a huge margin as their skill level isn't good enough for finals...

What's happens? You lose and a team that should be in finals isn't

So if a senior player is unavailable for a week due to a given personal reason eg. a wedding, do you think he should return in the reserves the week after or he should go straight back into the seniors if he is well and truly in the best 22?? I think you guys are likening a local club to a AFL list where the players are highly paid and don't generally have outside factors in missing a week of football unless it is injury or a major personal matter. Managing 3 teams through a club on a player list with unavails, injuries etc is a difficult job which makes this simply nonsense talk. This week for example should a player in a senior or a reserve grade team be unavailable to play on Saturday for whatever reason but avail to play tonight would have to be granted a match in order to maintain match fitness after the bye round. That falls within the management plan of the club. Likewise the club may think the player too important to risk in playing the match and he would just return to training and play the week after. The comments are not educated as they are outside views and just stabs in the dark. It's footy, things change in a heartbeat sometimes and sometimes a player is going to be disappointed on a decision. Swallow it and train better and improve...
Sounds about right to me.

If teams are going to drop players down to play 3s just means players from the opposition are going to have to stand up. No point having a sook cause players are better than you and create more of a challenge. If you don't like it maybe do a bit more work on your footy or train a bit harder so you can be on their level and you shouldn't have a problem

So your team makes finals but then the players that got you there are now playing in their proper team... Your actual 3rds team is subsequently beaten by a huge margin as their skill level isn't good enough for finals...

What's happens? You lose and a team that should be in finals isn't

Yeronga stacked their side late in the year last year to ensure finals. Then got done by 100 points in the final round of the season, and 100+ points in the finals.

There is no question that the 6th place side would have put up a better showing in the finals. So your theory is pretty sound.

ErnieD can claim it didsn't happened, but it was announced on their own facebook page and even their own supporters and former players were blowing up.

Wynnum did it to keep zillmere out of finals, then they stacked up against sandgate in prelim final and beat them by 101... But then lost GF by 40 cod their "good" players weren't available

What are you on about?

Wynnum only had one team. They were always the 2nd best team in the comp last year, but there was a big gap between 1 and 2.

Not sure how a standalone team 'stacked' ? They also barely had any changes to their finals 22 across 3 weeks.

Wynnum did it to keep zillmere out of finals, then they stacked up against sandgate in prelim final and beat them by 101... But then lost GF by 40 cod their "good" players weren't available
It may be worth deleting your post Wynnum had 25 players all year after losing their ressies and masters wrong call from the boundary their. Last years premiers were just far to good and deserved their bling infact the last 5 have been

Given Ipswich usually stock half their side with UQ blokes, but their seniors and ressies have a bye. you would expect they would have a few ressies guys running around to stock up the numbers - thats for sure.
Never saw it that way when made original status but you would think the league would look at the fixture before signing off on it

If teams are going to drop players down to play 3s just means players from the opposition are going to have to stand up. No point having a sook cause players are better than you and create more of a challenge. If you don't like it maybe do a bit more work on your footy or train a bit harder so you can be on their level and you shouldn't have a problem
how goods a senior player if he gets dropped to this grade perhaps he should give the game away

Q Fan sporting pulse stats that you fall back to, just don't stack up to say what you claim is factual. To hedge it based on a FB post does not make it gospel either. If you can take 10 mins to review and come up with where it was done I would be interested to see it. On the results side we lost to Woodsmen in the last round and then Jimboomba who I thought would have progressed to the prelim had their match v Sandgate been played in better conditions. I also think in posts last year you had singled out the Redbacks as the form team.

Redbackpride all of your players play in this league. Your comment doesn't give them too much credit. Your club has had its fair share of guns who would play senior footy in higher divisions. I respect players playing with their local footy club. So that has always been a big hurdle within this division which gets back to my original grading point... The division is actually good as it is which I think is sometimes left behind on the forum posts.
I will zip it up now.

looking at Sportingpulse, it appears they made precisely zero changes to their team between the Prelim and GF.

This guy is next level stupid.

Youve been around how long and havnt seen people play under other players names to circumvent those that look at names on lists?

You sir are an idiot! we had, as the previous people said, pretty much the same people with the same names play all year. Ask Macman and thommo.

Someone's been borrowing qafl fans crack pipe!!!!

Yeronga stacked their side late in the year last year to ensure finals. Then got done by 100 points in the final round of the season, and 100+ points in the finals.

There is no question that the 6th place side would have put up a better showing in the finals. So your theory is pretty sound.

ErnieD can claim it didsn't happened, but it was announced on their own facebook page and even their own supporters and former players were blowing up.

I have talked about this previously... but wasn't explicit. ErnieD is right - facebook shouldn't be regarded as gospel. A disgruntled person within a club can get on fb and say things that others at the club wouldn't agree with. People in this forum sometimes glean one piece of info out of context and then build on it, and that's what you have done here, QAFL Fan.

Last year there were a number of players at Yeronga who preferred to play Friday night football and sometimes chose to make themselves unavailable for Saturdays. Much to the frustration of people trying to get a 2s team together - which is understandable. But the culture of the 3s team has always been close knit, friendly, and a little separate - and this is attractive to many players. You could liken it to players preferring to play for Woodsmen, when their talent would suggest a Saturday start for Magpies would be a better fit.

At Yeronga, the 3s culture came from training very separately, playing in a different comp, on a different day. Over time some 3s veterans got pulled up to the 2s, but still saw themselves on some levels as 3s because that's where their mates played. The facebook post you saw was actually about players not wanting to play 2s and suddenly having to "work" on a Saturday etc. Is it stacking if the players are driving it rather than the hierarchy? I don't think so. But if you were involved in the 2s you might blow off a bit of steam in frustration. Unfortunately you might do it on a public site. And here we are.

I'd like to add that the club has worked hard and done really well to address the issues that led to this situation. In 2015 there is a much more integrated and united feeling across the grades, and it feels much more like one club now. Which is the way it needs to be. It's important for guys to want to play in the higher grades.. it drives performance in all teams.

Well said fairbump_playon, good to hear some sense. Now QAFL Fan, we know you have a lot of time on your hands and love to get your nose in everyone elses business but I'm no longer looking to you for any of the inside info on Yeronga....clearly you are a FB troll who just sprouts utter bullshit in this regard.

As for the actual footy, strong result from Kedron today. Lets hope the GF this year is given the respect it deserves and if indeed is played at Yeronga then it takes place on the main oval

You sir are an idiot! we had, as the previous people said, pretty much the same people with the same names play all year. Ask Macman and thommo.

Someone's been borrowing qafl fans crack pipe!!!!

Can confirm that old mate is indeed on the crack. Wynnum were a one team club. So not sure how they 'stack' their Senior team from their Senior team?

As for the suggestion of players under different names, that practice went out a decade ago. Thankfully rego and permits these days are relatively simple and you don't get charged rego 'per player' anymore, so there is absolutely no point in risking something like that anyway, given the consequences of a serious injury.

I think a few on here are sharing the crack pipe.

2015 QAFA (B) Central