Mega Thread 2015 Training Reports

• Thread starter Thread starter beetz

More posters with a less "combative style" is something the Freo board could use more of, honestly.
Maybe, as i say i enjoy the reading and recognise there are many opinions out there and noone is under any obligation to agree with someone else. I just prefer the agree to disagree style of argument

Have you seen all the garbage that's been trotted out this year in here?!

So much angst and negativity about the club, MC and RTB until the last fortnight, I can totally understand why you would want to just lurk and not get caught up in it all!

Welcome aboard Fyfe7 :thumbsu:
Thanks TIF. While i get the concern some posters have shown i dont share it. I feel that Ross has been pacing us beautifully even ensuring that we focused on structures and fitness throught the middle of the year. Our first half record is very good and then our seconds halves we are obviously coasting and trying different things. I am very confident that when we are ready we will go full throttle and we will be scoring 20 goals a game and keeping our defense typically stingy

Long time lurker here...
Managed to get a day off today and went down to training for the first time ever. I will share my observations since there is not much else up yet but will defer to the regulars as I am not familiar with our training like they are.
It was a perfect morning and we seemed to have a massive squad out there. As mentioned sos, Macca and pav were late out and went through a fitness test away from the main group. They all seemed to pass as they joined in with training after the test. No strapping on maccas calf either. From what I saw after that I would say that both Macca and pav will play and sos will make way for Johnson.
Fyfe looked in good nick and so did Johnson.
The boys looked sharp to me and I think we will go in with our best 22 minus ballaz going all out to win. Watch out Eagles!
Neale stayed out late working on his roving with kirk and a Pearce stayed out to practise goal kicking, great signs that the young boys have a hunger to improve. Dawson only appeared after training to do some running, looks out of favour to me with good reason and I doubt we will see him again this season barring injuries.
Feel free to ask questions and I will try to answer.

Great reporting — and welcome aboard, mate! :)

Thanks TIF. While i get the concern some posters have shown i dont share it. I feel that Ross has been pacing us beautifully even ensuring that we focused on structures and fitness throught the middle of the year. Our first half record is very good and then our seconds halves we are obviously coasting and trying different things. I am very confident that when we are ready we will go full throttle and we will be scoring 20 goals a game and keeping our defense typically stingy

I really hope Alex Pearce goes nuts and kicks a few. With the midfield ascendancy and our height advantage in the forward line we should be able to give him good service.

Good signs today with him working on goal kicking after training finished. Looking at the eagles team as well i cant see a match up for him. He should be aiming for 10 marks and 5 shots on goal imo

He's fast becoming one of my favourites to watch. Love the way he can read the game and just make something happen.

He looks to have the right stuff for a forward but it is a long way to go. I still think tabs has plenty to offer and as great as a pearce has been he hasnt delivered a lot more than tabs could/does when given the same opportunity

I like Tabs as well. I think a few on here are being overly harsh on him tbh. He will get better and better as well but Pearce is better out of the 2 of them.He just knows where to be and puts on more pressure.

I agree. I like a pearce closer to goal and think tabs will be more of a roaming half forward

I just rewatched the first derby of the season and tabs looked really really good in it. He's still young & has more to learn, but there's definitely a base there of a good, solid forward. Pearce is no doubt going to be better. He has so much natural talent & footy smarts, compared to Tabs who's having to learn it all.

Balla, Clarke, Mayne and whoever played on Gunston didn't have good games iirc.
That was Duffield, definitely. Got thrashed in the one-on-one against Gunston.
We missed Ibbo much more then we thought. Great to see him being the mainstay in our defence this season though! Should be a dark horse for All Australian this season.

I think the Tabinator is awesome he just needs to soak his hands in honey or some other sticky substance before the game.
He gets his hands to the ball on so many occasions I think once he gets the whole catching the ball technique down pat we will have a superstar on our hands.

In the gym Pav,Fyfe,Mora ,Balla. Luke and Spurr ran a few laps then into the gym.Zac D rehab then joined in the full session with a kick to kick with a trainer after the session. Griff also one on one with a trainer. The full squad trained together and then the main squad left the track and the WAFL boys continued.The WAFL squad incl Blakely,Duff,Tabs,Clark,Langdon,Gray,Crowley .Cant remember sighting Weller. Fairly light session this morning.Fri will tell us more of who is in and out.Plenty of gossip this morning with the topic being what scumbags the Coasters are with Masten as the main target.I didn't see the 7 news last night but Big nose Basil apparently came the raw prawn and is now also a scumbag.See you all Friday.