Unofficial Preview 2015 Three-peat??

I can't see anyone else improving to the level needed to match us. Freo are on the way down. Sydney are not as good as advertised, not to mention they had a very easy draw this year.

Did you sleep through the prelim mate?

Barring injuries, Port are likely to be the most formidable opponent we have next year.

our squad will get stronger no matter if we recruit any big names

IN: Anderson, Whitecross, Hartung, Litherland, Woodward, Ceglar, Lowden, Sicily

theres 8 players right there that can improve the Hawks stocks for next season...............

OUT: Sewell(looks likely to move on), Schoey(trade), Lowden(possible trade for a better chance at playing AFL more), Grimley(delisted), Kelly(delisted), Garlett(delisted), Wanganeen(delisted rookie), Ross(delisted rookie)

I can't see anyone else improving to the level needed to match us. Freo are on the way down. Sydney are not as good as advertised, not to mention they had a very easy draw this year.
Port could very easily improve enough, especially if they have a good trade period. North are also just consistency away from being top 4.

I reakon there could be a surprise retirement, such as Spangher.

Sewell to retire and possibly Hale too

Rookie upgrades?

Add Whitecross and Anderson, both almost certain best 22 and we are looking very very good
spangher just signed 2 year contract 2 weeks ago

I said before the 2014 season that we needed to uncover another midfield gun to take us forward.

I was expecting it to be Anderson, a maturing Whitecross or Hallahan.

Turns out the answer was Langford.

What we need to continue to improve:
- a young key position back.
- another marking forward
- succession plans for the old timers

Oh and another young midfield gun would be handy

So I just watched ABC'S INSIDERS and Caroline Wilson and Gerard Whateley(Smug Media Flog) pretty much wanted to talk about the real story which was the Swans not turning up.What is wrong with these people ! The funny thing is if we achieve a Three Peat these people in the media will talk about how lucky Hawthorn was playing 3 GF'S in a row where the opposition didn't turn up.

But the irony of the media's pathetic treatment of Hawthorn is that far from disappointing OUR GREAT CLUB, IT INSPIRES US !!!!!! So go ahead Dickhead King,Caro ,Gerard Fakeley,Paul Roos etc etc etc.

But guess what Hawthorn will just make you look stupid. ALWAYS HAWTHORN.

Gerard was full of nothing but praise for us.

Did you sleep through the prelim mate?

Barring injuries, Port are likely to be the most formidable opponent we have next year.
Just remember just because Port Adelaide came within a whisker does not guarantee to make the Grand Final next season, one just has to look at Adelaide last year they also came within a goal at the Preliminary final and look where they finished this season.

Judging by the faces of McLachlan and Fitzpatrick after the Grand Final......we will be in for a torrid time next year.

Think of the draw from hell.....this year, its going to get a hell of a lot uglier next year.

our squad will get stronger no matter if we recruit any big names

IN: Anderson, Whitecross, Hartung, Litherland, Woodward, Ceglar, Lowden, Sicily

theres 8 players right there that can improve the Hawks stocks for next season...............

OUT: Sewell(looks likely to move on), Schoey(trade), Lowden(possible trade for a better chance at playing AFL more), Grimley(delisted), Kelly(delisted), Garlett(delisted), Wanganeen(delisted rookie), Ross(delisted rookie)
Any chance Heatherly will be promoted or will they wait another year?

Judging by the faces of McLachlan and Fitzpatrick after the Grand Final......we will be in for a torrid time next year.

Think of the draw from hell.....this year, its going to get a hell of a lot uglier next year.
We won't have to play any team that was better than us over the last 2 years. The draw from hell is going to be the 5 sides who'll have to play us twice in 2015.

And as this year and finals series has shown the tougher draw is actually an advantage in getting your team ready for the big one.

If Jordan Lewis form continues into 2015 he could be a realistic chance for the Brownlow. They often say that a Brownlow is a two year campaign. The first year to get noticed by the press and umpires, the second to get votes by the umpires.

We won't have to play any team that was better than us over the last 2 years. The draw from hell is going to be the 5 sides who'll have to play us twice in 2015.

And as this year and finals series has shown the tougher draw is actually an advantage in getting your team ready for the big one.

Whats the bet Hawthorn have - Geelong, Sydney, Collingwood, Fremantle and Port twice in 2015. Include WCE in Perth and GWS in Sydney and the Suns at Metricon & Adelaide in Adelaide.

What's the bet we win most if not all of them?

Sydney SCG
Freo S
Port AO
WCE S
GWS Spotless
ADE AO
GC Metricon

7 away trips? + 4 Tassie?

And we'll be playing those top four or five all in a row, and likely two times at the start and end of the season, and the AFL will put us on 6 day breaks by having us play a monday or two, then winding it back to a Friday night (in Adelaide or Perth), followed by a 9 day break before playing shit teams for a month.

It's such blatant cheating by the AFL, yet everybody brushes such suggestions off as whinging.

Fixture from hell will be more for the opposition then us!!! Btw, I wasn't overly impressed with the Prez. Juggernaut/ dynasty type of talk should be just thrown away IMO. We didn't use those words for years and held us in good stead so I think the prez. Should stay away from those sort of 'talk ups' and let 'others' make those calls.

Firstly, I'd just like to say I love actually posting in a thread that talks about three-peating. Puts a smile on the dial immediately.

Can we win 3 in a row? Of course we can, if we can keep that hunger. Having met Hodgey, I can confidently state he'll keep the playing group focused.

One advantage we have is the late start to next season due to the cricket, which gives us just a smidgen more time to recover for another long season. Top of our shopping list has to be Frawley. If we can nab him as a free agent, then let Wrighty do his stuff in the trade period and then pick up a gem or two in the national draft and then prepare for the ride.

Where do we improve on our current list:
  • I expect Hartung to have his breakout season next year after having a taste, much like Hilly a couple of years ago.
  • Speaking of Hilly, he just gets better and better.
  • New blood: Sicily on fire = new human highlight reel; Woody to get some attention now that he's spent that year in the VFL to recover from his knee injuries, collecting a lazy Liston Trophy in the meantime.
  • Cyril - can he overcome and play regularly? Here's hoping.
  • Langford. Potentially may have 2nd year blues, but someone with that tenacity... well, unlikely. Expect more of the same.
  • Expect natural progression from Duryea after another preseason.
  • Whitecross - inspirational!
  • Jed Anderson. Nuff said.
I've always said this year that a full, healthy Hawthorn list is 5 goals better than anyone else. Add in hunger for revenge and we double our efforts. Our weakness is our Prelims. Sometimes it looks like everyone is saving themselves for the Grannie and hoping not to get injured. If we get through, then look out! But those close Prelim games is something we really need to look at.

I believed in 2009 that we had to tweak our game plan because everyone would have caught on from the previous year. I also believed the coaching panel would also have realised this. Oops. Usually, I'm of the belief we need to continually re-invent ourselves but this time I'm not too sure. I don't believe anyone else will have an answer to our continual rotation of players through midfield, forward and back and can continue to do so without fear next year.

So it all comes down to can we keep everyone on the track next year? After our horror run this year we still prevailed, but hopefully the footy gods will finally look down on us and smile and spare us the long injury list next year. I like a challenge as much as the next person but really... can we just get a break? Thanks in advance!

I said before the 2014 season that we needed to uncover another midfield gun to take us forward.

I was reading the draft thread from last year and what was identified that we needed was a ruck and another kpd. It is interesting to look back now and see that we picked up our ruck through McEvoy and our second ruck through Ceglar but we really didn't do anything about a kpd. At the time everyone on that thread was just assuming Shoenmakers would be the one but we still wanted another. How great is it that Spangher, Duryea and Litherland just stepped up and made the argument a mute point. We do still need a kpd but I don't think we actually do need it for next year. I think we could get away with what we have and Shoe will be better next year anyway. Then with Gibbo and Lake in the the following two years it becomes a necessity. But again who knows what is coming from within The wolfman of kiwiland looks to me like he will be a monster that will probably be ready with another year or so.

The rotation of all the kids through all the positions at Box Hill is such a pleasure to see, its like going to uni and studying different subjects, come to hawthorn and you will study football by mastering every position. We may not play you for two or three years but when you play your first game you can play where you want to play.

I suppose football is all about window of opportunity and timing so the interesting thing will be if we will sit on all of our young players who are learning their craft or get desperate like so many other teams and sell off our youth for a short term gain. It is not something we have done in the past and i cannot see us doing it now so I would assume unless players want to leave most of our kids will be there next year and it hurts me to say but the people leaving will be the ones that don't fit the long term plan and I believe these to be Ross, Grimley, and Wanganeen.

The ones that may seek greener pastures probably include Simpkin, Hallahan, Cheney and Lowden.

It should be an interesting draft and as always I await with baited breath, but no matter waht happens I'm pretty happy with the following names Anderson, Whitecross, Hartung, Hallahan, Litherland and Woodward for now and for the following year Sicily, O'Brien, Heatherley, Shem, Willsmore, Webster and an undecided vote to Brand.

The future looks bright and at 26 with three premiership medals to his name Birchall can be assured of at least one more in his career.

The midfield is the real worry. Our three best players in the GF were Hodge, Mitchell and Lewis, and they are the players that are going to be very, very difficult to replace, and who are going to need to be replaced fairly soon.
Hodge and Mitchell probably have one or two more seasons in them, but on the other hand Hodge's 250th was probably his best, and Mitchell's best few years have been his last few (2014 excepted due to injury, but he was still brilliant when it counted); Lewis then has another two years on those two. Still, I hope they can all play long enough to get to 300.

The midfield going forward will revolve around Langford and Shiels, with Anderson, Whitecross, Hartung, Woodward and possibly Hallahan there with them. Hill and Smith on the wings. That may be the succession plan, but the guys they are replacing are irreplaceable.

Ruck seems fine, with Hale on for one more year, and McEvoy and Ceglar the long-term duo. Depth will be needed for 2016 on, which is where either Grimley or Lowden comes in. Lowden did nothing to disappoint in his debut, and has been good for Box Hill, but if it comes down to him or Grimley, then it might be Grimley, as he can also be the marking forward (regular Box Hill watchers would know more about this than me).

The only real hole at the moment is a KPD. Lake's probably got one more season, Gibson two or three. Ideally, their replacements will be introduced into the team in 2015 and 2016, to learn off these two. Again, Box Hill watchers will know about the young guys, and can probably enlighten me as to who we've got to come through. I wouldn't trade Schoenmakers yet, as his form before the knee injury was outstanding, and I think he needs to be given the chance to recapture it, and I also agree with this:

I wouldn't trade Schoey. It's well known in AFL circles that players typically have a much better year in the second year after returning from an ACL. I hope that he can continue the trend and have a great year.

He just needs another preseason to get his confidence in his knee and his own ability back.