2019 Training Reports

• Thread starter Thread starter 88mph

The issue of this is that now ruckman can take the ball from the air and run off with it without being immediately called for holding the ball if they are tackled. The risk is that a dominant ruck does this and our slow mids are no longer in any useful position as the ball is moved forward - it's a set play opportunity against us and an easy trigger.

See Logue in the ruck? Get set up for the quick kick forward from the ruckman.
On the contrary if they do get rid of the bounce in a other year smaller athletic types will dominate the slower talls with a predictable flight arc

WC have plenty of marking power with Sheppard, Hurn, Yeo, etc, the focus is on McGovern, but even his own club has him about 6th at
their fairest and best.
They are well coached and play as a team, but this year was a Bradbury premiership, but their system shits all over ours in comparison.
Will be interested to see how we go with a proper spine, and there is no excuses to lift the bar, only Langdon and the kids shone.
if we're talking WC, between 2008 to 2010 they were 2nd last with a % of 65, 11th (of 16), last with a % of 77.

They built their current team because they bottomed out for a while allowing them to add some top picks and even 2 priority picks. Now they are collecting their dividends. We've also just spent 3 years near the bottom, drafted some really good kids, brought home some great players, and will likewise move up the ladder the next couple of years.

In my opinion, the bottom out works better to build a really good team, than the #sustainedsuccess model which just adds a couple of players every year to keep you in the play but not good enough to win it (i.e. Hawks 10 goal straight sets finals exit - which is fine if you have 4 cups in 10 years and just want to keep the members on board, not so much if you actually want to win your first and also have Collingwood, Melbourne, and Carlton looking like they will be around the top from 2020-2025 with teams full of talent built whilst sitting near the bottom-ish)

I don't think that matchup is something you can dictate.
As soon as the opposition pulls their #1 out, you send in your #2. The whole thing is pre-planned, and off you go. One of the easiest moves in football.

But anyway, it is mainly about being a disruptive move that may cause a mismatch.

As soon as the opposition pulls their #1 out, you send in your #2. The whole thing is pre-planned, and off you go. One of the easiest moves in football.

But anyway, it is mainly about being a disruptive move that may cause a mismatch.
That's exactly why you can't dictate it, both teams swap out their rucks when it suits them.

I reckon Lyon can tell you almost exactly when Sandilands will be having a spell, and also when every other teams #1 ruck is likely to do the same. These are some of the most pre-determined changes in a game. Because of that, if you have a player who can go into the ruck but play like a midfielder, you have an opportunity to gain an advantage.

Webber controls the spells based on GPS and heart rate data.

Quite a bit of running to start of with. Nothing too exciting to note.

As mentioned Hamling and Matera have come back early. So Blakely, Langdon, Apeness, Hamling and Matera are all early returners. S Hill and Walters also back but both doing their own thing.

The kick to kick drill started and the boys seemed to treat it too casually for my liking. A few basic kicks being missed and a few very easy marks being dropped with only a laugh or two to be heard. I was only annoyed for a short while as the session definitely ramped up and the kicking/marking got sharper and any misses/drops were cursed.

Cox has a beautiful field kick, sharp and low. Ryan, Duman, Tucker, Dixon, Switta, Logue showed some great kicks aswell . Langdon and Blakely were paired together in this drill, I feel Langdon really needs to work on trying to lower the trajectory of his kicks. He has quite a loop to his kicks even during drills. Blakely's were much better in comparison. Not quite Ryan, Cox, Tucker level but good none the less.

One thing I noticed was that no-one looks scrawny/skinny anymore. Even Duman is up to an acceptable size. Giro while still small has put some muscle on his frame. Darcy is looking very trim, moved well and actually has a nice field kick - He came off the ground with the slightest limp today and Mark Duffield was trying to get his photographer to take some shots, the channel 9 crew got in her way and she gave them a serve. It was a non-story though as he came back out 10 minutes later. Jones has put the work in over the off season and looks to have trimmed up aswell.

Hughes, Tucker, Banfield, Langdon all looking very fit, trim and strong. You can tell they have put the effort in. It actually feels unfair to name anyone as the whole squad look like they have put the hard work in with building themselves up.

Last year we were bullied at times with all the undeveloped kids we played. I feel like this won't be an issue this year.... as long as they have put the same effort into building their tanks as they have building up their frames.

Singling out one player though.... Logue is an absolute beast of a man. His size is quite something when matched with his speed and agility.

As we got to the movement drills it was good to hear plenty of player voices out there barking instructions trying to help each other out. Darcy especially trying to make sure his teammates seperated to get their loose player free.

Giro really knows were to go to get the ball, but like last year just needs to make sure he concentrates with his disposal.

As the field for the drills got bigger we saw some good plays, nice kicks and good marks. Apeness has some good footy smarts and knows how to position himself and when to apply body pressure. He took a few nice marks and spoiled when he knew he wasn't going to get the mark. Watching him and others today really makes me feel like we're building some good depth. Players that are fit, strong and have enough experience that they are able to come into the B22 and perform.

Duman was a bit hit and miss, some beautiful kicks followed up by some simple misses. Not shanks, they seemed good off the boot just missed their intended targets. I was happy watching Cox out there, took some nice marks and continued on his good kicking from the earlier drills. Logue took the best mark of the day in my eyes. It was off a 40m kick that was slightly off target. Logue vs 2 players, they all had to move to get to the drop of the ball, Logue read the ball slightly quicker and took a nice contested mark.

Hamling did it pretty easy up against the kids. He's looking good and read the ball well all day.

After the drills finished they all switched into their trainers and continued runnings for the remainder of the session. Overall it was a good day, I didn't get to watch much because my little daughter was bored after about 10 minutes.

Considering I'm not his biggest fan, Logue impressed me the most today. Looking forward to next Monday when all the boys are back.

As mentioned Hamling and Matera have come back early. So Blakely, Langdon, Apeness, Hamling and Matera are all early returners. S Hill and Walters also back but both doing their own thing.

The kick to kick drill started and the boys seemed to treat it too casually for my liking. A few basic kicks being missed and a few very easy marks being dropped with only a laugh or two to be heard. I was only annoyed for a short while as the session definitely ramped up and the kicking/marking got sharper and any misses/drops were cursed.

Cox has a beautiful field kick, sharp and low. Ryan, Duman, Tucker, Dixon, Switta, Logue showed some great kicks aswell . Langdon and Blakely were paired together in this drill, I feel Langdon really needs to work on trying to lower the trajectory of his kicks. He has quite a loop to his kicks even during drills. Blakely's were much better in comparison. Not quite Ryan, Cox, Tucker level but good none the less.

One thing I noticed was that no-one looks scrawny/skinny anymore. Even Duman is up to an acceptable size. Giro while still small has put some muscle on his frame. Darcy is looking very trim, moved well and actually has a nice field kick - He came off the ground with the slightest limp today and Mark Duffield was trying to get his photographer to take some shots, the channel 9 crew got in her way and she gave them a serve. It was a non-story though as he came back out 10 minutes later. Jones has put the work in over the off season and looks to have trimmed up aswell.

Hughes, Tucker, Banfield, Langdon all looking very fit, trim and strong. You can tell they have put the effort in. It actually feels unfair to name anyone as the whole squad look like they have put the hard work in with building themselves up.

Last year we were bullied at times with all the undeveloped kids we played. I feel like this won't be an issue this year.... as long as they have put the same effort into building their tanks as they have building up their frames.

Singling out one player though.... Logue is an absolute beast of a man. His size is quite something when matched with his speed and agility.

As we got to the movement drills it was good to hear plenty of player voices out there barking instructions trying to help each other out. Darcy especially trying to make sure his teammates seperated to get their loose player free.

Giro really knows were to go to get the ball, but like last year just needs to make sure he concentrates with his disposal.

As the field for the drills got bigger we saw some good plays, nice kicks and good marks. Apeness has some good footy smarts and knows how to position himself and when to apply body pressure. He took a few nice marks and spoiled when he knew he wasn't going to get the mark. Watching him and others today really makes me feel like we're building some good depth. Players that are fit, strong and have enough experience that they are able to come into the B22 and perform.

Duman was a bit hit and miss, some beautiful kicks followed up by some simple misses. Not shanks, they seemed good off the boot just missed their intended targets. I was happy watching Cox out there, took some nice marks and continued on his good kicking from the earlier drills. Logue took the best mark of the day in my eyes. It was off a 40m kick that was slightly off target. Logue vs 2 players, they all had to move to get to the drop of the ball, Logue read the ball slightly quicker and took a nice contested mark.

Hamling did it pretty easy up against the kids. He's looking good and read the ball well all day.

After the drills finished they all switched into their trainers and continued runnings for the remainder of the session. Overall it was a good day, I didn't get to watch much because my little daughter was bored after about 10 minutes.

Considering I'm not his biggest fan, Logue impressed me the most today. Looking forward to next Monday when all the boys are back.
Great work mate, thanks for putting in great effort.

I'm on the Logue train, reckon he will be a huge bonus for us this year.

Hogan Walking laps?

Great work mate, thanks for putting in great effort.

I'm on the Logue train, reckon he will be a huge bonus for us this year.
Agreed, he's like a bonus top 10 draft pick but man-sized

I can kind of see where the rumours around trade period time were coming from when it was reported Bell was going to move Bennell on if the opportunity came up. While I’m sure all of our players enjoyed themselves on their end of season break, the likes of Banfield, Giro, AB, Logue, Darcy (all young players) worked their asses off to improve their bodies, Hilly, Sonny, Hammer and Matera coming back to training early (Billy showed up last week, too), I hope for Harley’s sake he comes back in some sort of decent preseason condition, with all of the sightings of him out and about on the turps. Better not be another incident where he’s out drinking the night before he’s due back for day 1.

Really happy with the professionalism of the rookies and young players, good indicator of the culture down there.