D1 2016 discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter AM

The tipping may become superfluous soon as Ormond look far too strong and possibly will be crowned the champion team in 2015 - undefeated..

Talk about applying unrealistic pressure. I'm particularly surprised as you apparently saw some of Saturday's game.

As far as I can see the Monders have one ruckman. If he unfortunately went down they have a problem. Even if he stands up using Martinov as a high forward and second sting ruckman is an issue. Not only because that load is big due to his age but because I don't see him as a ruckman. I have the highest regard for him as one of the best players to pull on the brown and blue colours btw.

The Monders play a high possession game and there's nothing inherently wrong with that but it relies on plenty of movement up field to provide targets and being clean by foot and hand. On Saturday players too often missed targets when not under pressure and too often gave the ball too much air thereby giving time for opposition players to get the fall of the ball and at least cause spills. The up field movement fell away as the game progressed too. A side that can apply constant all ground pressure could expose them. That's my cautionary note.

I believe that wasn't their best 22. So I add that caveat.

Go Monders!

Kew were ok in the 70's but not anymore, wasn't there a tribunal regular called Haralambopoulos that the field ump ( 1 in those days)used to ask the Goal umpires to keep an eye on ?? Ormond will get back to where they belong, Richie is on the right path...

'Kew were ok in the 70's but not anymore'
2013 D3 Senior & Reserves Premiers
2014 D2 Senior Premiers
2015 D1 currently undefeated

That's an interesting perspective you've got there

Brian Aitken's boys are looking bloody good and this Andy Brazzle seems unstoppable. Huge win by St Mary's - so much youth and speed. Ormond won't match it with the fitness of St Mary's and Kew come finals - the club has some handy older players but I see Ormond staging in the D sections for a while now. Clubs like Whitefriars, St Mary's, Kew and Ivanhoe (D2) all look like entering the premier sections in the next 5 years.

2014 D2 Senior Premiers

Brian Aitken's boys are looking bloody good and this Andy Brazzle seems unstoppable. Huge win by St Mary's - so much youth and speed. Ormond won't match it with the fitness of St Mary's and Kew come finals - the club has some handy older players but I see Ormond staging in the D sections for a while now. Clubs like Whitefriars, St Mary's, Kew and Ivanhoe (D2) all look like entering the premier sections in the next 5 years.

Whitefriars are 1-4 (8th on ladder) and Ivanhoe aren't in D1. Massive call to suggest these teams are close to entering the premier sections. Are you taking the p1ss?

2014 D2 Senior Premiers

Ha ha ha. Richo. Have you ever posted without talking up your club. Times change mate. When you have good juniors paying clubs circle. See how your Kew is going in 2 years. Ps. Take a modesty pill while you're stewing over this post

Must be a complete flog

Whitefriars are 1-4 (8th on ladder) and Ivanhoe aren't in D1. Massive call to suggest these teams are close to entering the premier sections. Are you taking the p1ss?

Must agree.

Whilst our u19s are going well again in section 2, we probably have to be realistic about where our season is at. Battling to draw clear of B-Temp and Yarra, and hopefully locking in D1 for 2016 ASAP.

And your a bit stiff to get Ormond twice in the first half. What happened on Saturday HF, well in front at the last break.

I think it took them until the last break to work out how to play the ground, and they were finishing at the 'scoring end'.

It was a case of two young teams, one trying to protect a 5 goal lead and one throwing caution to the wind and playing on at all costs.

Had we kicked a second goal during their run, it may have made the difference. However, we muffed a couple of chances and everyone went into their shell. We were misssing some real leaders on field at the critical moment, but I think a lot of the young guys will have learnt a bit about playing senior footy Nd hopefully if we get into a similar position we won't freeze.

The way we played in that third term shows that we are capable of being competitive in this grade for sure.

2014 D2 Senior Premiers

Oh Richo you sh*t stirrer you!

Season still very early and at this stage but Ormond have no doubt shown their credentials. Round 10 will be very interesting if the top two keep their current form up.
Kew have once again improved their list to challenge in the division above but no doubt won't be getting ahead of themselves. I still think Prahran, OG and SMS will have something to see at the business end of the season. We'll wait and see I guess.

Richo D3, D2 and the likes that's comparable to SFL Thirds ( Clubbies) Im talking about GOOD sides like Premier Division and yes Ormond have a long way to go to get anywhere near there but its closer from C Grade than DI. Oh BTW Like many clubs I am sure, the Monds have close to 10 players that would normally be in the ones out injured and don't forget Big Mal will start to make a difference soon oh and the word is that at least 2 players possibly 3 that are playing at a much higher level are smelling success down Ormond way and may return, although you would prefer blokes to "stick fat" just saying that an extra Ruckman will not be a problem if this happens.. Allowing Martinov, Tabakman and Chis to kick winning scores

2014 D2 Senior Premiers

what are u fu#%in smokin richo? A more pointless & ridiculous post I have not read. Head back under the bridge you've crawled out from u fu#%in idiot. Make sure u pick up some extra cardboard to sleep under tonight u fu#%in moron.

Hey! I was just giving my honest view of the comp and where the teams are at

If what you wrote was seriously your honest view of the comp & competing teams, you need to start to follow another sport.
Whitefriars - mid table side at best
SMS - was very underwhelmed when I watched them
Kew - haven't seen them but appear to be a good side
Some D2 side u mentioned - who cares